Chubby Hamsters V3, New 3rd thread!

aimleeds
post Jan 30 2007, 06:01 PM

124 posts

hye guys,

i want to ask about my syrian. why he is afraid of my hand when he is in the cage, but when i handle it outside the cage, he is really tame. he has been with me 4 the past one week. bought him when he is 6 weeks old.
kembara
post Jan 30 2007, 06:04 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 04:56 PM)
Mini hamster is another term for dwarf. Petshop people do not have any clue, they only think that the names are "interesting" and "cool" to attract buyers. No good information on them.

Dwarf hamsters:
Winter whites
Russian Campbells
Roborovski
Chinese Dwarf
Hybrids

WW generally are rounder, their body built is more bullet shape. They only come in 3 colours. Pearl, Agouti and Sapphire. They have 1 dark dorsal stripe on their backs and only the agouti and sapphire got prominant side arches.

RC are slightly bigger than WW, face is more doggy looking. They come in various colours. Breeding them can be tricky coz of recessive genes and so on. Can cause defects if do not breed properly. They have a dorsal stripe and their side arches are a softer shade, not as prominant as WW.

Robos are hyper hamsters. They are the smallest species and are way hyperactive. They need special small cage bars and wheels if in a cage. These hamsters breed fast is they are a bonded or fertile pair. Only come in their golden fawn colour but got another which is called white faced.

Chinese hamsters havea mousy look. Body a bit longish and have a longer tail. Their colours are agouti and dominant spot. They are nice to have since easier to hold and they got strong grips.

Syrians... the original Syrian colour is called Golden.... so a Golden hamster is the original Syrian.... Syrians these days have been bred for such a long time that there are many colours and hair types. So just remember, big hamsters are in deed syrians....

Dien,
Your information is very wrong. Puddings are not Winter Whites. They are HYBRIDS.

Come to Hybrids... now these are the cross of RC and WW. Please do not try to do this at home. The hybrids can carry defects or certain mutations can be dangerous. Puddings, Yellow Blues, Mottleds are hybrid winter whites and some people have done selective breeding to produce them. Yes, they look nice but this in dangerous for it shows we may lose the pure winter whites to hybrids.... not good at all if everyone wants to mixbreed RC and WW to produce new colour. If anyone were to breed hybrids, never outcross to pure WW or RC strain, just stick to breeding pudding with pudding or yellow blue to yellow blues.
now when sifu return we have a lot of information.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
not just a kosong chatting...
remember my friendz..knowledge is important hmm.gif

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 05:08 PM)
I prefer long hair coz can see the teddy bear look... but short hair got nice short velvety fur... so both are actually very nice to have. The short hair the feels nicer than the fur on WW or RC... very velvety hahahah...
you like long hair aaa...thats why you buy for me long hair heheh..
jumpy everytime i get him out must clean some bedding that hanging on his fur..
it is ok if i trim his hair aa..becouse the hair at the bottom so long..i afraid the pee and poo then lekat at the hair..

Added on January 30, 2007, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(aimleeds @ Jan 30 2007, 07:01 PM)
hye guys,

i want to ask about my syrian. why he is afraid of my hand when he is in the cage, but when i handle it outside the cage, he is really tame. he has been with me 4 the past one week. bought him when he is 6 weeks old.
at the early time, my syrian also like that...
but lama lama the hamster will recognize you la...dont worry biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 30 2007, 06:06 PM
^MochI^
post Jan 30 2007, 06:14 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 30 2007, 05:46 PM)
Mochi, if u really wanna try for the Winter Coat, i hv a way. Basically is how my male WW change to winter coat.

That time when its still young, i try to intro him wif another male. Then other male try to hump him(maybe wan to show he is dominant). Then my little male WW got freak out and squeek squeek. I pity him, so separate him, then put one aroma burner for him to sleep in.
From that day on, he always stay in the burner. Only come out for food and some exercise on the wheel thats all. I did handle him every nite, and the tank is kept in the living room, not dark room.
Then slowly in 1 month's time, his fur becomes white. The photo shown above still not that white, he is even whiter after 2 weeks time.
Now his coat is changing back to normal liao, so it looks a bit "dirty" and messy on the fur, haa...........
wad so handsome leh! so i shld giv him an aroma burner?? or wad?? u nvr say how leh?
wei crazy, i tried another method tht u say to beat the egg then put mircowave for 30secs... but failed again.. their not interested at all. lost another egg~ sweat.gif
Are there any more other gd stuffs for ww to feed on??

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Jan 30 2007, 06:16 PM
BlueHeng
post Jan 30 2007, 08:16 PM

1,604 posts

Good stuff? Try barley, oats, or go buy alfafa/hay for it. I feed my hamster carrots quite often. Mealworms only fed it once. hehe..
^MochI^
post Jan 30 2007, 08:28 PM

4,565 posts

i feed them delikate, but they only eat few types of seed. the others never eat.. y is tt so? oats? wad is it like? they eat alfafa? i do feed my hamster carrots and cabbage everyday. but i think not enough.
joanalooidog
post Jan 30 2007, 09:52 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 30 2007, 06:14 PM)
wad so handsome leh! so i shld giv him an aroma burner?? or wad?? u nvr say how leh?
wei crazy, i tried another method tht u say to beat the egg then put mircowave for 30secs... but failed again.. their not interested at all. lost another egg~ sweat.gif
Are there any more other gd stuffs for ww to feed on??
Give him a spacious aroma burner to sleep loh, then try to scared him until he hide in the burner(not recommended, haha...........), then u'll hv a WW in winter coat.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 09:56 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 30 2007, 05:26 PM)
thEY eaT?  shocking.gif  y juz now i give the boiled egg white to them and 1 of it juz nip then dunwan already! and the other sniff sniff then go away ... I'll try aGain although wasted 1 egg~ sweat.gif

Oh its becoz i wanted to see how is it like when they changed lo~ been slpping in my room for 3 days. on air con and dark.. but no changing seen~  sad.gif  its ok if their infetile coz i dun intend to breed~
Hmm... then probably your hamster got no taste for egg hahahah... I suggest you try steam or boiled chicken breast or fish. My hamsters enjoy fish and chicken. Also you can get sample dog food from petshops and feed them as treats. It gives good protein and minerals.

A hamster cannot change coat in just 3 days.... it takes them 1 month to 2 months. It really depends on the hamster actually. If you give it a dark hide house that is wooden or glass, and keep the tank with no bright sunlight plus in a cool place such as air cond room, sure will change to winter coat.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 30 2007, 05:46 PM)
Mochi, if u really wanna try for the Winter Coat, i hv a way. Basically is how my male WW change to winter coat.

That time when its still young, i try to intro him wif another male. Then other male try to hump him(maybe wan to show he is dominant). Then my little male WW got freak out and squeek squeek. I pity him, so separate him, then put one aroma burner for him to sleep in.
From that day on, he always stay in the burner. Only come out for food and some exercise on the wheel thats all. I did handle him every nite, and the tank is kept in the living room, not dark room.
Then slowly in 1 month's time, his fur becomes white. The photo shown above still not that white, he is even whiter after 2 weeks time.
Now his coat is changing back to normal liao, so it looks a bit "dirty" and messy on the fur, haa...........
As said before, it depends on the hamster. Your living room got bright sun light? Even in shadow, and the right environment, a hamster can change winter coat. Not all will change... I see females change more often than males.

QUOTE(aimleeds @ Jan 30 2007, 06:01 PM)
hye guys,

1 week, how can he know who you are in just 1 week? It really takes time lah. Petshop hamsters are naturally afraid of hands when entering their cage coz always shocking with grabbings and pinchings... so most petshop hamsters develop phobia.

6 weeks old is really young... so he is at the jumpy stage, easily gets scared and figety. So just keep on handling him. The jumpiness will wear off when older. He also won't be so scared of your hand if you let it see it as a food provider. Hand feed him often.

QUOTE(kembara @ Jan 30 2007, 06:04 PM)
now when sifu return we have a lot of information.. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
not just a kosong chatting...
remember my friendz..knowledge is important hmm.gif
you like long hair aaa...thats why you buy for me long hair heheh..
jumpy everytime i get him out must clean some bedding that hanging on his fur..
it is ok if i trim his hair aa..becouse the hair at the bottom so long..i afraid the pee and poo then lekat at the hair..

Added on January 30, 2007, 6:06 pm

at the early time, my syrian also like that...
but lama lama the hamster will recognize you la...dont worry biggrin.gif
Hahah, that time most of the hamsters long hair mah...

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 30 2007, 08:28 PM)
i feed them delikate, but they only eat few types of seed. the others never eat.. y is tt so? oats? wad is it like? they eat alfafa? i do feed my hamster carrots and cabbage everyday. but i think not enough.
Delikate is not a very good brand... You should try other brands that are more nutritious. I personally find Harry Hamster, Prestige, Habitrail Classic and LM for hamsters better quality. You got 1 or a pair, is good price lah... I have 20 hamsters, imagine how much I spend on them... I can easily tell you the food bill for my hamsters each month is roughly RM50. For my gerbils another RM50, so means RM100 each month....

Do give carrots and cabbage as treats.... carrots can cause Vitamin A intoxication is too much and can cause diabeties.... Also Cabbage is full of water and sugars... can cause cirit birit if consume too much. I only give carrots twice a week and cabbage once a week. Please try give some apples, pear, jambu, water cress, sawi, spinach, long beans and broccoli. Remember, hamsters are meant to eat more seeds than fresh food, so too much fruits and vegie can cause it to have indigestion problem and diarheaa... careful yah.

Added on January 30, 2007, 9:59 pmDo not simply scare hamster.... turning winter coat is not about being scared... is about feeling warm and safe in a dark hide.

Also, oats... please DO NOT GIVE instant or quick cooking oats... can cause impaction and stomach problems.
Get ROLLED OATS.... not very expensive since RM2.50 to RM4 for 500g

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jan 30 2007, 09:59 PM
BlueHeng
post Jan 30 2007, 10:25 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 09:56 PM)
Hmm... then probably your hamster got no taste for egg hahahah... I suggest you try steam or boiled chicken breast or fish. My hamsters enjoy fish and chicken. Also you can get sample dog food from petshops and feed them as treats. It gives good protein and minerals.

A hamster cannot change coat in just 3 days.... it takes them 1 month to 2 months. It really depends on the hamster actually. If you give it a dark hide house that is wooden or glass, and keep the tank with no bright sunlight plus in a cool place such as air cond room, sure will change to winter coat.
As said before, it depends on the hamster. Your living room got bright sun light? Even in shadow, and the right environment, a hamster can change winter coat. Not all will change... I see females change more often than males.
1 week, how can he know who you are in just 1 week? It really takes time lah. Petshop hamsters are naturally afraid of hands when entering their cage coz always shocking with grabbings and pinchings... so most petshop hamsters develop phobia.

6 weeks old is really young... so he is at the jumpy stage, easily gets scared and figety. So just keep on handling him. The jumpiness will wear off when older. He also won't be so scared of your hand if you let it see it as a food provider. Hand feed him often.
Delikate is not a very good brand... You should try other brands that are more nutritious. I personally find Harry Hamster, Prestige, Habitrail Classic and LM for hamsters better quality. You got 1 or a pair, is good price lah... I have 20 hamsters, imagine how much I spend on them... I can easily tell you the food bill for my hamsters each month is roughly RM50. For my gerbils another RM50, so means RM100 each month....

Do give carrots and cabbage as treats.... carrots can cause Vitamin A intoxication is too much and can cause diabeties.... Also Cabbage is full of water and sugars... can cause cirit birit if consume too much. I only give carrots twice a week and cabbage once a week. Please try give some apples, pear, jambu, water cress, sawi, spinach, long beans and broccoli. Remember, hamsters are meant to eat more seeds than fresh food, so too much fruits and vegie can cause it to have indigestion problem and diarheaa... careful yah.

Added on January 30, 2007, 9:59 pmDo not simply scare hamster.... turning winter coat is not about being scared... is about feeling warm and safe in a dark hide.

Also, oats... please DO NOT GIVE instant or quick cooking oats... can cause impaction and stomach problems.
LMAO! Sorry I forgotten to mention about what type of oats.. of course don't give those Quaker oats you buy in super market yea? LOL thumbup.gif
Btw, crazymouse, dog food.. errr.. any dog food will do? Like those lam pek pek meat ones will do ah?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 10:37 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 30 2007, 10:25 PM)
LMAO! Sorry I forgotten to mention about what type of oats.. of course don't give those Quaker oats you buy in super market yea? LOL thumbup.gif
Btw, crazymouse, dog food.. errr.. any dog food will do? Like those lam pek pek meat ones will do ah?
Hahah... free samples normally dog biscuit lah... not the meat kind.
jaspery27
post Jan 30 2007, 10:50 PM

664 posts

wahlaoooo so cute cute wub.gif wub.gif but i do prefer red eyes drool.gif drool.gif
nezumitaro
post Jan 31 2007, 09:06 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 03:56 PM)
Hahaha... you cannot wait for picture meh? Let me tame it first... it is not tame so cannot sit quietly for picture yet.... very naughty female loh hahahah.... Now I like Syrian coz fat fat and nice to hold and sayang.
simply shot her in the tank n show me 1st ler... no need sit nice nice hahahhaha... cos i never see this color b4 ah!! i want to see!!!!!
kembara
post Jan 31 2007, 11:41 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 10:56 PM)

as i said before...a lot lot of information we get when our sifu return...
i remember a word from the lion king 1 1/2 movie: when the student is ready,the teacher will come..
but my question are not answered...can i trim-or cut some hair of my syrian?hehehe

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 30 2007, 11:25 PM)
have problem with dog food?try cat food..but not the commercial one that have colours..
i use cats food as my hammy threats..and for protien..they like it..

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 31 2007, 10:06 AM)
simply shot her in the tank n show me 1st ler... no need sit nice nice hahahhaha... cos i never see this color b4 ah!! i want to see!!!!!
agree agree...show from inside the tank first rclxms.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 31 2007, 11:59 AM

12,047 posts

Aiyah, not sifu lah.... just alot of research, friends and experience hahaha....

You wanna trim the hair? No need lah... I never trim and so far never get dirty. But if your Jumpy really is dirty then cut loh.... it doesn't make any difference.

My new hammie ah.. hahha... ok lah, her colour is not as good as it should be but can see is unique heheheh.
nezumitaro
post Jan 31 2007, 01:17 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

don't say as good as it should be, i think we never see this in here b4 ler.. u so lucky show show ler... always see golden n cream only sad.gif
^MochI^
post Jan 31 2007, 05:12 PM

4,565 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 30 2007, 09:52 PM)
Give him a spacious aroma burner to sleep loh, then try to scared him until he hide in the burner(not recommended, haha...........), then u'll hv a WW in winter coat.
joanalooidog->like tt i rather dun wan them to change.. sweat.gif

CRAZY-> i had a pair of ww. i wan feed sluis or prestige wan. but dien(i bought from him) say they dun eat those sweat.gif whr can i get harry hamster? i dun mind spending $$ on my pet.. habitrail classic and LM gd food arh? LM stands for wad? i didnt know habitrail classic is gd..

And y they dun really eat those pellets or those i see more nutritious wan? they like eat only kuaci leh. i got no choice but to give them eat kuaci in the noon only and after tt i wont give them eat kuaci ler i only put other seeds and other wad i see is "nutritious" for them at night. like tt can anot?

About the dog biscuit can get free from petshops wan meh? like i go in and ask for free samples?? sweat.gif paiseh lehz.. laugh.gif wad brand is better? get puppy wan? any flavour will do? currently i give them treats like brown rice, banana(juz 1 small bits), apple, cabbage, carrots EVERYDAY. but moderation la, can? will giv them mealworms sooner or later~

The cage i bought for them already got a hide house for them, but its a little transparent, like tt will they change? or i shld get them a solid hide house? rclxub.gif

Dien-> wave.gif haha.. my babies now are sexy Ladies. they are more cubbier then b4.. when they walk their butt will shake here shake there.. biggrin.gif when they slp like small golf ball like tht. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Jan 31 2007, 05:31 PM
joanalooidog
post Jan 31 2007, 06:07 PM

2,823 posts

Prestige is good wor....If u feed ur hamster prestige since young, they'll eat one. Like mine, i feed them Prestige and habitrail mix. The pups just wallop everything, even the pellets!! I also shock..... coz the adults dun eat pellets one, and like wat u say, they love kuaci only.

if u wanna try prestige, jus go buy lah, and feed them mix loh...no problem one, coz they'll eat when there's no other choice, haha...........
^MochI^
post Jan 31 2007, 06:30 PM

4,565 posts

mine are still babies wor, 1 mth + only, they also nvr eat the pellets.. i think i get prestige den mix with delikate. but wads the point of mixing with delikate coz they only eat the kuaci from delikate. so i only giv them kuaci in the noon den at nite i dun giv ler. juz the food they normally dun eat.
kembara
post Jan 31 2007, 08:48 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 31 2007, 12:59 PM)
You wanna trim the hair? No need lah... I never trim and so far never get dirty. But if your Jumpy really is dirty then cut loh.... it doesn't make any difference.
heheh not dirty la..but look tak kemas...so long fur..heheh i think has to sikat2 after this..

mochi,
hamster also need time when you want to change food..slow slow..then they will lear to like it..

Added on January 31, 2007, 9:41 pmcome back for some picture...

this time my only two males...looks like simba and mufasa in the lion king film heheh..two furball eating together..

like father like son..the difference that i can see is only the size..

these my ww rascals..although they are tame but when take picture cannot make them stop move..looks like sengaja mempermainkan me..

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 31 2007, 09:45 PM
^MochI^
post Feb 1 2007, 03:42 PM

4,565 posts

wah u give so many carrots? shocking.gif actually how much is consider too much? i only give two small slices of carrot to each of them. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Feb 1 2007, 03:45 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 2 2007, 12:13 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 31 2007, 05:12 PM)
joanalooidog->like tt i rather dun wan them to change.. sweat.gif

CRAZY-> i had a pair of ww. i wan feed sluis or prestige wan. but dien(i bought from him) say they dun eat those sweat.gif whr can i get harry hamster? i dun mind spending $$ on my pet.. habitrail classic and LM gd food arh? LM stands for wad? i didnt know habitrail classic is gd..

And y they dun really eat those pellets or those i see more nutritious wan? they like eat only kuaci leh. i got no choice but to give them eat kuaci in the noon only and after tt i wont give them eat kuaci ler i only put other seeds and other wad i see is "nutritious" for them at night. like tt can anot?

About the dog biscuit can get free from petshops wan meh? like i go in and ask for free samples??  sweat.gif paiseh lehz.. laugh.gif wad brand is better? get puppy wan? any flavour will do? currently i give them treats like brown rice, banana(juz 1 small bits), apple, cabbage, carrots EVERYDAY. but moderation la, can? will giv them mealworms sooner or later~

The cage i bought for them already got a hide house for them, but its a little transparent, like tt will they change? or i shld get them a solid hide house? rclxub.gif

Dien->  wave.gif haha.. my babies now are sexy Ladies. they are more cubbier then b4.. when they walk their butt will shake here shake there..  biggrin.gif when they slp like small golf ball like tht. thumbup.gif
People keep thinking pellets are nutritous so that is why people buy delikate... but delikate's pellets are loaded with colouring and corn... I made a mistake... There is Habirtail Staple diet and Living World Classic... now Habitrail is found almost at every large petshop. Also it is better in quality than delikate, RM7.90 for 1kg something.... RM13 for 2.5kg I think....

All hamsters would eat grains, maybe he never try them before. Sluis has got a funny herbal smell... most hamsters do not take. All my gerbils, rats, mice and hamsters that I bought as adults love Prestige... all my babies also eat Prestige, it is one of the best in our market now. LM is a brand... called LM farms, you can find this brand at all Petswonderland petshops, the price is like RM15 for 1kg but the quality is ok.... Prestige is RM17 for 800g... Harry Hamster is RM17 for 1kg but recently no more stock at Pet Safari.

You see, you have spoiled your hamsters. Do you know kuaci is like cheese burger to hamsters? The more they eat, the fatter they become and can shorten their life? So since it is junkfood, feed in moderation. They already know you will give them kuaci so that is why they are not eating the rest. Delikate has too much alfalfa pellets and hamsters do not really eat these pellets. Also the coloured pellets are not tasty at all. So that is why they only eat the kuaci.... if you buy Prestige, got dried fruit, saftflower seed, pumpkin seed, sun flower seed, peanut, oats, a few types of pellets, millet grain... and so on... so much more nutriants for them.

Vegies and fruits should be fed in moderation. It is good to give a teaspoon of fresh foods once a day.... it has to be 1 fruit and 1 vege... a small teaspoon a day would do. Avoid watermelon, cucumber and chinese cabbage... got too much water so can cause diarheaa....

Yah, you can get free sample of dogfood or catfood. If you can't get it... then buy those 1kg packets... I would suggest Royal Canin Fit 32(I think), RM10.50 for 500g... is good and healthy for them to consume since got good protein, minerals, calcium and lots more. Kitten and Puppy food is also good. If you plan to use supermarket brand(not recommanded but if you got no choice) then buy Friskies kitten food.... do not get whiskas or pedigree or alpo. Why choose catfood? Coz dog taste bud is not very sensitive, cat taste bud is sensitive to quality so normally the ingredients used are better quality in commercial foods. I still suggest Royal Canin.

A solid house would be better. Aroma burner is not that expensive, Rm5 only... or you can buy those small wooden animal houses or coconut.... but warn you, coconut easy to become smelly.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 1 2007, 03:42 PM)
wah u give so many carrots? shocking.gif  actually how much is consider too much? i only give two small slices of carrot to each of them. sweat.gif
2 small slices is good enough for 1 day.

125 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.1299sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:50 PM