125 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V3, New 3rd thread!

kembara
post Jan 29 2007, 08:39 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

guys,have you all experience this problem??
i think my winter white kids got problems...
they pee in their food bowl...but after finished eating la..
dien
post Jan 29 2007, 08:48 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Jan 29 2007, 09:39 PM)
guys,have you all experience this problem??
i think my winter white kids got problems...
they pee in their food bowl...but after finished eating la..
hahaha.. same with me..
they usually put bedding inside the bowl, then pee inside..

so.. i put the bowl out from the tank.. then, only place their food on the bedding..
jaspery27
post Jan 29 2007, 11:50 PM

664 posts

actually how 2 diff btween RC, WW, and "mini hamster"?? the shop keeper said one la...so blur, for me all look the same only.....me more into syrian.....but since the syrian no stock so i go for this small little cuties.....and i notice they put "golden hamster" also...but look like syrian...i asked then the "boss" told me :"they r golden hasmter la, wat syrian??".....wahlaooooo....faint rclxub.gif rclxub.gif sorry asking noob questions...but really interest to kno.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Rena_blue
post Jan 30 2007, 02:46 AM

Pint -- Quartz -- ???
920 posts

Post some stupid yet "cute" & unique pic of 1 of my hammie ~~

tongue.gif

The onli hammies in my hammie clan which slept in a ~!@$! style~
KaWaIi EH*_*
dien
post Jan 30 2007, 08:26 AM

3,254 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Jan 30 2007, 12:50 AM)
actually how 2 diff btween RC, WW, and "mini hamster"?? the shop keeper said one la...so blur, for me all look the same only.....me more into syrian.....but since the syrian no stock so i go for this small little cuties.....and i notice they put "golden hamster" also...but look like syrian...i asked then the "boss" told me :"they r golden hasmter la, wat syrian??".....wahlaooooo....faint  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif sorry asking noob questions...but really interest to kno.... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
basically, WW has 4 color: agouti, sapphire, white (pearl), and golden (puding) - only have one pattern.
RC various of colors, and sometimes seem as WW..
WW, not bite in nature.. but, RC bite..

QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Jan 30 2007, 03:46 AM)
Post some stupid yet "cute" & unique pic of 1 of my hammie ~~
Attached Image tongue.gif
The onli hammies in my hammie clan which slept in a ~!@$! style~
KaWaIi EH*_*
cute RC hamster la.. rclxms.gif
your bedding full with kuaci.. hehe.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dien: Jan 30 2007, 09:27 AM
joanalooidog
post Jan 30 2007, 09:14 AM

2,823 posts

woah, ur ham actually duck his head into the food bowl and sleep ah....i think he dun wan others to have the food while he's sleeping, greedy fellow...........or maybe its a water bowl?? haha......drown..........
Rena_blue
post Jan 30 2007, 10:50 AM

Pint -- Quartz -- ???
920 posts

the bedding is full of kuaci kosong~~hahaha , 1 week no change bedding ~!
the choco fellow dunwan share his food !!
hehe^^

nezumitaro
post Jan 30 2007, 10:53 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 29 2007, 02:38 AM)
Never give raw potato to hamsters... raw potato can be dangerous to animals....

Hmmm... looks like many people getting into hamsters already I see...
hun show ur new syrian hamster ler!!
dien
post Jan 30 2007, 11:41 AM

3,254 posts

rena_blue, seem you are very busy right now.. no time to change bedding.. hehe.. JK.. biggrin.gif

btw, how many RC hamster do you have now??
show other pictures ler..
kembara
post Jan 30 2007, 11:48 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Jan 30 2007, 12:50 AM)
actually how 2 diff btween RC, WW, and "mini hamster"?? the shop keeper said one la...so blur, for me all look the same only.....me more into syrian.....but since the syrian no stock so i go for this small little cuties.....and i notice they put "golden hamster" also...but look like syrian...i asked then the "boss" told me :"they r golden hasmter la, wat syrian??".....wahlaooooo....faint  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif sorry asking noob questions...but really interest to kno.... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
rc and ww can be different as dien said..in term of colours..and their face and body also bit different if you look carefully..

golden hamster is syrian hamster..same species..sometimes people also called syrian teddy bear hamster...sometime pet shop owner just know to SELL their PETs hehehe

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 30 2007, 11:53 AM)
hun has new syrian aaa.. x bgtau pun aa
BlueHeng
post Jan 30 2007, 02:16 PM

1,604 posts

The character of WW and RC are diff too. WW are less aggressive compared to RC. The easiest way to differentiate WW and RC is their body. RC have slightly bigger chubbier body and they look like a ball when they roll up a bit like in kembara's pic. WW is smaller and thinner a bit so it's less chubby.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 03:56 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Jan 29 2007, 11:50 PM)
Mini hamster is another term for dwarf. Petshop people do not have any clue, they only think that the names are "interesting" and "cool" to attract buyers. No good information on them.

Dwarf hamsters:
Winter whites
Russian Campbells
Roborovski
Chinese Dwarf
Hybrids

WW generally are rounder, their body built is more bullet shape. They only come in 3 colours. Pearl, Agouti and Sapphire. They have 1 dark dorsal stripe on their backs and only the agouti and sapphire got prominant side arches.

RC are slightly bigger than WW, face is more doggy looking. They come in various colours. Breeding them can be tricky coz of recessive genes and so on. Can cause defects if do not breed properly. They have a dorsal stripe and their side arches are a softer shade, not as prominant as WW.

Robos are hyper hamsters. They are the smallest species and are way hyperactive. They need special small cage bars and wheels if in a cage. These hamsters breed fast is they are a bonded or fertile pair. Only come in their golden fawn colour but got another which is called white faced.

Chinese hamsters havea mousy look. Body a bit longish and have a longer tail. Their colours are agouti and dominant spot. They are nice to have since easier to hold and they got strong grips.

Syrians... the original Syrian colour is called Golden.... so a Golden hamster is the original Syrian.... Syrians these days have been bred for such a long time that there are many colours and hair types. So just remember, big hamsters are in deed syrians....

Dien,
Your information is very wrong. Puddings are not Winter Whites. They are HYBRIDS.

Come to Hybrids... now these are the cross of RC and WW. Please do not try to do this at home. The hybrids can carry defects or certain mutations can be dangerous. Puddings, Yellow Blues, Mottleds are hybrid winter whites and some people have done selective breeding to produce them. Yes, they look nice but this in dangerous for it shows we may lose the pure winter whites to hybrids.... not good at all if everyone wants to mixbreed RC and WW to produce new colour. If anyone were to breed hybrids, never outcross to pure WW or RC strain, just stick to breeding pudding with pudding or yellow blue to yellow blues.

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 30 2007, 10:53 AM)
Hahaha... you cannot wait for picture meh? Let me tame it first... it is not tame so cannot sit quietly for picture yet.... very naughty female loh hahahah.... Now I like Syrian coz fat fat and nice to hold and sayang.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jan 30 2007, 03:59 PM
joanalooidog
post Jan 30 2007, 04:04 PM

2,823 posts

Just wanna ask, which type of syrians do u all prefer, long hair, short hair or no hair( i dun like this)??
For me long hair is nice, but the problem is their fur will easily tangled with wood beddings.........
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 04:08 PM

12,047 posts

I prefer long hair coz can see the teddy bear look... but short hair got nice short velvety fur... so both are actually very nice to have. The short hair the feels nicer than the fur on WW or RC... very velvety hahahah...
^MochI^
post Jan 30 2007, 04:28 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 28 2007, 10:09 PM)
Okay this is offtopic but kinda interesting to discuss. Erm.. anyway, so you got married and didn't went for higher education? How old is your husband? It's not quite young.. IT'S DAMN YOUNG!!!!!

ha.. ya. my hubby is 28 yrs old. i only study till sec 4 at singapore.. im half sg half msia.. higher education? errr i dun like to study~ hee hee.. but currently im taking up language course. curious abt me eh? ha .. wink.gif

Y my ww dun eat the egg white huh?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Jan 30 2007, 04:48 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 04:36 PM

12,047 posts

Please keep offtopic matters thru PM.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jan 30 2007, 04:37 PM
^MochI^
post Jan 30 2007, 05:07 PM

4,565 posts

okOk. CraZy: dOes Ww Eat bOiled Egg WHite? Y Mine Does'nt Eat WoR? And UsUaLly Takes how LonG For The Ww To ChaNge TO TheIr WinTEr cOat?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 05:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 30 2007, 05:07 PM)
okOk. CraZy: dOes Ww Eat bOiled Egg WHite? Y Mine Does'nt Eat WoR? And UsUaLly Takes how LonG For The Ww To ChaNge TO TheIr WinTEr cOat?
Yes, they do eat boiled egg white but you see, egg white is full of protein while egg yolk is fatty but nutritious. Your hamster should eat everything. What you can do is make scrambled egg. Beat the eggs and fry in non-stick pan with no oil, or beat the egg and put in microwave for 30 seconds.

Winter coat... why you want it to change? The changing of winter coat really depends on your hamster. We cannot estimate when it will change. If your hamster feels there is a need to change then it would change.
^MochI^
post Jan 30 2007, 05:26 PM

4,565 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 05:12 PM)
Yes, they do eat boiled egg white but you see, egg white is full of protein while egg yolk is fatty but nutritious. Your hamster should eat everything. What you can do is make scrambled egg. Beat the eggs and fry in non-stick pan with no oil, or beat the egg and put in microwave for 30 seconds.

Winter coat... why you want it to change? The changing of winter coat really depends on your hamster. We cannot estimate when it will change. If your hamster feels there is a need to change then it would change.
thEY eaT? shocking.gif y juz now i give the boiled egg white to them and 1 of it juz nip then dunwan already! and the other sniff sniff then go away ... I'll try aGain although wasted 1 egg~ sweat.gif

Oh its becoz i wanted to see how is it like when they changed lo~ been slpping in my room for 3 days. on air con and dark.. but no changing seen~ sad.gif its ok if their infetile coz i dun intend to breed~

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Jan 30 2007, 05:27 PM
joanalooidog
post Jan 30 2007, 05:46 PM

2,823 posts

Mochi, if u really wanna try for the Winter Coat, i hv a way. Basically is how my male WW change to winter coat.

That time when its still young, i try to intro him wif another male. Then other male try to hump him(maybe wan to show he is dominant). Then my little male WW got freak out and squeek squeek. I pity him, so separate him, then put one aroma burner for him to sleep in.
From that day on, he always stay in the burner. Only come out for food and some exercise on the wheel thats all. I did handle him every nite, and the tank is kept in the living room, not dark room.
Then slowly in 1 month's time, his fur becomes white. The photo shown above still not that white, he is even whiter after 2 weeks time.
Now his coat is changing back to normal liao, so it looks a bit "dirty" and messy on the fur, haa...........

125 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:13 AM