The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!
da3shou3
Apr 26 2005, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Apr 26 2005, 10:55 AM) You can only get 219.94 IF ... you have seen yourself getting that IP before. Some areas are definitely restricted to having only 219.95 IPs so you might not need to try resetting over and over.. Well... I've gotten 60.x.x.x, 218.x.x.x, 219.95.x.x so I might have chance to get that one. Have to go back and try tonight.
Owen
Apr 26 2005, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(fendii @ Apr 25 2005, 07:49 AM) owen, whats the outcome of your inquiry? Pathetic. They didn't take my enquiry seriously, and gave me the TEMPLATE response: QUOTE Dear Mr. Azmir, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Referring to the speed upgrade matter, we would kindly request for you to send us your Streamyx details such as: 1) Streamyx username 2) Streamyx account number 3) Contact person 4) Contact number 5) Streamyx phone number 6) Modem type 7) Operating system (Win 95/98/ME/2000/XP /Mac) 8) DSL / Link light status 9) Attachment of Speedometer bandwidth test result in kBits ( 3 results - printscreen ) We also would require you to try to go to our web page at http://202.188.95.52:8080/speedometer/ .....
ionStorm
Apr 26 2005, 02:27 PM
*nyan*
Its only 1 - 2k lah...will you guys just get over it and try to enjoy the game as it is?
TMNet will fix it eventually.
Xeoalpha
Apr 26 2005, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(ionStorm @ Apr 26 2005, 02:27 PM) Its only 1 - 2k lah...will you guys just get over it and try to enjoy the game as it is? TMNet will fix it eventually. Ion, it's not about the ping. It's about the stablity. Packet's a loss every few lines so, players experience ping spikes very often. The world stops for 2 seconds to a minute. Playing on a 56k on the other hand is stable, ping is around 500. Online games don't require alot of bandwidth, we depend on the line. Thus, 2k is fine - if it's stable.
mambo
Apr 26 2005, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(ionStorm @ Apr 26 2005, 02:27 PM) Its only 1 - 2k lah...will you guys just get over it and try to enjoy the game as it is? TMNet will fix it eventually. ya we wish we can enjoy this game with that high ping... we always and never stop hoping for tmnut to fix the line since past few month.... if the latency abit high let say 1k still playable if without the packet loss...but the lag spike kil our character when we play.. how can we enjoy if we keep running from grave yard to body? just imagine lvl 15 character can kill my toon lvl 23  hehe.... i guess i cant enjoy the game like this....
ionStorm
Apr 26 2005, 03:26 PM
*nyan*
Hrmm...well, okla...maybe I say so 'coz my area has very little packet loss...  How long has this thing been going on for?
tarpaucase
Apr 26 2005, 09:58 PM
LOL.. the WoW community is a fierce elite mob Ion..  And welcome to the WoW world also
Xeoalpha
Apr 26 2005, 11:34 PM
Been happening since Jan 22 I believe. Plenty of eMail to TMNet & StreamyX. Im even going to meet with them this week, he couldn't get things up fast enough on Monday, so he postponed the meeting.
Reis
Apr 27 2005, 12:04 AM
Ion its very hard to play, your spells takes 3 additional seconds to cast. Imagine my shield and renew takes 3 seconds and my greater heal takes 7 seconds. Added, everyone is teleporting, sometimes running off into different directions, most of the time dashing into mobs but they actually arent. Playing in a PvP server, this isnt fun at all. This is whats happening, your oponent is in front of you but you are looking somewhere else tying to cast, hes in front of you in your view but hes actually behind you. After you get killed with ease, imagine the guy laughing or wondering what are you doing. Really makes me feel like an ultra nub whos first time playing a computer game. Anyhow, today around 6pm ping dropped all the way down to 700, was so smooth I wanted to cry, after that it went to 800 average, I'm glad enough, had been facing with 2k for 2 months. At 9 maintainance came. Dont know what will happen tommorow, cuz theres 2 times before where it got smooth and in the end it got back to square one. Should I be happy? I dont know, even if tommorow is fine, you never know if the third day it screws up again
Hunter_Mx
Apr 27 2005, 09:53 AM

Surprisingly smooth last night, 600-800ms. Checked my ip, its 219.23... backup ip or a new ip?
Anyway I was able to enjoy 2 hours of smooth gameplay before maintenence. There was a huge lagspike, but after that its all good.
alkt
Apr 27 2005, 10:09 AM
^_^
QUOTE(Hunter_Mx @ Apr 27 2005, 09:53 AM) Surprisingly smooth last night, 600-800ms. Checked my ip, its 219.23... backup ip or a new ip? Anyway I was able to enjoy 2 hours of smooth gameplay before maintenence. There was a huge lagspike, but after that its all good. Same here,it was good yesterday
bryan
Apr 27 2005, 10:18 AM
Seemed slightly better last night, just over an hour before maintainence. I still managed to go linkdead a couple times so I doubt anything has been truly fixed.
wildside
Apr 27 2005, 10:36 AM
When I logged on this morning to do some mooncloth washing and to put some stuff on the AH, the latency was at 410-480 ms... then I had to leave for work.
JonyFinger
Apr 27 2005, 11:13 AM

Seems ok this morning when i logged on at office (  ). Latency around 600 on dialup...
Reis
Apr 27 2005, 11:49 AM
Hah 11:50pm now, ping shot back up to 2.2k. I KNEW this is just another mysterious short event.
tarpaucase
Apr 27 2005, 12:12 PM
Sounds like it's just a case of 'congestion at peak times' problem... which is something they won't give a damn especially home users
bryan
Apr 27 2005, 03:30 PM
What about the blooming packet loss?
tarpaucase
Apr 27 2005, 03:37 PM
packet loss could come from congestion too.. where the router is overflooded and had to drop your packets  it could also be .. in most cases. problems with bad copper.. it has been raining a bit.. maybe your copper under water ?
Paku
Apr 27 2005, 04:15 PM
a rather unusual experience yesterday just before the server maintenance...........
i was in a hurry to log on after a heavy rain session, so i didn't have time to get my 219.94 address..........i figured a typical 219.95 connection will do for running around IF.........might lag but it's good enough for AH............imagine my suprise when my ingame latency was also <700ms...........it hovered around 500-600ms for the 30 minute session...........dunno if it was due to less players online or something Telekom did..........will check out again tonite