QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 7 2015, 10:16 AM)
Quick question, how many of you guys still having the stock door locks actuators(the door lock motor on each door with center locking system on the alarm module) in the car until today?
Another question, if rosaked, will you go back buy Plotong original which cost an arm and leg? Or modify aftermarket universal fitted actuator?
Have you ever consider, whether the original lock actuator can be repaired/serviced?
Sad story with your old car dude...
My whole alarm system was replaced last year by a aftermarket module when it will automatically bounce back after 5 minutes you lock it down. It took 12 years for it to break down. Not bad for Proton.
Did not dare to take proton original as it will not cost only my arm or leg, but half my body due to budget. So, take the universal alarm system which is like rm200. I still have the original proton central locking system blackbox in the car but the actuator already gone liao...
Out of topic story:
Got this car from a plantation worker 3 years ago (The car was 9 year old that time). Surprisingly this car did not give me lots of problems. I only replace:
1) Odometer (10 years after used) => can't get my original LMSS lotus odometer as it's so rare in Sabah =RM300
2) Front absorbers (not sure how long after use, i switch it right after i bought it)=> 2 x RM 150 (The mechanic told me it's kelabu punya bagus tahan, that time I am not very good with car, i just follow)
3) Aircond switch TWICE. Don't ask me why

= 2 x rm 40
4) Tyres. I changed 3 times the tyres. Total Rm 1100
First time after i bought the car, i changed the front tyres as it wears out. Changed to continental tyres which i
regretted so much. I have to say continental tyres are not built for rough roads, and in Sabah mostly you got
is rough roads with holes here and there (2 x RM 220).
Last year, i changed the back tyres due to cupping problem. This time due to budget, i get the Silverstone
Synergy M3 (2 x rm170) I know i got chopped gao gao because it's 2 days after hari raya.
Then continental tyres wear off, changed to Toyo NanoEnergy 3 (2 x RM180)
5) Back absorbers (not sure, after i bought it for 2 years then it break down) = 2 x rm 75
6) Front breakpads => RM 45 per piece Total RM180
7) General Overhaul and clutch lining change after it reach 12 year old. Total RM 3000
8) The signal lights and wiper stick = rm 140
9) Alarm system = RM 300
Grand total = RM5330
Why I got all this price down is because my girlfriend start to complain i spend more on car than her today

. Sampai want me to buy new car summore. I just told her that she did not see that it's been 3 good years with nothing major and the total is only RM5000. If i buy new car I need to pay yearly at least RM5000 for even the SV saga. If I did not do the general overhaul (Car has no problem running, but since it's 12 years old, why not pamper it so it can work for another 5/6 years?), it would be RM2000+. So, for me it's more worth it this way. But the RM3000 general overhaul is really painful to my wallet la some more it's near CNY already.
Service my aircond today and it's just freaking cold.
Sure have to ikat perut to save for my CNY soon.