Big 4 Recruitment Drive

cktwai
post Sep 24 2006, 09:43 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Sep 24 2006, 01:38 AM)
but u wil nid to work very very long hours everyday...n during peak period u wil nid to suffer even longer working hour til midnite or next morning everyday... tongue.gif
i can assure you this is a myth... does not happen to everyone.. probably only certain ppl would need to do this... probably 5% of the entire staff of any big4 mentioned above...

I can absolutely assure you on this. I work in 2 big4 companies before
cktwai
post Sep 25 2006, 09:20 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

Anywayz... last week there's an advertisement on THE Star Saturday from EY.... Last Saturday.. there's an ad from PWC from The Star...

cktwai
post Sep 25 2006, 01:19 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kaynemil @ Sep 25 2006, 11:32 AM)
For PwC - intake is 12 months a year, so apply as soon as you can

For IT grads with accounting minor - You can try for the IT auditor position..  SPA (Systems Process Auditor) in PwC

I'm not sure about the other big 4, but the starting pay ranges from RM2.1k - 2.2k for normal auditor (those with Masters degree freshie are paid higher) while SPA auditors gets paid slightly higher.. about RM2.3k

And about that dispeling the myth on working late nights.. cktwai, come on... i agree with you that it doesn't happen to everyone, but you got that 5% on the wrong side.  95% of auditors has at least once worked pass midnight before.  But this only happens during peak periods.  The larger the company you audit, the longer the working hours as more sections and responsibilities are given out. 

Large companies - Listed in KLSE, financial institutions, MNC

OF course, if you were to audit a medium sized or smaller firm, you'd be going home much earlier than the rest of the population.
hahaha... maybe coz you're in PWC or EY ? hehehehe biggrin.gif

cktwai
post Sep 25 2006, 01:20 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kaynemil @ Sep 25 2006, 11:51 AM)
Agreed!  although it is not one of the big 4 though, and also not auditing.. Accenture used to be Arthur Andersen consulting arm... AA dimakan oleh EY di...

How much is the salary for freshies ar? Heard it's RM4k...once confirmed staff, salary is much much higher.  Anyone can confirm?
It's 3.5k for fresh grads...
cktwai
post Sep 28 2006, 01:30 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kaynemil @ Sep 28 2006, 12:31 PM)
Ha ha! I think last year alot of Deloitte seniors have left for Shanghai/Beijing jobs with higher salaries or 'migrated' to PwC KL...  heard that Deloitte KL can be quite 'chinaman' when it comes to directors and partners...
you'll be suprise my friend if you knew the true story... just coz Deloitte is ranked 4th doesn't mean the perks and salaries as lower than the rest.. rolleyes.gif
cktwai
post Dec 25 2006, 09:23 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

I see some of the people's posts here and it seems that there are a lot of rumours that you all hear about the Big4s....

I'm currently working in a Big4 right now and I have worked for more than 1 Big4 before.

For TRUE and ACCURATE information about working life in Big4, what to expect and so forth, PM me with your questions.

Please do not ask generic questions and ask specific questions...

Just to kick start your thought on Big4s... they generally offer these type of services:-

1. Financial Audit - these are external auditors that go round auditing ppl's accounts
2. Internal Audit - does work for Internal Audit departments of companies. Some companies lack expertise in doing IA work so they outsource it to the Big4s. SOX audits generally fall here as well.
3. IT Audit - does IT Auditing of IT operations and IT systems that support the financial system.
4. Risk Management - can be IT or overall risk management of a company.
5. Tax - this is all about taxes and forming new companies
6. Financial Advisory - can be transaction advisory, fraud investigation, business consulting and etc.
7. Support Services - you may work in technical departments of Big4s, finance department or even the IT Department.

Generally the Big4s offer the above types of job/career fields...

I think what a lot of people hear about the Big4s is pretty much NOT TRUE!

cktwai
post Jan 3 2007, 09:09 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Dec 26 2006, 12:23 AM)
PM-ed you. smile.gif
OMG KevinLeng!!!

it's your uncle here smile.gif
cktwai
post Jan 3 2007, 09:19 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(frodododo @ Dec 29 2006, 12:25 AM)
Well, for those of you who are interested, PwC currently is split into three main lines of services; Assurance, Advisory and Tax.

Assurance is the audit arm of PwC, with a large client base ranging from Telekom to Maxis, Genting to CIMB, Shell to Esso. The Assurance practice is split according to industry, namely Financial Services (for banks and insurance companies), EUMI (for energy, utilities, mining, telcos), CIPS (for consumer industry products) and MMG (for small to middle-sized companies).

The requirement for fresh grads, simple put is for them to have at least a second class upper and good results in SPM to illustrate a history of academic achievement. But of course, results are just to pre-requisites. The potential candidate must also be an all-rounder, active in extra-curricular activities with achievements in sports being a bonus. The interview will gauge a candidates maturity and attitude, and is very stringent in the sense that they are required to sit for aptitude test which will result in a detailed profile of the candidate.

For Advisory, the practice is split into three main areas; Performance Improvement, Crisis Management and Transactions. Performance Improvement mainly deals in process type work, ranging from corporate governance, risk management, business process improvements, process transformation, human resource advisory, Sarbanes-Oxley and dispute analysis and investigations.

Crisis Management work mainly deals with business recovery, i.e. receiverships, liquidations, financial and debt restructuring, business reviews, divestment advisory.

And the Transactions is split into two main areas: Corporate Finance and Transaction Services. Corporate Finance's range of services include business planning, economic feasibility studies, structuring privatisation proposals and public-private partnerships, M&A, project financing, funding and capital structuring, divestments, business and asset valuations, financial modelling & analysis, and independent advisory. Transactions mainly do due diligence and deal structuring work.

The requirement for Advisory can be more stringent than Assurance or Tax as the recruitment is focused on experienced hires. However, fresh graduates are also recruited from time to time (but not in large numbers as in Assurance). For fresh graduates, the requirement is also 2nd class upper and above from reputable universities. The acceptable degrees would be of course in Finance, Accounting, Engineering, Business and Actuarial. The interview process differs from unit to unit, but expect to sit through a few short exams and case studies. The focus of the interview is to assess the candidate's thought process and ability to handle certain situations.

And of course, once you pass the interviews, be it in Assurance, Advisory or Tax, it's just the beginning. For Assurance especially, the nature of the work can be demanding at times, but that goes with the territory with working with one of the Big Four. The hours will range from time to time, depending on project and of course the famous peak seasons (usually from January till early March). The work itself is challenging, but to be the best, you have to work for it of course. The training and support is top notch, and as many people will tell you, Assurance is a good stepping stone if you would like to launch a career in Finance. However, please be come in prepared, too many new joiners come in expecting something else and won't last the distance.
so good to see ppl sharing information here... smile.gif

I think ppl working in Big4s should stick together and compare notes...

We need to tell the management what are the good things we know about other Big4s so that they'll constantly increase the benefits....

cktwai
post Jan 9 2007, 11:19 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Jan 9 2007, 12:50 PM)
Not sure where did you hear that accumulatively EY staff get more than PwC staff but perhaps you should get your facts right first next time. But EY's staff don't get a RM 600 - 700 increment when they are promoted from A1 to SA2 although A2 to A1's increment is more than RM 100 - 150.
i can second his words... hahaha

what kevin said is true.

This post has been edited by cktwai: Jan 9 2007, 11:19 PM
cktwai
post Jan 21 2007, 07:42 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 20 2007, 10:23 PM)
Good to see lot of PWC folks here.

I'm from the dark old days (as one of you mentioned), when PWC was still PW and C&L, and Khoo Eng Choo ruled the roost. Left PW for consulting with KPMG (different name, same crap) then out to a MNC, because I didn't want the late nights, ridiculous travel accomodation & reimbursement policies, constantly juggling 5 or 6 field work assignments and clearing the reviews of the previous 5 or 6 at the same time.

Can you guys tell me what the probable salary ranges are in KL:

Senior (3 yrs experience) - ???
Asst Mgr - ???
Mgr - ???
Snr Mgr - ???
Exec Dir - ???
these things very sensitive leh..

how to post on a public forum laugh.gif

cktwai
post Jan 26 2007, 04:57 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2007, 08:03 PM)
approximate salary lor. anyway, there is huge variation b/w top and average performers. more or less will do. I just want to see what the market is like back in KL.
my advice is try to stay where you are...

there isn't another country better than malaysia if you're in Big4..
cktwai
post Feb 1 2007, 07:35 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Jan 28 2007, 12:38 AM)
i also in big 4...why our branch all the staff only get 1 month + (plus a bit bit only)
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
well.. pretty obvious..

In other states... basically if you've decided to work in your "hometown" there isn't a lot of places to go to.. It's just a matter of supply and demand.. if starting pay of Big4 in KL is 2.1k till 2.3k.. you would expect starting pay that these branch offices to be 1.7k -2k.. perhaps maybe even less..
cktwai
post Feb 4 2007, 08:37 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Feb 4 2007, 09:50 AM)
It's always about revenue generation. Considering the KL office will have many MNC/high profiled clients, the audit fee will definitely be higher than the smaller companies in the smaller towns. Therefore, it is only fair to reward the staff accordingly.
i think we should start a website for all Auditors...

cktwai
post Feb 5 2007, 05:34 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(Wheel of Life @ Feb 4 2007, 09:13 PM)
We should start a thread for all staffs in Big4, instead of just focusing on auditors... Because some are from advisory, and some from tax.
are you all serious?

last time there's a case in Singapore.. someone started this Big4 Website for singaporeans.. the person sort of like got sued and had to take down the website..

cktwai
post Apr 17 2008, 09:02 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Apr 16 2008, 03:34 PM)
Leng Luis & leng chais? Well.. let's try to break it down

Level 19 - Got 2 though one not so young now... about 30 (she'll kill me if she sees this...;p)
Level 18 - Got sweetcat  notworthy.gif hehe. Also nearby her should have one more that can be considered pretty (Got killer smile)
Level 17 - Quite alot including a small group who have been nicknamed, the three angels (though in reality they're alright lar - pretty but no need to wipe saliva off the floor)
Level 16 - Got 2
Level 15 - Got many (Floor with the highest amount of ladies)
Level 12 - Catching up fast with Level 15
Level 3 - Got Miss Malaysia Universe/World (can't remember which) finalist of 2006 (or 07). Got several pretty gals there too.. used to have more but a few resigned liao.
Level 2 - Quite alot of pretty gals there in proportion to the number of people. Used to have more too... as well as a couple of lengchais (well... according to the gals anyway)

Lengchais - ask sweetcat when she go to 'survey and explore'.
dude this is too much info....

cktwai
post Apr 18 2008, 05:46 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Apr 17 2008, 10:16 AM)
Lol... yeah... you're probably quite right there... maybe shouldn't have done so detailed...

Added on April 17, 2008, 10:28 am

blush.gif Well.. audit peak period is from November to around May. Seems to start slowing down in April but probably not by much.

Japanese people are normally quite reserved until you get to know them... it's a cultural thing so don't worry too much about it.
let me tell your boss... hahaha
cktwai
post Apr 26 2008, 12:39 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Apr 26 2008, 04:20 AM)
Considering you don't know what a Partner is in an audit firm, I'm not surprised you screwed up a Big4 interview. To be very straight forward I believe you already screwed it up by not understanding the organisation structure of the interviewing company.

All of the Big4s are Partnerships, where by the biggest bosses are Partners and net profits are shared among all Partners. The Partners are then split to head different departments. So for example you'll have a few Partners for Audit, a few Partners for Tax, a few Partners for Advisory and etc.

The work scope for auditors at the non-KL offices would be the same as the KL office auditors. You'll basically be doing the financial audit for any of their clients. The only difference would be the size of the clients. The KL office would have more Public Listed Companies and higher profile companies while the non-KL offices may be doing audit for smaller companies that are only based in that state alone. For example Kuching auditors may audit Kuching specific clients such as Sebor. All offices would have their own set of Partners too of course.
Yeah man

Partner also dunno. Then wanna go Big4 interview ? lol

cktwai
post Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(flowerr @ Apr 30 2008, 01:07 AM)
does anyone know the pay as a S2 (Senior 1st year) in big4 malaysia? and how often is the promotion?
am currently overseas, intending to go back to msia.
do'nt go bacck Msia if you're overseas.

you'll regret it for sure.

If you want to work elsewhere do PM me. I can help you out.

cktwai
post May 1 2008, 06:43 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ May 1 2008, 08:52 AM)
I want to work in Singapore.  you received my PM last time?

what PM you send me? i didn't remember getting from you... If you interested PM me your degree results. dont' give me one liners like most ppl. I usually don't pay attention to one liners lol

cktwai
post May 2 2008, 08:53 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ May 2 2008, 12:37 AM)
CTwai,

wow, are you like recruiting ppl from Msia to SIngapore? Is Sg gov offering some incentive for each ppl that you hire?? I wanna go back Msia BUT... damn singapore dollar is bloody tempting.... so tempted that I cant leave....
then stay where you are la.. tongue.gif

go back for what tongue.gif

when wanna have lunch again ? tongue.gif

0.0175sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:16 AM