Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

Slickaa
post Dec 14 2014, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 14 2014, 06:56 PM)
u mean u r in china?

then u have many choices... better decide which is the best for u.

u might not need to lean forward tht much if the seat to handle post is shorter  biggrin.gif

anyway best to try at shop then decide biggrin.gif
Actually in jakarta. The shop got 5 models cdm.
Since I am used to 27-30 speed the archer is the only one in my budget with 18 speed.
Any idea if I will get taxed at airport when I bring the bike back to penang?
TSH2D
post Dec 14 2014, 07:38 PM

598 posts

taxable..

n depend on luck lor..

if u donwan the steel archer, the vitesse is alu frame.
handsomedog
post Dec 14 2014, 07:40 PM

While i browsing around for bike i came across this website from indo. The 2nd hand bikes there macam cheaper.
Www.bukalapak.com
I remember comimg across a dahon vector x10 and the price macam best.
Bicycle are called sepeda there jajaja
Slickaa
post Dec 14 2014, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 14 2014, 07:40 PM)
While i browsing around for bike i came across this website from indo. The 2nd hand bikes there macam cheaper.
Www.bukalapak.com
I remember comimg across a dahon vector x10 and the price macam best.
Bicycle are called sepeda there jajaja
Ya pak, bukalapak is a good site to look for items. Need to be careful though lots of scammers.
For used items magic word is COD = cash on delivery. If vendor agree, arrange meet up and deal.
Otherwise it's no.
If new, the seller rep is best guide.
handsomedog
post Dec 15 2014, 09:49 AM

Hi guys. I came a cross a discussion in tern forum where tern bike frames breaks in half and in most cases riders got injured. Reckon from the pictures they should fall really akward going forward.

Thread starter reported her case somewhere around december 2013. I browse thru 7 pages and saw photos of link d8 a verge x10 frame patah. All of it patah at the same spot. Most cases are uk and 1 of them from israel. Rode bike 10 months and frame patah..

Funny thing is someone wrote that the forum used to be open for everyone to read but after this case, you can still participate and read but you need to create an id and login to view the whole thread.

This not considered isolated case rite? 8 cases reported so far. Any such cases in malaysia? How la...was planning to get tern d18 now takuting hahha

Anyone got follow this? Has tern release anything on this? Are thier frame safe now?

http://www.ternbicycles.com/at/forum/tern-...me-shearing-two

This post has been edited by handsomedog: Dec 15 2014, 09:53 AM
SJ18
post Dec 15 2014, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 14 2014, 07:03 PM)
Then amis 2.1 should be a good start rm1k for her to test of she like cycling. If she decide to upgrade you still have 2.5k to burn in future. Or another bike h2d suggested earlier is dahon visc d18 also a good choice
Ok thanks. Thanks alot i will try to look around some more. Visc looks like a good setup for a recreation cyclist too bad i didnt like the frame. It should look very good for the ladies too
Besides Dahon Vybe, I also have the Amis FAC 2.1 24speed and it's a great bike to ride. The frame is sturdy yet feels light. No creaking sound and able to climb pretty well. However some minor setbacks about it is that the mid section of handlebar does not come with 2 rubber washers to hold the entire handlebar in position when you release the lock during folding. As a result, the bar slides left to right and vice versa quite easily, thus causing a lot of scratch marks. Was frustrated when I can't find such
parts from local bike shops. Finally solved it when I found similar looking washers for sale in Tokyo 😃. Overall, no regrets with the Amis and fast becoming my fav bike ...

handsomedog
post Dec 15 2014, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(SJ18 @ Dec 15 2014, 12:13 PM)
Besides Dahon Vybe, I also have the Amis FAC 2.1 24speed and it's a great bike to ride. The frame is sturdy yet feels light. No creaking sound and able to climb pretty well. However some minor setbacks about it is that the mid section of handlebar does not come with 2 rubber washers to hold the entire handlebar in position when you release the lock during folding. As a result, the bar slides left to right and vice versa quite easily, thus causing a lot of scratch marks. Was frustrated when I can't find such
parts from local bike shops. Finally solved it when I found similar looking washers for sale in Tokyo 😃. Overall, no regrets with the Amis and fast becoming my fav bike ...
Great to know you enjoyed the bike and the white look real awesome. Is it posibble for you to show how the rubber washers look like?

Is it like these? Expensive omg..
http://m.aliexpress.com/item/1613804763.html

This post has been edited by handsomedog: Dec 15 2014, 04:17 PM
etigge
post Dec 15 2014, 06:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Dec 12 2014, 10:19 AM)
Etigge Sifu,

can my current MTB Sram X7 , 2x10 gear install in one of these bikes. if yes, any modification requires. Soon have the intention to upgrade my MTB Groupset.

1. Tern Link D8
2. Boardwalk D8
3. Dahon Speed P16

this Dahon 2015 still no news despite mails to the distributor. mmmm..... any idea what will the 2015 Dahon Speed price like .
Yes, some of the old parts can be used. As for the crank, MTB cranks can be used but the chain rings are too small. The maximum size is only 44T and you can find 48T but that is also too small for a 20 inch wheel. Usually folding bikes use 52T or 53T but some are only 48T for the ease of pedaling. Many mistook this as easy to ride tongue.gif but in actual it is the gear ratios. When you are really riding fast, you will freewheel like a swimming dog even on the highest gear. The SRAMs RD is good for folding bikes actually as the design hooks smaller (almost like a Neo) but you need to adjust the chain length so that the lowest setting of the RD cage do not pass the tire rims below and also the not touching the rims on some settings. Problem can be solved if you use 10 speed road bike cassettes as the maximum is 32 T. Using 11/36T moiuntain bike cassette might be too low if the last 2 gears are engaged.

Shifters are off course OK! thumbup.gif As for the FD , too bad, you cannot use because you need brazed FD like road bikes for all 3 models you mentioned above. You have to install an FD adapter so the FD has to be a brazed unit. icon_rolleyes.gif
SJ18
post Dec 15 2014, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 15 2014, 04:04 PM)
Great to know you enjoyed the bike and the white look real awesome. Is it posibble for you to show how the rubber washers look like?

It's not the same but still served the purpose. Bought mine pretty cheap, a pair cost about RM9/=. The color options on the Amis bike is pretty limited. Wud normally prefer a black bike but it came with shades of pink which wud have great if it was my wife riding it doh.gif . Anyway, liked the white thumbup.gif as it looks much cleaner !

TSH2D
post Dec 15 2014, 11:29 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 15 2014, 04:04 PM)

these things are plenty in taobao... not expensive if u noe how to plan your shopping..... biggrin.gif

rmb25 oni for ur mialo 1 pair

This post has been edited by H2D: Dec 15 2014, 11:35 PM
blackz90
post Dec 16 2014, 06:54 PM

493 posts

Guys so if lets say i get a MIT v8 what are the necessary mods that i should make?
The reason I'm considering this bike cause it's like a B but yet not a B. the small folded size is the main point attracting me cause plan to bring to overseas whenever go backpack
etigge
post Dec 16 2014, 07:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(blackz90 @ Dec 16 2014, 06:54 PM)
Guys so if lets say i get a MIT v8 what are the necessary mods that i should make?
The reason I'm considering this bike cause it's like a B but yet not a B. the small folded size is the main point attracting me cause plan to bring to overseas whenever go backpack
The MIT already has an FD brace so I think with just another set of 8 speed shifters + FD + a 39T chainring and cables can convert it to 16 speed. icon_rolleyes.gif
SJ18
post Dec 16 2014, 09:22 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 15 2014, 11:29 PM)
these things are plenty in taobao... not expensive if u noe how to plan your shopping.....  biggrin.gif

rmb25 oni for ur mialo 1 pair

Thanks 4 the lead... will look up Taobao for other stuff if the local shops don't carry it ...

SJ18
post Dec 16 2014, 09:28 PM

Took pic of the new 2015 Vybe D7 ... basic stuff for all the sifus but good for the rest of us newbies. I like the Matt Black version on the right hand side (which the Japanese label as "frost")...

TSH2D
post Dec 16 2014, 09:31 PM

598 posts

dahon in jap shud be more expensive than msia.... no?
SJ18
post Dec 16 2014, 10:16 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 16 2014, 09:31 PM)
dahon in jap shud be more expensive than msia.... no?
Ya, based on displayed RRP, it looks higher ~ RM 1,400+ but then this was in a department store where you probably get it cheaper only during sales. However, their other accessories are cheaper though, esp the Cateye speedo (90 vs 120 in Malaysia for same item), front and rear lights etc.. but too bad for me as I oredi buy locally cry.gif
blackz90
post Dec 16 2014, 11:16 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 16 2014, 07:58 PM)
The MIT already has an FD brace so I think with just another set of 8 speed shifters + FD + a 39T chainring and cables can convert it to 16 speed.  icon_rolleyes.gif
they say the rear triangle will give some problems and the RD will touch the floor and collect dirt. is that true?
etigge
post Dec 16 2014, 11:20 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(blackz90 @ Dec 16 2014, 11:16 PM)
they say the rear triangle will give some problems and the RD will touch the floor and collect dirt. is that true?
The original SRAM X4 RD is medium caged. There is a tensioner on the whole setup. I have done one before and I don't recall any of that problem. There is another bike which folds quite similarly. Distributed by Pedalsport as well. Can't recall what's the brand. Another option which is the best option will be installing the Shimano Alfine internal gear hub which is 11 speed or better still the 14 speed Rohloff. Totally, no protruding rear derailleurs at all. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSH2D
post Dec 16 2014, 11:28 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(blackz90 @ Dec 16 2014, 11:16 PM)
i got read some where, the rear latch will give problem, kenot lock,

but u can mod it to use the ori brompton wan... biggrin.gif

u check my earlier post i got put some pics...

got ppl mod.. but u need to be a good DIYer..... biggrin.gif
akioen
post Dec 16 2014, 11:37 PM

106 posts

now, i'm deciding to get whether the Dahon Speed D8 or Vigor D9?

146 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:42 AM