Planted Aquarium V14

EternalC
post May 27 2015, 11:53 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

hi all

wanna ask

let say if i do a setup on a 48 litre tank, i'm not exactly doing a planted tank but just to have some plants going on at the base.

is there any set up that does not need co2 bubble? i'm more into those i set up the requirements and then just leave it be until the next maintenance. coz i'm planning to put some tetras/guppies/shrimp into that tank.

any suggestion? by the way, i dont really fancy those big leaves that grows over the aquarium height. i appreciate small plants smile.gif
EternalC
post Oct 19 2015, 01:13 PM

845 posts

i'm thinking of starting a non co2 planted carpet tank

i'm thinking of getting moss as the carpet. push it flat down the soil and put some stones as deco

what u guys think? can work?
EternalC
post Oct 19 2015, 03:43 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 19 2015, 01:59 PM)
moss is very light weight and will float to surface if not tied. another option is to clamp it together like a ball of moss. but u still need an item with weight to keep it down.
ya, thats my concern. how to get it stick to the soil lol
EternalC
post Oct 19 2015, 04:26 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 19 2015, 03:59 PM)
bro, it wont stick. due to surface is too small to adhere to. so at least need a piece of rock / wood / flat stone. u can then glue or tie it up.

worse case, u can also use those plastic nett and then let it grow and cover the entire plastic net. i am doing it for my subwassertang. it grew until like a big ball of moss... haha.. quite liking it. the process takes a few months long...
ya i know it wont stick lol

how bout if i put a pinch of the moss every here and there halfway beneath the soil, in a way so that half of it can get the lights on top of the soil. just like planting those paddies except for this one is totally submerged in water

in a further thoughts, i might wanna use fissidens, looks easier to attach to soil perhaps

This post has been edited by EternalC: Oct 19 2015, 04:34 PM
EternalC
post Oct 20 2015, 08:09 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 19 2015, 09:48 PM)
anything buried for the moss will rot from below la... once they rot, they will start to float then mess up ur scape... not worth...

but i like ur paddy field concept biggrin.gif
paddy field concept is based on the tall grass plants laugh.gif

any idea on how to put on the floor? i dont intend to use plastic net as i want the surface to have a natural look and am thinking of doing some landscaping there
EternalC
post Oct 20 2015, 08:51 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 20 2015, 08:35 AM)
to be honest, i think u can plug it in one stem at a time. at the same time, ur tank's fish shld not be those that pluck it out... i will leave that to ur imagination because most fish tends to pluck/suck at plants...

then ur waterflow also need to be just right. too high flow will unroot all those moss while too slow u will get dead spots in the tank which will contribute to algae...

either of which is really time consuming...

if it was me, i would just leave the moss with net then let it grow until become a big bunch... but then it will be a bush (semak samun) not paddy field edi.. haha... maybe u need to reconsider other plants that look like the scape u wanted....
the fish gonna come in after i'm done and satisfied with the plants
maybe i'll throw some amanos and algae eating fish to help with the algae thing after a week or so

i'm not sure what other options do i have lol since i want it to be a non co2 tank.
EternalC
post Jan 4 2016, 07:36 PM

845 posts

by the way guys, anyone heard / using Deebow brand for their led lighting?

am interested in their dee-45 model, however nothing much on the net
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 08:53 AM

845 posts

what lighting you guys are using for your current tank?

if can, please specify the watts, your tank capacity (litre / ft / etc), what kind of plants and fishes / shrimps
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 10:59 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 5 2016, 10:32 AM)
Well, personally I haven't tried 16 hours. but from other people experience, algae growth will be the main problem. How old is your tank?

It won't work to have lighting off during noon for 4 hours. It doesn't work that way. You will interrupt the photosynthesis. They don't take nap.
so the lighting must be on nonstop for the desired hours?

how about if the timing change for certain days, for example today i on it for 6 hours starting 7pm, then somedays later i decide to on it for 6 hours but starting 12am

any side effect?
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 11:15 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:10 AM)
the tank is about 2 months old, and i think it's pretty stable by now, as in no sudden fish/shrimps death and no sudden algae growth that is out of control..
i do partial water change every 2-3 weeks.
hi, how big is your tank?
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 11:27 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 5 2016, 11:19 AM)
I'd say yes, nonstop, uninterrupted period of time for maximum photosynthesis, but not exceeding 10-12 hours. Plant need to rest too.

I also haven't tried timing change. The most I did before is moving forward from 10am to 8am, around that time range, a few hours plus and minus, nothing dramatic for the plant.

For your case, it's possible, but you need to give the plant plenty of time to adapt. For example, slowly moving from 7pm to 12am. I do read some really busy aquascappers who came back home at late night, they reverse the time so they can enjoy the aquarium when they're back from work.
yeah i guess so. strongly agree on the nonstop lighting period.

and yeah, i usually on my lights after coming back from work. but sometimes during festive seasons or when people coming for visiting i will on the lights too

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:20 AM)
i measured my tank size is 12 inch x 12 inch x 12 inch, and that equates to about 28L..
28L and changing water 3 weeks once... sweat.gif

can ah?
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 11:45 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:39 AM)
i guess the various reducer filter works to keep the water parameters at acceptable level longer, but so far no issues(touch wood)..
before i use the reducer filters i kena once where 2 weeks without water change, and suddenly 5 guppies die in a day, quickly do half water change and manage to save the rest, guess that time the ammonia/nitrate level probably went too high..
i see... do post a pic for us to see laugh.gif
EternalC
post Jan 5 2016, 12:18 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Jan 5 2016, 12:16 PM)
ops, i getting more and more nyanyuk sudah blush.gif
EternalC
post Jan 6 2016, 01:51 PM

845 posts

looks fun wei
EternalC
post Jan 6 2016, 02:20 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 6 2016, 02:09 PM)
the amount of livestock you have in your tank is too much for a one ft cube.... 10 gold fish... =.=! i think 1 pair of gold fish is still fine, or 4-5 pairs of guppies would be good.

yeah, like many others have already pointed out, long hours of lighting is overkill for your plant, low tech planted tank.
8-10 hours should be good.
actually, if you do only low tech planted tank, with not much of livestock inside (no overfeeding), no water change is fine, just top up of water. i'm trying to achieve this now..... so far 2 weeks never change water ad.
make sense too

gonna try this
EternalC
post Jan 6 2016, 03:05 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jan 6 2016, 02:58 PM)
nice!!!!..at least i found someone doing the same.. rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

this is my replies.

1st point: i did 2 tries..1st with that blue ball diffuser, 2nd with nothing at all (just airline into reactor).both resulted the same, backpressure..can see clearly water going back from the reactor to the tank(i need to plug out the tube from co2 tank just in case the water might going through bubble counter and into the co2 tank itself)..the only way to counter this is to adjust co2 until around 10-15bps according to the bubble counter, only then i can see co2 coming out inside the reactor water with somewhere around 2-3bps (i officially start this system this morning).. but here come the bad news..just now my wife realize the fish suffocating inside the tank..and luckily she manage to transfer those fish into her guppy tank..1 neon tetra died though..RIP..yep..i do need another 1 way valve..might even buy another 3pcs..

2nd point: fyi, my filter housing didnt have any release nozzle..im just indicating where i put my co2 line coz im not using the same design as the picture given..so hopefully no degradation problem..

3rd point: same as 2nd point but for cleaning, i need to disassemble the reactor body from its head i think..

4th point: i used those craft silicone gun for 1st try building this hence the leaks..for 2nd try, i used somewhere the same type u mention..bout the pressure release valve, did u mean the red button or the other 1 way valve?.
u referring to my post or someone else post?.hahaha..if mine, then i can say it quite fun as long as it works..as long as everything works!..haha.
icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
ya yours lol. looks fun

DIY is always fun lol
EternalC
post Jan 8 2016, 04:41 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Jan 8 2016, 04:36 PM)
my tank after 3 months, just dosed ferts last night(first time). let's see how it goes. algae here and there. otto and sae helps tremendously. still remember when i introduced them to the tank, my whole tank was covered in algae. the next morning almost 30% was gone from the surfaces of the leaves of plant and driftwood. now they're doing a good job at keeping the algae growth somewhat controlled. tank should be fully cycled by now. Plan to go to Nilufar scotts garden to get some Odessa barbs either tonite or tomorrow, only saw them to be available now at scotts. how often i should be performing water changes and at what percentage?
nice tank bro!
EternalC
post Jan 12 2016, 08:10 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jan 11 2016, 04:42 PM)
I got this blackout treatment from Tom Barr. He is a popular guy in planted tank. He has done a lot of research in planted tank. I think he invented EI dosing.

Basically:

Day 1, clean, trim leaf with algae and do a 50% WC. Dose excel, switch off co2, no fertz, and 0% light, cover it with blanket/rubbish bin plastic.
Day 2, black out
Day 3, black out, You can feed during blackout but some fish might not able to see it.
Day 4, WC 50-70%, light on for 3 days, heavy dose of co2 and dose fertz.
Day 5, light on, fertz
Day 6, light on, fertz
Day 7, Repeat day 1 - day 7.

Usually need 2 cycle, can be more. That'd kill algae effectively. I'm doing it for the first time, so maybe you can wait to see my result first, I use it to get rid of my green dust algae, those stick on glass.

some ppl said some of their plants melted during this treatment but it does kill algae.
hi pls pm on fissiden source too laugh.gif
EternalC
post Jan 12 2016, 03:50 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Syfq @ Jan 12 2016, 03:47 PM)
hi guys ,
kindly interested to have planted aquarium , like you all setup

i have 1 feet aquarium , do i really need CO2 ?
depends on what plants you want to keep
EternalC
post Jan 12 2016, 04:17 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Syfq @ Jan 12 2016, 04:07 PM)
but the grass totally need co2 rite?
i believe all grass need co2. maybe just how dense it is tat matters to their growth.

basic rule of photosynthesis, day time they absorb co2 convert to oxygen, nite time absorb oxygen convert to co2

moss types are quite strong, so most of the moss type no need co2 tank. if you wan those fancy fancy carpet type of grass in your tank, most likely you'll need co2

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:37 PM