yeah i agree.after 100s+ applications in more than half year..
Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience
Apr 30 2008, 08:14 PM
250 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
yeah i agree.after 100s+ applications in more than half year..
Apr 30 2008, 11:04 PM
57 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 30 2008, 05:21 PM) athlic , what field of work is your friend in? nah, it boils down to the impression you gave to the interviewer, thought the better than good part helps. Nothing is easy these days. Especially in foreign land, you're without home-ground advantage . You have to be better than good. Focus and Specialise, then you will be paid premium. remember you're competing with cheaper labours, own country comrades and mostly ASEAN people when you're applying for that job. however, just keep on trying till you get one. all the best to those who're trying to get a job in singapore. |
Apr 30 2008, 11:06 PM
17,870 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Annie @ Apr 29 2008, 10:02 PM) if you are planning to come to singapore, pls make sure you agree with the room rental price first. common room is SGD550 now. You're right. Room rate is around SGD550. If rent an aprtment, it will cost around SGD1200-1500. http://hdbflat.blogspot.com http://flatsdb.com If your offer is around SGD2500 to SGD3000, u better think thrice. Plus the food here is around same price as Malaysia. |
May 1 2008, 12:44 AM
2,155 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 30 2008, 05:21 PM) athlic , what field of work is your friend in? Yes definately...very easy if u specialize in something they wan Nothing is easy these days. Especially in foreign land, you're without home-ground advantage . You have to be better than good. Focus and Specialise, then you will be paid premium. |
May 1 2008, 02:09 AM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I am a fresh grad from mass communication. i studied in a local varsity. i was hoping to get a job in sg too. for d past few weeks, i've sent out quite a number of cv to companies located in sg. i was just wondering, is it really hard to get a job there? and, are there other source to hunt for job besides jobstreet n jobsdb? your reply would kindly be appreciated! tanks. |
May 1 2008, 06:46 PM
541 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
QUOTE(Phinee @ May 1 2008, 02:09 AM) Hi, i seriously think it's easier to get a good job in SG than in MY. I am a fresh grad from mass communication. i studied in a local varsity. i was hoping to get a job in sg too. for d past few weeks, i've sent out quite a number of cv to companies located in sg. i was just wondering, is it really hard to get a job there? and, are there other source to hunt for job besides jobstreet n jobsdb? your reply would kindly be appreciated! tanks. Mass Comm.. hmmm you can try Event Mgmt companies. It's in decent demand in SG now. Added on May 1, 2008, 6:48 pm QUOTE(kb2005 @ Apr 30 2008, 11:06 PM) usual rate is around there .. however if you want to save money, you just stay further away from central. Also if your office or location of work is not around the central area, your rent wouldn't be that expensive This post has been edited by cktwai: May 1 2008, 06:48 PM |
May 1 2008, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(Phinee @ May 1 2008, 02:09 AM) Hi, It is not so hard as far as i know. I have a few friends work there through phone interview. I am a fresh grad from mass communication. i studied in a local varsity. i was hoping to get a job in sg too. for d past few weeks, i've sent out quite a number of cv to companies located in sg. i was just wondering, is it really hard to get a job there? and, are there other source to hunt for job besides jobstreet n jobsdb? your reply would kindly be appreciated! tanks. |
May 1 2008, 11:31 PM
957 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: melaka/Singapore |
I dun think the average rental of a common room is 550 that high yet.
Almost all of my friends able to get a common room between 300-400 only. I have 1 friends even get a masterroom(aircond) with 550 only. Other master bedroom price i know is around 600-650. There is a lot of owner asking high rental but there is a lot asking reasonable price as well. |
May 2 2008, 06:58 AM
QUOTE(jimmy79 @ May 1 2008, 11:31 PM) I dun think the average rental of a common room is 550 that high yet. It depends on the area (whether close to LRT station) and the class of the apartment. One of my friend also getting cheaper rate but she stay in a low class flat.Almost all of my friends able to get a common room between 300-400 only. I have 1 friends even get a masterroom(aircond) with 550 only. Other master bedroom price i know is around 600-650. There is a lot of owner asking high rental but there is a lot asking reasonable price as well. |
May 2 2008, 08:48 AM
957 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: melaka/Singapore |
QUOTE(kb2005 @ May 2 2008, 06:58 AM) It depends on the area (whether close to LRT station) and the class of the apartment. One of my friend also getting cheaper rate but she stay in a low class flat. Sorry but may I know what you mean by the class of the apartment over here? We are talking about the rental of the common room of the HDB flat. As I know there is only different of HDB flat, private HDB flat, private apartment/Condominium. The rental of private apartment room is definitely much higher which can hit 800-1k per room. I do not know there is a different of the low class or high class flat in Singapore. Mind to share how to differentiate it? And yes all the room rental rate I mention is quite near to MRT. This post has been edited by jimmy79: May 2 2008, 08:49 AM |
May 2 2008, 09:06 AM
20 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I work at Singapore, stay at Kulai, wake up every morning 5.30am, depart at 6.00am, reach office at 8.45am.
Office hour from 9.00am to 6.00pm. Then I can reach home at 9.00pm, some say cannot tahan, but it did help me to save a lot money.... when u see ur bank account, will forget all the tired... can save RM3k every month....but spend my life to get those money. This post has been edited by MasterBlaster: May 2 2008, 11:14 AM |
May 2 2008, 10:31 AM
400 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(MasterBlaster @ May 2 2008, 09:06 AM) I work at Singapore, stay at Kulai, wake up every morning 5.30am, depart at 6.00am, reach office at 8.45am. I salute to your endurance. Office hour from 9.00am to 6.00pm. Then I can reach home at 9.00am, some say cannot tahan, but it did help me to save a lot money.... when u see ur bank account, will forget all the tired... can save RM3k every month....but spend my life to get those money. It sure is tough, damn tough to beat the causeway everyday. |
May 2 2008, 09:18 PM
57 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(MasterBlaster @ May 2 2008, 09:06 AM) I work at Singapore, stay at Kulai, wake up every morning 5.30am, depart at 6.00am, reach office at 8.45am. salute. but later u'll have to ask urself is it worth it to do that in the longer run. Office hour from 9.00am to 6.00pm. Then I can reach home at 9.00pm, some say cannot tahan, but it did help me to save a lot money.... when u see ur bank account, will forget all the tired... can save RM3k every month....but spend my life to get those money. |
May 2 2008, 10:21 PM
4,051 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 槟城 |
Hi all, may I know if SG have market/business analyst kind of job?
May 2 2008, 11:27 PM
May 2 2008, 11:28 PM
May 2 2008, 11:30 PM
May 2 2008, 11:36 PM
May 3 2008, 01:55 AM
43 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
working in sg is definitely not a bad experience. i'm an engineer working in the semiconductor industry in sg. i draw about 2.8k a month as basic. my company also pays me OT, but is hard to get. once a while when the need arises, might get and extra 100-200 a month. in sg, the cost of everything is about the same as malaysia EXCEPT rental & transportation.
rental in sg is astronomical if you wanna get a room/unit close that is strategically located (eg, close to MRT stations, amenities, city, etc) currently the average rental in the central area is around $600 for a common room (w/o aircon, include electric, water etc) whereas if you r interested to get the entire flat (do not even bother to think about private apartments, condos or even landed properties as their rental increases accordingly) is around 1500 for a 3 bedroom flat (if u r lucky!) else it would be close to 2k. transportation here is efficient. there is no reason for u to own a car period! the bus, mrt and taxis worked seamlessly together. not to mention it is cheap too. if u dun take the cab often, 100 bucks a month is enough for your monthly transportation expenditure. even if u take the cab frequently, the cost is still cheaper than owning a car. even better, as the taxi driver acts as ur driver so u can travel in the comfort of a car minus the hassle of driving (if u think of it as a hassle). food wise, pricing is not too much different from malaysia. maybe kl's price is a tad higher but not by much. 2 years back the food in sg is really cheaper but due to the recent price increases, they r no longer as cheap as they used to be. but one thing is for sure, food tastes better back in malaysia. here the food is practically the same everywhere u go. the nice foods are usually found in restaurants/cafe which we as normal working class do not have the privillege to go to day in day out. i do agree there are hidden treasures, but to go to these places, sometimes u need to own a form of transport. it may be too much of a hassle to take a 45 min bus ride (that u can reach in 15min with a car) just to eat a bowl of nice mee soup. hell there is always mcd & kfc well below are my breakdown on my monthly expenditure. hope the info helps to those who r contemplating to work in sg (SGD) salary : 2800 rental : 500 (share wif gf, so 250 each) transportation : 100 (maybe higher if take cab occasionally) food : 500 (inclusive of the occaional weekend dining at restaurants) send money back msia : 1000 (pay loans, giv parents etc...) entertainment : 200 (for movies, shopping etc) misc : 50 (phone bill, internet bill) savings = salary - everything else = 2800 - 2100 = 700 per month equivalent to RM1600 a month! (SGD1 = RM2.3) here is wat it would be have i continued to work in kl (RM) salary : 2800 petrol : 400 food : 300 fixed cost : 1500 (loans, giv parents etc) entertainment : 200 misc : 200 savings = 2800 - 2600 = RM200 per month, WTF!!! |
May 3 2008, 11:21 PM
@smartalec:
May I know if you get charged by bank for transfering SG money back to Malaysia? How about taxation? Thanks. |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:32 AM |