127 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive

jactval
post Apr 22 2008, 01:17 AM

179 posts

Does the Degree from Oxford Brookes University recognized by Big4s? What type of the majority certs that Big4s staffs normally hold? Local University Degree? Overseas Degree? Professional Cert? Master? PhD? MBA? ...

I am actually going to reach my age of 20 soon, yet I still doing my ACCA. Am thinking whether I should start with Big4s after I obtain my Degree from Oxford Brookes (estimated to obtain before the age of 22). As "if" ACCA Professional Level (ACCA last and toughest part) itself takes me few years to complete(touch wood!!), then I am going to lose the golden opportunity/right time to join Big4s.

This post has been edited by jactval: Apr 22 2008, 01:17 AM
smile888
post Apr 22 2008, 01:25 AM

95 posts

oh wow! that's efficient!

but how long are we given to decide whether to take the offer or not? say i'm still waiting for my interview session with my preferred big4?
Bank
post Apr 22 2008, 08:59 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Apr 22 2008, 01:17 AM)
Does the Degree from Oxford Brookes University recognized by Big4s? What type of the majority certs that Big4s staffs normally hold? Local University Degree? Overseas Degree? Professional Cert? Master? PhD? MBA? ...

I am actually going to reach my age of 20 soon, yet I still doing my ACCA. Am thinking whether I should start with Big4s after I obtain my Degree from Oxford Brookes (estimated to obtain before the age of 22). As "if" ACCA Professional Level (ACCA last and toughest part) itself takes me few years to complete(touch wood!!), then I am going to lose the golden opportunity/right time to join Big4s.
Ya. big 4 recognised the OBU degree. there are local uni, prof cert and overseas degree in big 4. the most i think is ACCA and degree(overseas and local).

ACCA part 3 only takes u 1 year to finish la... i completed ACCA last year.... tongue.gif
babyjasmine
post Apr 22 2008, 11:49 PM

26 posts

hi everyone... juz wondering izzit possible to get a job in big4 with a second lower class obu degree? i'm 21 this year n currently pursuing last 3 acca professional level papers... planning to get a job in big4 around june or july (before results release).... btw, i've failed before... are they hiring straight passes only...? thx in advance... smile.gif
drk messenger
post Apr 23 2008, 08:15 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(babyjasmine @ Apr 22 2008, 11:49 PM)
hi everyone... juz wondering izzit possible to get a job in big4 with a second lower class obu degree? i'm 21 this year n currently pursuing last 3 acca professional level papers... planning to get a job in big4 around june or july (before results release).... btw, i've failed before... are they hiring straight passes only...? thx in advance... smile.gif
dun worry.. just apply instead of worrying here.. tongue.gif

imo, they r not hiring ppl juz base on academic result only.. not only straight pass in ACCA can enter lar.. sweat.gif
Veena
post Apr 23 2008, 05:34 PM

177 posts

guys,

I got called for PWC assessment... Wad should I do?? Wad book should I read in order to pass the assessment!!!!....

Wad I should I bring there?? I remember the Hr told me, interview a week after assessment
ceejay
post Apr 23 2008, 06:20 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(babyjasmine @ Apr 22 2008, 11:49 PM)
baby J,
normally B4 will not shortlist 2:2 for interview but will consider if u pass the ACCA as one the problem, poor academics get stuck in pro exams. Most important to get to an interview ( use all your resources- ask mother, uncle, clients, frens etc who know some big shot in the B4 to get u an interview.) Afterwards it is all up to you as to how well u do in the inteview. Good luck. nod.gif

. . . life is so much simpler in school. sigh.

This post has been edited by ceejay: Apr 23 2008, 06:22 PM
yubby yupz
post Apr 24 2008, 03:24 AM

QUOTE(dobson @ Sep 20 2006, 07:34 PM)
Anyone knows when does the Big 4 usually hire people?
hi, they hired throughout the year. Just sent your application online or straight away to the state you prefer to work with. Good Luck.
georgetan86
post Apr 24 2008, 11:18 AM

Is anybody there working at Big 4?

Wanna know when sign contract in Big 4 to study professional exam, if want to resign subsequent, do we need to repay the study leave graded?

Important question and looking forward real answer.

thanks in advance.
ceejay
post Apr 24 2008, 02:38 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(georgetan86 @ Apr 24 2008, 11:18 AM)
Is anybody there working at Big 4?

Wanna know when sign contract in Big 4 to study professional exam, if want to resign subsequent, do we need to repay the study leave graded?

Important question and looking forward real answer.

thanks in advance.
Study leave probably not smile.gif but the tuition/ exam fees yes. cry.gif
Ask the HR for clarification.

sweetcat
post Apr 24 2008, 05:26 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 23 2008, 05:34 PM)
guys,

I got called for PWC assessment... Wad should I do?? Wad book should I read in order to pass the assessment!!!!....

Wad I should I bring there?? I remember the Hr told me, interview a week after assessment
this one i dunno how to help..... ask johnathan or drk messanger...

hey guys~ help needed here~ yuhoo... icon_question.gif
drk messenger
post Apr 24 2008, 10:55 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Apr 24 2008, 05:26 PM)
this one i dunno how to help..... ask johnathan or drk messanger...

hey guys~ help needed here~ yuhoo... icon_question.gif
Well, i can help much as i'm not an auditor.. sweat.gif sweat.gif somemore Veena was called for PWC interview.. tongue.gif

anyway.. good luck Veena.. icon_rolleyes.gif
darkages
post Apr 24 2008, 11:38 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Veena @ Apr 23 2008, 05:34 PM)
guys,

Written assessment, most likely essay writing.
And then personality/character test.
That's all.
yschan83
post Apr 25 2008, 07:46 AM

89 posts

Just prepare everything, and go for interview. No need worry so much what assessment. Take it easy~~~
siaolang
post Apr 25 2008, 04:07 PM

130 posts

I presume that most of the ppl are applying or working at Big 4 KL office?

Are there big differences between working in Big 4 KL and Big 4 branches? Do they deal with the same clients?
yubby yupz
post Apr 25 2008, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(siaolang @ Apr 25 2008, 04:07 PM)
I presume that most of the ppl are applying or working at Big 4 KL office?

Are there big differences between working in Big 4 KL and Big 4 branches?  Do they deal with the same clients?
yes BIG Different lor... in KL u will deal with BIG company, BIG Client n lots of of exposure u can get.. n most of the client is PLC. Sometimes if working in branches,there is no partner.. so when it comes to reporting..u need to go KL

siaolang
post Apr 25 2008, 04:25 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(yubby yupz @ Apr 25 2008, 02:17 AM)
yes BIG Different lor... in KL u will deal with BIG company, BIG Client n lots of of exposure u can get.. n most of the client is PLC. Sometimes if working in branches,there is no partner.. so when it comes to reporting..u need to go KL
Actually what is "partner" huh?

sigh...I think i just screwed an interview at big 4....I applied for KL office. Maybe a position at branches are easier to get?

So most of the time what ppl do at big 4 branches?
Veena
post Apr 25 2008, 10:04 PM

177 posts

My fren, ex-PWC VT, got rejected cause she made mistake during interview!!!...
smile888
post Apr 26 2008, 01:31 AM

95 posts

mistake? what sort of mistake?? sad.gif
kevinleng
post Apr 26 2008, 04:20 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Apr 25 2008, 04:25 PM)
Actually what is "partner" huh? 

sigh...I think i just screwed an interview at big 4....I applied for KL office.  Maybe a position at branches are easier to get?

So most of the time what ppl do at big 4 branches?
Considering you don't know what a Partner is in an audit firm, I'm not surprised you screwed up a Big4 interview. To be very straight forward I believe you already screwed it up by not understanding the organisation structure of the interviewing company.

All of the Big4s are Partnerships, where by the biggest bosses are Partners and net profits are shared among all Partners. The Partners are then split to head different departments. So for example you'll have a few Partners for Audit, a few Partners for Tax, a few Partners for Advisory and etc.

The work scope for auditors at the non-KL offices would be the same as the KL office auditors. You'll basically be doing the financial audit for any of their clients. The only difference would be the size of the clients. The KL office would have more Public Listed Companies and higher profile companies while the non-KL offices may be doing audit for smaller companies that are only based in that state alone. For example Kuching auditors may audit Kuching specific clients such as Sebor. All offices would have their own set of Partners too of course.

127 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0279sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:23 PM