Big 4 Recruitment Drive

ceejay
post Apr 7 2008, 11:57 AM

64 posts

Big4 very shorthanded becos lotsa ppl go overses eg Singapore, HK to work-that's why easy to apply. Not so sure what can happen if really got recession in June in US, Europe and maybe even in China/ singapore. Maybe then it will be like big4 overseas- next to impossible unless you are PR. Alos try to apply if your cgpa grade less than 3 or equivalent or no prof qualification like ACCA. Probably no replylah. They go for the well known uni first and then the rest just on respond to papers. Current shortage give ppl with lower scores to apply and if can do well in interview still got chance of working with Big4. Maybe afterwards with prof qualification and ezperience can go elsewhere.

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 09:49 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 8 2008, 08:57 AM)
haha... Good Luck for you...Mine will be on next Wed  for the position of AA2... I've send in my resume ard 2am thru email and they called me for interview ard 10.30am the next day and I delayed it to next Wed.... Damn efficient!!!... Pwc called me but they place my resume in VT section, adoi, have to wait again... Why it takes so long for 2 other  firms to call me!!! Arghh...
Good time to join since the busy period is over. Relaxlah. LOL. What course u complete that makes u apply so late? What grades? One important point is to dress appropriately like them!! If u do not know how they are dressed, ask your frens.

No harm speaking to all. As much as they want u, u also want to find the right employer. If you are good enough, no problem with getting a good job. Be Brave!!!Good luck.

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 8 2008, 01:25 PM
ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 01:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 8 2008, 01:25 PM)
i m going for the post of secretary, not sure which department, coz it only stated secretary and the lady who call me only say that it's her boss.. and it's a japanese >.<

and i now headache on what to wear.. coz i dont have a suit. T.T
but they say is sufficient to wear formal shirt with skirt.

omg.... "ohaiyooo, watashi wa jamie desu. watashiwa hisho desu" T.T

scary.....
It is quite acceptable to wear a dark-colored non matching jacket over shirt and skirt. Malaysia not so formal. Where u learn japanese? surely not by reading the menu?

If u look like in your picture, i think they will not let u go until u sign the employment> laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 8 2008, 01:33 PM
ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 02:02 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Apr 8 2008, 11:29 AM)
Any advice on the HR / Admin position ar? Do we have to work late oso? or is it just like normal working hours?
hr positions now very exciting in bigfour- always new ways to attract young ppl, new project, community, organising parties for passing exams, promotions, annual trips, overseas recruitment = most happening place unless u are payroll cry.gif then most routine and annoying job- go for recuritment, student affairs, cool2.gif everybody wants to be number one- plenty of money to spend.

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 02:11 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 8 2008, 01:45 PM)

p/s : that's me in the picture, but u only see the face, wait till u see the body.... 170cm with almost 60kg.... wanna die liao... all due to wanted have bigger boobs... Y.Y
p/
Aiyah--u look sweet and pleasant enuf somemore complain. (why 60kg can gvie bigger bs meh?)

If u do not get a job i will be very surprised. Most time they will be looking for someone e pleasant personality, well- organised and pleasant voice as they will be dealing with many high level executives. Knowing Jap will be a big plus esp if Jap boss. Relax (Oooopps can u type?)

First rule of secretary- make fren with boss wife.

Second rule. ....... make fren with boss.

Third. . after i finish my coffee.

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 02:20 PM

64 posts

[

back to the topic, you work with one of the big4?

[/quote]

ex-lah--------- now drinking coffee.
ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 04:19 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 8 2008, 02:16 PM)
lol, i try to gain fat to get bigger boobs and it works but on the down site i look a lil like tyra banks, big ass...

i only know a few very few greeting phrase in japanese, but learning the language is something i really wanna do... smile.gif mayb due to the fact that  blush.gif i love role play in those hot steamy ... S**.

back to the topic, you work with one of the big4?
a hemm cough cough drool.gif

if u look like TB, half the guys will fall in luv with you alreadi lah

and the other 50% too shy to say so leh!

(Maybe boss wife see u and now worry kaw kaw? How now to get job? Beauty also got problems biggrin.gif )

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 06:13 PM

64 posts

teeem - mau (canto for sweetcat)

enuf laughs for today- sleep well and hv a successful interview tomolo. Don't show all your barang barang tomolo okay. Let usknow th good news !!

(2nite apply online to D for position opposite the Jap manager office) cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 8 2008, 06:14 PM
ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 08:54 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 8 2008, 07:00 PM)
I shall wait for the result... I still dun believe there is no assesment in Deloitte cause I've done assessment during my VT in one of the Big4.... I would say ITS DAMN HARD OK>>> DAMN TRICKY ENGLISH THEY USE!!.... I wonder if I passed the assessment.
veena,
normally assessment only for professional staff- secretary do test typing, compose simple letters lah- then they check for mistakes (spelling can use spell check and grammar check so now no problem)
lotsa places to eat in uptown so car only for to/fro work. nowadays secretary work very relaxlah- alot of new managers/directors can type themselves- only checking appointments, answering phone calls and taking care of boss wifey/ children- sometimes pening also.

sweetcat - like u said earlier wear something like shirt and skirt and a dark blazer\/jacket that all the ladies always like black or something- look professional alredi. Bet u sure get job. Good luck.

(u sure the hr lady in D is not reading this uh? U sure the foto real?).
Things u try to ask gently:
One- Where is my car park?
Two- Do I have to speak to the boss wife?
Three_ How may days sick leave can I get ayear?

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 10:23 PM

64 posts

CeeJay,

I'm not in the secretary position ler... Audit no need do any exam/assessment to join one? Are you an auditor as well??

Which photo u mean?? Sweet cat photo??

[/quote]

prof staff all got assessment test - no escape inlcuding audit.

One hidden benefit- big4 firm good place to look for your future one- so many young man start here to become partners, cfo, MD, etc- catch them when they are still stupid with girls (Man develop slower than females- still mong cha cha in their twenties esp the smart ones). You two girls can kowtim anyone of them. laugh.gif

ceejay
post Apr 8 2008, 11:58 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 8 2008, 11:22 PM)
The HR whom called me ask me to bring my latest pic, my ori certs for interview... From my knowledge, isnt the first step should be assessment then only go for interview rite provided you pass the test? How much should I ask for if I'm ask about how much pay I want? What do I see myself in 5 years time?

Besides.... Ceejay, I dun join audit firm to kaotim guys!!! Y you sound like u downgraded both of us!!!!! I'm offended...  cool2.gif
normally immediately after the test- they can marked and results available before interview= lah. Most ppl will pass esp if can write like you here biggrin.gif

no harm lah- got secret weapon must use huh? Life must interesting !! why only d the others not good meh? u got choice of one utama or sentral or damansara or uptown?

ceejay
post Apr 9 2008, 06:38 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 9 2008, 12:22 AM)
I dun get wad u mean by secret weapon???? 99% of my fren said audit life isnt interesting...  rclxm9.gif How to make life that interesting like u assume here? Choices!!??? The prob here is I dun have car... cry.gif  I'm still thinking hard how to go work after grad... be strong .... be strong....  cool.gif
veena,
what other job u get to go to so many places/ companies (many are blue chips), work with so many young ppl like you , meet so many professional, hgh level execs-- lucky to be in big firm -at least you know u are getting the right experience and professional qualification (they pay the course for you). In most country u are already considered on your way to a successful career.
should nt be afraid of hard work-lah - only if u kenot go anywhere. Like u make more money like in a bank but after three years who are u? in B4, u get your experience and pro qualification to go the next step- whether commerce, or overseas or even stay on- Big4 is a blue chip MNC--duh!.

Good luck - u will also meet alot of your college mates there too!

Secret weapon- don't need car- use your charm- sure got sucker driving you around?

Added on April 9, 2008, 6:40 pm[quote=sweetcat,Apr 9 2008, 04:57 PM]

the interview is ok, and i heard from the lady who recommend me this job says that the director first impression to me is good. i wear black blazer white shirt n black skirt. icon_rolleyes.gif

. . . got belanja us for the goooooooooooood advice???

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 9 2008, 06:40 PM
ceejay
post Apr 9 2008, 08:12 PM

64 posts

[

Added on April 9, 2008, 7:49 pm
Sweet Cat,

I wan Coffee Bean Coffee.... haha... Got assessment to do... ENGLISH, VOCABULARY, IQ TEST....... I shall attend 3 days English tuition now to brush up my English... Btw, IQ test... is it on maths historical and statistics? Is it tough? You pass easily? How long U spend in the interview? U seem to be spending almost whole day there...

veeeeeee,
normally they want to test u on numbers/ maths/logic- becos if u not comfortable with numbers -very diff to succeed in finance type job lah. Some ppl just go blank when given numerals type tests. Normally quite easy to pass.
When is your interview? did u do VT at D too?

ceejay
post Apr 10 2008, 08:37 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 9 2008, 09:00 PM)
I got phobia in exams now... yeah, they wun be hiring one or two.. i guess at least a batch of 15 people?? but my actual interview wasnt next wed... it was suppose to be tomolo...  icon_question.gif and I drag it to next wed due to transport prob and its mid-sem exams seasons this week...
V,
first time i hear ppl donwan to go interview becos of transport problems--go and find out what they offer first. U are just starting out- u should be brave and find out more. U already hv exp in big4- but u went there at the busiest period- if u can survive that u can do well. Bet with you -compare yourself with your frens in other job after three years- if still regret- I am sure if u want to do accounting/financial, this is the best choice. U do not sound like a rich gurl (no car or driver) but professional qualf can still take u very high up and on your own merit 2.

Okay- okay i think too much cafferine for me this morning but still u are very lucky to have good education oredi. Schedule interview to a convenient date so u can concentrate on exams. This is past busy season n i think D can wait for a week.

Relax- if uare really good, they will try to sell u how good D is- ask them all the question like work environment, how much ot, etc etc all the things u saw/experience as VT-

Question?- why your VT firm no offer you jobleh?

ceejay
post Apr 10 2008, 08:51 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 10 2008, 08:41 AM)
to CeeJay

she will be going to interview la, she said that her friend going to fetch her ma....

p/s then i sound like a rich gurl la, i got FREE driver ..... duh...
rich gurl ? . . papa not counted lah whistling.gif onli if papa got driver. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 10 2008, 08:53 AM
ceejay
post Apr 10 2008, 09:25 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 10 2008, 09:16 AM)
i

my boi boi family is doing furniture de ma....
P/S I m NOT RICH GURL, i dont even have a car or any branded bags

. . . your boi boi is. . . . IKEA!!! son- aiyoh - don't let go this "chai tau".

ceejay
post Apr 10 2008, 12:09 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 10 2008, 11:09 AM)
how i wish is ikea.....  brows.gif  only some local factory doing rubber & compress wood furniture.

veena

I applied PWC 1st.. They just take damn long to reply me... then I applied D... they called me the next day... My previous firm that I'm working with... Haven apply yet... haha...  Dont ask me why... I dunno... mayb I dowan go back there!!?? Clueless

And best part, I'm not local... that's y I need to get a nearer hse to the office to save transport cost... Asking my dad to buy me a car isn my style... I rather be independent. Yeah.... Girls Power!! kekekeke

sweet cat---aiyoh-so young u r oredi soooooo lucky. I never gave anyone inlcuding mother something so big as complete furniture for house. Like that next bf must gif whole house ( eh u don't hv to return the furniture to boiX2 do you? rclxms.gif

v,
don't be so sensitive - sometimes application also lost in mail and maybe not recruiting season. Dun find ways to reject - there are only four- compare them lah go for all four interviews better mah. Some ppl wan also kenot get in.
shakehead.gif

ceejay
post Apr 15 2008, 08:05 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(speng @ Apr 15 2008, 09:36 AM)
Thanks for your information.  smile.gif
BTW, my cousin working in Grant Thornton told me that working in IT Audit or IT Risk Management line is good, he said this job is very good in future. Is it true?  hmm.gif Cos i'm considering whether to go into IT Audit/Risk Mgmt or SAP.
Any opinion?
Advisory- generally take less junior staff as senior consultants are expected to have industry experience but ITA and ITRM are good places to start esp if you have strong IT background. U probably b offered some IT qualification to enhance your expereince. Specialised but in big demand. biggrin.gif
Corporate finance - u may be better working in an investment bank first before going to big4. blink.gif
SAP-too specialised. shakehead.gif
Audit- for those who want to be more "finance"- do a prof qualication in the three years- U can also switch later to other jobs like banks, tax, corporate finance, investment after you qualify. Probably has more options to do something different due to varied audit experience. nod.gif

BTW cgpa grad of 3.5 plus master should get u interview at all the big4. Relaxz lah. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 15 2008, 08:07 PM
ceejay
post Apr 17 2008, 12:32 PM

64 posts

something from a fren; Big4 vs Big Bank

New grad-Big4 vs BigBank
Start pay
Big4- 2400/2500
BigBank-2800 smile.gif

Wkg hours/ OT
Big4- Work like dog but got OT and allowance blink.gif
BigBank- Work like a Dog

Environment
Big4- Lotsa of young ppl, cool2.gif
BigBank- Lots of clerical staff, ham palang yau.

After three years
Big4- Qualified accountant - looking for job
BigBank- Looking for job but cannot pay off housing loan and car loan mad.gif

After five years
Big4- Manager- looking for job or maybe in London. icon_idea.gif
BigBank- Looking for job.

Car loan
Big4- From Papa and mama bank. ohmy.gif
BigBank- Ah Kong Bank give loan after one year but can only buy Saga.

Housing loan
Big4- No-Stay with parents shakehead.gif
BigBank- Can afford low cost apartment but handcuffed to bank for next 15 years. Sei-loh!

Prof Training
Big4- Free prof course but miss classes to lepak
BigBank- Free to lepak. thumbup.gif

Job Training
Big4- So many courses to do- can die wan.
BigBank-Can teach uncle auntie on opening saving account.
BigBank-Can collect HP Debt w/o breaking somebody's leg.
BigBank-Also learn to speak with threatening voice. tongue.gif

Motivation- client
Big4- Date the MD's secretary drool.gif
BigBank- Help leng lui who donot know how to use ATM

Motivation-at work
Big4- Plenty of sweet young things- male/female icon_rolleyes.gif
BigBank- Go for teh tarik and nasi lemak at 10am and 4pm daily.

Travel
Big4- Always at customers' place, sometimes overseas.
BigBank- Going to shopping mall to sell credit cards yawn.gif

Downside
Big4- Ladies are a lot smarter and cleverer than u. And they do not want to go out with you.
BigBank- Ladies want to marry you quick and open joint account. ohmy.gif

Upside
Big4- Lots more ladies than men in office- you are in demand yoh!!! (Only to carry files-duh!)
BigBank- Going to shopping mall to sell credit cards- hopefully at Curve, 1U not selayang mall. rclxub.gif

Marriage
Big4- Too busy to marry
BigBank- Married too early blush.gif

Tendencies
Big4- Talk with Aussie slang although study in sunway only blink.gif
BigBank- Talk in canto although never study mandarin

Career goals
Big4- Want to work in China to meet PRC girls and earn big bucks
BigBank- Went to meet PRC girls at karaoke and spent big bucks. whistling.gif

Revelations
Big4- Client money not your money.
BigBank- Bank money not your money. hmm.gif