127 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive

cktwai
post Apr 26 2008, 12:39 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Apr 26 2008, 04:20 AM)
Considering you don't know what a Partner is in an audit firm, I'm not surprised you screwed up a Big4 interview. To be very straight forward I believe you already screwed it up by not understanding the organisation structure of the interviewing company.

All of the Big4s are Partnerships, where by the biggest bosses are Partners and net profits are shared among all Partners. The Partners are then split to head different departments. So for example you'll have a few Partners for Audit, a few Partners for Tax, a few Partners for Advisory and etc.

The work scope for auditors at the non-KL offices would be the same as the KL office auditors. You'll basically be doing the financial audit for any of their clients. The only difference would be the size of the clients. The KL office would have more Public Listed Companies and higher profile companies while the non-KL offices may be doing audit for smaller companies that are only based in that state alone. For example Kuching auditors may audit Kuching specific clients such as Sebor. All offices would have their own set of Partners too of course.
Yeah man

Partner also dunno. Then wanna go Big4 interview ? lol

ceejay
post Apr 26 2008, 01:56 PM

64 posts

[

siaolang,
if u intend to spend the next 3 to 5 years to start your career with a company -I think it is important to spend a little researching on your future employer. U can find out so much by 1-visit their website and 2-speaking to your frens, counsellors. Use the opportunity of the interview to find out things which are important to you which may not be clear in their website eg training, prof exams, overseas secondments, career progression dan lain lain. Questions that indciate that u are interested to develop your career. thumbup.gif

This not the time to ask what the company does, which bus goes to the office or where can u park your BMW. tongue.gif

Don't worry too much - try again at the other firms. Good luck. nod.gif

siaolang
post Apr 27 2008, 03:54 AM

130 posts

thank you for the advice, kevingleng & ceejay.

now I at least know what is "partners" liao...lolz..

though i don't think i do well in the interview, but that's a very informative interview. the interviewer gave me a lot of information about the job characteristics of their department.

At this moment, I don't really know what kind of department I might be interested in the future or I might be happy end up with...
Interview is good for accessing myself too.
hopeguy123
post Apr 28 2008, 10:45 PM

how shud i answer if the interviewer ask me whether i got go for interview in other big 3?? in fact i got go other big3 interview...

if i answer yes will they still hire me or will not consider to hire me anymore?

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:57 pmi'm going to interview in Deloitte in this week...my biggest concern is the essay test..can any ppl juz interviewedin Deloitte plz share with me what question had been asked during the test? PM also can...

This post has been edited by hopeguy123: Apr 28 2008, 10:57 PM
ceejay
post Apr 29 2008, 10:20 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(hopeguy123 @ Apr 28 2008, 10:45 PM)
how shud i answer if the interviewer ask me whether i got go for interview in other big 3?? in fact i got go other big3 interview...

if i answer yes will they still hire me or will not consider to hire me anymore?

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:57 pmi'm going to interview in Deloitte in this week...my biggest concern is the essay test..can any ppl juz interviewedin Deloitte plz share with me what question had been asked during the test?  PM also can...
Nothing wrong with saying you are being called for interview by other B4.

normally the essay will have simple topics like what's your best achievement todate? Who is most influential in your life/ or something like that? They want to test your writing skills expression, lamnguage profiency but also want to see elements of teamwork, leadership, integrity etc. So write something real life experience and end with what were the learning points that make the event, situation so meaningful to you. Think a little logically and frameup your essay for example start with the event, situation, background- next what happen and what you have to do and end with learning points, summary. Practice a bit at home okay.

Most of the firm have low expectations of english nowadays- based on your email and if u write in full sentences and no sms spellings you should breeze thor'. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Johnathan Sia
post Apr 29 2008, 10:23 AM

75 posts

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:57 pmi'm going to interview in Deloitte in this week...my biggest concern is the essay test..can any ppl juz interviewedin Deloitte plz share with me what question had been asked during the test?  PM also can...
The essay test differs according to the level of the job being applied for. Sure hope your English is up to scratch as it's becoming/already is a problem amongst the Big 4. Many managers & partners complain about the standard of English being displayed by new recruits.

Don't stress too much about what question is asked. You're not being tested for your knowledge on what is being asked (though if you have trouble answering this question 'Describe yourself and your family' you want want to seek experienced help), you're being tested for your ability to write with as few grammar and spelling mistakes as possible. Few things are more painful for a senior, manager, or partner to go through than a having a document being sent back and forth solely to correct the English.
Bank
post Apr 29 2008, 10:26 AM

157 posts

Deloitte will ask u write an essay. not sure the title now. last time ask me write a letter in english then translate it in malay as well. n 1 english test plus 1 IQ test. need to finish everthing in 1 hour i think. cant remember... so be prepared.
Joker339
post Apr 29 2008, 01:47 PM

160 posts

How should you answer??

What the kind of question is that?

As if you answer one way or another got magic to determine if you're hired or not?

Answer truthfully and be yourself.

You can't fake things after a while.

AND yes.... English is VERY important.

To ceejay who says low English expectations, you are wrong. Although some divisions more important than others.

Trust me when I say that straight As, super results students (dean's list, etc etc) have been rejected because of poor english test results and not being able to speak well.

There's already so many things you need to learn and improve in the firm. No one is here to teach you English/language.
hopeguy123
post Apr 29 2008, 01:57 PM

thx for the advice guys...

I also think that English is very important in our working life...

Some of my frens' result is not very good but their english is superb good...so they are easily get hired...
flowerr
post Apr 30 2008, 01:07 AM

15 posts

does anyone know the pay as a S2 (Senior 1st year) in big4 malaysia? and how often is the promotion?
am currently overseas, intending to go back to msia.
kevinleng
post Apr 30 2008, 03:53 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(flowerr @ Apr 30 2008, 01:07 AM)
does anyone know the pay as a S2 (Senior 1st year) in big4 malaysia? and how often is the promotion?
Senior 1st year is getting approx. RM 3200 to RM 3600 I believe. Promotion is once a year.
cktwai
post Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(flowerr @ Apr 30 2008, 01:07 AM)
do'nt go bacck Msia if you're overseas.

you'll regret it for sure.

If you want to work elsewhere do PM me. I can help you out.

kevinleng
post Apr 30 2008, 10:52 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM)

=.=" maybe people's family is in Malaysia leh. Don't brain wash ppl =.=" Pst, I send my resume to you tongue.gif
jactval
post Apr 30 2008, 04:52 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM)

Strongly discouraged others to come back Msia, any reason to strengthen it(other than the reason of salary and culture)? Suppose you doing very well at overseas.

Seems you like to hook people up, good characteristic you have rclxms.gif
drk messenger
post Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Apr 30 2008, 04:52 PM)
Strongly discouraged others to come back Msia, any reason to strengthen it(other than the reason of salary and culture)? Suppose you doing very well at overseas.

Seems you like to hook people up, good characteristic you have  rclxms.gif
one of the reason is more workloads here but lesser salary.. cry.gif cry.gif
jactval
post Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM

179 posts

One thing I'm interested to know. As Big4s turnover is high, but most of the people who quit Big4s is due to the reason of resign or being fired? What kind of staff normally fired by Big4s? Attitute problems? unpunctual job attendance? Mistake in carry out his/her work?

Added on April 30, 2008, 5:09 pm
QUOTE(drk messenger @ Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
one of the reason is more workloads here but lesser salary..  cry.gif  cry.gif
I don't think foreign firm having lesser workload tho. But the salary will be definitely attractive tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jactval: Apr 30 2008, 05:09 PM
Bank
post Apr 30 2008, 05:17 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
One thing I'm interested to know. As Big4s turnover is high, but most of the people who quit Big4s is due to the reason of resign or being fired? What kind of staff normally fired by Big4s? Attitute problems? unpunctual job attendance? Mistake in carry out his/her work?

so far i never heard ppl fired by big4. but ppl resign n leave. bcos they got better offer from commercial o other big4. rclxms.gif
Johnathan Sia
post Apr 30 2008, 05:39 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Bank @ Apr 30 2008, 05:17 PM)
so far i never heard ppl fired by big4. but ppl resign n leave. bcos they got better offer from commercial o other big4.  rclxms.gif
The term used more nowadays is counselled out.
siaolang
post May 1 2008, 08:52 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 29 2008, 06:53 PM)

I want to work in Singapore. you received my PM last time?

cktwai
post May 1 2008, 06:43 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ May 1 2008, 08:52 AM)
I want to work in Singapore.  you received my PM last time?

what PM you send me? i didn't remember getting from you... If you interested PM me your degree results. dont' give me one liners like most ppl. I usually don't pay attention to one liners lol

127 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:59 AM