4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V14

kimimaro_kun
post Mar 28 2015, 12:14 PM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

QUOTE(doraemon9078 @ Mar 24 2015, 02:54 PM)
new in planted aquarium.
feel free to give any comment.

change your filter to HOB?
kimimaro_kun
post Apr 13 2015, 04:50 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Apr 10 2015, 07:52 PM)
this was for 20cm aquarium, shoul dnot be any issue right?
bro, last time me oni using 18w spiral bulb for my 1ft tank. no prob at all for glosso to creep.
for early stage, diy will save u a lot. then slowly upgrade.
dont invest so much in one shot, later u'll regret.
unless u anak dato' la whistling.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Jun 14 2015, 02:41 PM

669 posts

[attachmentid=4485650]
My latest fts

This post has been edited by kimimaro_kun: Jun 14 2015, 02:42 PM

kimimaro_kun
post Jun 25 2015, 12:31 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jun 23 2015, 08:50 PM)
Wanted to share my male Pearl Gourami. Rarely (or just me?) see this species. Got him from Fish Depot, the last one in the tank. Feed him and the tetras New Life Spectrum Small Fish Formula almost exclusively and my cories Hikari Sinking Wafers.

Related to planted tanks: I just changed to the Up Aqua Pro Z LED light smile.gif I got it during Fish Depot's sale period and for the price (RM 180+), totally worth it since don't need to change tubes anymore. I only have low tech plants like Anubias, Java fern and moss however.
you may google for chocolate gourami or samurai gourami..
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif wub.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Jul 9 2015, 11:28 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jul 9 2015, 10:44 AM)
hi guys, im facing some problem here,

I got planted tank in my room, everything goes well, it is bare bottom tank, not carpet, just start planting monte carlo. Other plant, riccia, fissiden, moss, rotala and bacopa.

I got assassin snail and cherry shrimp house in that tank, everything looks fine, got berried mommy.

the egg owned by one of the mommy has been hatched. I saw the shrimplet the day it hatched, but on the next day, I never saw the shrimplet. don't know either they are hiding in the riccia or what so ever.

FYI, I am using surface skimmer... and HOB

there are another mommy shrimp that berried, I don't want the same thing happen... Kindly advise me on this matter...
hi hafiz... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

kimimaro_kun
post Aug 17 2015, 05:23 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 17 2015, 01:03 PM)
Also, anyone know the most economy and reliable small size canisters filter? Budgeting abt rm100 or less.
Tq
whats your tank size?
JEBO ftw flex.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Aug 18 2015, 04:51 PM

669 posts

for 2ft tank, not recommended for hob. too small for filter media. plus jebo is not that expensive.
kimimaro_kun
post Aug 20 2015, 02:23 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 19 2015, 08:01 AM)
Thanks for all the advice, after few research, decide on the shiruba xb303. Now to find the reliable shop that sell this filter.
TBH, shiruba xb303 is a shit canister.
u need to hang it or put it side by side with ur tank. u cant put it lower or it wont work.
plus it still small for me compare to it price
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 4 2015, 05:49 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(doraemon9078 @ Sep 4 2015, 11:35 AM)
Hi Guys,

need help on this.
my tank got blue-green Algae, manually remove it almost everyday but come back very fast. and if it pieces stick on other plant. it will start grow there.
spray it with h2o2.

QUOTE(Marimo Hut @ Sep 4 2015, 01:33 PM)
would monte carlo grow faster if i put liquid co2? Just wondering.  sweat.gif
no
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 7 2015, 04:06 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(doraemon9078 @ Sep 5 2015, 10:36 AM)
where to get the h2o2

farmacy. just said u want to buy hydrogen peroxide. no prob, u wont get caught
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 13 2015, 04:48 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Oct 13 2015, 12:07 PM)
need some advice in wc..(my 1st WC)

how exactly to do wc?.water tap + anti chlorine?.or water aeration?.even with aeration, i dont have big enough bucket to keep water for my 2.5ft tank..

advice pls..thx..
welcome to aquascaping bro...
normal wc would only take max 40% from your tank. i normally do it at 20%.
no need aeration. just good anti chlorine, enough already. else just keep aged water
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 13 2015, 04:49 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Oct 13 2015, 02:06 PM)
guys, anyone ever did iwagumi with only inert sand as substrate?
a lot actually. u may google for arif hamsa scape. he normally use anubias as his main plant
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 13 2015, 05:14 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Oct 13 2015, 04:53 PM)
i'm gonna keep it simple, only dwarf hairgrass, shirui sand, alveolate (ohko) rocks
dwarf hg on sand?
u need to put in root tab
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 15 2015, 02:56 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 14 2015, 08:40 AM)
as kimimaro otai said, just remove about 20-40% estimated water from your tank and water it to your outside plants (recycle water).

then as you are filling the removed water, add in anti chlorine to your tap water. preferably u may mix it first in a pail then fill up slowly into your tank. take note that for the anti chlorine, u should add dosage for entire tank volume not just the replaced water amount.

but if it proves too much hassle, u can also pour the antichlorine into your current tank and then slowly run the tap water directly into tank. thats how i do it on my 4ft tank. so far touch wood, no problems. but do take note the risk is higher due to brown municipal water may just go inside ur tank if your house does not have external water filter outside.
me no otai... still struggling with algae.. sigh

QUOTE(Celldweller @ Oct 14 2015, 07:38 PM)
Hi , is that any shop in JB selling 3 or 4 feet long super clean glass aquarium?
u can ask for quotation from new oasis at tiram. others oasis give a slightly bit expensive

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 15 2015, 11:34 AM)
Anyone here successfully established dwarf hairgrass? Mine is still in dry start. It's growing but the roots are going in too deep, instead of going horizontally. It's spreading downwards to the very bottom of the aquarium. Subsequently the shoots are having a hard time getting to the surface. Is that normal?
even without dry start, the root will go in deep. normal i think
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 15 2015, 05:45 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Oct 15 2015, 03:26 PM)
kimi : I also got bba algae... stuck there since day 1. much reduced after i changed from 50w daylight led to 25w Red:blue growlight led hehe...
red:blue led?

Color Settings

So what is the best color settings for your LED lighting to promote planted growth? With the graph to the left, you can see that chlorophyll absorption is highest in the blues and reds. If you have an RGB light like the Current USA Satellite Freshwater LED plus, your best bet is to create a full purple spectrum with white LEDs at maximum.

Green plants typically absorb around the 400-450nm and 650-675nm range, which is the blue and red color spectrum. The red light is used mainly for strong stems and flowering, whereas blue light is used for growing leaves and promoting bushy and compact growth.

Your Viewing Pleasure

At the end of the day, an aquarium is for your viewing pleasure. With setting up your own color spectrum in your aquarium, it’s definitely ideal to try to incorporate the blue and red wavelengths into your lighting with minimal greens/yellows. Will this increase your plant growth exponentially? No, you probably won’t even notice a difference, but it can minimize algae blooms and promote better plant growth.

sos

This post has been edited by kimimaro_kun: Oct 15 2015, 05:47 PM
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 21 2015, 05:59 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Oct 21 2015, 11:30 AM)
another help needed..hehe..

surveying 4 LFS (only 2 open) around taman tun, jb..and i think i need some algae eater so my tank is under control.. laugh.gif

could you recommend any of this?.still searching for flying fox or SAE..but damn..those are hard to find..only manage to found CAE (aggressive but not an effective algae eater people says, i dunno)

i did want to try introduce shrimp for the problem, but is it easier to manage shrimp over fish?. hmm.gif

all that are not algae eater. only suitable if you have sand in your tank, else they will die

since u from jb, why not u go to new oasis at tiram? they do have SAE, otto and yamato.
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 23 2015, 05:46 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Oct 22 2015, 09:02 AM)
still surveying LFS near skudai..tiram is quite far when u travelling after office hour..must wait for weekends..but this weekend is full..must wait next weekend..thats why i pusing2 somewhere near first..

thanks for the clarification though..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
IINM, sometimes at jurasic there also got otto.

QUOTE(doraemon9078 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:16 PM)
Dear all experts, need help on green hair & black hair algae

my tank got alot green hair algae, on tank glasses, plant leaves, and have a minority of black hair algae. i got OTO fish, but seem they not eating them.
how to get rid of them?
green hair algae can be control by yamato. not otto. if u can get malayan shrimp, it would be great
black hair algae---> bba or staghorn? need to define it tho. bba u can do spot treatment by excel. staghorn quite difficult to deal with.
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 26 2015, 05:02 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(ajamgl @ Oct 24 2015, 06:33 PM)

nice..
glosso can survive with only excel? i'm looking for low tech carpet plant
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 28 2015, 11:51 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Oct 27 2015, 05:05 PM)
Don't you need lights? I would like Marco Polo as foreground due to its ease in growing, but I've never tried to plant in a 1 feet mini.
Monte carlo i believed.
easier than glosso they said. but still need co2

QUOTE(davido @ Oct 27 2015, 06:18 PM)
Marco Polo is low tech.

Anyway I have some time. Thought to upload some photos.

bro, your panda garra is not taking those shrimp as snack?? the mouth is quite big. just take precaution bro icon_rolleyes.gif
also, not all bucep will turn into purple. so far, only bucep sp ghost is having purple leaf color once fully submersed.
nod.gif

QUOTE(Vio @ Oct 27 2015, 08:47 PM)
is it ok to plant bucep into the substrate? i was told the roots will rot not sure how true.

nice panda garra there, couldnt find any at my lfs
soil vs stone vs dw.
seems bucep prefered stone. but my sifus said, not all stone can be used. some will make the root melt. sweat.gif sweat.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Nov 16 2015, 04:31 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Nov 13 2015, 03:03 PM)
ya...i did stumble on his page on lelong while browsing where can i find those compound in small amount..i'm in jb btw..if he's the only suppliers of those, then no choice but to deal with postage..
yeay... johorian.. which part of jb bro?

QUOTE(ky_guy @ Nov 14 2015, 12:23 PM)
Anyone can recommend me where i can get good deal of these ADA sands to set up an aquatank? Thnx
sand or soil?? where's ur location?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1169sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:06 AM