QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 7 2020, 12:02 PM)
Yes but if u house small then single router cap ayam like tenda ac18 enoughNormally 2-3 storey house will use mesh wifi
The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89
Feb 7 2020, 01:40 PM
4,493 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Feb 8 2020, 01:27 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,792 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
I would imagine...
If you stay in a terrace house, and every single houses uses mesh WiFi (2 or 3 or more nodes) for their home WiFi, the WiFi interference to and from the neighbours will be enormous. But without mesh WiFi, the WiFi might become sucks to some users... It's like radio wave pollution, but still, Internet and WiFi connection performance shouldn't affect too much, unless it's far away from the nearest mesh WiFi node.. I mean, if use WiFi Analyzer app to check WiFi frequency graphs and stuff, and see tons of WiFi networks stacking each other even on 2.4GHz and 5GHz, it's almost like no difference than what you'd experience within a shopping mall building. Just saying... This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 8 2020, 01:31 AM |
Feb 8 2020, 01:35 PM
276 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Noticed my C5V router was upgraded to 191212 firmware recently.
I disable the 5Ghz wifi, left only 2.4. After restart the router, the 5Ghz will automatically be enable back. Before this upgrade it stays disable. I dont need the 5Ghz band and aim to reduce radio pollution but this is annoying. Have logged a tic to Maxis. |
Feb 8 2020, 07:32 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(hjack @ Feb 8 2020, 01:35 PM) Noticed my C5V router was upgraded to 191212 firmware recently. 5GHZ is less congested than 2.4ghz, and is required to achieve speeds like 100mbps other than using EthernetI disable the 5Ghz wifi, left only 2.4. After restart the router, the 5Ghz will automatically be enable back. Before this upgrade it stays disable. I dont need the 5Ghz band and aim to reduce radio pollution but this is annoying. Have logged a tic to Maxis. If all of your devices support 5GHZ then switch off 2.4ghz better Btw got things like microwave, cordless phone which contributes to 2.4ghz congestion...... This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Feb 8 2020, 07:48 PM |
Feb 9 2020, 11:31 AM
2,807 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(hjack @ Feb 8 2020, 01:35 PM) Noticed my C5V router was upgraded to 191212 firmware recently. Disabling 5Ghz wouldn't help much in reducing radio pollution, since most devices like Bluetooth, cordless phone, WiFi signal from neighbourhood and etc runs on 2.4Ghz.I disable the 5Ghz wifi, left only 2.4. After restart the router, the 5Ghz will automatically be enable back. Before this upgrade it stays disable. I dont need the 5Ghz band and aim to reduce radio pollution but this is annoying. Have logged a tic to Maxis. This post has been edited by mztang52: Feb 9 2020, 11:36 AM |
Feb 9 2020, 01:21 PM
312 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
is it possible to carry over the remaining contract period if I switch to Unifi? planning to switch since my current Maxis connection is horrible.
Feb 9 2020, 01:28 PM
3,032 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Feb 9 2020, 02:56 PM
312 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Feb 9 2020, 10:10 PM
276 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 8 2020, 07:32 PM) 5GHZ is less congested than 2.4ghz, and is required to achieve speeds like 100mbps other than using Ethernet 30Mbps line in a 2 stories link house, I prefer range more than speed.If all of your devices support 5GHZ then switch off 2.4ghz better Btw got things like microwave, cordless phone which contributes to 2.4ghz congestion...... If i do large file transfer via intranet, yes will enable the 5Ghz. Maxis techie called 2 times, the issue is not recurring though. |
Feb 9 2020, 10:13 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(hjack @ Feb 9 2020, 10:10 PM) 30Mbps line in a 2 stories link house, I prefer range more than speed. 🤔, as far as I know, maxis can remote into your router.... maybe that’s the reason why and I don’t think you can stop it as it’s most likely by their severIf i do large file transfer via intranet, yes will enable the 5Ghz. Maxis techie called 2 times, the issue is not recurring though. This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Feb 9 2020, 10:14 PM |
Feb 9 2020, 11:53 PM
618 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Metal Box Enterprise JB |
who still have the setting for maxis DL4480V1
Feb 12 2020, 11:33 PM
185 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(Shebby289 @ Jan 30 2020, 09:28 AM) I'm using the default Maxis Thompson router so I suspect that is indeed the case. I did try port forwarding with this router but I was always notified that the ports were already being used, or it just flat out didn't work at all. Oh well, I will be moving out soon so I hope I won't have the same issues with other ISPs.. what speed you apply?? my 100mbps they maxis also give tplink that one lol |
Feb 15 2020, 06:48 PM
955 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
Hey, looking for Maxis Support of sifu here for the current IPV6 configuration for Maxis.
It is for home usage, not running any servers. Just for normal internet access, browsing, streaming, gaming Reason asking, due to reset stock router and did custom config here and there for bridge-mode with other access points throughout the house. No longer allowing remote-access configuration from Maxis so they cannot override, and i forgot to note down the correct settings WAN SETTINGS 1) DHCPv6 or SLAAC? LAN SETTINGS 1) DHCPV6 of RADVD? - I understand Android don't support DHCPV6, so for majority or all of android phones to work properly, RADVD should be used? 2) RDNSS enable or disable? 3) Prefix delegation, delegated or static? Thank you in advance! This post has been edited by andrew9292: Feb 15 2020, 06:57 PM |
Feb 16 2020, 03:09 PM
2,707 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Feb 15 2020, 06:48 PM) Hey, looking for Maxis Support of sifu here for the current IPV6 configuration for Maxis. Hi andrew9292,It is for home usage, not running any servers. Just for normal internet access, browsing, streaming, gaming Reason asking, due to reset stock router and did custom config here and there for bridge-mode with other access points throughout the house. No longer allowing remote-access configuration from Maxis so they cannot override, and i forgot to note down the correct settings WAN SETTINGS 1) DHCPv6 or SLAAC? LAN SETTINGS 1) DHCPV6 of RADVD? - I understand Android don't support DHCPV6, so for majority or all of android phones to work properly, RADVD should be used? 2) RDNSS enable or disable? 3) Prefix delegation, delegated or static? Thank you in advance! Not to worry as we have our technical team waiting to clear all your doubts. We appreciate if you can provide us with your account number, reachable contact number and preferred callback time frame as for us to call you. We are looking forward to your reply. TQ -Leo |
Feb 17 2020, 09:11 AM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hi guys, from what I've read
You'll need public ip if you need to portforward, so need to change from private ip. I already contacted maxis to change it. One thing I don't understand yet is ipv6 port forwarding, is it similar to ipv4? |
Feb 19 2020, 11:07 PM
1,616 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
How important is the mobile 4G dongle ah?
Itching to upgrade to a stronger router, but not sure if worth to lose the 4G fallback. |
Feb 26 2020, 05:22 PM
854 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: 25.0000° N, 71.0000° W |
Hi. Looking for advise on MA131 setup for 5 fixed IP. Anyone?
Feb 28 2020, 10:34 AM
126 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Tokik Siwok @ Feb 9 2020, 01:21 PM) is it possible to carry over the remaining contract period if I switch to Unifi? planning to switch since my current Maxis connection is horrible. you can request for relocation to address that don't have unifi/maxis infra. then you can terminate without penalty. but need to provide them utilities bill as a prove.in my house (old condo), its only have VDSL which maximum 30mbps only. but TM offer to their customer to upgrade to fiber (TM bear the cost). its not applicable to maxis customer. so i did the above trick and today my house can use unifi with fiber 100mbps. |
Feb 28 2020, 01:53 PM
7,792 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(lockmunk @ Feb 28 2020, 10:34 AM) you can request for relocation to address that don't have unifi/maxis infra. then you can terminate without penalty. but need to provide them utilities bill as a prove. Oh? If u inform them you wanna relocate, just show them any utility bill (water or electricity bill) will do? No need other documents? in my house (old condo), its only have VDSL which maximum 30mbps only. but TM offer to their customer to upgrade to fiber (TM bear the cost). its not applicable to maxis customer. so i did the above trick and today my house can use unifi with fiber 100mbps. If the utility bill shows a different owner name, how? Or they don't care the name, as long the address is the new address that you tell them to relocate? |
Feb 28 2020, 02:42 PM
126 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2020, 01:53 PM) Oh? If u inform them you wanna relocate, just show them any utility bill (water or electricity bill) will do? No need other documents? no need other document.If the utility bill shows a different owner name, how? Or they don't care the name, as long the address is the new address that you tell them to relocate? different owner name is normal since if we rent a house also the bill is under the home owner. |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:06 AM |