QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 30 2008, 02:53 PM)
u forgot moores rowland and PKF and RKT(Robert teo kuan)... Big 4 Recruitment Drive
Big 4 Recruitment Drive
Aug 2 2008, 05:51 PM
16 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Aug 7 2008, 11:52 PM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Strange to see a thread like this fall on the wayside when there seems to be alot of accounting employer discussions. So bump.
Aug 8 2008, 12:14 AM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
haha...
no no1 wan bother big4... but all go medium... haha... |
Aug 14 2008, 12:54 AM
3,951 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BS161ZL, Bristol |
QUOTE(jejonathan @ Aug 2 2008, 09:51 AM) what you mean by this? don't you agree that big4 staffs have better exposure than medium/small firm auditors/accountant? actually he is right. for the big 4(s), your audit part is just one small part for one of the audit task, your learning progress would not be as comprehensive as the medium/small firm because in these firms they actually make you perform the whole audit rather than do part of it itself, workload is definately worse off than the big 4(s) but you do learn much more in the process. |
Aug 14 2008, 11:32 PM
190 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Malaysia to Coventry |
guys, those working at EY menara millenium, i just wonder, if u r driving,where do u all park ur car..i mean per entry..(if per hour aiyoo
one more what services are there in EY menara millenium and at sultan ismail? btw, EY starting salary is range 2500?for fresh? tq |
Aug 14 2008, 11:45 PM
RM7 for parking. i went there at 8+ once, still pretty empty. went again for an interview around 1, still got space although quite a walk.
went for 1st and 2nd interview. not raelly that cramped. But i'm assuming ur taking the open air parking |
Aug 15 2008, 07:59 AM
147 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Aug 14 2008, 11:32 PM) guys, those working at EY menara millenium, i just wonder, if u r driving,where do u all park ur car..i mean per entry..(if per hour aiyoo As long as you reach before 930, parking in the open space is not a problem. Coming back after lunch, it is highly recommended to come back before 130/2 PM. one more what services are there in EY menara millenium and at sultan ismail? btw, EY starting salary is range 2500?for fresh? tq EY MM houses audit, tax, risk advisory services and other core business services (ie. HR, MIS etc.). EY KA houses transaction advisory services. I'm sure if you took the time to read or search the thread you would have found these information. This post has been edited by kevinleng: Aug 15 2008, 08:00 AM |
Aug 15 2008, 12:19 PM
64 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(Garfie @ Aug 14 2008, 12:54 AM) actually he is right. for the big 4(s), your audit part is just one small part for one of the audit task, your learning progress would not be as comprehensive as the medium/small firm because in these firms they actually make you perform the whole audit rather than do part of it itself, workload is definately worse off than the big 4(s) but you do learn much more in the process. This statement is too general. Very few ppl will opt for small firm if given the choice- it must be of certain size so that the experience is more comprehensive-for example, it has mnc, plcs and some in diff industries. I think those who have worked for a Big 4 firm will tell you that the big firm is not organised as one single audit unit- too big but are in smaller depts of 60 to 120 staff- each dept is standalone like a medium size firm but with better clients and practices. Big firms are like MNCs and so there is little comparison in terms of size, resources etc. wtih the other firms. And the "brand" itself is worth striving for if you have high aspirations. |
Aug 15 2008, 04:45 PM
272 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: malacca |
QUOTE(Garfie @ Aug 14 2008, 12:54 AM) actually he is right. for the big 4(s), your audit part is just one small part for one of the audit task, your learning progress would not be as comprehensive as the medium/small firm because in these firms they actually make you perform the whole audit rather than do part of it itself, workload is definately worse off than the big 4(s) but you do learn much more in the process. im working in big 4 right now for 3 years already...and i dont think your statement is correct... you do able to learn every part of audit even you join big 4...of course for the first year and for fresh grad..even give you the whole file, you will be scared to handle too and you are too fresh and no experience...so you are not able to see the whole picture yet....about more than 6 months...you will be start handling one whole file by urself start by small and dormant companies....after you get more experience, of course the seniors will pass the more bigger file for you to handle.... honestly loh....you need to give more assurance to your seniors also before they think you able to handle more.... |
Aug 15 2008, 04:59 PM
251 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
anybody working in big4 in Tax division?
hows the job prospect n career growth? is it possible n advisable to do ACCA n work in TAX division? can we apply for MIA membership if we are in TAX for 3yrs? is the pay similar to audit? thanks |
Aug 17 2008, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Michi @ Aug 15 2008, 04:59 PM) anybody working in big4 in Tax division? Not many want to specialise early in tax but its your choice if u are sure.hows the job prospect n career growth? is it possible n advisable to do ACCA n work in TAX division? can we apply for MIA membership if we are in TAX for 3yrs? is the pay similar to audit? thanks A little less mobile as not all companies requier tax prof as they can use the tax agents but prospects should be good. Most firms require tax prof to do MIT exams. If u intent to specialise in tax, this is important. Pay is the same or sometimes slightly higher? Speak to your frens already in tax. Most want to start in audit becos u get to go to client's place and less desk bound than tax prof plus u hv more choice of profession later- you still can specialise in tax after u finish the ACCA. Tax jobs r smaller and most are done in the office- client sent everything to do u and u prepare tax return. This post has been edited by ceejay: Aug 17 2008, 11:29 AM |
Aug 18 2008, 03:41 PM
110 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Damansara, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ceejay @ Aug 17 2008, 11:22 AM) Not many want to specialise early in tax but its your choice if u are sure. Well I did audit in a medium sized firm for about a year and a half before I went in to tax and so far have about 4 years experience. I would agree with ceejay that tax has lesser prospects of visiting clients office, but personally I prefer to go to be based in the office where all my friends/colleagues are...and we do have opportunities to visit clients place as well.A little less mobile as not all companies requier tax prof as they can use the tax agents but prospects should be good. Most firms require tax prof to do MIT exams. If u intent to specialise in tax, this is important. Pay is the same or sometimes slightly higher? Speak to your frens already in tax. Most want to start in audit becos u get to go to client's place and less desk bound than tax prof plus u hv more choice of profession later- you still can specialise in tax after u finish the ACCA. Tax jobs r smaller and most are done in the office- client sent everything to do u and u prepare tax return. You are not required to do or be a member of MIT. If you are a degree holder, then its best to complete your professional qualifications (ACCA, CPA Australia, ICAEW) and the firm will sponsor/reimburse part of your exam fees as well as give you study leave. Note that ACCA, CPA, and ICAEW members get automatic membership into MIA and MIT. Pay depends on your performance. You are in a Big 4 so the environment will be competitive of course. However, I find that the environment in tax is less stress and more family atmosphere compared to audit. Anyway, between tax and audit or advisory: I feel that you should pick what you are interested in and you will be comfortable in. If you find that audit is not suitable for you, there are ways to move over to tax as well (advance notice - this is not always encouraged though). Anyway, if you are interested in tax in EY or PWC, or if you want to find out more about these two firms, do drop me a line and I can always help you submit your resume's in. |
Aug 20 2008, 12:17 PM
75 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Michi @ Aug 15 2008, 04:59 PM) anybody working in big4 in Tax division? If you're still studying or graduating soon, check out the upcoming Deloitte Tax Challenge where you can win yourself cash prizes and an internship with Deloitte's Tax department. Deloitte will be launching this nationwide competition tomorrow.hows the job prospect n career growth? is it possible n advisable to do ACCA n work in TAX division? can we apply for MIA membership if we are in TAX for 3yrs? is the pay similar to audit? thanks |
Aug 20 2008, 03:16 PM
596 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(babylck @ Jul 22 2008, 03:08 AM) yup.. my fren already "survey" the market pay offered by small firms.. the most that he can get is RM1.6k only.. I am working in P, it is alright la not to say super strict as well. You can always send in your resume to try your luck. Don't worry so much as im not confident to pass all my papers in June 2008, i have changed my mind to work in small or medium firm first.. rather than working in Big4.. Added on July 22, 2008, 12:09 am dun have confident that i can go into p.. i heard that P is very strict in their requirements.. in terms of education results and so on.. hehe.. duno whether true anot la..lolz On the part where someone mention exposure and career advancement wise medium firm is much better than Big4, I personally don't feel it is that way. Yes you will be expose to everything once you join medium firm, however do bare in mind that when you are doing assurance services it is the methodology which is very important and not just getting the job done. Big4s have more established methodology in term of assurance services and there is where you can learn more compare to medium firm. Beside that, majority of the biggest PLC(Public listed companies) are clients of Big4. You get alot of exposure to such big companies and many people actually ventured into their client companies after working with Big4 for a few years. |
Aug 25 2008, 06:33 PM
what happen here - has all the graduates found a job already? Anybody heard Spore Big4 slowing down recruitment.? Any body applied recently? News now says US, UK, Europe and even Auland slowing down to recession within 12 months- so it is going to be even more competitive- better brush up your CVs, English etc etc etc. |
Aug 25 2008, 08:37 PM
really? i tot m'sia is still pciking grads, to the extent of amongst big 4 supposed to have a fresh grad salary revisiion..
Aug 25 2008, 09:11 PM
429 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(peter_pj @ Aug 18 2008, 03:41 PM) Well I did audit in a medium sized firm for about a year and a half before I went in to tax and so far have about 4 years experience. I would agree with ceejay that tax has lesser prospects of visiting clients office, but personally I prefer to go to be based in the office where all my friends/colleagues are...and we do have opportunities to visit clients place as well. hmm...not stressful being in tax? my sis works in one of the big4 and she's in taxation. it's stressing her out for the recent dateline(aug14th) and she worked till 1-2am in the morning for the past 2 weeks prior to that. i feel the 'stress' for her as well.You are not required to do or be a member of MIT. If you are a degree holder, then its best to complete your professional qualifications (ACCA, CPA Australia, ICAEW) and the firm will sponsor/reimburse part of your exam fees as well as give you study leave. Note that ACCA, CPA, and ICAEW members get automatic membership into MIA and MIT. Pay depends on your performance. You are in a Big 4 so the environment will be competitive of course. However, I find that the environment in tax is less stress and more family atmosphere compared to audit. Anyway, between tax and audit or advisory: I feel that you should pick what you are interested in and you will be comfortable in. If you find that audit is not suitable for you, there are ways to move over to tax as well (advance notice - this is not always encouraged though). Anyway, if you are interested in tax in EY or PWC, or if you want to find out more about these two firms, do drop me a line and I can always help you submit your resume's in. but it's a personal opinion of mine tho coz my sis told me to try NOT to go for taxation line after what she experienced personally as it would really cut down your time at home during the peak season ie.tax sub season |
Aug 27 2008, 08:59 AM
820 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(andrienne @ Aug 25 2008, 09:11 PM) hmm...not stressful being in tax? my sis works in one of the big4 and she's in taxation. it's stressing her out for the recent dateline(aug14th) and she worked till 1-2am in the morning for the past 2 weeks prior to that. i feel the 'stress' for her as well. Hmm... Sounds awfully familiar... |
Aug 27 2008, 10:30 AM
68 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
hey guys,
want to know what's the difference of working in MEDIUM FIRM and BIG 4? Heard that working in BIG 4 is very stressful and lesser exposure to audit as u will do only a small part of the work. However, the pay is certainly higher than medium firm right? other pros and cons between the 2 options? |
Aug 27 2008, 11:15 PM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
QUOTE(andrienne @ Aug 25 2008, 09:11 PM) hmm...not stressful being in tax? my sis works in one of the big4 and she's in taxation. it's stressing her out for the recent dateline(aug14th) and she worked till 1-2am in the morning for the past 2 weeks prior to that. i feel the 'stress' for her as well. peter_pj mentioned that tax=less stressful compared to audit.. not that tax is not stresseful at all.. try comparing ur sis's 2 weeks stress and the auditors few months (or in my case, full year) stress.. my whole family cum relatives feel my stress.. LOLbut it's a personal opinion of mine tho coz my sis told me to try NOT to go for taxation line after what she experienced personally as it would really cut down your time at home during the peak season ie.tax sub season |
| Change to: | 0.0319sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:24 PM |