127 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive

gloomberg
post Oct 1 2010, 12:49 PM

510 posts

aiyo, didi so cham ah? I got kawan inside, but there must be a problem with ur interviewing skills lo... My results also average(CGPA>3.5) ... but got into BIG BIG MNC.

Be patient, or perhaps find another job for now. What's the big deal of working in a BIG 4? No big deal la, some of my friends there cabut for IB already.
SP1R1T
post Oct 1 2010, 03:36 PM

83 posts

It's not like I don't want to look for other jobs, I plan to work for long terms not jumping here and there. I have prepared to work under pressure like overtime as people said work until very late, I am ready for that.

As for interviewing skill, I went to 2 firms of them. Well, I did my best and I answered all the questions sincerely and confidently. Besides, almost the last step of entire process, the interviewer even informed me that my application will be fine and as me enjoy as much as possible. Few days later only email said that my application will not proceed further and I called HR got to know nothing, no specific reason. LOL. This can only to blame myself too naive trusted wholeheartedly.

This post has been edited by SP1R1T: Oct 1 2010, 03:37 PM
SUSlalazaiaccountant
post Oct 1 2010, 04:51 PM

66 posts

spirit, try to befriend someone in the HR first and tell them to process your application. There are tens of thousands of application each year. How to make yourself stand out? By using your contacts of course!

Your friend in HR will process your application first and throw out the remaining thousands.
gloomberg
post Oct 1 2010, 06:25 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(lalazaiaccountant @ Oct 1 2010, 04:51 PM)
spirit, try to befriend someone in the HR first and tell them to process your application. There are tens of thousands of application each year. How to make yourself stand out? By using your contacts of course!

Your friend in HR will process your application first and throw out the remaining thousands.
... Monash... or Sunway... tons of their acc students at Big4, at least from the friends i knew la....
semivalue
post Oct 1 2010, 07:32 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(SP1R1T @ Oct 1 2010, 12:37 PM)
I am so fed up in applying Big4, I am quit, and I feel regret to take double majors in accounting & banking and finance from Monash. Graduated and like no difference from local U or should I say ACCA. People holding ACCA @ 20 years old already work in Big4, and I am already more than that still unemployed after graduated, months. Results weren't those top class students but credit average and my ECA is definitely much better than average. So desperate. Consult here and there, new hope, vanished, new hope, vanished again. Frankly, no attitude problem, be humble and smile while interviewing, can speak fluent english, lack of what? I am not like those article saying spoon feed fresh grades demand this and demand that.

A month being unemployed = A month experience loss out compared with others in the same field.
What you lack of is patience. While your status is unemployed, perhaps you may try to take some professional course to enhance your CV? Hmm... Monash U, a favourite for EY.
azerak
post Oct 1 2010, 07:48 PM

805 posts

no need to go to big 4,their pay is pittance for fresh grads.there are alot of other MNCs that can offer a whole lot better than the big 4,especially for the fresh grads.what do fresh grads earn at the big 4 get?2.4k?2.5k?sheesshh.but if u got the experience,thats a different story in working with the big 4.
SUSlalazaiaccountant
post Oct 1 2010, 08:13 PM

66 posts

who wounld't wan to go to MNCs like Shell, Petronas or BAT? their starting salary also 1k higher than Big 4's starting.

But the thing is can you get in?? I tried to but I can't.

So just go big4 training lor....after get your professional qualifications and experience, then can try ur luck again at those Shell and Petronas
azerak
post Oct 1 2010, 08:18 PM

805 posts

well,not exactly shell n petronas.there are other MNCs u know.my fren a fresh grad accounting got first job at an MNC near OU.not the big 4,but its an MNC.and the pay is even better than what big 4 is paying to fresh grad.

This post has been edited by azerak: Oct 1 2010, 08:19 PM
SUSlalazaiaccountant
post Oct 1 2010, 08:20 PM

66 posts

that MNC got sponsor ur friend do professional qualifications ka?
he go in as wat position? Trainee or executive staff
azerak
post Oct 1 2010, 08:28 PM

805 posts

no,my fren was not sponsored in any way by the company.went to the iview like other people and got hired.position as an accountant,but still in probation as still new.
alepadachi
post Oct 1 2010, 09:46 PM

58 posts

hey guys.. im just wondering how long will it takes to get the interview result. I had my 1st interview with pwc on 6 sept, and second interview on 23 sept. But i still havent got any call or email from them. gosh.. im getting crazy..urghh
RecruitingTheBest
post Oct 1 2010, 11:19 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Oct 1 2010, 07:48 PM)
no need to go to big 4,their pay is pittance for fresh grads.there are alot of other MNCs that can offer a whole lot better than the big 4,especially for the fresh grads.what do fresh grads earn at the big 4 get?2.4k?2.5k?sheesshh.but if u got the experience,thats a different story in working with the big 4.
Big4s are one of the best places to start your career in.. of course if you can get into the Mckinseys, Bostons and so on it'll be better...

However if I were to advice the freshies i would ask them to go into Big4s...

Topace111
post Oct 2 2010, 12:38 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Sep 28 2010, 10:15 PM)
Action packed! If I want to relax, I just go home and sleep lol
Something i experienced,
Auditors drive hard (some 200km p/h), eat hard (marathon), drink hard (like fish), play hard (cheating too) and of course merciless biggrin.gif

Added on October 2, 2010, 12:40 am
QUOTE(gloomberg @ Oct 1 2010, 12:49 PM)
aiyo, didi so cham ah? I got kawan inside, but there must be a problem with ur interviewing skills lo... My results also average(CGPA>3.5) ... but got into BIG BIG MNC.

Be patient, or perhaps find another job for now. What's the big deal of working in a BIG 4? No big deal la, some of my friends there cabut for IB already.
Yalo I agree, no big fuss about working in big4, a place where people over worked and underpaid. So its like 4 times more effective in eyes of the boss. Broad daylight slavery.

This post has been edited by Topace111: Oct 2 2010, 12:40 AM
accetera
post Oct 2 2010, 01:13 AM

Ambassador of ChatHouz AI
10,777 posts

wahh according to yesterday's newspaper:
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../#ixzz1180f1tSG

"The US-based Crowe Horwath is Malaysia's fifth largest accounting firm and one of the world's top 10."

I read before they claim to have more than a 100 public listed clients on Bursa Malaysia...ishhh.
Based on surveys, it seems they did well in IPO market as well (alot of companies going IPO today have CH as auditors).

---------------------------------

This post has been edited by accetera: Oct 2 2010, 01:16 AM
Topace111
post Oct 2 2010, 08:52 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(accetera @ Oct 2 2010, 01:13 AM)
wahh according to yesterday's newspaper:
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../#ixzz1180f1tSG

"The US-based Crowe Horwath is Malaysia's fifth largest accounting firm and one of the world's top 10."

I read before they claim to have more than a 100 public listed clients on Bursa Malaysia...ishhh.
Based on surveys, it seems they did well in IPO market as well (alot of companies going IPO today have CH as auditors).
---------------------------------
Ha ha IPO ........ well if you are involved in the audit of one, you will realized why some auditors jump to IB biggrin.gif
the snowball
post Oct 4 2010, 08:20 PM

241 posts

Hi all,

Do anyone here from EY know what exactly the job scope is for "Transaction Advisory Services" arm of EY? What is the difference between EY "Transaction Advisory Services" with say an Investment Bank? The EY website mentioned that they do M&A, valuation and etc, so, how does this differs from the role played by investment bank? Is the role played by EY is more linked to due diligence etc rather than structuring the entire deal?

Thanks in advance for the answers. I have an interview coming up for it in Singapore but not sure what exactly the job scope is like.
InvinKoh
post Oct 4 2010, 11:37 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 28 2010, 09:24 PM)
Rubbish. Minimum bonus is ZERO.
Average performers get 1.5-2 months.
Rubbish. Those ppl who get ZERO bonus are people who performed at the worse 10% of PwC. The bonus range was from 2 months (average performer) to 5 months (Top 10% of the firm). A few exceptional cases people was given 6 months.

This post has been edited by InvinKoh: Oct 4 2010, 11:37 PM
yeehau86
post Oct 5 2010, 12:01 PM

128 posts

I am new in this thread, just want to ask for some advise:

Currently I am working under finance department in a manufacturing company and I have degree in finance with 2 years working experience. Just want to know which type of section should I go which related to my field and qualification: Audit, Tax or Advisory

Thank you in advance for your advise notworthy.gif
kira312
post Oct 5 2010, 07:12 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(InvinKoh @ Oct 4 2010, 11:37 PM)
Rubbish. Those ppl who get ZERO bonus are people who performed at the worse 10% of PwC. The bonus range was from 2 months (average performer) to 5 months (Top 10% of the firm). A few exceptional cases people was given 6 months.
at least average performer have 2months.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 5 2010, 07:37 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(InvinKoh @ Oct 4 2010, 11:37 PM)
Well, am I wrong to say minimum is still zero, then?

127 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:06 AM