9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

desastar
post Dec 21 2014, 04:48 PM

42 posts

Hi Foldy members,
I am now reducing the number of bikes I have and decided that i will keep the Brompton and reduce the gearing on it. I am therefore putting the Dahon Vitesse that I have built up for sale. It has Shimano 105 10 speed gearset and the front is ready to accept a FD if you so wish.
This bike is probably going to suit someone who has owned a foldy before and wants to upgrade. Built up for the wife, but she has not really ridden it :-(
If interested, PM me. Please remember that this is a new bike with good components, so it won't be like the lower end Chinese bikes.
I have posted pictures here before, just do a search.
Cheers
desastar
post Dec 24 2014, 08:18 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(SJ18 @ Dec 21 2014, 09:18 PM)
I changed my saddle to a Selle Royal Gel and it still didn't help much. Finally added an "el cheapo"  gel padded cover which I transferred fr an old MTB and I cud ride for an hr without much problemo  biggrin.gif
The more you ride, your sit bones will get used to it. I don't bother with trying saddles anymore. Just get a Brooks B17 saddle, wear it in and you are set. Got it on all my bikes now, no more guess work.
desastar
post Dec 24 2014, 08:25 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 21 2014, 02:43 PM)
You can tighten the seat post clamp yourself. It should do the trick. As for the sound on the hinge, maybe you can try putting some thick grease around the conjoining part. Mine was greased when i got my bike and there were no sound at all but today morning ride it started creaking again. Was my 3rd ride. Maybe i need to get some grease.

I have a question myself. I saw those bike chain cleaner device selling online. You clamp it onto your bike chain it cleans the chain for you when you rotate the pedal. Is this how you guys clean the chain? Is this device any good?
I have one of these chain cleaner device. Works well, happy with it. Don't need to waste a lot of degreaser. My chain comes out really clean!
desastar
post Jan 5 2015, 05:26 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 2 2015, 09:14 PM)
Speed is relative to your performance. If you have the stamina and endurance, it should be OK. Then again the Boardwalk can also be as fast as the Dash if you change the wheelset to 451 as well. But as mentioned , it's relative to your performance as 451 needs more power to pedal than a 406. But that is negated by the smaller width tires that the 451 is shodded with. Advantage of the Dash is the regular geometry of the frame which is stiffer. Bad side is the folding is not so nice. We are talking about folding bikes right and if folding is not a criteria, might as well go for the mini velo.

I have both the Dash (upgraded to 20 speed) and the Dahon Speed P8 (upgraded to 27 speed) and I seem to be using the Dahon Speed more often. It's easier to ride, less effort to ride, more relaxed position and I ride further with it. The Dash is although faster but fast means it tires out faster as well, so long distance is not really good. I tried once riding from Sepang to Tg.Sepat and back, my wrist muscle is really sore after that and that make me use it even less. I even tried selling it off but no takers.  tongue.gif

I think you can use both bikes and not sell off the Boardwalk. Much better as you can choose which bike to ride depending on the ride venue. icon_rolleyes.gif
Sifu,

From memory you also have a Performer mini velo with dropbar, right? The dropbar would be better suited for longer rides I would think. What's the Performer like compared to the Dash?

Cheers
desastar
post Jan 5 2015, 09:17 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(foogie @ Jan 5 2015, 06:34 PM)
Hey guys, am thinking to jump into the folding bike scene. Was thinking of touring with my regular sized bike, but decided that foldies will be easier to transport, etc.

My budget is around 2.3K or below, and I came across this bike:
Tern Link D16 , priced at 2.3K exactly. Can't find many reviews online. Was drawn in by the Tiagra RD, but I heard that having regular road RD for foldies is not a good idea? As in I might hit it out of alignment? Is that really a big issue though (never traveled with a packed foldie before so I wont know)?

Which brings me to the next question: how many gears is enough to achieve regular touring speed, and to go on an uphill without getting off the bike? Will either the Dahon Speed P8, Vitesse, or the Tern Link D8 be enough? What would be your recommendation for my budget range? (preferably below, so that I can spend on other accessories).

Thanks in advance!!
I have a Dahon Vitesse for sale, with Shimano 105 double compact cranks and 10speed rear derailleur. Schwalbe Durano tyres. Under 10kgs. Hardly used since built in 2014. Can supply parts list for this bike.
Asking RM1800. Available end of Feb.

As for the RD, unless you mis-treat the bike, or transported the bike lying on the RD, I can't see how it can go out of alignment. My bikes never have done it. Derailleurs are much easier to maintain if you ask me, and I have bikes with internal hubs, like Sturmey Archer and Shimano Alfine. Internal hubs have wider spread gears, hence can be either too high or too low sometimes, which is a nuisance. And they are a little heavier also.

Touring speed is usually quite low, say 18-20km/h, so 8 speed will get you there if not geared too low, and if you want to be able to climb hills seated, then a second smaller chain ring would be required. An internal hub will take you up hills so long as they are no too steep, ie. 8 or 11 speed Alfine. Even my Brompton 6 speed (with 3 speed hub) can go up pretty steep hills easily, but I won't want it to be a long continuous climb!!

This post has been edited by desastar: Jan 5 2015, 09:19 PM
desastar
post Jan 5 2015, 09:27 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 5 2015, 08:14 PM)
Lucky you!  rclxms.gif  I have seen a few Bs hit by puncture, that's why I know about  the spanner. I also did a 4 hour off road with another B rider from Gua Charas to Sg. Lembing through the gravel roads in an oil palm plantation. So, I know the Bs capabilities.  icon_rolleyes.gif I hope you don't take offence on the comments as it was said with no malicious intention. Although we never met, I know about you F***x ,  Send my regards to SY Happy Riding!
Yes, I do have a 15mm spanner hidden in the hollow tube frame...... have not used it yet as I have faith in the Schawalbe Marathons!! sweat.gif
desastar
post Jan 6 2015, 06:19 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jan 5 2015, 09:34 PM)
The spanner or wrench can also be used as a self defense weapon in the event being mugged  sweat.gif
Hahaha, no lah the wrench can't hurt anyone, better to use the whole bike! But sayang leh....
😱
desastar
post Jan 7 2015, 12:12 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 7 2015, 10:17 AM)
anyone is planning to sell out his/her brompton?
rolleyes.gif
desastar
post Jan 8 2015, 12:17 PM

42 posts

If you come across a Speed D7, don't be afraid to buy it if the price is right. It should be cheaper than the Speed P8. Same frame but 7 speed and standard alum wheels. The Sram 7 speed shifter is accurate and shifts nicely, at least on my previous bike. Just sold it. I understand the Dahon shifters are not as good now.

Unless you have both Cro-moly and Alum framed versions to compare side by side, you'd be hard pressed to know the difference in ride, esp when wider tyres are used. Surprisingly, the rear hub of the D7 takes cassettes, which means you can upgrade easily!
If you want light, then go aluminum. Our custom Vitesse is under 10kgs. The previous D7 was around 12.5kgs.
desastar
post Jan 8 2015, 10:35 PM

42 posts

Oh btw, not sure if anyone is interested in a Gates Carbon drive crank and belt. Of course you can only fit this if you have a split frame (no such thing in a foldy) but potentially will fit a Dahon Mu frame with internal hub gear.... Maybe I need to experiment with one.
desastar
post Jan 9 2015, 04:50 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Jan 9 2015, 02:39 PM)
For those who has changed Speed P8 to thumb shifter, may I know which shifter do you guys use? I was initially thinking of a Shimano Acera M310 8 speed thumb shifter for the rapid fire function, but just would like to know what others are using

SRAM X-5 ? Microshift?
I personally wouldn't jump the gun. If the original shifter is shifting crisply, no point replacing it. I have the Tiagra 10 sp shifter on my Vitesse, and I actually prefer the Sram twist shifter, simple and more positive, go figure!

A friend gave me this advice which I will share here, all very true..... "when you have something new, wait 3 months and see if you still hate it, if so then start modifying" I have bought so many parts over the years that frankly speaking added no additional joys to my bike riding. Always jumping in due to "sun-see-hang", or some romantic ideas. Or to have 30 speed to conquer some non-existent hills, only to use about 8 of the gears.... hahaha !!
desastar
post Jan 9 2015, 10:56 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Jan 9 2015, 10:00 PM)
N tis...
Wow! Congrats!!
Are they both same model and specs? 8 speed should be plenty fast enough.
desastar
post Jan 10 2015, 07:13 AM

42 posts

Speed P8 in green? Interesting.....
Sounds like the D8 has similar gear ratios anyway. So the Mu D8 and P8 similar pricing?
desastar
post Jan 11 2015, 01:51 PM

42 posts

Only problem with the 24" is the lack of tyre choices, and of course the larger fold. But as you say, it should feel more stable.
desastar
post Jan 11 2015, 09:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(supaztyler @ Jan 11 2015, 03:27 PM)
hello sifus,
i've always returned to lowyat to ask for recommendations due to the friendly nature of the forumers.

ive been recently transferred to Kuching and managed to find a place only 10-15minutes away from my workplace. the parking is terrible at my workplace hence im thinking of getting a folding bike to go to work everyday.

Started surveying the Dahons then I stumbled upon Bromptons.
(Love it but the price is a killer!)

But, I have to be realistic in terms of budget.
So with some of these criteria, I would like to ask for your recommendations. I'm a 5ft3in female.

1. Weight : around 11kg
2. Budget : rm500-1500
3. Usage : To commute to work, mostly on flatland. Maybe some cycling over the weekend
4. Style : I love retro looking bikes haha
5. Maintenance : Low, Im not keen on modding it so I prefer an all-in model.

Any models and shops to recommend?
Well, no foldies are really "retro" as such. 10-15 mins on the flats, you can get by with any bikes, but a decent one will always be nicer to ride.

I know we discuss foldable bikes here, but do you need one? If retro look is what you really want, so for a full size old style ladies bike with a basket at the front. Foldies are more versatile though and can fit in a car easily.
desastar
post Jan 12 2015, 05:09 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Jan 12 2015, 11:45 AM)
thx sifu desastar and etigge for the input, yeah 9 speed definitely has more options just that i thought of keeping the upgrade cost low. Moving to 9 speed will need new cassette and new chain as well, the extra cog will be useful, though i have no issues with the 8 so far. The main motivation for me to move to thumb shifter is because when i ride uphill and sometimes having to ride standing up, i tend to have my wrists locked for maximum strength and efficiency (dunno how to describe but i think can sorta picture), and twist shifters require u to use ur wrist to twist so it's a bit annoying.

One good thing about twist shifter is probably that u can downshift to many gears coming to a stop at junctions, but that's possible with Shimano's rapidfire as well. Not sure about SRAMs and Microshifts though.
I know what you are saying, but usually try and change gear before you need to stand pedaling. Not a good habit to change gear when you are pedaling hard, so this is usually an unlikely event smile.gif

At the end of the day, you'll know what you like best. My collection of bikes have got all sorts of shifters, twist, finger, flip lever (brompton), bar-end, brifters and down-tube. All have their own quirkiness, but the best will have to be brifters, but you will have to like drop bars.

Depending on the places you ride, when I was riding my Speed D7, I didn't really missed having any more gears. All boils down to gear ratios. If you have the right ones, eight should be enough in normal riding. In fact, the Speed D7 had better ratios than my Nexus Alfine 8 speed internal hub, as the ratios in that is spaced too wide, so sometimes it is too high, or too low......
desastar
post Jan 13 2015, 06:20 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 12 2015, 12:13 PM)
LOL  biggrin.gif

unfortunately .... no.....

only in japan....

even sg can get some dahon jdm bikes..

well here in bolehland...  rolleyes.gif
So do you how much the Dash x20 is? Nice looking and only 8.9 kg without pedals, nice!

Very hard to justify another bike now sweat.gif , will get divorced!
desastar
post Jan 13 2015, 12:09 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 13 2015, 10:25 AM)
Rodalink sold 2 units before for RM6,250.00 each. That's only one batch, never seen them again nor I saw anybody riding it. It is still available in Nava Bikes in Bangkok and there are also many unts in use in Singapore. I have the Dash P18 (2012 Taiwan made model) and it uses Tiagra RD with Microshift shifters and FD. So, I started to change the components to X20 specs but went a little overboard. I changed the whole groupset to Shimano 105 for RM1750 then. After 2 rides on the dropbars, I decided to go back to straight bar  blush.gif  Too taxing on riding position. Initially I went for the Tiagra 10 speed straight bar shifters but the shifting was not very smooth. Later I upgraded to Shimano 7 series straight bar shifters and this gives much better shifting with the ball bearing inside made shifting easy. Also with the quarter shift on the shifters, chain rub was eliminated at the extreme end. But I paid RM430 for that shifter, still heart burn about it but I sold off my 105 STI brifters for RM500.  tongue.gif

Later on, the Dash original rims doesn't look matching compared to the X20's Kinetix Pro. As I am 98 kgs, the lack of spokes on the Kinetix Pro doesn't appeal to me. So, I ordered a pair of Weinmann SEC16 rims with the same number of spokes holes as the original Kinetix hubs. I then laced it and shodded it with a pair of Schwalbe Durano on it. I have been riding it off and on and it is fast and shifting is off course very smooth but I can't ride long as the size is an L size. You can hit 30 km/h cruising speed with it easily. That's my Dahon Dash X20  thumbup.gif

In Taobao, the frame is sold under Dahon Cheetah and the price is about RM1400 (after conversion) but the shipping is really a let down. RM400 to RM500 to ship over  shocking.gif
Wahlauway........RM6250.00!!! I'd rather my Moulton then!

Yes, modding is expensive business so I'm trying my best not to look here look there too much!! I agree with you re Tiagra 10 speed thumb shifters, they are not very smooth, not sure why?? I have also recently purchased a set of 105 brifters from Chain Reaction, for equivalent of RM414 free shipping, fantastic price. I'm over the moon with the shifting quality. Ok, better stop spending now.......oh wait.....too late, just seen something interesting...will tell later drool.gif
desastar
post Jan 13 2015, 12:38 PM

42 posts

This one says 11.2kg......

http://www.stclassifieds.sg/sell/bicycles-...velo/ad-2192605

sifu etigge, you mean there are different frame sizes?
desastar
post Jan 13 2015, 03:54 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 13 2015, 02:59 PM)
brushed metal finish FnHon.......  rclxms.gif

for RMB 985  with fork ....  biggrin.gif

Wow, where do you get all these pics from, nice!

This FnHon frame.....the welding is scary man.......

As for Etigge's Dash frame, it won't fit me either as I'm not tall enough! In any case, I have already spent my dough on this bike, which I will only see in a few months.......in Melbourne. She is waiting for me wub.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:07 PM