137 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

basilisk
post Sep 26 2020, 09:02 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Sep 26 2020, 05:24 AM)
I neutered my cat last week.

I have problem in healing the wound. After 1 week, the wound bernanah. Everyday i clean it twice. Put kon on her head. How to dry and heal the wound quickly?
get antibiotic cream frm vet n apply. wound will heal very fast.
kizwan
post Sep 26 2020, 04:35 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

I have problem in healing the wound. After 1 week, the wound bernanah. Everyday i clean it twice. Put kon on her head. How to dry and heal the wound quickly?
Yeah, like basilisk just said, bring to the vet. They will give you cream to put on it. Maybe give you some antibiotic tablets as well. Don't worry.
jess7
post Sep 26 2020, 08:55 PM

155 posts

hey there, did u keep the kitty caged after the op? just bring to vet to get rid of the pus.
sometimes the kitty litter is dirty and it will affect the wound
or if the cat wasn't caged, it might have open the wound during rough play or jumping.
basilisk
post Oct 1 2020, 01:18 PM

30 posts

Finally, the dreaded " block " happened.

And the vet bill cost over RM500 for a normal private clinic. huhu..

Normal hours, charges, not 'emergency' hours..
Later I will break down the cost...
jess7
post Oct 2 2020, 10:49 PM

155 posts

hello cat parents,
i visited the cat expo today, it is my very first so i don't have any event to compare it to.
There are very few vendors only and not much promos.
I did buy Reflex plus dry food as i find it quite affordable to feed the strays.
Also picked up those large cans of cat food, wet cat food only cheaper by a few cents.
If anyone planning to go, do have shopee app in hand to compare price before buying, really I had to walk away because it is still cheaper on Shopee
kizwan
post Oct 2 2020, 11:21 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 1 2020, 01:18 PM)
Finally, the dreaded " block " happened.

And the vet bill cost over RM500 for a normal private clinic. huhu..

Normal hours, charges, not 'emergency' hours..
Later I will break down the cost...
Blockage? UTI?
basilisk
post Oct 5 2020, 01:43 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Oct 2 2020, 11:21 PM)
Blockage? UTI?
uti = infection, still can pee, but painful.

This case, wana pee, no urine flows out.
male cat, neutered round 6mth++, age 3.5years++.
no apparent sign or warning, just one fine night, i saw d fler squat to pee , but no urine flows out, he was so mad and cursed, as if gona kill everyone.

I decided to wait til next morning, cos most of the vet on emergency duty is newbie, cat jz had dinner, so put him on sedation is risky.

I should be very specific to ask for urine lab test. In the end, apa test pon tarak buat, even the ph oso dono. Only manage to unblock.
Discharge same day. Antibiotic for 1week, finished without problem.

Tht rc urinary, as usual made frm cheap ingr, but claims able to alter the urine ph, help dissolve struvite, only extra ingr i noticed is calcium sulfate. The food is so low in fibre, cat wana poo oso susah, and vomited some hairball wit food for several days, 10hours aft food. On 4th-5th day, ok dy no more vomitting aft i add kib with more fibre.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Oct 5 2020, 01:46 PM
70U63
post Oct 5 2020, 06:08 PM

95 posts

Time to give more wet food for your cats. If got time, sendiri make complete and balance food for them.

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 5 2020, 01:43 PM)
uti =  infection, still can pee, but painful.

This case, wana pee, no urine flows out.
male cat, neutered round 6mth++, age 3.5years++.
no apparent sign or warning, just one fine night, i saw d fler squat to pee , but no urine flows out, he was so mad and cursed, as if gona kill everyone.

I decided to wait til next morning, cos most of the vet on emergency duty is newbie, cat jz had dinner, so put him on sedation is risky.

I should be very specific to ask for urine lab test. In the end, apa test pon tarak buat, even the ph oso dono. Only manage to unblock.
Discharge same day. Antibiotic for 1week, finished without problem.

Tht rc urinary, as usual made frm cheap ingr, but claims able to alter the urine ph, help dissolve struvite, only extra ingr i noticed is calcium sulfate. The food is so low in fibre, cat wana poo oso susah, and vomited some hairball wit food for several days, 10hours aft food. On 4th-5th day, ok dy no more vomitting aft i add kib with more fibre.

basilisk
post Oct 5 2020, 06:48 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(70U63 @ Oct 5 2020, 06:08 PM)
Time to give more wet food for your cats. If got time, sendiri make complete and balance food for them.
i can make him consume more water, that is not a problem so far.
in fact i already started to make him consume more water long time ago,
just that i might not be doing it consistently, and he actually needs more... (since this happened). Never tot he is so damn lucky!!

So how much water are we talking about?

Search online, states that 60ml per kg, 4kg cat 240ml a day.

Normally ppl just let the cat eat dry kibs, and let d fler drink at will.

With a lucky cat like this, water consumption needs to be measured. And spread out the entire day.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Oct 5 2020, 06:55 PM
pillage2001
post Oct 6 2020, 04:42 PM

1,991 posts

So....finally am pulling the trigger and getting a cat since there's a stray hybrid munchkin that was found.......lol...

Some quick Q,
1) Which litter sand type is good? I read that there's tofu and all so what do you guys use? I stay in a condo and would like to have as minimal smell as possible.
2) I am planning to go with dry food ( kibbles ) as much as I can. In terms of general health, any supplements that I should add in? I also read that it's good for them to consume raw food. Am thinking that I can get some raw salmon for cheaps so if it's good for the cat, why not?
3) How often do they really scratch? I have things on the ground that I really don't want it to be scratched as it's expensive so am trying to figure out how to avoid it.........
4) Vaccine, what is compulsory? How often to deflea/deworm?

This post has been edited by pillage2001: Oct 6 2020, 05:13 PM
TSspunkberry
post Oct 7 2020, 01:16 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 6 2020, 04:42 PM)
1) Which litter sand type is good? I read that there's tofu and all so what do you guys use? I stay in a condo and would like to have as minimal smell as possible.
The key to minimal smell is frequent scooping and regular washing of the box. Type of litter - most people opt for clumping clay litters, but I'll let others respond. I don't use a standard litterbox.

2) I am planning to go with dry food ( kibbles ) as much as I can. In terms of general health, any supplements that I should add in?  I also read that it's good for them to consume raw food. Am thinking that I can get some raw salmon for cheaps so if it's good for the cat, why not?
Wet food is best for the cat, since they get most of their moisture in the wild from their kills. Dry food only is fine, but you have to make sure that they have access to ample water supply. Good dry food is already perfectly balanced for your cat, there is no need to play around with supplements. Occasional raw feeding is not going to do a whole lot for your cat if the primary food is dry. Full raw feeding is very very dicey - you have to consult with your vet regarding how to balance the food with supplements etc. I recommend you don't bother with raw, unless it's an occasional treat. Fish is also not actually good for cats, since the mercury content is very high.

3) How often do they really scratch? I have things on the ground that I really don't want it to be scratched as it's expensive so am trying to figure out how to avoid it.........
Scratching is a natural, imperative behavior that cats do to sharpen their claws. If you don't want items to be scratched, make sure they have an alternative nearby - like "not here, but here" and encourage them to use the scratchpads, scratching posts, things you want them to scratch. Catnip and playtime are good methods for this. Get the cat used to you handling its paws so you can clip their claws regularly as well. DO NOT DECLAW.

This is a question for your vet, and I recommend you listen to their advice. Depending on the age of your cat, you should take it to see the vet at least once a year. I don't know what the vaccine schedule is in Malaysia, so I'll let others respond.
Having a pet is a major responsibility, and if you are not willing to fork out the money necessary nor spend the time needed to keep them healthy and happy, don't get a pet.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Oct 7 2020, 01:26 AM
pillage2001
post Oct 7 2020, 06:07 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Oct 7 2020, 01:16 AM)
Having a pet is a major responsibility, and if you are not willing to fork out the money necessary nor spend the time needed to keep them healthy and happy, don't get a pet.
Thanks for the reply. Money is not a problem...more on giving it the best. lol.

I was reading about tofu litter which is the most exp but also the best as it is easy to dispose and absorbs best. I suppose you're not in msia and you can't recommend a good brand you use?

Thanks for the other replies. biggrin.gif
jess7
post Oct 7 2020, 09:07 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 6 2020, 04:42 PM)
So....finally am pulling the trigger and getting a cat since there's a stray hybrid munchkin that was found.......lol...

Some quick Q,
I am currently using tofu cat litter as I am allergic to bentonite (my bad luck). I buy bulk from taobao during 11/11 sales (which is around the corner).
Original scent meaning very milky smell. My cats are using a room with an attached bathroom and ventilation fan. The "milky" smell may be overwhelming when the air is not sucked out.
Usage wise, 6L per cat per month, my cats sometimes drag to 1.5months.
Clumping ability, not as great as bentonite but does the job.
If the cat poop is buried, there is no poop smell until you uncover it.
There is dust, no such thing as zero dust but I wear a mask when poop cleaning.

Tofu cat litter is said to be flushable but at small amounts of 70g to prevent toilet clogging.
So far, I have not faced any problem after 11 months of usage.
I will be buying scented litter during the upcoming sales, 50/50 to balance out the milky smell.
I will also be testing out those cat litter deodorizing beads.

Cat litter is quite expensive and I have yet to look into pine pellets, those seem cheaper but the dust tho  blink.gif

2) I am planning to go with dry food ( kibbles ) as much as I can. In terms of general health, any supplements that I should add in?  I also read that it's good for them to consume raw food. Am thinking that I can get some raw salmon for cheaps so if it's good for the cat, why not?
I feed 4x small portions through out the day, 2x wet food and 2x dry food. Both cats are neutered and putting on weight really fast, therefore I need to portion control and I allow them free roam of the whole house when I am around to supervise, they are in their room when I am not around.
I read that wet food or increased water intake will help decrease risk of stones in cats.
So I buy the best dry and wet food that I can afford for them, yes it is not as raw or home prepared food but at least it has all the nutrients a cat needs.
I am also a new cat mummy thus I still need to do more reading about cat nutrition before feeding raw.

I, too, have that concern, surprisingly, they know to ONLY scratch the tower and board I bought them  hmm.gif
Provide them with an outlet and they will, usually, leave your things alone, maybe except your cables or paper things.

Bring your cat to the vet and they will definitely help you with this.
Mine had their first 3x when they were kittens, and the next jab will be next year (annually)

spunkberry is right, keeping pets require time, patience and money.
As of today, my cats have been with me for 50weeks and I've spent 5k on them, not including the upcoming 11/11.
Most of my buys are done in bulk and I am always on the lookout for promos or sales.

KamisF
post Oct 7 2020, 10:06 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 7 2020, 06:07 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Money is not a problem...more on giving it the best. lol.

I was reading about tofu litter which is the most exp but also the best as it is easy to dispose and absorbs best. I suppose you're not in msia and you can't recommend a good brand you use?

Thanks for the other replies. biggrin.gif
if you can afford it try use pottycat tofu litter,
can mix charcoal & original or full charcoal to absorb the smell.

im using nurturpro tofu litter which is a little bit cheaper than pottycat
pillage2001
post Oct 8 2020, 12:49 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Oct 7 2020, 10:06 PM)
if you can afford it try use pottycat tofu litter,
can mix charcoal & original or full charcoal to absorb the smell.

im using nurturpro tofu litter which is a little bit cheaper than pottycat
Thanks for the brand's recommendation. Will definitely look into it. biggrin.gif
pillage2001
post Oct 8 2020, 12:53 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(jess7 @ Oct 7 2020, 09:07 PM)
spunkberry is right, keeping pets require time, patience and money.
As of today, my cats have been with me for 50weeks and I've spent 5k on them, not including the upcoming 11/11.
Most of my buys are done in bulk and I am always on the lookout for promos or sales.
Thanks for the detailed answer. One question though, what brand of food is good? I've read about RC and TOTW. There was a page that i bookmarked on FB but I can't seem to find it now that rates the food. Can you recommend some?
jess7
post Oct 8 2020, 01:07 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 8 2020, 12:53 AM)
Thanks for the detailed answer. One question though, what brand of food is good? I've read about RC and TOTW. There was a page that i bookmarked on FB but I can't seem to find it now that rates the food. Can you recommend some?
so far, i'm trying all brands
these are the dry food brands that I've fed

earthborn
cindy's recipe
fussie cat
proud
carnilove
totw
pillage2001
post Oct 8 2020, 01:14 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(jess7 @ Oct 8 2020, 01:07 AM)
so far, i'm trying all brands
these are the dry food brands that I've fed

earthborn
cindy's recipe
fussie cat
proud
carnilove
totw
Thanks Jess, what about wetfood?
jess7
post Oct 8 2020, 01:20 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 8 2020, 01:14 AM)
Thanks Jess, what about wetfood?
as for wet food, i prefer those 80g cans as i find the ingredients cleaner but they do enjoy some 400g cans as well.

brands i've tried:
fussie cat
cindy's recipe
nurture pro
monge
kit cat

i usually buy in cartons for wet food and the largest bag available for dry as I do have 2 house cats.

just trial and error, see what your cat like to eat and change the palate so it doesn't become too dependent on one particular food, only one of my cat doesn't favor chicken liver but will unwillingly eat.

thank goodness i don't have fussy eaters.
pillage2001
post Oct 8 2020, 01:36 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(jess7 @ Oct 8 2020, 01:20 AM)
as for wet food, i prefer those 80g cans as i find the ingredients cleaner but they do enjoy some 400g cans as well.

brands i've tried:
fussie cat
cindy's recipe
nurture pro
monge
kit cat
i usually buy in cartons for wet food and the largest bag available for dry as I do have 2 house cats.

just trial and error, see what your cat like to eat and change the palate so it doesn't become too dependent on one particular food, only one of my cat doesn't favor chicken liver but will unwillingly eat.

thank goodness i don't have fussy eaters.
Thank you...so much to learn... lol...... Will get back to you folks once it arrives on my doorstep. Excited and scary at the same time. lol

137 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:14 AM