Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

Lester1987
post Dec 12 2014, 11:44 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 11 2014, 10:56 PM)
for CIMB what is the rate today? Any link to refer to?

some in KL offering to take 2.64 already sweat.gif
last night i get 2.635 in JB. I think today hit 2.64 already lo. RM keep falling rclxms.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 18 2014, 06:23 PM

2,017 posts

EP is hard to get nowadays. many of my colleague got S pass and some even got a WP. Those on the $3-3.5k range no need to hope for EP anymore. Those below 3k, prepare to take WP. at least that's what happen in the place i working now.
Lester1987
post Dec 26 2014, 08:31 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Dec 26 2014, 12:57 PM)
While we discussing about pros and cons being Singaporean, what is the pros for keeping Msia citizenship?
1. cheaper property. By renting out your Singapore HDB when you retire, You can live comfortably in Msia and even go for travel twice a year.
2. health care is a lot more cheaper in Msia compare to SG.
3. Msia houses are mainly landed property which you can enjoy your gardening during your retirement.
Lester1987
post Dec 27 2014, 12:32 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Dec 26 2014, 11:54 PM)

PR can lock 1 room and rent out the whole unit la. no problem with that.
as for healthcare. I am one of those that highly support gov hospitals. Private hospitals are just cut throat s*ck3r.
landed house are definitely a lot cheaper. If you convert to sinkie, You need to buy 1m above, not worth.
Lester1987
post Mar 11 2015, 07:48 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Mar 11 2015, 07:29 PM)
Hey Guys, while wondering, while submitted PR application and pending SG confirmation. Will changing job/company in the middle affect the application.

if your PR is not approve yet, I am not so sure, My case is a bit special....

work for company A for 2 years + then apply PR. ICA sent letter to me saying its approved after 1 month (that was back in 2012), 1-2 days after i got the approval I got retrench from the company.
I ask the company to help me fill the form so I can complete my formalities but they refuse..

Joined company B 2 weeks later. get company B to sign the letter for me, still can complete my formalities just need to update the particulars a bit but my previous approval is still valid biggrin.gif
Lester1987
post Mar 25 2015, 10:54 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Mar 25 2015, 08:42 AM)
you mean after we got our SG license, no need to renew the Malaysian license. Thanks bro for your clearing of doubts. Looks like I will just renew MY license for one year, convert into SG license, worry nothing as long as I hold SG license.
Mack Boss, do I need to renew my MY license in future, after I get myself a SG license in next month?

sounds like I don't need to pay more to renew for 5 years, so I will just renew my MY license for 1 year and convert into SG license, so I don't need to pay for more years.

Thanks all for assistance, correct me if I'm wrong.
by law, you are not suppose to have 2 license. when you convert your license, your MY license will be blacklisted. And there is no advantage of holding both license. I involve in accident before in KL using my SG license. No issue with Insurance claim as well. The only benefit is when you kena road block in Malaysia, if you show them SG license, be prepare to pay kopi in SGD. thats all.
Lester1987
post Mar 26 2015, 12:35 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 26 2015, 12:04 AM)
Yes, need to renew every 5 years. Forgot $ amount liao.
$50
Lester1987
post Apr 9 2015, 07:15 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alanlimkk @ Apr 9 2015, 08:11 AM)
Sorry as i have not been clear. Thank you guys for the reply.  notworthy.gif  As mention by @crazy25kid I would be staying in JB while working in SG full time. The reason i asked on the public transportation is because when i was queuing using car to get into SG, I saw the buses queue is much faster than cars entering SG. That was about 3 years ago if i remember correctly.

Just want to ask anyone who took buses and motorcycles and see if there is much comparison in these 2 mode of transportation. I don't mind walking if taking bus is faster than motorcycle. But i have a motorcycle at home too. So I'm looking for more info on these 2 mode of transport.  smile.gif

A lot of ppl told me that to go into SG, I would need to Q as early as 4 to 5 am. Is it true? Thanks.
As all mention, it all depends on your work location.. In terms of queue in the customs, undeniable, Bus is faster on a normal day (except Friday and eve of PH).
U will spend around 30 to cross the boarder. from JB to woodlands. But bare in mind you need to take into consideration the time the bus travel. for a non-peak hour, It took me around 45 mins to get from woodlands interchange to JB City Square. because the bus need to travel and u-turn, blah blah... this is during no queue hours.

For Bike (I am traveling with bike now). Woodlands is better than Tuas. Tuas bikers all dont know how to queue properly and have a lot less counters compare to woodlands.

On average, In the morning, worst case scenario for woodlands is you will be queuing for 1 hour. But average queue time is around 30-40 mins. This is because in Woodlands, they open around 80-100 counters in the morning cater for bikers.. I have never try traveling in from Tuas before, cannot advice on that. Going home, woodlands will take you around 2 hours queue. The worst I queue before is 3 hours. Reach woodlands at 6pm, manage to cross at 9:30pm (this is special case due to people dash through the immigration and they lock down the whole building 30-40mins).
On average you can cross at 7:45-8pm. There are around 50 counters opened for bikes during peak hour as they closed 20 car lanes and convert them for bikes.

As for Tuas, they also close car lane for bike when going back. But i traveled there twice. fastest i manage to get through is 8:30pm. slowest is 8:45pm (nothing special happen). reason being is there is only 13-15 counters open only for bike at Tuas. they only have 6 automated counters while woodlands have 10.

For me, I work in Tampines, if I work 9am, I leave home at 7am and can reach on time. if I leave office at 6pm, I will reach home at 8:00-8:30pm. My home in JB is at Mount Austin though. a bit far from causeway.
Lester1987
post Apr 10 2015, 12:56 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alanlimkk @ Apr 10 2015, 10:38 AM)
Thank for the detailed info. My concern is that i don't want to be late for work should i get a job in SG. With your info, I can at least estimate what time I should be getting up and ready to go work. So can I say that I needed at least 2 hours to spare in order to get to my work place from JB causeway to SG work location? 
No choice bro, definitely most people would choose less pay for more free time if i read you correctly which means working in MY would be a better choice. I am in my mid thirties and looking for a better job opportunities which equals to better pay in SG plus the high conversion rate in SGD against RM. The reason I want to give it a try in SG is because we are unable to cope up with the cost of rising in MY.  sweat.gif

I'm married with 2 kids and I already starts to worried if I would be able to even send them to college in the future. Not mentioning that buying a house with a RM5k income is almost impossible when i am the only sole bread winner. We are not those spendthrift but we need to prepare for for the future aheads of us.

If I continue to work in MY, I forsee that I would still be running around with max income of 7 to 8k in another 5 to 8 years and that if taking into consideration that the economy is good and the bosses are making more money and they are willing to raise your pay. But that really depends on which company you land into, otherwise it's going to be tough to reach that income bracket.

I would eventually move my family to JB and get a property in JB if I forsee SG is going to be a better option. I felt so uneasy to leave my family, but the thought of the sacrifice made today would eventually be better for the whole family in the future which have made me to look into SG as another option.  smile.gif
I would rather sacrifice for a better pay and queue like the rest of the malaysians do and spend my time with my kids on the weekend if this option of working in SG is going to materialize.
to be on the safe side, u need to spare around 1 hour 15 mins queuing when getting to work depends on your luck. it varies from 20 mins to 1 hour 15 mins depends on which queue u get into.
I can give you more details on which line is faster etc. just join us for yam cha session when u are here and I will let you know more. anyway if your job is flexible where punctuality is not an issue,
then i believe giving a 30-45 mins spare time is good enough. If possible, request to work off peak hour. I am working 12pm-9pm now. I leave home at 11:10am I still can reach office on time.
When going home I can also reach home before 10:30pm. anytime after 10am, usually you can clear immigration in less than 5 mins. unless there is special case happen.

And after 8:30am. the 1 hour+ queue section is closed. So worst case scenario if you reach causeway at 8:30am, you only queue 30 mins. and that means you will reach your office by 9+ depends on your office location. But going home is a pain. as mentioned previously, coming in we have around 100 counters while going back there is only around 50-60. You do the maths.
Lester1987
post Apr 23 2015, 07:43 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 23 2015, 07:40 PM)
actually im thedumb one who said my expected salary is 2500 doh.gif

i wonder if i can even get any increment or bonus within a year, since its a contract job

yeah i see average here 3k+, but im only a freshie, LV1 network engineer job, so I dunno if this is too low or not....

food so expensive??? sad.gif i thought can spend like 5 for lunch. Im thinking of renting a HDB in Redhill. Are food there cheap? for dinner and weekends
seriously 2.5k work in CBD? u really kena scam. CBD everything also expensive man. $2.5k is ok for those that are in AMK, Serangoon and other outskirt area. But CBD i know mostly 5 figure earner.
Even freshie will get 3.5k above if work in CBD.
Lester1987
post Jul 22 2015, 11:15 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Jul 22 2015, 10:47 AM)
Heard there's a whatsapp group for people working in sg. how do i get added? :smile:
PM me with your phone number indicating <LYN Nick>(Real name).

work location and stay location.

Lester1987
post Sep 26 2015, 10:15 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 26 2015, 08:12 AM)
Lester1987 . He is THE man. He worked for a top MNC company at that time, top 10 in Fortune 500 list.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 26 2015, 09:28 AM)
Lester1987
when i got my PR. I was holding EP. u 2 fellow really disappoint me la. know me so many years also dont know this.
Lester1987
post Oct 14 2015, 11:31 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 11:24 AM)
Got an offer to work for MNC in Singapore.

Wanna ask any chance to get a 1 room studio/apartment for SGD 1000-1,500?

Trying not to live with other people because I had bad experience in Australia last time.
studio mostly private housing. should be around 2.5-3.5k
Lester1987
post Oct 14 2015, 11:44 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 11:33 AM)
What about 1 bedroom condo's/flats that are around the same price range?
with 2.5-3.5k, you have a 2 options.

1. 3 rooms HDB to stay alone.
2. 1 room studio condo with facilities.
Lester1987
post Nov 7 2015, 10:04 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Nov 6 2015, 02:44 PM)
Hello guys, just need to ask something, do anyone here commute to work from jb to singapore by motorcycles?

Just need to know when is a subtle time to go out from house, when i'm staying in Larkin Perdana to my work place at Jurong Island. And I have to report to work by 7.30am.

I do have a motorcycle that has been registered to ride in singapore, just i didn't know how was the situation at the causeway in the morning, as i'll be start my job in 17 november. Please do advise me thank you.
report to work by 7:30am. assume you ride slow. Larkin to Causeway 20 mins. Causeway to Jurong island 40 mins. The worse case scenario for causeway queue is 1 1/2 hours. So you need to leave home by 5am.
The bike jam starts from 4-4:30am. So its not surprising if you need to queue 1 1/2 hours when you reach there by 5:20am. usual queue for causeway is around 45 mins - 1 hour.

0.0605sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:45 PM