QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 7 2008, 05:05 PM)
i'm going for the 15th of July assessment, anyone going for PwC assessment tomorrow as well?Big 4 Recruitment Drive
Big 4 Recruitment Drive
Jul 14 2008, 03:47 PM
3,951 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BS161ZL, Bristol |
Jul 26 2008, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 18 2008, 12:46 AM) pwc interviews for audit today, pwc interviews for tax is tomorrow. i hope my interview went well, cos i got quite a tough interviewer. yerp was at the interview on thursday, 17th. same here as well, got a director interviewing me.QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jul 19 2008, 01:36 AM) wasn't really something out of ordinary, but u need to be confident and always remember to smile and start and end with a firm handshake with your interviewer.QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 19 2008, 10:47 AM) Erm.. nothing out of the ordinary la... pwc called on friday, so i'll be getting the offer letter soon. So to those in PWC, i'll be joining u all XD me too, see u on the 28th when we collect our offer letters |
Jul 28 2008, 11:52 AM
Aug 14 2008, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(jejonathan @ Aug 2 2008, 09:51 AM) what you mean by this? don't you agree that big4 staffs have better exposure than medium/small firm auditors/accountant? actually he is right. for the big 4(s), your audit part is just one small part for one of the audit task, your learning progress would not be as comprehensive as the medium/small firm because in these firms they actually make you perform the whole audit rather than do part of it itself, workload is definately worse off than the big 4(s) but you do learn much more in the process. |
Dec 21 2008, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(Polar @ Nov 30 2008, 09:48 PM) Tomorrow is my first day as an intern at pwc. Starting to feel nervous. What exactly happens in the orientation? Welcome to PwC ahah...if you have any problems, look for ThanatosSwiftfire. He will be most willing to help you out...QUOTE(sysh @ Dec 1 2008, 04:06 PM) hahah. are you still in CIPS PLAS? |
Mar 15 2009, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(rvp @ Mar 10 2009, 11:53 AM) when is usually da peak period(s)? do all da audit firms hv da same peak time or it varies between firms. if "off-peak", what month will it be? that will depend in the industry that you will be choosing/entering into. some have particular months whilst some will be really peak throughout the year. like thanatos's industry, its only for a few particular months i.e. Mar/June |
Apr 24 2009, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(limshenghong @ Mar 22 2009, 04:45 AM) Recession Is Striking Hard On Da Commercial Sectors I think this is where you are wrong. For the Big 4s they are still hiring at the moment, its just that the criterias have become more stringent.Many Seniors fr Audit Line Couldnt Land A Job In Commercials.. If Nobody Leave Da Audit Firms... There Isn't Need For Many Replacements... And Thus, It's Hard To Land A Job in PwC & EY & KPMG & Deloitte Now~ After all, right now supply outstrips demand, you can afford to be picky about your future employee and make sure you hire the best out of the pool of labour workforce. So essentially, yes they are being picky and hiring less, but that does not equate to not hiring at all. p/s: my 2 cents. |
Jun 8 2009, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(CelineW @ Jun 4 2009, 04:05 PM) I've been offered by PwC and will be commencing on their next intake Currently. The only parking is at Lot F, beside KL Sentral.Can anyone here tell me where I can park my car and any good eateries to recommend? Others have all been taken back in the name of development. Eateries. If you dont mind splurging >RM15 per meal, head on to Sooka Central for lunch. Else there is always the chinese coffee shop across KL Sentral called Mayflower, another one is called Sin Kee. Beside Sin Kee, you can go for the Gossip Cafe as well, not that bad also the pricing. p/s: Look out for ThanatosSwiftfire, he's more than willing to help. Dedicated PwC staff |
Jun 8 2009, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 8 2009, 09:33 PM) Nola. Promoting you only what....dedicated PwC staff wei...QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ May 28 2009, 05:30 AM) Just read PwC assurance's mail. Looks like the rest of this year's 1st Experience will be purely in KL. walao sesshy....action now la hahaha....don't forget you still havent had your dinner yet as well....later cancel i laughPity no PD for you new joiners. |
Jun 17 2009, 07:15 PM
Jun 19 2009, 09:24 AM
Jun 25 2009, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(lengchai85 @ Jun 24 2009, 06:12 PM) I have a same opinion with u as well , for my opinion, english is important definately but as long as meet the basic requirement it should be ok . If they wan those people who really expert in english, why dun they juz hire english teacher , they are pretty good in english. For me i think the knowledge in account, audit or tax would be significant. English mastery is one of the most IMPORTANT. I repeat. MOST IMPORTANT criteria when you apply for jobs. Like another forumer had pointed out, not being able to even spell correctly the name of the firm you are applying to is just one mistake that is UNFORGIVABLE. not only it leaves bad impression, but it will guarantee your resume straightaway into the reject bin.On another note, you mentioned that its significant when you possess the knowledge in account/audit/tax. You may have a point there, but then again. When you have audit adjustments/conveying your thoughts to client/writing a ROE, without a good mastery of English, are your readers be able to understand what are you writing about? Bear in mind that some of the clients are a bit blur/have know knowledge in accounting/audit/tax. e.g. DR Expenses, CR Accruals. Being able to explain the double entry in the simplest, layman-term with plain English w/o jargons is what good english mastery is about. Again, I do not discount out the fact that you need quite a solid foundation in accounting to be able to do that, I'm just highlighting the point where English mastery is not to be treated as a trivial matter. Bear in mind also that you are a PROFESSIONAL, so your English must befit one of that of a professional. therefore you will be expected to be of an acceptable standard, and this is particularly true when you represent the bigger companies, not only just the big 4, it applies throughout the board as well. Just my humble dua sen... |
Jun 25 2009, 07:48 AM
QUOTE(mary51 @ Jun 25 2009, 01:32 AM) Hi there, thanks for your respond. i wrote the post while i was blur and have not yet sleep for whole 9..yeah, what you said is correct, i spell wrongly the name of deloitte. sorry about that. i did know how to spell DELOITTE. See, again. THere is a difference between VACANCY and STOP HIRING. When we talk about no vacancy, it simply means that the firm is sufficient in terms of no. of employees that they need and they will only recruit as and when people leave and they need to make back up the numbers that had left. Not hiring simply means that even if they have a shortage of staff, they will make do with it without embarking on a recruitment exercise.i would like to inform you that regarding what i said, deloitte is stop recruiting, i am not heard from rumors but it did state in the website that there is no vacancy in deloitte malaysia at the moment. my cgpa is above 3.75, i do not know does it consider high. however, i do believe there are many of first class students in the market. PWC did call me for a tele-interview, but i guess the call was not at the right time, while i was busy with my presentation, thus, i just simply answer the question, used the short and simple answer. therefore, i think i was failed to impress the HR executive. yea, i know about the essay test, i did it at KPMG last time. If i decided to join back KPMG last august when they offered me , my salary would be RM2,700. however, obviously i did a wrong decision that rejected to join them back. and i do realize about i have to improve my english level after i joined KPMG. i will attend the British council English course soon. i grew up at a rural area, which does not emphasize english at all, i regret about why i didn't realize and learn English properly last time. regarding the extra-curricular, just to be frank , i do not have, only those compulsory i have. maybe as 1 of the participant of National Service program could be considered as ? and BDO didn't invite me for an interview session is because they said 1 of their requirement is SPM Englsih score A. that 's why, i failed. but my coursemate who scored B can get in there, because he applied earlier, and he is ex-vt there. so the executive said they give excuse to those VT. anyway, i agree that English is really important, tat's y i even hope if i were English educated, like those 'banana'. although my friend who is banana keep comforting me that, i should be indebted because i can read, write and speak chinese. however, if i can choose, i wish to be English educated. thank you for all the responses. Your BIGGEST mistake was simply not showing the slightest interest at all with tele-interview by PwC (yea its a small w), perhaps what you could have done instead of simply answering the questions is to tell them that you are in the midst of a presentation and maybe you could have the contact person and number to call them back, which would have definately made a better impression than that of simply answering questions. Actually, your indecisiveness have costed you jobs with 2 out of the big 4s already, with 1) rejecting KPMG and 2) simply not showing interest in the tele-interview. Honestly, at times there are more mitigating factors to consider rather than only concentrating on your CGPA. That includes sports, societies and as well as your social etiquette in life, had afriend with CGPA3.50 working with one of the big 4s now as well, and boy trust me, 100% of the people bet he won't even get called for interview, but hey, he did got called and he did get the job. Don't fret though, because if you can read, write and converse in Mandarin, it is an added value that helps market yourself to the employers as well as people mainly can only read and converse in Mandarin but are not able to write. So keep on looking, hope you'll find your job soon. p/s: Oops getting too long winded. Shall let ThanatosSiwftfire to continue on... |
Jun 27 2009, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 26 2009, 06:20 PM) Fact 1. but I'm just an average student....not some world prize winner woh...Audit firms CANNOT stop hiring. The moment they stop, there will be a gap in the review hierarchy, and that is bad for the firm. Fact 2. Good or bad times, people leave audit. Why? It's just too.. shall I say it, inhuman. Fact 3. Bad times means more people stay, as they can't find alternative work. Also, bad times means budget and cash runs lower.That will mean HR have to hire less. However, due to Fact 1 and Fact 2, they still have to hire. (for continuity and succession planning) Fact 4. In bad times, audit is the only consistent firm that still hires. THerefore, it may seem like the audit firms h ave stopped hiring, but what in fact actually happens, is that, i) More applicants (as a result of the growing popularity of audit as a career to young, clueless and hopeful accounting students) ii) Retrenched staff trying out audit iii) Previously resigned auditors going back to it because they can't find other jobs since resigning. As a result of Facts 1-2, they will still hire. But as a result of Facts 3 and 4, recruitment criteria is much more stringent. Thus, to the common, average performing student, it would seem as if hiring have ceased. how to find job la liddat...? |
Jun 27 2009, 12:43 PM
Aug 22 2009, 07:12 AM
May 16 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 14 2010, 04:04 PM) welcome to the club. June intake is the best intake as our annual promotion is in june so you don't risk being overdue to anything. welcome as well. adding on to thanatos's comments, the new joiners wont be affected much. the ones that are affected will be thanatos's batch.QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 15 2010, 10:27 AM) general sentiments and response from senior management seems to suggest so, though no official brief has been given. If I do get any info I'll inform you ppl accordingly ;P it is confirmed already from what the partner have told us. |
May 31 2010, 11:47 AM
Jun 2 2010, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(bounty_hunt3r @ Jun 2 2010, 12:18 PM) Hi guys, no offense here bro. but given that your girlfriend has up to adv. diploma, it would be quite hard to apply for big 4 as its applicants, on a majority basis (if not whole), already possess at least a degree or a degree + MBA (australian grads). Would be a tough call for her to compete with the graduate applicants.my girlfriend is looking for audit job any advice for her? she is adv. diploma fresh grad but she has working experiences in accounting firm but not audit! Can she apply for big 4? Thanks however, they might consider your girlfriend's previous work experience and might recruit her based on that as well. personally, i see no harm in trying to apply for big 4 if that's what she wants. a degree is just an easier passport to securing an interview, but it all depends on your performance in the interview that counts...as i've seen my first class honours friend who had been rejected by the big 4 |
Jun 4 2010, 05:01 PM
| Change to: | 0.4916sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:56 PM |