Planted Aquarium V14
EternalC
Feb 29 2016, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Feb 29 2016, 03:46 PM) Is a good choice, nice and small, perfect for my mini tank, but the problem is they dont school. My dream of thank is to have green carpeting and watch my fish school around. Tetra or cardinal seem to be the best choice but i kinda felt they are too big. But at least there are hardy and easy to keep. i think they stop schooling after they determined that they are pretty comfortable with the tank and got too relaxed and wandered off i've seen better schooling results in a community tanks where there are other schooling fishes around. so maybe security might made them to stop schooling as much? just my thinking.
kimimaro_kun
Feb 29 2016, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 29 2016, 04:35 PM) i think they stop schooling after they determined that they are pretty comfortable with the tank and got too relaxed and wandered off i've seen better schooling results in a community tanks where there are other schooling fishes around. so maybe security might made them to stop schooling as much? just my thinking. thats y need to stand by rotan
EternalC
Feb 29 2016, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 29 2016, 05:02 PM) thats y need to stand by rotan put in some cichlids as a hawt teacher
jenniferjen
Feb 29 2016, 05:35 PM
Well i do have an active flying fox that previously help me on the algae, and still kicking strong... probably it may help... lol...
WaSzupDupe
Mar 1 2016, 07:01 PM
Do UV light and biological filter goes hand in hand? Some say only use 1, as UV light kill of the bacteria....Any idea?
Savor_Savvy
Mar 1 2016, 08:00 PM
What plants are suitable for a neon tetra tank?
WaSzupDupe
Mar 1 2016, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Feb 28 2016, 10:41 PM) Please do  After 5 days
WaSzupDupe
Mar 1 2016, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Mar 1 2016, 08:29 PM) Nice. Let see if it crawls  Any idea yet what is this?
artsyfarty
Mar 1 2016, 08:53 PM

海藻面膜籽, I read it from a china planted tank forum, someone did that. It will form a carpet real fast, but it will continue to grow larger leaves. It grows vertically, so don't expect it to crawl like MC and HC. They said just trim it to keep it low, but noone knows how long it can survive.
Vio
Mar 2 2016, 12:09 AM
hello sifus, any of you have any experience with ludwigia sp red exotica ( Hemigraphis exotica) ? i bought 2 pots but 1 pot is already gone, 1st the leaves drop then the stems rot away.. is there any special way to grow this? This post has been edited by Vio: Mar 2 2016, 12:14 AM
xpertwiz
Mar 2 2016, 03:57 AM
QUOTE(Vio @ Mar 2 2016, 12:09 AM) hello sifus, any of you have any experience with ludwigia sp red exotica ( Hemigraphis exotica) ? i bought 2 pots but 1 pot is already gone, 1st the leaves drop then the stems rot away.. is there any special way to grow this?  The special way is not to grow it submerged because it is not an aquatic plant.
Vio
Mar 2 2016, 08:37 AM
 thank you for confirming, been googling around and all i can find is that this plant is nt an aquatic. asked seller again and was told it can be fully immersed and also its a rare plant.. haiz..
davido
Mar 2 2016, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 1 2016, 07:01 PM) Do UV light and biological filter goes hand in hand? Some say only use 1, as UV light kill of the bacteria....Any idea? I don't use UV light for that reason. The bacteria colony is so important to a tank's balance.
davlee
Mar 2 2016, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(WaSzupDupe @ Mar 1 2016, 07:01 PM) Do UV light and biological filter goes hand in hand? Some say only use 1, as UV light kill of the bacteria....Any idea? Well, I'm using a canister filter with built in UV light though. The UV light is covered hence it will not affect the biological filter. I read that UV light only works to eradicate green water algae, which I have not observed in my tank but my tank does have other kinds of algae growing...
artsyfarty
Mar 3 2016, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(davlee @ Mar 2 2016, 03:21 PM) Well, I'm using a canister filter with built in UV light though. The UV light is covered hence it will not affect the biological filter. I read that UV light only works to eradicate green water algae, which I have not observed in my tank but my tank does have other kinds of algae growing... Does you tank has the green dust algae? The one stick on tank glass.
EternalC
Mar 3 2016, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Mar 3 2016, 10:15 AM) Does you tank has the green dust algae? The one stick on tank glass. i has it anyway to prevent it?
artsyfarty
Mar 3 2016, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 3 2016, 10:35 AM) i has it anyway to prevent it? Me too, I did blackout one, and it worked for a week, then it comes back again. But I only did one cycle, usually requires 2-3 or more cycles to clear it depend on the severity. UV is one of the way to remove it.
EternalC
Mar 3 2016, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Mar 3 2016, 10:44 AM) Me too, I did blackout one, and it worked for a week, then it comes back again. But I only did one cycle, usually requires 2-3 or more cycles to clear it depend on the severity. UV is one of the way to remove it. UV light not cheap le blackout? then the plants inside there how? i also got shrimp inside