Big 4 Recruitment Drive

kevinleng
post Dec 25 2006, 07:42 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 25 2006, 09:23 AM)
I see some of the people's posts here and it seems that there are a lot of rumours that you all hear about the Big4s....

I'm currently working in a Big4 right now and I have worked for more than 1 Big4 before.

For TRUE and ACCURATE information about working life in Big4, what to expect and so forth, PM me with your questions.

Please do not ask generic questions and ask specific questions...

Just to kick start your thought on Big4s... they generally offer these type of services:-

1. Financial Audit  - these are external auditors that go round auditing ppl's accounts
2. Internal Audit - does work for Internal Audit departments of companies. Some companies lack expertise in doing IA work so they outsource it to the Big4s. SOX audits generally fall here as well.
3. IT Audit - does IT Auditing of IT operations and IT systems that support the financial system.
4. Risk Management  - can be IT or overall risk management of a company.
5. Tax - this is all about taxes and forming new companies
6. Financial Advisory - can be transaction advisory, fraud investigation, business consulting and etc.
7. Support Services - you may work in technical departments of Big4s, finance department or even the IT Department.

Generally the Big4s offer the above types of job/career fields...

I think what a lot of people hear about the Big4s is pretty much NOT TRUE!
-.-" cktwai would be a good person to answer your questions but for an insight on current situation of IT Audit in EY do feel free to ask me. tongue.gif

Anyone working in Big 4 Melaka? I heard their requirement to enter is very very very high.. AT LEAST a second upper for a degree holder.. Hmm.. is that true ah??
actually all Big 4's no matter where's minimum requirement is 2nd upper or average credit.
kevinleng
post Dec 26 2006, 12:23 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(mandy88 @ Dec 25 2006, 11:49 PM)
Can u tell me more about the entrance Test in EY?
PM-ed you. smile.gif
kevinleng
post Jan 9 2007, 12:50 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kaynemil @ Jan 9 2007, 09:42 AM)
Dunno about now, but for me, there wasn't really an increment - more like a salary revision - everyone get's it, around 5-6%.  So yeah.. increment about RM100-150.  The jump happens the most when you become a senior, from AA1 to SA2.. and when you get your qualifications (eg, member of CPA).. about RM600 - RM700 each time smile.gif... happiness..

THat's for PwC lar.. I think EY has gradual increase in salary, as in the increments are higher than PwC each round, but there's no such thing as qualified pay increase. At the end of the third year, your salary may match, but of course, EY ppl get more money then PwC at the end of the day (accumulatively!)
Not sure where did you hear that accumulatively EY staff get more than PwC staff but perhaps you should get your facts right first next time. But EY's staff don't get a RM 600 - 700 increment when they are promoted from A1 to SA2 although A2 to A1's increment is more than RM 100 - 150.
kevinleng
post Jan 19 2007, 12:40 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(babylck @ Jan 19 2007, 12:23 PM)
anyone working in EY?

do they have staff parking? or is there any flat rate parking near to EY?

thanks in advance~
You won't be issued a staff parking unless you are AM and above. Flat rate parking is available but it's only feasible if you're not going out to see client often (i.e. admin depts & tax). Flat rate parking is RM 7 per day in the open air car park next to MM building.
kevinleng
post Feb 4 2007, 09:50 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Feb 1 2007, 07:35 PM)
well.. pretty obvious..

In other states... basically if you've decided to work in your "hometown" there isn't a lot of places to go to.. It's just a matter of supply and demand..  if starting pay of Big4 in KL is 2.1k till 2.3k.. you would expect starting pay that these branch offices to be 1.7k -2k.. perhaps maybe even less..
It's always about revenue generation. Considering the KL office will have many MNC/high profiled clients, the audit fee will definitely be higher than the smaller companies in the smaller towns. Therefore, it is only fair to reward the staff accordingly.
kevinleng
post Apr 7 2007, 09:23 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(aboogee @ Apr 7 2007, 03:27 AM)
Hey. I managed to get an Intern position in EY beginning July. Its a 6-month stint, and ive been fortunately (I THINK) placed in Risk Assurance And Business Solutions (RAABS). The prob is, according to my interviewer, she mentioned that not many individuals get to intern in that department. Basically im not too clear on how I shud prepare myself. Anyone from EY have any tips for me ?

I really wana do well so that i stand a good chance to work Full Time when i finally Grad!

Thanks !!
The department is called Risk and Business Solutions (RABS). But RABS is broken down into 3 totally different units. Business Advisory Services (BAS) provides consulting services to our clients for engagements such as project management. Business Risk Services (BRS) mainly provides internal audit services to our clients. Technology and Security Risk Services (TSRS) does IT consulting and IT audit. Which unit are you placed in? PM me if anything.
kevinleng
post Apr 5 2008, 06:18 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(locorocco @ Mar 4 2008, 09:20 PM)
i heard from the grapevine that this department really sucks...  hahahaha

it's just something i heard from my friend who's working there now.. smile.gif
Well, I really don't know which unit your friend is in; but i don't know what is it about the department that "sucks". If you could be a bit more specific about what's wrong with the department, I'd be more than happy to help clarify some issues. No matter where you work, there will be problems and issues. So I would sincerely like to know where what is it about the department that doesn't suit your friend.

QUOTE(prince_hamsap @ Mar 5 2008, 12:30 AM)
KPMG and Deloitte more seasoned old men, EY and PwC more young braggarts. U decide
That's a very unfair statement. Even if you said you've got to deal with silly PwC auditors, I don't see how that covers EY as well. In general, you are generalising based on 1 of your experience. Did you know that EY has the most PLC clients among the Big 4. In addition to that, in Malaysia; PwC and EY are the highest earners among the Big 4. I think the main reason why you thought it was easier to deal with Deloitte auditors was because they have lower expectations and merely do what is sufficient to complete their job. Maybe the PwC auditors were further investigating some stuff which Deloitte just didn't bother with? I would suggest that you mince your words a little before saying things that are completely unfair to people working in PwC and EY.

QUOTE(nadyaclumzzy @ Mar 3 2008, 05:48 PM)
hi there, ive been offered an internship program in the audit department at both KPMG and Ernst&Young. problem is, i dont know which one should i choose because i dont have that many info about both firms. im based in taman tun, so both KPMG and EY are quite convenient for me. but my concern is the scope of work, salary and chances of permanent employment. please advise, thanks rclxub.gif
sorry for not replying earlier. I guess you would have chosen by now. But in my humblest opinion, there isn't much difference if you are joining the audit department as an intern. I think most of the Big 4 will still treat you like a fresh grad and give you a suitable amount of work to do. I would just suggest you to choose whichever one you "feel" is better for you. There's honestly not much difference between PwC, EY and KPMG in terms of audit.
kevinleng
post Apr 7 2008, 09:10 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(hikari @ Apr 6 2008, 06:28 PM)
i've only gone back to office 10 times in 6 months. i dun think where ur firm is located matters.
I guess it applies more if u stay till managerial level. Managers tend to stay in the office a bit more .
kevinleng
post Apr 7 2008, 03:53 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(locorocco @ Apr 7 2008, 09:22 AM)
My friend is in TSRS. Where staffs are not guided and some bosses sitting around doing nothing but enjoying the view of their staffs working in misery.

Which unit you're in? Are you guided? Do you know what you're doing is really correct ? What are you comparing against? Last year's work paper? Best practices?

MY friend was telling me.. he spent his time there trying to figure out what is going on.. he learn it himself but then it's like when he moved overseas he realised that what he was doing in that department is wrong. l rolleyes.gif

His current boss sort of like tell him... Probably that's why clients get pissed at them back in KL. They don't even know what they are doing. How can they "advise" their clients.
Well, to begin with; I am also from TSRS and I am not surprised at the statements stated by your friend. I believe that at times, our staff are not guided as much as we would have liked. I believe that we are always short of staff and some times the junior staff are given a simple and straight forward training to explain what our job is and are then left to fend for themselves. Being in TSRS, I have not only heard of this but I have also seen it personally. I do not deny that certain staff who have been around slightly longer than others do not always pull their weight but I'm sure you could say the same for majority of the other companies.

I would say that I was pretty lucky when I joined because I received ample training to complete my first job and I had excellent seniors to guide me along the way while I was on a job alone. Therefore, I have tried to give my support to the newer staff in the department as I know how difficult it is to start out. I have always kept myself open to questions from the newer staff and always tried to guide them at best I could, following the example set by my seniors when I first joined.

I believe maybe your friend was not taught properly, but we always provide our recommendations as per best practice. In general, we refer to COBIT, SOX and also ISACA guidelines to provide our clients with valued recommendations. I believe that if your friend had the opportunity to participate in our specialised audits for various clients, he/she would be able to see the level of detail we check and the amount of work we put in. I can honestly say that for the specialised audits that I have participated in, the clients have been more than happy. That includes the CEOs, CFOs, CTOs and other upper management.

Well, that's just my 2 cents and of course I believe that each individual person has their own individual expectations of their employer. Even for me, I was alright with the fact that my senior did teach me some stuff before i started a job but after that it was mostly on the job training. I guess it suited me to be put in that situation where I had to be on a job on my own and learn quickly. But of course I also understand that it would be better if a new staff is guided all the way for his/her first job. Hope you understand where I'm coming from. Thanks for taking the time to explain to me.

Added on April 7, 2008, 9:28 am
would like to tell you something. There is a lot of difference in PWC, EY, KPMG and DKC.

The difference is in which service line you want to be involved in.

For example...

Specialisation in Ext Audit in Banking: firms to choose would be PWC and EY
Specialisation in Ext Audit in Manufacturing: firms to choose would be DTT
IT Advisory: KPMG has the largest. Their dept doubles every other Big4's (even though after the major movement to BDO)
Transaction ADvisory: PWC or BDO
TAx: EY and DTT (these 2 are currently leading in Msia)

just my 2 cents.
I think what he means is in terms of purely external audit. There really isn't much to differenciate between the Big 4. From my experience with the external auditors, they do not get a choice which industry would they be placed in. They can state their preference, but of course when they get offered the job; it isn't stated which industry they are in. They will only be informed on their first day.

Besides that, I would agree on advisory teams; there is a difference between the Big 4.

IT Advisory : The numbers for KPMG might be a bit deceiving. In terms of actual advisory, I believe PwC and EY are also up there. Each have their own specialisation.
Transaction advisory : BDO is not part of the Big 4 but their Corporate Finance team consists of mostly ex-KPMGs.

I can't really comment much on the rest.

This post has been edited by kevinleng: Apr 7 2008, 04:18 PM
kevinleng
post Apr 19 2008, 01:29 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Apr 19 2008, 12:51 AM)
Just curious, in what age do you guys first enter/employed by Big4s? Let's said if a fresh graduate who intends to work in Big 4s, yet he has no working experience prior to this, at his age of around 23, 24. It is advisory for him to gain 1, 2 years of working experiences before he apply for the job of Big 4s (maybe around 25, 26 years old already) or straight away looks for Big 4s job without experience at all?
As most people join Big4s for exposure, in my most humble opinion; I'd suggest you join the Big4 as a fresh graduate. Then with about 3-4 years working experience move on to greener pastures.

. . anybody know answer to following:

HR Partner
-P Sentral- Female/Male? 
-E Damansara- Female 
-K-1U- Male? 
-D uptown-Male/ Female? :
Big4s don't have HR partners. That's the most accurate answer.
kevinleng
post Apr 19 2008, 12:44 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ceejay @ Apr 19 2008, 09:06 AM)
If advisory as in consulting, then maybe it is better to get some industry experience first. Say u wan risk management, maybe better to join a foreign bank first.  Your clients wan to see some industry experience in your cv when u propose for job. Finacne and IT type based job easier to start at big4.
I think it depends on what type of consulting. If you're interested in business, IT or internal audit type of advisory work, fresh graduates are more than welcomed to apply. However, if you want to go into corporate finance advisory line then yes; i believe experience is preferred. With that being said, I believe you shouldn't be too shy to just try and apply. If you apply you at least have 1% of getting the job, if you don't you have 0%. So just be a bit thicked face and try it out.
kevinleng
post Apr 20 2008, 08:38 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 19 2008, 10:02 PM)
hi there,

want to ask, currently im been working in medium firm for 2 years 4 months, if im joining big4 now, wont it still ok?
If by medium firm you mean other audit/accounting firms, it is possible to apply to the Big4s now. In fact I would recommend you to do that to get better exposure.
kevinleng
post Apr 26 2008, 04:20 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Apr 25 2008, 04:25 PM)
Actually what is "partner" huh? 

sigh...I think i just screwed an interview at big 4....I applied for KL office.  Maybe a position at branches are easier to get?

So most of the time what ppl do at big 4 branches?
Considering you don't know what a Partner is in an audit firm, I'm not surprised you screwed up a Big4 interview. To be very straight forward I believe you already screwed it up by not understanding the organisation structure of the interviewing company.

All of the Big4s are Partnerships, where by the biggest bosses are Partners and net profits are shared among all Partners. The Partners are then split to head different departments. So for example you'll have a few Partners for Audit, a few Partners for Tax, a few Partners for Advisory and etc.

The work scope for auditors at the non-KL offices would be the same as the KL office auditors. You'll basically be doing the financial audit for any of their clients. The only difference would be the size of the clients. The KL office would have more Public Listed Companies and higher profile companies while the non-KL offices may be doing audit for smaller companies that are only based in that state alone. For example Kuching auditors may audit Kuching specific clients such as Sebor. All offices would have their own set of Partners too of course.
kevinleng
post Apr 30 2008, 03:53 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(flowerr @ Apr 30 2008, 01:07 AM)
does anyone know the pay as a S2 (Senior 1st year) in big4 malaysia? and how often is the promotion?
am currently overseas, intending to go back to msia.
Senior 1st year is getting approx. RM 3200 to RM 3600 I believe. Promotion is once a year.
kevinleng
post Apr 30 2008, 10:52 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM)
do'nt go bacck Msia if you're overseas.

you'll regret it for sure.

If you want to work elsewhere do PM me. I can help you out.
=.=" maybe people's family is in Malaysia leh. Don't brain wash ppl =.=" Pst, I send my resume to you tongue.gif
kevinleng
post May 2 2008, 12:07 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ May 1 2008, 07:41 PM)
pwc kuching 6 yrs ago dun have partner, eveytime sign a/c, partner flew from KL n stay at holiday inn
Dude, that's 6 years ago. 6 years ago I can buy a plate of nasi lemak + fried chicken for RM 2.50. Lets talk current.
kevinleng
post May 9 2008, 02:48 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 9 2008, 01:17 PM)
hey ppl, i've been called for PwC assessment this month. There's this form which requires us to indicate 3 preferences of industry groups to join. Can anyone advice on which 3 should i choose?

there are
- Consumer, Industrial Products & Services (CIPS)
- Plantation, Logistics, Automotive & Shipping (CIPS PLAS)
- Energies, Utlities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI)
- Financial Services (FS)
- Middle Market & Growing (MMG)

Thanks smile.gif
If you are looking to increase your knowledge and gain the most out of your working experience in PwC, Financial Services is a good group to be in. I would recommend in specific order:-

1. Financial Services (FS)
2. Energies, Utilities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI)

Then the 3rd one you can choose for your own depends where your interest is.
kevinleng
post May 10 2008, 10:23 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 9 2008, 03:56 PM)
thanks kevin! i am interested in FS as well, but i would like to find out more about it. Can you pls explain more about financial services? how is the audit different from the rest? How come many commented that PwC is very strong in FS when KPMG audit most of the banks in Malaysia?

and what type of companies are there under MMG?

sorry, i know i have a lot of questions  tongue.gif hopefully somebody out there can clear my doubt!
Financial Services is good because FS is a heavily regulated industry (Bank Negara Malaysia), therefore all banks would have to comply with BNM guidelines/standards. In addition to that, if you get clients who are in the securities/investment industry; they are also fall under Security Commission's standards. It is in my own personal opinion that you would learn more in a heavily regulated industry because the margin for error is VERY minimal.

On top of that, when you plan to move on from the Big4; your experience in FS would help you get a job in banks and other financial services companies. As you know, banks offer quite good packages. Of course you could say that oil & gas or other MNCs can also offer you good packages but I guess in the end its about your interest. smile.gif
kevinleng
post May 10 2008, 11:18 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 10 2008, 04:04 PM)
oh.. no wonder... but then if I'm lucky enough to enter FS, will this limit my future career to only banking / financial services industry?

another question is what should i write for my expected salary column? i don't want to overstate or understate the standard amount  smile.gif i heard that pwc will revise its salary from june onwards, is it true?  tongue.gif

will i be overdressed if i come with office attire + blazer just for assessment? coz i'm a skinny person so definitely need extra clothing  tongue.gif but jacket doesnt seem to be appopriate for this kind of occasion...
Well, I won't say that you will be limited to banking and financial services industry; but of course with the experience in any specific industry you gain while in the Big4 will give you an advantage in your next job. So I suggest you to choose wisely which industry you want to be in. Perhaps if you want to be in telecommunications industry then you can choose EUMI and so forth. But that being said, i'm sure you won't be ONLY limited to the industry that you have experience in while in the Big4. As the saying goes, "Any experience is good experience" smile.gif

I think expected salary now should be RM 2400-2500? Not too sure about that sorry. I think you should just go in formal working attire (shirt, tie and black slacks). Jacket would make you look very over dressed. We can tell when there are new joiners in the firm because alot of the guys and i do mean A LOT come in blazers and jackets. Lolz....
kevinleng
post May 11 2008, 10:38 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(smile888 @ May 11 2008, 08:00 AM)
thanks for the info  tongue.gif i'm not a guy lol, so cannot wear tie  biggrin.gif
girls must wear blazer kah?  tongue.gif
Oh oops. Sorry. Well, if you are a lady then its perfectly normal to wear a blazer. Some ladies even where a normal baby T inside and a blazer over to make it look formal. Anyway, blazers are good as some ladies may find the air conditioning a tad cold. Btw, if you're an ACCA grad you should try for EY too. Their starting pay for ACCA fresh grads are slightly higher. smile.gif

0.0521sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:00 AM