126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

SUSXfX
post Aug 6 2008, 08:51 PM

57 posts

It depends la... if u are staying near 1U or sunway... then u can take aroeline but i am staying in cheras so i take normal bus express... it is so much nearer to my house. Take midnight taxi oso pay about RM12 only.
Furthermore, it is farking expensive to take areoline... from SG to KL (one way)...they oledi charge $47 compare to normal bus express of only $27.. u pay $20 more for that lousy dinner meal box on the bus which i think is not worthwhile at all... I think it is more worthwhile to save that $20 to have a delicious japanese eat all u can sashimi buffet at orchard..
The 3rd point is... aroeline take about 5 hrs to reach KL whereas normal bus express takes only 4 hrs...
mONSTers
post Aug 6 2008, 09:09 PM

245 posts

ya...too bad i have to take aeroline back to KL this weekend SGD40 2nd time since start working here back in May), on saturday morning somemore due to all full booked bus tickets. Cant even secure a cheap bus ticket week before and left only with aeroline. Guess next time should act month before.

Btw, 4 hours is damn fast. I thought normally will take 5 hours or more. Which bus express is that?
seantang
post Aug 6 2008, 10:46 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 6 2008, 10:38 AM)
they also hire master degree to do degree work, and claim that they have the best talent. that's why they need a lot of master degree ppl
and degree ppl from malaysia, usually can outperform those master degree ppl.
I take it you don't have a master's degree?
siren
post Aug 7 2008, 12:04 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Aug 6 2008, 09:09 PM)
ya...too bad i have to take aeroline back to KL this weekend SGD40 2nd time since start working here back in May), on saturday morning somemore due to all full booked bus tickets. Cant even secure a cheap bus ticket week before and left only with aeroline. Guess next time should act month before.

Btw, 4 hours is damn fast. I thought normally will take 5 hours or more. Which bus express is that?
Ya, the aeroline sucks lah... It is more for those foreigners travelling from SG to KL who wanted to enjoy the journey along the stupid highway at night..

So now, I take only those normal express buses at beach road and its around SGD20++ only which is much much better... and sometimes you can reach Puduraya about 4 hrs depends on the queue at 2nd Link...

I got 2 instances whereby i reach KL in only bout 3.5 hrs bcos tis company did not even stop for a break in either Yong Peng or the rest room and it is travelling at high speed oso... but i cant remember wat company is tat for now... but for me it's ok as long as it can reach KL in the shortest possible time instead of the aroeline which takes me 5 hrs...lol

This post has been edited by siren: Aug 7 2008, 12:10 AM
bbmars
post Aug 7 2008, 12:19 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 6 2008, 12:56 PM)
Firstly, there was a previous case (still ongoing) of people being prosecuted for downloading manga. Others can provide more details perhaps.

And secondly, any legal action taken for downloaded content, can ONLY occur if there is SOMEONE who (has legal standing to) complain. Therefore, any action must be initiated by the owner (media, movie/music or software company), or their biz association, distributors, dealers or agent, of that content.

Therefore, it is only safe to download IF you are downloading something that NOBODY (has legal standing to) complain about. This means find something that has no owner, distributor, dealer or agent in the country, to download.
Better avoid this, last year, SGTel and Pacific net were forced by court order to reveal who downloadeed it because the company who owns the right to it claim loosing royalty and not fair to those who pay for it, lodge a complain follow up with court order. That's why, those who downloaded got fine for it.

unless no one claims anything to it, then you are safe. Just like YouTube, unless owner of video clip complain, even then, its Youtube to face the MUSIC.. even though your video clip at YouTube may be illegal because It allowed you to load onto their website. This happened to China few years ago when US site complained about it....

Added on August 7, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(siren @ Aug 7 2008, 12:04 AM)
Ya, the aeroline sucks lah... It is more for those foreigners travelling from SG to KL who wanted to enjoy the journey along the stupid highway at night..

So now, I take only those normal express buses at beach road and its around SGD20++ only which is much much better... and sometimes you can reach Puduraya about 4 hrs depends on the queue at 2nd Link...

I got 2 instances whereby i reach KL in only bout 3.5 hrs bcos tis company did not even stop for a break in either Yong Peng or the rest room and it is travelling at high speed oso... but i cant remember wat company is tat for now... but for me it's ok as long as it can reach KL in the shortest possible time instead of the aroeline which takes me 5 hrs...lol
There are other coach companies in SG, why Aeroline? much cheaper thought. Of course, Aeroline will come with entertainment system.. I usually take 1st coach, At novena Sq and alight at Bangsar LRT for my trip to KL But at that hour, good luck to you with Taxi.... I met several KL people who shared with me their experience... one was even charged RM50 for some RM10 ride (no midnight charges), but she has no choice as it was way past 1am in the morning.. not wanting to antangonise the driver after asking, and for fear as she doesn't feel safe. by the way, she was a dental surgent who often travel to meet up with her SG classmate for gathering.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Aug 7 2008, 12:27 AM
louismhc
post Aug 7 2008, 01:54 AM

466 posts

Hi bros,

I'm just came to Singapore since 2007 December, until now still not familiar with Singapore yet. Currently i'm S Pass holder. I have a few question:-
1)Can S Pass holder upgrade his Pass to E Pass?
2)What is the % for income tax?
3)Where got nice food to eat ar? Singapore foods sucks cry.gif

Thank You in advance....and sorry i'm newbie in Singapore.

This post has been edited by louismhc: Aug 7 2008, 01:55 AM
Goneraz
post Aug 7 2008, 02:09 AM

432 posts

Meh... hehehe u can get your EP if your pay is above 2.8k i think i cannot remember. As for the income tax i think best to check out this site. its pretty good actually, the income tax is the lowest in the region if i am not mistaken. Food... lets see
1) frog podridge in Geylang lrg8
2) Beef hor fun in geylang also lrg8
3) Bak chor mee in bugis
4) Chicken rice in balistier
5) angus steak house in orchard..YUM
6) The Steak house
7) hogs breath
8) the korean restaurant in Novena Square Double YUM YUM
9) equinox in stamford swiss(get ready to burst ur pocket)
10) Definately must try rakuzen in city hall... best jap in singapore
Annie
post Aug 7 2008, 10:33 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 6 2008, 10:46 PM)
I take it you don't have a master's degree?
yup..no degree, but really feel dun need a degree to do my job
my job even a diploma also can do
but...they prefer degree
louismhc
post Aug 7 2008, 05:41 PM

466 posts

@Goneraz

thank you for your advice. smile.gif
I will go and try those food every weekends, if you free can come join with me.

This post has been edited by louismhc: Aug 7 2008, 06:09 PM
seantang
post Aug 7 2008, 06:56 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 7 2008, 10:33 AM)
yup..no degree, but really feel dun need a degree to do my job
my job even a diploma also can do
but...they prefer degree
1. Does the next higher job require a degree to do? If it does, then wouldn't the company want to hire someone who can progress to that higher job, from your job?

2. A degree's main purpose is not to give you the operational 'knowledge' or the 'skills' to do a job. It's there to set a standard, a criteria, a ticket to play. A degree is like being 7 feet tall in a community where basketball is the primary job. Being 7 feet tall isn't going to guarantee that you'll be good at basketball, nor does it mean that someone who's less than 7 feet tall can never be good at basketball... but it does mean that on average, with all other things being equal and as a rule of thumb - people who are 7 feet tall are generally going to be more successful at basketball than those who are not.

Wouldn't the company want to hire someone who's 7 feet or more, as they stand the best chance of being successful at basketball?

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 7 2008, 07:04 PM
teckhooi
post Aug 7 2008, 07:21 PM

3,135 posts

Going To Open A Bank Account.

Which Bank Recommend?

Got DBS, POS, UOB, OCBC, MBB etc
ubsacc2004
post Aug 7 2008, 07:47 PM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

UOB , OCBC and MBB for me.
teckhooi
post Aug 7 2008, 08:08 PM

3,135 posts

rich man...

one people maintain 3 account
louismhc
post Aug 7 2008, 08:12 PM

466 posts

CITI brows.gif
teckhooi
post Aug 7 2008, 08:18 PM

3,135 posts

ya wor

miss out another famous bank - CITI
crapp0
post Aug 7 2008, 08:35 PM

4,414 posts

Can anybody recommend me a good sushi bar? How is sakae sushi anyway?

seantang
post Aug 7 2008, 08:36 PM

6,624 posts

MBB's iSavvy and Std Chartered eSaver accounts give the highest interest rates without having to commit the funds to a fixed deposit (> 1%. Many S$ FDs give less than that).

But both are primarily internet and/or phone accounts ie. you pay fees if you use the counter at a branch and no ATM card. So, you use the ibanking to transfer money to your daily account.

MBB however gave me a free debit card linked to the account later on and it's also a convenient way to send money back to Malaysia if you have a Malaysian MBB account.

I use POSB/DBS as my daily account as it's got the most ATMs and branches.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 7 2008, 08:37 PM
robertngo
post Aug 7 2008, 11:43 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 7 2008, 12:19 AM)
Better avoid this, last year, SGTel and Pacific net were forced by court order to reveal who downloadeed it because the company who owns the right to it claim loosing royalty and not fair to those who pay for it, lodge a complain follow up with court order.  That's why, those who downloaded got fine for it.
how about you get a torrent download service in Malaysia that someguys in lowyatnet is selling and them transfer the file through encrypted connection to you PC in SG? icon_idea.gif
bbmars
post Aug 8 2008, 12:27 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Aug 7 2008, 11:43 PM)
how about you get a torrent download service in Malaysia that someguys in lowyatnet is selling and them transfer the file through encrypted connection to you PC in SG?  icon_idea.gif
Well, you already said it, done in MY, send to SG, how on earth they can check? obviously no. Many ways of doing things... choice is yours...
bryon
post Aug 8 2008, 08:58 AM

399 posts

you miss out one
http://www.fairpriceplus.com/
=)

126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled