Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

alanlimkk
post Apr 9 2015, 09:53 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 9 2015, 08:12 AM)
Depends on where your workplace is in SG. Huge difference if you are working in woodlands vs working in jurong or tampines.
Thanks for the tips bro ... I have checked out the location of jurong and tampines and i know what you mean. But between Tuas checkpoint and Woodlands checkpoint, are the queuing and custom clearance time for both checkpoint is the same or woodlands have longer clearance period time due to more ppl going to woodlands? Because if Tuas has lesser queuing time, I would opt to stay nearer to Tuas. Hope you get what i mean. smile.gif My worried is the clearance time on the custom checkpoint. Once in SG, I will be able figure on how to go around, I guess.... haha. sweat.gif

I don't think there is mrt station at tuas checkpoint. Nearest I saw is Joo Koon (EW29). As for woodlands, the station would be woodlands (NS9) or Marsiling (NS8). This is only what my theory is of taking mrt if i am working in SG. sweat.gif The info is just a theory of how i think i would go with public transport in SG unless my working place will be far away from mrt.

kopi ais
post Apr 9 2015, 10:12 AM

41 posts

Hi newbie report to work in Singapore. I had worked for 1 week here but I find myself nothing to do . what is actually the culture of working in singapore? is there some who is free also ?
beancountz
post Apr 9 2015, 10:15 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(kopi ais @ Apr 9 2015, 10:12 AM)
Hi newbie report to work in Singapore. I had worked for 1 week here but I find myself nothing to do . what is actually the culture of working in singapore? is there some who is free also ?
wahhh very lucky!! very rare to see someone so free in singapore. no OT?
aLertz
post Apr 9 2015, 10:19 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

enjoy while u still can...lol
the work load here is definitely more than MY.... sweat.gif
Frank3
post Apr 9 2015, 10:51 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 8 2015, 06:48 PM)
If you got PR, your wife still on WP, she would have married a PR, not allowed for WP!
Can marry, but cannot get pregnant for WP I think.

All these can write in and seek waiver one la.
Dear Fiona

I mean is we ROM first, then i apply PR (apply for spouse as well), will the immigration give me PR only but my wife not?
Sorry for confusing as my previous question.
Thanks !

Frank
vincentwmh
post Apr 9 2015, 12:41 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Apr 8 2015, 04:43 PM)
I hope so... Actually my plan is i will apply PR alone then only ROM with my gf, but my future mother-in-law (work in SG over 20 years), she said ROM before apply PR is better, i may attach my spouse into one application and the chance of getting PR is higher, is this true?

Thanks!
Frank
your future MIL sure knows what her own daughter is lacking
LiangZhuge
post Apr 9 2015, 01:32 PM

451 posts

eat, sleep, work * 5, weekend go across sea (JB) spend $$$ like King biggrin.gif
kopi ais
post Apr 9 2015, 02:31 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Apr 9 2015, 10:19 AM)
enjoy while u still can...lol
the work load here is definitely more than MY....  sweat.gif
at least give someting for me to do LOL. maybe low pay so didnt expect anything from me.
HenDa
post Apr 9 2015, 02:32 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(kopi ais @ Apr 9 2015, 02:31 PM)
at least give someting for me to do LOL. maybe low pay so didnt expect anything from me.
he mean, enjoy your honeymoon while you can xD
kopi ais
post Apr 9 2015, 02:33 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(beancountz @ Apr 9 2015, 10:15 AM)
currently no. i dont know my colleagues look free also . all pretend busy . those sales engineer in office 2 hours whole day gone.
beancountz
post Apr 9 2015, 02:47 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(kopi ais @ Apr 9 2015, 02:33 PM)
currently no. i dont know my colleagues look free also .  all pretend busy . those sales engineer in office 2 hours whole day gone.
which company are you with?? I wanna work there too!!!
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2015, 06:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Sg working culture pretty relax. Normal working 8 hrs, times up pat backside go home sharp.
weekend, we do have some activities occasionally. PM the leader of the pack, deodorant to be added to Whatsapp group.
megadisc
post Apr 9 2015, 06:29 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Apr 7 2015, 12:59 PM)
How about 7 years experience systems enginner earning about rm5.5k
and Singapore is offering SGD3.5k?

Worth to relocate to Singapore?
That's too little

Hope the agent didn't give you the that numbers
Lester1987
post Apr 9 2015, 07:15 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alanlimkk @ Apr 9 2015, 08:11 AM)
Sorry as i have not been clear. Thank you guys for the reply.  notworthy.gif  As mention by @crazy25kid I would be staying in JB while working in SG full time. The reason i asked on the public transportation is because when i was queuing using car to get into SG, I saw the buses queue is much faster than cars entering SG. That was about 3 years ago if i remember correctly.

Just want to ask anyone who took buses and motorcycles and see if there is much comparison in these 2 mode of transportation. I don't mind walking if taking bus is faster than motorcycle. But i have a motorcycle at home too. So I'm looking for more info on these 2 mode of transport.  smile.gif

A lot of ppl told me that to go into SG, I would need to Q as early as 4 to 5 am. Is it true? Thanks.
As all mention, it all depends on your work location.. In terms of queue in the customs, undeniable, Bus is faster on a normal day (except Friday and eve of PH).
U will spend around 30 to cross the boarder. from JB to woodlands. But bare in mind you need to take into consideration the time the bus travel. for a non-peak hour, It took me around 45 mins to get from woodlands interchange to JB City Square. because the bus need to travel and u-turn, blah blah... this is during no queue hours.

For Bike (I am traveling with bike now). Woodlands is better than Tuas. Tuas bikers all dont know how to queue properly and have a lot less counters compare to woodlands.

On average, In the morning, worst case scenario for woodlands is you will be queuing for 1 hour. But average queue time is around 30-40 mins. This is because in Woodlands, they open around 80-100 counters in the morning cater for bikers.. I have never try traveling in from Tuas before, cannot advice on that. Going home, woodlands will take you around 2 hours queue. The worst I queue before is 3 hours. Reach woodlands at 6pm, manage to cross at 9:30pm (this is special case due to people dash through the immigration and they lock down the whole building 30-40mins).
On average you can cross at 7:45-8pm. There are around 50 counters opened for bikes during peak hour as they closed 20 car lanes and convert them for bikes.

As for Tuas, they also close car lane for bike when going back. But i traveled there twice. fastest i manage to get through is 8:30pm. slowest is 8:45pm (nothing special happen). reason being is there is only 13-15 counters open only for bike at Tuas. they only have 6 automated counters while woodlands have 10.

For me, I work in Tampines, if I work 9am, I leave home at 7am and can reach on time. if I leave office at 6pm, I will reach home at 8:00-8:30pm. My home in JB is at Mount Austin though. a bit far from causeway.
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2015, 09:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 9 2015, 07:15 PM)
As all mention, it all depends on your work location..

summary is, it gonna take around 4 hrs /day crossing the causeway and back.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 9 2015, 09:29 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Apr 9 2015, 10:51 AM)
Dear Fiona

I mean is we ROM first, then i apply PR (apply for spouse as well), will the immigration give me PR only but my wife not?
Sorry for confusing as my previous question.
Thanks !

Frank
Never come across situation similar to your case. Good luck.
IwanAGP
post Apr 9 2015, 10:42 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(beancountz @ Apr 9 2015, 10:15 AM)
Er... Me everyday OT half hour then...

For now... Most of the time sibeh free doh.gif doh.gif

Almost wanted to talk to my GM tell him I got nothing to do tongue.gif
bearbear
post Apr 10 2015, 12:48 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(alanlimkk @ Apr 9 2015, 09:53 AM)
Thanks for the tips bro ... I have checked out the location of jurong and tampines and i know what you mean. But between Tuas checkpoint and Woodlands checkpoint, are the queuing and custom clearance time for both checkpoint is the same or woodlands have longer clearance period time due to more ppl going to woodlands? Because if Tuas has lesser queuing time, I would opt to stay nearer to Tuas. Hope you get what i mean.  smile.gif My worried is the clearance time on the custom checkpoint. Once in SG, I will be able figure on how to go around, I guess.... haha.  sweat.gif 

I don't think there is mrt station at tuas checkpoint. Nearest I saw is Joo Koon (EW29). As for woodlands, the station would be woodlands (NS9) or Marsiling (NS8). This is only what my theory is of taking mrt if i am working in SG.  sweat.gif  The info is just a theory of how i think i would go with public transport in SG unless my working place will be far away from mrt.
If you take bus from gelang patah or bukit indah through tuas, bus will go drop you at Jurong east. I tried once and vow to never do it again If I can. The queue and amount of people doing it is just incredible.

Ultimately it depends on what sort of lifestyle you want.

Pay more for free time

Pay less for traffic time
TSdeodorant
post Apr 10 2015, 07:45 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 9 2015, 01:32 PM)
eat, sleep, work * 5, weekend go across sea (JB) spend $$$ like King biggrin.gif

Last weekend I took bus in on Friday, from my place in East until cross Malaysia immigration took 4+ hours lol.

QUOTE(kopi ais @ Apr 9 2015, 02:33 PM)
currently no. i dont know my colleagues look free also .  all pretend busy . those sales engineer in office 2 hours whole day gone.

Sales mah. Their only metric is how much $$ they bring in to company what.
harrychoo
post Apr 10 2015, 10:11 AM

3,589 posts

I also plan to travel between Bukit Indah and Teluk Blangah by car after few months in Sg.

Will find carpool with ppl or I drive myself

196 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:51 PM