Big 4 Recruitment Drive

jactval
post Apr 19 2008, 12:51 AM

179 posts

Just curious, in what age do you guys first enter/employed by Big4s? Let's said if a fresh graduate who intends to work in Big 4s, yet he has no working experience prior to this, at his age of around 23, 24. It is advisory for him to gain 1, 2 years of working experiences before he apply for the job of Big 4s (maybe around 25, 26 years old already) or straight away looks for Big 4s job without experience at all?
jactval
post Apr 19 2008, 06:45 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ceejay @ Apr 19 2008, 09:06 AM)
Jac,

If audit or tax, they are the best place to start as there are clear path on training, exams etc. By three years, u will be a fully qualified member of your professional body eg ACCA, ASCPA, MICPA etc.  Can go on overseas, or to commercial later,

If advisory as in consulting, then maybe it is better to get some industry experience first. Say u wan risk management, maybe better to join a foreign bank first.  Your clients wan to see some industry experience in your cv when u propose for job. Finacne and IT type based job easier to start at big4.

PPl always complain about too much work in big4- but hv u spoken 2 your frens in other jobs like investment bank. At least big4 u know what u are getting into. Speak to your senior who had joined the big4 long ago- i think most of them doing more than okay. Treat big4 like mnc lah. So many wan to get in also esp now maybe got recession- sure tougher to get in.

I think too much caffeine this morning. Goodluck.

PS for audit- don't go too late if not all the ppl call u uncle.
Thanks for the comments. I get something there. smile.gif

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Apr 19 2008, 12:44 PM)
I think it depends on what type of consulting. If you're interested in business, IT or internal audit type of advisory work, fresh graduates are more than welcomed to apply. However, if you want to go into corporate finance advisory line then yes; i believe experience is preferred. With that being said, I believe you shouldn't be too shy to just try and apply. If you apply you at least have 1% of getting the job, if you don't you have 0%. So just be a bit thicked face and try it out.
Have to start to practice and eventually build up a "think face" right from now. laugh.gif Anyway, I'll work harder in my studies, trying to improve every aspects in my life now. In order to enter Big4s, quality is a must. I wish if I can achieve my dream someday smile.gif

jactval
post Apr 22 2008, 01:17 AM

179 posts

Does the Degree from Oxford Brookes University recognized by Big4s? What type of the majority certs that Big4s staffs normally hold? Local University Degree? Overseas Degree? Professional Cert? Master? PhD? MBA? ...

I am actually going to reach my age of 20 soon, yet I still doing my ACCA. Am thinking whether I should start with Big4s after I obtain my Degree from Oxford Brookes (estimated to obtain before the age of 22). As "if" ACCA Professional Level (ACCA last and toughest part) itself takes me few years to complete(touch wood!!), then I am going to lose the golden opportunity/right time to join Big4s.

This post has been edited by jactval: Apr 22 2008, 01:17 AM
jactval
post Apr 30 2008, 04:52 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Apr 30 2008, 08:53 AM)
do'nt go bacck Msia if you're overseas.

you'll regret it for sure.

If you want to work elsewhere do PM me. I can help you out.
Strongly discouraged others to come back Msia, any reason to strengthen it(other than the reason of salary and culture)? Suppose you doing very well at overseas.

Seems you like to hook people up, good characteristic you have rclxms.gif
jactval
post Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM

179 posts

One thing I'm interested to know. As Big4s turnover is high, but most of the people who quit Big4s is due to the reason of resign or being fired? What kind of staff normally fired by Big4s? Attitute problems? unpunctual job attendance? Mistake in carry out his/her work?

Added on April 30, 2008, 5:09 pm
QUOTE(drk messenger @ Apr 30 2008, 05:04 PM)
one of the reason is more workloads here but lesser salary..  cry.gif  cry.gif
I don't think foreign firm having lesser workload tho. But the salary will be definitely attractive tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jactval: Apr 30 2008, 05:09 PM
jactval
post Jun 28 2008, 03:04 PM

179 posts

Which position actually rank the top stressful position in Big4s?
jactval
post Jul 2 2008, 11:54 PM

179 posts

Will Big4 employ a person who has only OBU degree in Applied Accounting(without complete the ACCA)?

0.0164sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:26 PM