Hey guys,
Can 20 inch folding bike can fit in Kancil car boot nicely ?
Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Dec 20 2014, 01:23 AM
5 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Hey guys,
Can 20 inch folding bike can fit in Kancil car boot nicely ? |
Dec 20 2014, 08:41 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(batu^bergolek @ Dec 20 2014, 01:23 AM) I use a Kancil for rides nearby. If you take out the shelf cover at the rear, ( takingoff and put it aside, speaker wires still attached) you can fit one foldie but get a piece of rag or sponge to put between the bike and rear windscreen. But if you take out the shelf and also recline the back seats, you can actually fit 3 folding bikes, all standing side by side. I mean Dahons lah, but if Java which has a thick fold, I think you can fit 2. In fact I think Java or Tern won't be able to fit one like I described earlier. You have to recline the rear seats. If it is a Brompton or MIT, off course , no problems.It all depends on what folding bike you have. |
Dec 20 2014, 09:59 AM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
I rode 18kms after getting my bike yesterday. Really happy with my new bike although my buntut really sakit now..need to invest some money into those gel padded tights.
Dec 20 2014, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 20 2014, 09:59 AM) I rode 18kms after getting my bike yesterday. Really happy with my new bike although my buntut really sakit now..need to invest some money into those gel padded tights. I don't know what bike you get or what saddles are you using but since it is your first ride, it might not be the saddle. Even if you buy an expensive gel saddle, it will not help. Most probably, I think is your butt has not got used to it. And also you were pushing the limits a bit. Pushing the ,limits is not your stamina but more on how long can your butt withstand sitting on the saddle. OFF COURSE a good saddle helps though. Some can pedal at high resistance for 3 hours in a gym but once on the road, it is a different matter. Just ride slowly and enjoy first. Then increase time gradually and see if it still pains.One thing I know is, after so long of riding, my butt still pains if I push too hard. Once it pains, you have to endure it the whole ride! |
Dec 20 2014, 05:47 PM
168 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Planning to get moderate folding bike for beginners,
budget around RM200-400(Not including accessories) What brand and type are recommended? |
Dec 20 2014, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(lonely143 @ Dec 20 2014, 05:47 PM) Planning to get moderate folding bike for beginners, Only folding bike usable, which is about your budget , still have to add another RM100 would be either Oscar Imagine or Garion. Go for the aluminium models. Just don't go for those Japanese cheap imports as most use coaster brakes!budget around RM200-400(Not including accessories) What brand and type are recommended? |
Dec 20 2014, 11:00 PM
5 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
choose with shimano gear not chinese gear..
Dec 20 2014, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 20 2014, 01:16 PM) I don't know what bike you get or what saddles are you using but since it is your first ride, it might not be the saddle. Even if you buy an expensive gel saddle, it will not help. Most probably, I think is your butt has not got used to it. And also you were pushing the limits a bit. Pushing the ,limits is not your stamina but more on how long can your butt withstand sitting on the saddle. OFF COURSE a good saddle helps though. Some can pedal at high resistance for 3 hours in a gym but once on the road, it is a different matter. Just ride slowly and enjoy first. Then increase time gradually and see if it still pains. Yea i think i got a little excited and pushed a little to far yesterday. Legs are extreme wobbly and the butt sore was terrible. Was planning for a night ride but have to cancel cause it stings!One thing I know is, after so long of riding, my butt still pains if I push too hard. Once it pains, you have to endure it the whole ride! Today i tested to ride and the sore was lesser so went on a leisure ride at desa park. Just got back but the pain didnt get worse. So i think you are rite..wasnt really the saddle but the intensity Also the terain today is less bumpy. Thanks for the tip etigge! I ride on a d16 btw |
Dec 21 2014, 09:12 AM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Went out for a 20km ride on a cdm Dahon archer mp 18.
Still sweating as I post but want to share my experience. Bike is stock as bought from the store. The rottolo wheels are ok on smooth stretches. Front end is stiff with road bumps going straight into the hands/wright. My recovered broken wrist sore. Worst than riding mtb. The ride position is very upright and very enjoyable on straight smooth roads. Any recommendations to soften the front end? This post has been edited by Slickaa: Dec 21 2014, 09:24 AM |
Dec 21 2014, 09:46 AM
2 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Good Sunday to all foldies.....thank you all sifu 4 all yr info....now hand itchy ady...looking 4 my 2nd purchase now...any shop r havin xmas sales 4 foldies?...
Looks like my current dahon c7a needs a wheelsets upgrades too as d stock set is a normal rim not double wall rim ( only notice it after my daughter told me she fell down fr d bike n d back wheel bengkok abit n send to local shop to readjust....how much is selling price 4 double wall rim ....tq... This post has been edited by frankie chin: Dec 21 2014, 09:50 AM |
Dec 21 2014, 11:15 AM
721 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Slickaa @ Dec 21 2014, 09:12 AM) Went out for a 20km ride on a cdm Dahon archer mp 18. Well there are a few things you can do to lessen the shock and bumpiness from your front.Still sweating as I post but want to share my experience. Bike is stock as bought from the store. The rottolo wheels are ok on smooth stretches. Front end is stiff with road bumps going straight into the hands/wright. My recovered broken wrist sore. Worst than riding mtb. The ride position is very upright and very enjoyable on straight smooth roads. Any recommendations to soften the front end? First things first were you wearing cycling gloves? Cycling gloves with gel padding would help reduce numbness in your wrists. Another great way to reduce shock would be to change your tyres to thicker ballon tyres, notably Schwalbe Big Apples. Never used them before but I've heard it really makes the ride a lot more comfortable. |
Dec 21 2014, 02:04 PM
106 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: PEE JAY |
after a morning ride today, i've encountered few issues of my new dahon d8:
- the seatpost slipping, and caused the seatpost some scratches - sound from the hinge of the handle post is obvious - and there are other sound which i can't identify from which part of bike did i get a lemon set of bike? hmm... This post has been edited by akioen: Dec 21 2014, 02:10 PM |
Dec 21 2014, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(akioen @ Dec 21 2014, 02:04 PM) after a morning ride today, i've encountered few issues of my new dahon d8: You can tighten the seat post clamp yourself. It should do the trick. As for the sound on the hinge, maybe you can try putting some thick grease around the conjoining part. Mine was greased when i got my bike and there were no sound at all but today morning ride it started creaking again. Was my 3rd ride. Maybe i need to get some grease.- the seatpost slipping, and caused the seatpost some scratches - sound from the hinge of the handle post is obvious - and there are other sound which i can't identify from which part of bike did i get a lemon set of bike? hmm... I have a question myself. I saw those bike chain cleaner device selling online. You clamp it onto your bike chain it cleans the chain for you when you rotate the pedal. Is this how you guys clean the chain? Is this device any good? |
Dec 21 2014, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(frankie chin @ Dec 21 2014, 09:46 AM) Good Sunday to all foldies.....thank you all sifu 4 all yr info....now hand itchy ady...looking 4 my 2nd purchase now...any shop r havin xmas sales 4 foldies?... Try Jimmy at Kimbell Jaya. They have ready stock now. 406 and 451 also available. Not expensive too. Just pay them a visit. I just check my store and I still have the rear single walled rim if you want. I can just replace it. Rear 28 holes. PM me if you want it.Looks like my current dahon c7a needs a wheelsets upgrades too as d stock set is a normal rim not double wall rim ( only notice it after my daughter told me she fell down fr d bike n d back wheel bengkok abit n send to local shop to readjust....how much is selling price 4 double wall rim ....tq... This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 21 2014, 04:27 PM |
Dec 21 2014, 04:37 PM
A fellow forummer brought his Dahon Vybe for moddings. Initially wanted to mod the front first but later I found out that the 7 speed Neos cannot take the slack of the chain when we choose 39T and 13T at the rear. I replaced it with an 8 speed unit and also it cannot handle it so change the hangers as well and I installed an old Sora RD I had in my drawer. So, those who wants to upgrade, you need to upgrade the rear first or upgrade together.
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dec 21 2014, 04:48 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Hi Foldy members,
I am now reducing the number of bikes I have and decided that i will keep the Brompton and reduce the gearing on it. I am therefore putting the Dahon Vitesse that I have built up for sale. It has Shimano 105 10 speed gearset and the front is ready to accept a FD if you so wish. This bike is probably going to suit someone who has owned a foldy before and wants to upgrade. Built up for the wife, but she has not really ridden it :-( If interested, PM me. Please remember that this is a new bike with good components, so it won't be like the lower end Chinese bikes. I have posted pictures here before, just do a search. Cheers |
Dec 21 2014, 08:18 PM
2 posts Joined: May 2014 |
[quote=etigge,Dec 21 2014, 05:25 PM]
Try Jimmy at Kimbell Jaya. They have ready stock now. 406 and 451 also available. Not expensive too. Just pay them a visit. I just check my store and I still have the rear single walled rim if you want. I can just replace it. Rear 28 holes. PM me if you want it. [/quote hi siffu....thank you 4 d offer bro but my current rim still ok lagi.....just might look 4 a used 1( i m picking d feel wat folding bike is like now as i read more n owning d c7a gives me better pic on dos n dons ) but will drop by kimbell jaya tis few days 4 xmas n check it out....thank you.. This post has been edited by frankie chin: Dec 21 2014, 08:33 PM |
Dec 21 2014, 08:22 PM
486 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Technology paradise |
QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 21 2014, 04:37 PM) A fellow forummer brought his Dahon Vybe for moddings. Initially wanted to mod the front first but later I found out that the 7 speed Neos cannot take the slack of the chain when we choose 39T and 13T at the rear. I replaced it with an 8 speed unit and also it cannot handle it so change the hangers as well and I installed an old Sora RD I had in my drawer. So, those who wants to upgrade, you need to upgrade the rear first or upgrade together. Would like to upgrade my vybe c7a as well, sifu etigge, UGPM!! |
Dec 21 2014, 08:43 PM
4 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 21 2014, 04:37 PM) A fellow forummer brought his Dahon Vybe for moddings. Initially wanted to mod the front first but later I found out that the 7 speed Neos cannot take the slack of the chain when we choose 39T and 13T at the rear. I replaced it with an 8 speed unit and also it cannot handle it so change the hangers as well and I installed an old Sora RD I had in my drawer. So, those who wants to upgrade, you need to upgrade the rear first or upgrade together. Thanks Sifu for modding the bike 4 me. Wanted to test ride it this evening but it has been raining like crazy ... Will do it first thing in the morning. Next round will be the rear hub + 9 speed cassette !![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dec 21 2014, 08:53 PM
4 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec