I just got a new hamster.. WW.. but it's neither white or sapphire.. like somewhere in between.. O.o
Chubby Hamsters V3, New 3rd thread!
Jan 1 2007, 02:24 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
I just got a new hamster.. WW.. but it's neither white or sapphire.. like somewhere in between.. O.o
Jan 1 2007, 09:21 PM
Haha.. my new year present is my new hamham.. Not sure what to give hamster =S
Jan 2 2007, 09:25 PM
Jan 2 2007, 11:41 PM
Jan 3 2007, 03:29 AM
QUOTE(Street Force @ Jan 3 2007, 02:24 AM) Hey everyone... Did you touch their babies?Long time didnt post in this thread already... Now i wanna pass by to seek some advice from u all.. I have 2syrian hamster...they gave birth last month..(Total : 4babies) as my friend told me...i need to separate them..and i did...(mum stays with babies) then i close the entire cage with newspaper... and i did feed the mum with nutrients.. last week...i dont know what the hell went wrong with the mum... eaten up her babies...i damn sad till now...still cant forget the skull of babies.. do u have any ideas under what circumstances the mum will do that? now i am thinking to get a pair of WW hammie...anyone selling it? another question....hammie lifespan how long ar? Did you watch them very often? Most of their lifespan is around 1.5-2 years.. mine lived 2 years plus last time. WW. This post has been edited by BlueHeng: Jan 3 2007, 03:31 AM |
Jan 3 2007, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 3 2007, 10:42 AM) I have a syrian, 2 WWs, 2 campbells, 2 gerbils, Nah... I read somewhere RC/WW average litter is 4 pups. So I guess 3 is fine. =)Before that i had another 2 WWs, but i give them to my gf's mum already since she loves them, the little story : I bought the 2 WW from the pet shop, i ask for 2 females. I myself had keep them for 1 month +, then only give them to her. The problem is....on the early morning of 1st January 2007, she call my gf and told her that the WW had 3 babies!!!! I was like WTF!!! i thought both of them are females, now only i know they r diff sex.....Now the male is separated liao, later when the pups are weaned, the son will stay with dad and daughter will stay wif mum...... But I thought usually hamsters give birth to 5 or more pups, but mine only 3 pups......ok or not? |
Jan 3 2007, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Street Force @ Jan 3 2007, 12:05 PM) csclinks - my babies all R.I.P already poor you... I think around 3 weeks should be fine? Ask the pros first, my experience are only based on readings and obeservation from my friend's hams..from what u guys tell me..i think they died bcoz of my GF touch it... how long shud i leave the babies what the mum until we can separate them? by the way...juz now i search google images for WW and RC.. they like almost the same only...which one better... yesterday i went to petshop...i dunno catch WW or RC...but it escaped vry fast.. cannot hold too long like Syrian...Light Black colour RC are much more curious and they tend to taste you more often... meaning bite you a bit la.. lol... WW like mine, are timid at times.. sleeps a lot in the morning.. O.o RC are more active compared to WW in my opinion.. they're more or less the same actually. In fact, they were mistaken to be the same species earlier on. |
Jan 3 2007, 09:04 PM
Jan 3 2007, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(kembara @ Jan 3 2007, 09:52 PM) hey how dare you leave me alone dont post my picture,,hehehe Married with the mom?!?! OMG YOU INCEST PROMOTER!!! Not good wan laaa... later they inherit all the genetic disease!!![]() ![]() ![]() he is the last one..the male winter white sapphire..after the ww pups grow up, then he will be married with the mom hehehe he injured in a fighting...his face,especially under eyes lost fur....but interestingly he cure fully recovered without leave any scar..Thanks to God edit: oh paiseh..misread your post..lol.. This post has been edited by BlueHeng: Jan 3 2007, 11:11 PM |
Jan 4 2007, 02:58 PM
Jan 5 2007, 11:19 PM
Yes hamsters are solitary animals.. read any books and they'll tell you the same thing. They don't get lonely alone.. -.-" They prefer living alone wan...lol..
Jan 6 2007, 01:00 AM
OMG... guys that's not how it works. To avoid trouble you should never put 2 hamsters in 1 cage eventhough they're the same breed get it? They're solitary animals and they have their own territory.. it's like putting 2 lions together! Although they might stay together in the same clan together but sooner or later they'll fight to be the more dominant one! Hamsters do not feel lonely alone guys.. please.. seperate them like what reanne had said MANY times!
Jan 6 2007, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 11:30 PM) dien, Apparently as you can see.. not many of us are able to monitor our hamsters 24/7.. and there have been many 'murder cases'.. to avoid such thing, why not just seperate them instead of taking all the trouble to monitor them and yet still in the end, we can't be sure that they won't fight?ur wholly black colour pup is gorgeous Note: We all know syrians are super solitary animals. Even roborovski or WW will fight too at certain intervals. If u wanna keep them together, then jz make sure they're not fighting and staying together in peace. If u see any fighting or injury, then separate them lar!!! What's the big deal with the issue going about for such a long time???? I think everyone knows clearly what they're doing. And everyone deserves a right to do what they like as long as they're not harming their hamsters. No offence. |
Jan 6 2007, 01:55 AM
Sigh.... well syrian does have a point about letting others handle their hammies.. but I just feel sad for those that died..
My WW will only be active at around 4am-8am.. after that it sleeps again the whole day... Oh one more thing I would like to share about my hamster.. kinda common though.. almost 2/5 times I hold it, it'll pee and shit on my hand!! BAH! LoL.. but can't blame it.. I just got it from a pet shop about 6 days ago.. So it might not be tammed yet.. |
Jan 6 2007, 12:25 PM
Hey just wondering.. is it harmful if i put a toilet roll (just the cylindrical thingy in the middle) into the cage for my WW to play? LoL..
Jan 7 2007, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 7 2007, 07:23 PM) My hamster is suddenly dying about two hours ago...what shud i do now? Usually you can't help to do much about it. Unless you can find a vet nearby who treats rodents... but there aren't many. Just hope for the best and prepare for the worst.Pls help me save her!!She's the last female on my hamsters family |
Jan 8 2007, 08:45 PM
Not easy to tame hamsters.. the one I just bought is still young.. about 3 months old. I let it smell my hand, then catch it, then let it walk around in my palm.. never bite la.. but can see it's afraid. LoL... and naughty. Whenever I wanna catch it, it'll start burrowing under the pine shaving! zzzz... have to dig my hammie out!
Jan 8 2007, 11:52 PM
Sigh.. may your hammie RIP.
Anyway, to tame your hammie, it depends... you have to know your hamster's character, like my hamster is a bit shy.. so don't rush in.. Because I'm using a cage, I'll take off the cover first.. so left the base only la... then I'll talk to it.. touch it a little by little.. try to let it get used to your presence for a while. Perhaps about 5 mins? Then only you attempt to catch it. LoL.. put it on your palms and stroke it slowly.. gently.. then if you sense it's getting too nervous, put it back down again lor.. As I've said la... depends.. Just play with your hammie like 10mins a day? At night before you go sleep or something.. haha |
Jan 9 2007, 11:24 AM
Well anyway, guys, to get a good picture, set your camera to 'Macro' mode. Enables up close pictures. Make sure you focus too.
Jan 9 2007, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(dien @ Jan 9 2007, 11:33 AM) blueheng, hp camera also have that setting mode ke? Hp camera depending lor... some handphones have. Like if I'm not mistaken the Motorola V3x has it? Erm.. some SE phones have it too. You have to go look for it in your camera. But not many hp camera have. A normal digital camera should have lor... Remember guys, Macro mode! Works wonders when you take close up pics!mine only have 4 choices: normal, panorama, frames, and burst.. which one do you think better.. |
| Change to: | 0.0494sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:30 PM |