Planted Aquarium V14

reconer
post Nov 12 2024, 11:05 AM

88 posts

Oh ya, over time, the tank was growing more and more algae and diatoms. So I have also added some shrimps and otocinclus catfish. This worked out well and my tank is quite free from algae. After all the algae is gone, i have to regularly top up food for my otocinclus catfish with cooked cucumbers.

I also did not plant my utricularia graminifolia deep into the gravel. I placed it on top of the gravel and it was held on by clip twist plant wire to the substrate. I think this was because of my earlier mistake... the bottom part of the plant need adequate breathing space too.

As for temperature, i did not use any active cooling. Temperatures here are wild, going from 31degC to 24degC in the last few months. But I did notice the plant grew better if the ambient temps are below 30degC.
Kamm Matt
post Jan 27 2025, 12:09 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(unkaleong @ Aug 20 2024, 11:40 AM)

Newbie here. Currently cycling the water in my tank. Looking at getting some Tetra's and Corydora's for my small 20liter tank .
for faster and stabil parameter tank cycle.. use domin8,proven safe fast and stabil

junsheng
post May 1 2025, 05:49 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(reconer @ Nov 12 2024, 10:58 AM)
Just wanting to post my utricularia graminifolia in tropical weather (Malaysia, Singapore).

I had previously failed with the dry start method because I heard it was pretty successful online. I failed like 3 times. They all melted and died from moulding (partly because of the jelly from the pots).

Finally I planted submersed and now it is growing. I have to use aqua soil (2cm) at the bottom layer, and then add gravel at the top layer (about 3cm). For CO2, i previously had a CO2 tank but.... i realised its much cheaper to use a bubbler with regular air. To hold down the plants, i used garden plant ties. As the plants grow, i have to keep adding more garden plant ties to hold them down.

Also, I realised utricularia graminifolia does not have any roots. When it spreads, lots of shoots get collected at the top of the tank. I take the shoots and replanted them elsewhere in the tank.
Week 1
Week 8

Will continue to post my updates when they grow more.
this one easy plant, thrive best in neglected tank
since it's carnivorous plant it's very sensitive to fertiliser, especially N
new aqua soil always leach huge amount of fert into the water and ug don't appreciate that

if the aqua soil is depleted, it will appreciate minimal dosing of fert time to time
ug will float easily to prevent that dose co2 and trim it down time to time
not compatible with most plants that require fertilise schedule, not really a big deal since you can implement N limit
reconer
post May 22 2025, 11:04 PM

88 posts

im so ashamed after reading this comment.... because all died...

they floated all to the top.... really dont understand why they love to float to the top. anyone got any pics of a successful planted UG in tropical climate?

QUOTE(junsheng @ May 1 2025, 05:49 PM)
this one easy plant, thrive best in neglected tank
since it's carnivorous plant it's very sensitive to fertiliser, especially N
new aqua soil always leach huge amount of fert into the water and ug don't appreciate that

if the aqua soil is depleted, it will appreciate minimal dosing of fert time to time
ug will float easily to prevent that dose co2 and trim it down time to time
not compatible with most plants that require fertilise schedule, not really a big deal since you can implement N limit
junsheng
post May 23 2025, 03:30 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(reconer @ May 22 2025, 11:04 PM)
im so ashamed after reading this comment.... because all died...

they floated all to the top.... really dont understand why they love to float to the top. anyone got any pics of a successful planted UG in tropical climate?
https://www.2hraquarist.com/en-mk/blogs/fre...ia-graminifolia

UG is not truly aquatic plant but it can be grown as one, origin from SEA can be found in malaysia too
in nature ug is found emersed or partially submersed, so naturally they will thrive
when it float to the top because of stronger light and more accessible to co2
UG don't have true roots, those roots like structure is what ug used to propagate and attach itself
your ug floats probably because of slow growth or it's melting
and if it dies after floating to the top, then it's mostly likely something is wrong with your tank parameter

why ug best thrive in neglected tank, because it's usually the most with stable parameter
most fish owners would overfeed their fishes, in neglected tank they forgot to feed their fishes
you only need to feed your fishes once every 2-3 days, bigger fishes can be once a week with few exception
so no ammonia spike leading to stable tank parameter

check your ammonia level, in stable cycled tank it should be 0 ppm
but ug is a bit forgiving as long as your ammonia don't reach 0.10 ppm should be fine
check your light, ug need medium to high light, high light if you're not injecting co2
1234kingbling
post Jul 10 2025, 08:06 PM

313 posts

Hi Sifus, any recommendation for a shop to purchase plants in klang valley? Starting my aquascape tank soon and would like to know places that you guys frequent that is reasonably priced.

Thanks in advance.
FreedomSeeker
post Jul 10 2025, 09:41 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Jul 10 2025, 08:06 PM)
Hi Sifus, any recommendation for a shop to purchase plants in klang valley? Starting my aquascape tank soon and would like to know places that you guys frequent that is reasonably priced.

Thanks in advance.
The Nature Aquastore Sdn Bhd
Pandan Indah Ampang

Fish Tails Aquatic Studio
Taman Len Seng Cheras

East-Aqua Studio
Cheras Perdana

If you looking for aquatic plants these 3 shops i went before seem suitable for you. Not those typical fish shop that stock the plants there just waiting customer to grab it only. These 3 seem take care the plants properly to sell it and lot of choices also. More on aquascaping side. U may google their info 1st to check. East-Aqua Studio dono he is owner or staff seem a bit unfriendly but the female much better attitude. The other 2 shops quite friendly la…

There may be other shops also la… i just share those i went before.

junsheng
post Jul 16 2025, 01:16 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(1234kingbling @ Jul 10 2025, 08:06 PM)

Thanks in advance.
klang valley is too huge, maybe narrow down a bit, also are you planning to get co2?

last time i get it from fish depot in pj a bit distance away from the kelana jaya lrt station
member registration is free no renewal and you get to enjoy discount, didn't register as member and
kept using the person's name that recommended the place to me LOL

you can order fishes & shrimps & plants, order before thursday can get it by thursday or friday, nice if you're spontaneous buyer like me
but to refill co2 you have to wait a few hours cause they're not using pump

0.0155sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:03 PM