Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

seantang
post Apr 15 2008, 11:35 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Apr 15 2008, 09:21 AM)
But normally the big corporation positions are filled around this time?

And I heard that basically you have to have 3 year experience to be considered since you are non-Singaporean because they want local people who don't need any housing allowances.

How true is that?

Do Singapore companies give housing allowances to any/all non-Singaporean employees?

I don't think it's given as a matter of course or a standard benefit.
casgy
post Apr 15 2008, 01:24 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(alchemisT @ Apr 13 2008, 03:44 PM)
I'm about to accept a job there.

May I know if there are 3 rooms flat/apartments for rent there? My office will be at Keppel Road, near Sentosa.

I wish to know the rate and location too. Thanks.

You may take a look at the following website as the reference for rental market in sgp thumbup.gif

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10206p.nsf/WP...Menu=Statistics
J(o)y
post Apr 15 2008, 10:04 PM

250 posts

Anyone work in Deloitte Singapore before??
Whats the condition there??
Especially the Corporate Finance dept.
cktwai
post Apr 16 2008, 09:35 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Apr 15 2008, 10:04 PM)
Anyone work in Deloitte Singapore before??
Whats the condition there??
Especially the Corporate Finance dept.
i have some friends there smile.gif

PM me if u wanna know more.

Added on April 16, 2008, 9:38 am
QUOTE(siaolang @ Apr 15 2008, 09:21 AM)
But normally the big corporation positions are filled around this time?

And I heard that basically you have to have 3 year experience to be considered since you are non-Singaporean because they want local people who don't need any housing allowances.

How true is that?
Thank you
very not true smile.gif

You just graduated? If you want I can have a look at your CV. I reckon you have an accounting/finance related degree right?

I can help you get an interview. The rest is all up to yourself.

PM me with your degree name, which uni, detailed degree results and how old you are.

This post has been edited by cktwai: Apr 16 2008, 09:38 AM
uk19xx
post Apr 16 2008, 01:31 PM

242 posts

cktwai, where to you work?

mind take a look on my CV as well.

currently looking for jobs in S'pore as well.

Tq
reconer
post Apr 18 2008, 11:23 PM

88 posts

i need help!

can anyone advice? i want to bring my proton into singapore. how much if just for a few days? few weeks? few months? few years?? @_@

i cant find information how to drive into SG. but it seems many pple drive into SG using msian car.
sNoR
post Apr 19 2008, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(reconer @ Apr 18 2008, 11:23 PM)
i need help!

can anyone advice? i want to bring my proton into singapore. how much if just for a few days? few weeks? few months? few years?? @_@

i cant find information how to drive into SG. but it seems many pple drive into SG using msian car.
there is 10 free days each year for each car... u need to apply an auto pass card... and top up the autopass.. u can get more info when u apply the auto pass... the only fees u need is the Toll Fees.... hope this will help
kikipi
post Apr 19 2008, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 16 2008, 09:35 AM)

You just graduated? If you want I can have a look at your CV. I reckon you have an accounting/finance related degree right?

I can help you get an interview. The rest is all up to yourself.

PM me with your degree name, which uni, detailed degree results and how old you are.
i just graduated too >"< and im hoping to work in SG as well..
icon_question.gif
toro86
post Apr 21 2008, 12:10 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 15 2008, 09:01 AM)
just try to apply for fresh grad jobs in SG. 

i felt that if you fail to find a job in SG you'll probably won't get a good one in MY anywayz...

Market here is pretty good and it's much easier to get a good job in SG than in MY.
for my situation it is not so true....
I am currently looking for jobs in Singapore as well as I will graduate in late May this year.
I had applied for many jobs (fresh graduate) mostly in banking,finance and insurance industry.
Btw i have applied for jobs in Malaysia and i got two offer already.It is not as easy as in Singapore in my opinion because mostly they want Singaporean and PR especially those recruiting agent mad.gif (in jobsdb and jobstreet)
cktwai bro,if you can give me some advice or help me as well i will be most grateful,thank you smile.gif
awpy1328
post Apr 21 2008, 11:17 AM

38 posts

Well,

I have been working in Singapore for a year. My last salary in Singapore was RM4,500 ($ converted in Malaysia Ringgit) and I am work as an IT Consultant.

I would like to share with you my experiences before you work in Singapore:

1) You need to get a job in Singapore before you work in Singapore. I notice that some of our Malaysian go straight to Singapore and hope to get a job there by staying in your relative/friends house. (This will work but you have to wait for getting the job there for at least 2 - 3 month if you are fresh graduate).

2) Alternatively, you should get help from your relative/friends who work/stay in Singapore and help you to get the job before you resign from existing work.

3) My standard living cost in Singapore. ( All in Singapore Dollar)

- Breakfast ($1.50)
- Lunch ($3.50)
- Dinner ($4.00 - 5.00)
No mamak ...save your money..

4) Rental ( All in Singapore Dollar)
- $400 per room. (You better share with your friends. So, save another $200 per month)

5) Transport (Daily) ( All in Singapore Dollar)
- 1 Trip approximate to $1.00. So, at lest $2.00 a day. I prefer take bus or MRT. No taxi please, otherwise, it will increase your expenses.

6) You will be staying in a room like the bird nest size of room. No worry, i did it last time. Can save even more $$$.

7) Monthly saving better than you earn in Malaysia...Definitely....

8) If you work as Professional or Consultations film. They will respect you as they did...But if you as Kolar Putih....Then....

9) Last Reminder....Please get your PR after working in Singapore for at least 1 year. Apply it and get it...Then, you can jump to another company easily....Otherwise, stay in the same company until you get it done..It's too hard to get another job if you are holding "Work Permit" only.

Hope the above information is useful to you...All the best!!!

kinwah_lai
post Apr 21 2008, 12:17 PM

107 posts

actually, anyone of you working in SG plan to buy a flat in SG?
Dyong
post Apr 21 2008, 12:22 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(kinwah_lai @ Apr 21 2008, 12:17 PM)
actually, anyone of you working in SG plan to buy a flat in SG?
It seems like a good investment.
jimmy79
post Apr 21 2008, 01:22 PM

957 posts

I think if you plan to stay in sg for long term, getting a flat is a better option rather than rent from ppl. Dun think the sg flat is a good investment.
Dyong
post Apr 21 2008, 03:10 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Apr 21 2008, 01:22 PM)
I think if you plan to stay in sg for long term, getting a flat is a better option rather than rent from ppl. Dun think the sg flat is a good investment.
Dun think the sg flat is a good investment.

Why?

This post has been edited by Dyong: Apr 21 2008, 03:10 PM
mIssfROGY
post Apr 21 2008, 04:00 PM

2,155 posts

u cannot buy sg flats in sg..u can only go for private condos which cost above sgd500k the last time i checked, that also the condo is quite far from mrt.. Only if 2 married PRs or Singaporeans can buy their flats...not sure if not married but related like mom and son or bro and sis and etc can mo.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Apr 21 2008, 04:01 PM
kikipi
post Apr 21 2008, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(awpy1328 @ Apr 21 2008, 11:17 AM)
Well,

I have been working in Singapore for a year. My last salary in Singapore was RM4,500 ($ converted in Malaysia Ringgit) and I am work as an IT Consultant.

I would like to share with you my experiences before you work in Singapore:

1) You need to get a job in Singapore before you work in Singapore. I notice that some of our Malaysian go straight to Singapore and hope to get a job there by staying in your relative/friends house. (This will work but you have to wait for getting the job there for at least 2 - 3 month if you are fresh graduate).

2) Alternatively, you should get help from your relative/friends who work/stay in Singapore and help you to get the job before you resign from existing work.

3) My standard living cost in Singapore. ( All in Singapore Dollar)

- Breakfast ($1.50)
    - Lunch ($3.50)
    - Dinner ($4.00 - 5.00)
    No mamak ...save your money..

4) Rental ( All in Singapore Dollar)
      - $400 per room. (You better share with your friends. So, save another $200 per month)

5) Transport (Daily) ( All in Singapore Dollar)
    - 1 Trip approximate to $1.00. So, at lest $2.00 a day. I prefer take bus or MRT. No taxi please, otherwise, it will increase your expenses.

6) You will be staying in a room like the bird nest size of room. No worry, i did it last time. Can save even more $$$.

7) Monthly saving better than you earn in Malaysia...Definitely....

8) If you work as Professional or Consultations film. They will respect you as they did...But if you as Kolar Putih....Then....

9) Last Reminder....Please get your PR after working in Singapore for at least 1 year. Apply it and get it...Then, you can jump to another company easily....Otherwise, stay in the same company until you get it done..It's too hard to get another job if you are holding "Work Permit" only.

Hope the above information is useful to you...All the best!!!
thanks alot for the info..

any ideas on how to get job faster as a fresh graduate ? =/
J(o)y
post Apr 21 2008, 08:00 PM

250 posts

IF u have a reasonable qualification, im sure u can get one soon, provided u not choosy in terms of money, size of company, etc.. the companies oso wan to save cost. But make sure ur salary can pay for ur living expenses..

Dun worry about extra savings, cos after u got the experiences, u can get better job and demand higher pay

Thats the advantage of being fresh grads.
jimmy79
post Apr 22 2008, 08:54 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 21 2008, 03:10 PM)
Dun think the sg flat is a good investment.

Why?
Why you think SG flat is a good investment?
sinclairZX81
post Apr 22 2008, 08:59 AM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Very interesting and useful info. thumbup.gif I'm considering to work there too. sweat.gif
Dyong
post Apr 22 2008, 09:00 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Apr 22 2008, 08:54 AM)
Why you think SG flat is a good investment?
You say no mah, that's why I ask you for guidance.
Why are you directing the question back?

126 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:47 PM