Versions:
V1 V2 V3 V4 V5 V6

**Local Animal Shelter Organizations**
SPCA - Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
PAWS - Paws Animal Welfare Society

**Kittens/Cats for Adoption**
SPCA || Petfinder || RescueMe || Pet Lovers Centre

**Common Questions**
What is a Domestic Longhair (DLH)? Domestic Shorthair (DSH)?

Should I spay/neuter my cat?

Your cat's age in human years

Your cat's anatomy

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Apr 15 2016, 12:14 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 11 2015, 01:39 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

cleaned up the first post and condensed most things into links smile.gif
The member list does nothing, and we want to be welcoming to everybody, plus it's a pain to keep track of and maintain, so I left that off.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 11 2015, 01:42 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 12 2015, 11:47 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jan 12 2015, 03:39 PM)
i think we have to check some of the links on top. i tried that kitten.com.my it doesnt seem to work.
Just checked them all. Looks like MyKucing was also a dead one, as well as SCCARFs
TSspunkberry
post Jan 14 2015, 01:24 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Asak8 @ Jan 13 2015, 10:17 AM)
Finally a new thread.

Anyone with newborn baby and a group of cats?
Do some googling, some say bad some say good for immune system.

Need to know first hand experience on this.

Thanks.  biggrin.gif
I know a lot of people who have babies while they have cats with no issue. Pets are for life, you don't get rid of them just because a baby came along. I don't think they would be detrimental to your child's health in any way, but you must supervise as well as teach your child how to handle them properly.

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Jan 13 2015, 03:31 PM)
hi the kucing lovers,

this is a wild kitten in my neighbourhood, recently i notice its macam sick already, the bulu around its tummy is gone and it got diarrea.

Anyone knows wat happen? does it need to see vet?
It probably groomed the fur off its belly and diarrhea is never a good sign. If you can, you should take it to see a vet, as well as get it spayed/neutered.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 14 2015, 11:21 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(scorpionballs @ Jan 14 2015, 06:38 PM)
Anyone with cats living in a condo/apartment? How do you keep them from going to the balcony and potentially falling off?
I have cats in a condo, but I do not have a balcony. One thing you could do is set plastic blockers around the lower part of the railing?
TSspunkberry
post Jan 15 2015, 01:09 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(scorpionballs @ Jan 15 2015, 10:49 AM)
Hmmm true. But I'd be worried about them jumping to the top of the railing and sitting there / potentially falling off.  sad.gif
Cats are stunt artists, I wouldn't be too concerned. otherwise you're going to have to block off the balcony area for your peace of mind.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 18 2015, 04:18 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 17 2015, 06:53 PM)
Is it normal if a cat rarely meows?
It is normal. Meowing is a communication method strictly for humans and is a learned behavior, meaning that cats only start meowing often when they figure out that humans respond to it.

My cats are very talkative, which is odd to me because neither of them are Siamese (a notoriously talkative cat breed), but I think their previous owner encouraged it.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 18 2015, 05:02 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 20 2015, 11:42 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(justsimply @ Jan 19 2015, 03:56 PM)
Hello!
Any suggestions for cat boarding services around or nearby Damansara Heights/Hartamas areas?
So far I'm looking at Happy Fat Cat and Kitten Cottage in TTDI. Any reviews for them?
Thanks smile.gif
Have you looked into hiring a pet sitter? They are preferable to boarding services.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 21 2015, 12:45 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 21 2015, 12:39 AM)
Thanks pewpur. Guess I was overly concerned. Thought he was having voice issue or what.. + he very reluctant to drink water one
This is why wet food is recommended. Cats don't actually have a thirst drive, hence why they hardly drink enough water to stay hydrated. I'm lucky that both my cats do drink water, but they are also on wet food so I supplement it.

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 21 2015, 12:39 AM)
Is it necessary to buy cat dental snacks/sticks? Does such thing exist? IF there is, what brand is highly recommended?
They don't actually work. A lot of people still believe that dry food helps maintain a cat's teeth because they chew it and the kibble rubs against their teeth, but this isn't true. Cats do not chew. They bite and swallow.

I buy dental treats for my cats, but I know it's merely for my peace of mind, rather than the fact that they actually work. I maintain my cats' teeth by brushing daily whenever I can.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 21 2015, 01:18 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 21 2015, 01:04 AM)
spunkberry
U feeding ur cats with which brand? *wet food
They are currently on Wellness.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 21 2015, 02:23 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 21 2015, 01:52 AM)
I (still) believe dry food helps develop stronger gum & teeth. I agree brushing their teeth will keep their gum & teeth healthy. I honestly do not brush my cats teeth but I did regularly check them.
I was not referring to stronger gums or teeth, though I don't believe that either. I was referring to teeth hygiene - tartar and plaque buildup. Dry food or treats do not help very much.

Just to clarify, my cats are on a wet and dry food diet.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 21 2015, 02:23 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 21 2015, 04:20 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 21 2015, 02:42 AM)
I know, I got that. I wasn't said you were. I just replying that I still believe the dry food helps develop stronger gum & teeth. The second sentence about brushing teeth should already clarify that I got what you meant in your previous reply, what you actually referring to.

There's no need to clarify. I didn't say wet food is bad, if you still misunderstanding my previous reply. Mine as well on a wet & dry food.
Sorry, that last sentence wasn't for you, but since you brought up the dry food point, I wanted to make sure that Dresperado knew that smile.gif

TSspunkberry
post Jan 22 2015, 12:28 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 21 2015, 10:50 AM)
Oh! No problem! smile.gif

My cats love wet food. I feed my cats wet food once a day. At local pet store where I live I have not seen canned food that contain other than fish. I actually stopped feeding fish to my cat. Currently, in addition to dry food, I also feed my cats with boiled chicken mixed with rice once a day, for additional protein source.
Haha one of my cats loves her wet food. The other one doesn't eat enough of it, so I have her on kitten food right now for the higher calories. She's doing well anyway, and she prefers to graze on her dry food, so her weight has stabilized, though it's not where I'd like it to be, but she's not skin and bone and is active.

I feed them wet food twice a day, with dry food to graze.

I don't feed my cats any fish on a regular basis. Only in treats do I tolerate tuna and salmon, because it's a small amount they receive every day, particularly after teeth brushing.

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jan 21 2015, 11:40 AM)
how do you brush their teeth?  hmm.gif
It is a two person job. My partner holds the cat, and I use a pet toothbrush with pet toothpaste and scrub their back teeth. I also give them treats after, so they associate good things with it.

QUOTE(gennee @ Jan 21 2015, 12:10 PM)
i use a wet towel to gently rub his teeth after his bath. he hates it but i guess this is easier than using a toothbrush.
You don't need to bathe your indoor cat so often, if even at all smile.gif My vet suggested using gauze for a while, with the toothpaste on it, but I was getting bitten because of their instinctive chewing of the toothbrush/my finger.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 23 2015, 12:09 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Jan 22 2015, 10:30 AM)
ya. i bath him every fortnight. my cat hates it no matter what i do.  sweat.gif 

but pet toothbrush seems a little harsh, which is why i use a damp cloth.
If your cat doesn't go outside, you really don't need to bathe him that often. It's not good for their skin anyway, and cats clean themselves.

How is a pet toothbrush harsh? It doesn't hurt the cat, and they can be trained to tolerate it.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 23 2015, 12:11 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 23 2015, 12:42 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(melcwh @ Jan 23 2015, 12:33 AM)
Am comparing prices of cat food from multiple brands sold in an online store with physical stores around Klang Valley:
http://waggymeal.com

Are their prices reasonable? With all the cost of living going up, every Sen counts!
I converted some of the better brands (like Merrick) to USD and they are around US prices. I'd say that's reasonable.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 23 2015, 12:48 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 24 2015, 01:43 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 23 2015, 12:09 PM)
Is "ProDiet" brand recommended? Any reviews/feedbacks?
What are the ingredients?

What works for my cat may not work for your cat.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 24 2015, 01:45 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 26 2015, 03:12 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 24 2015, 03:12 PM)
Here you go. You can see the ingredient in the website. They have more than one product, so better give you the link, so you can check it out.

http://prodiet.com.my/products/Fresh-Tuna

I only have tried their canned food though.
Not many brand (premium ones) available in Malaysia though. Which probably the reason we associating the brand with the quality of the food.

Also, this is Blackwood that a lot of people here talked or asked about & most famous premium food here. I just want to hear your comment on the ingredient.
http://blackwoodpetfood.com/recipes/everyday-adult-cat/
ProDiet ingredients:
Tuna, corn, soybean meal, rice, poultry meal, corn gluten meal, poultry fat, tuna oil, vegetable oil, taurine, yucca, essential vitamins & mineral, vitamin E, vitamin C, choline chloride,oligo saccharid enzyme and food grade colour.

Those highlighted would be concerns for me. I avoid corn, wheat, soy and gluten in my cats' food. Tuna, I don't like feeding seafood, so I would personally avoid that.

I like the Blackwood ingredients very much. No corn, no wheat, no soy.

QUOTE(Dresperado @ Jan 25 2015, 01:10 AM)
Thanks all for the feedback for ProDiet.. Gotta agree its quite hard to find premium food in this country
My boy seems like lost interest in eating Blackwood.  sweat.gif
Sounds like it.

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 25 2015, 02:36 AM)
This is news to me. No idea cat with this kind of colours have special name, Calico. Yeah, since you brought this up, my cat also female. Also my tenant's kitten & recently deceased cat also female.

I also have another cats with different colour pattern that also all female. I wonder whether it also have special name. Below is the picture of one of them (old pic, now already grown up). I have three cats like this.

Your cat, I think looks like it is a male cat.
Calicos are predominantly white cats with brown/orange markings. That one looks like a tortoiseshell.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 26 2015, 03:12 AM
TSspunkberry
post Jan 26 2015, 10:23 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I assume it's normal for people in Malaysia to use cages? My cats roam free all day and the only time they're in a cage is when I'm taking them to the vet.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 27 2015, 12:01 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(jessteong @ Jan 26 2015, 10:38 AM)
depends. if it's my own hse, I'll allow them to roam free all day indoor.
but now, they stay in the garden which is why cage is required during night or when we have the leave the gate open
QUOTE(kizwan @ Jan 26 2015, 03:31 PM)
In general I don't think so. It's either roam free in the house or outside of the house. A lot of people still leave their cats to stay out 24/7.

All of my cats roam free all day in the house but I caged some of them before I go to sleep at night. Cages are very useful during big holiday where our relatives come & stay with us for a whole week.
Interesting. I don't let my cats out at all, and they are never caged. If a plumber comes over, for example, I just shut them in the bedroom.
TSspunkberry
post Jan 27 2015, 03:34 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(OrangeCubes @ Jan 27 2015, 12:20 AM)
I heard some other cat owners who cage their cats at night too.
But aren't cats are more active at night?

May I know what's the reason that you keep them caged at night?
The domestic house cat is actually a crepuscular animal, meaning that they are most active during twilight hours - dawn and dusk.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 27 2015, 03:37 AM

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0931sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:14 PM