there are
- Consumer, Industrial Products & Services (CIPS)
- Plantation, Logistics, Automotive & Shipping (CIPS PLAS)
- Energies, Utlities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI)
- Financial Services (FS)
- Middle Market & Growing (MMG)
Big 4 Recruitment Drive
May 9 2008, 01:17 PM
95 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
hey ppl, i've been called for PwC assessment this month. There's this form which requires us to indicate 3 preferences of industry groups to join. Can anyone advice on which 3 should i choose?
there are - Consumer, Industrial Products & Services (CIPS) - Plantation, Logistics, Automotive & Shipping (CIPS PLAS) - Energies, Utlities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI) - Financial Services (FS) - Middle Market & Growing (MMG) Thanks |
May 9 2008, 02:48 PM
147 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 9 2008, 01:17 PM) hey ppl, i've been called for PwC assessment this month. There's this form which requires us to indicate 3 preferences of industry groups to join. Can anyone advice on which 3 should i choose? If you are looking to increase your knowledge and gain the most out of your working experience in PwC, Financial Services is a good group to be in. I would recommend in specific order:-there are - Consumer, Industrial Products & Services (CIPS) - Plantation, Logistics, Automotive & Shipping (CIPS PLAS) - Energies, Utlities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI) - Financial Services (FS) - Middle Market & Growing (MMG) Thanks 1. Financial Services (FS) 2. Energies, Utilities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI) Then the 3rd one you can choose for your own depends where your interest is. |
May 9 2008, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(kevinleng @ May 9 2008, 02:48 PM) If you are looking to increase your knowledge and gain the most out of your working experience in PwC, Financial Services is a good group to be in. I would recommend in specific order:- thanks kevin! i am interested in FS as well, but i would like to find out more about it. Can you pls explain more about financial services? how is the audit different from the rest? How come many commented that PwC is very strong in FS when KPMG audit most of the banks in Malaysia?1. Financial Services (FS) 2. Energies, Utilities, Media & Infocomm (EUMI) Then the 3rd one you can choose for your own depends where your interest is. and what type of companies are there under MMG? sorry, i know i have a lot of questions |
May 9 2008, 08:52 PM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
sincerely, why do you say FS is the best in terms of experience?
I'm looking for CLIPS, CLIPS PLAS and EUMI. FS and MMG are not what i'm aiming for. |
May 9 2008, 11:50 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 9 2008, 03:56 PM) thanks kevin! i am interested in FS as well, but i would like to find out more about it. Can you pls explain more about financial services? how is the audit different from the rest? How come many commented that PwC is very strong in FS when KPMG audit most of the banks in Malaysia? my ex-colleague is in the MMG. and what type of companies are there under MMG? sorry, i know i have a lot of questions he said, those company is non-listed company and small but have a big potential in the future to become big. most of the company is setup by the oversea company in Msia. somehow i can feel my ex-colleague is quite free compare with other friend who in oil and gas industry. |
May 10 2008, 12:13 AM
79 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 7 2008, 07:37 PM) Anyway, an update... BDO offering good pay... and you are getting the pay same with the staff who has 1 year experience in the field.. and you are fresh without working experience?I'm scheduled to have my first interview with EY next week tuesday, and BDO Binder offered me 2.7k if I would start with them. To think my PWC interview is all the way in July. Crap. Argh~ (i haven't even passed my last papers or get my obu degree yet... the timing couldn't be greater. *sarcasm*) |
May 10 2008, 07:25 AM
2,293 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(yama @ May 10 2008, 12:13 AM) BDO offering good pay... and you are getting the pay same with the staff who has 1 year experience in the field.. and you are fresh without working experience? RM 2.7 K for BDO ??PWC offer my friend RM2560 . RM 2500 basic, RM 60 Transport allowance. (She is also a prize winner) |
May 10 2008, 08:56 AM
4,206 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang USJ |
May 10 2008, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 9 2008, 03:56 PM) thanks kevin! i am interested in FS as well, but i would like to find out more about it. Can you pls explain more about financial services? how is the audit different from the rest? How come many commented that PwC is very strong in FS when KPMG audit most of the banks in Malaysia? Financial Services is good because FS is a heavily regulated industry (Bank Negara Malaysia), therefore all banks would have to comply with BNM guidelines/standards. In addition to that, if you get clients who are in the securities/investment industry; they are also fall under Security Commission's standards. It is in my own personal opinion that you would learn more in a heavily regulated industry because the margin for error is VERY minimal. and what type of companies are there under MMG? sorry, i know i have a lot of questions On top of that, when you plan to move on from the Big4; your experience in FS would help you get a job in banks and other financial services companies. As you know, banks offer quite good packages. Of course you could say that oil & gas or other MNCs can also offer you good packages but I guess in the end its about your interest. |
May 10 2008, 11:00 AM
erm, standard la, audit/advisory associate. 2.7k.. i also dunno why. i didn't ask for details from the person who called me.. so intimidated by the person.
May 10 2008, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(kevinleng @ May 10 2008, 10:23 AM) Financial Services is good because FS is a heavily regulated industry (Bank Negara Malaysia), therefore all banks would have to comply with BNM guidelines/standards. In addition to that, if you get clients who are in the securities/investment industry; they are also fall under Security Commission's standards. It is in my own personal opinion that you would learn more in a heavily regulated industry because the margin for error is VERY minimal. oh.. no wonder... but then if I'm lucky enough to enter FS, will this limit my future career to only banking / financial services industry? On top of that, when you plan to move on from the Big4; your experience in FS would help you get a job in banks and other financial services companies. As you know, banks offer quite good packages. Of course you could say that oil & gas or other MNCs can also offer you good packages but I guess in the end its about your interest. another question is what should i write for my expected salary column? i don't want to overstate or understate the standard amount will i be overdressed if i come with office attire + blazer just for assessment? coz i'm a skinny person so definitely need extra clothing |
May 10 2008, 08:01 PM
79 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 10 2008, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 10 2008, 04:04 PM) oh.. no wonder... but then if I'm lucky enough to enter FS, will this limit my future career to only banking / financial services industry? Well, I won't say that you will be limited to banking and financial services industry; but of course with the experience in any specific industry you gain while in the Big4 will give you an advantage in your next job. So I suggest you to choose wisely which industry you want to be in. Perhaps if you want to be in telecommunications industry then you can choose EUMI and so forth. But that being said, i'm sure you won't be ONLY limited to the industry that you have experience in while in the Big4. As the saying goes, "Any experience is good experience" another question is what should i write for my expected salary column? i don't want to overstate or understate the standard amount will i be overdressed if i come with office attire + blazer just for assessment? coz i'm a skinny person so definitely need extra clothing I think expected salary now should be RM 2400-2500? Not too sure about that sorry. I think you should just go in formal working attire (shirt, tie and black slacks). Jacket would make you look very over dressed. We can tell when there are new joiners in the firm because alot of the guys and i do mean A LOT come in blazers and jackets. Lolz.... |
May 11 2008, 12:03 AM
i really dunno lor, but fresh ACCA grad pay now according to EY and BDO is 2.5-2.6k lor
May 11 2008, 12:11 AM
547 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Bumi Bertuah |
any engineering related fields possible to join them>?
May 11 2008, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(kevinleng @ May 10 2008, 11:18 PM) Well, I won't say that you will be limited to banking and financial services industry; but of course with the experience in any specific industry you gain while in the Big4 will give you an advantage in your next job. So I suggest you to choose wisely which industry you want to be in. Perhaps if you want to be in telecommunications industry then you can choose EUMI and so forth. But that being said, i'm sure you won't be ONLY limited to the industry that you have experience in while in the Big4. As the saying goes, "Any experience is good experience" thanks for the info I think expected salary now should be RM 2400-2500? Not too sure about that sorry. I think you should just go in formal working attire (shirt, tie and black slacks). Jacket would make you look very over dressed. We can tell when there are new joiners in the firm because alot of the guys and i do mean A LOT come in blazers and jackets. Lolz.... girls must wear blazer kah? |
May 11 2008, 08:12 AM
4,206 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang USJ |
May 11 2008, 10:00 AM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 10 2008, 04:04 PM) oh.. no wonder... but then if I'm lucky enough to enter FS, will this limit my future career to only banking / financial services industry? anyways, do not expect it will be an easy life. another question is what should i write for my expected salary column? i don't want to overstate or understate the standard amount will i be overdressed if i come with office attire + blazer just for assessment? coz i'm a skinny person so definitely need extra clothing OT and everyday OT and weekend OT is expected. |
May 11 2008, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(smile888 @ May 11 2008, 08:00 AM) Oh oops. Sorry. Well, if you are a lady then its perfectly normal to wear a blazer. Some ladies even where a normal baby T inside and a blazer over to make it look formal. Anyway, blazers are good as some ladies may find the air conditioning a tad cold. Btw, if you're an ACCA grad you should try for EY too. Their starting pay for ACCA fresh grads are slightly higher. |
May 13 2008, 12:23 PM
Went for my first EY interview today, I felt I didn't do that well, I was nervous and the interviewer talked more than I did.
Hahaha, unlikely I'll be called for the second one. |
| Change to: | 0.0300sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:19 PM |