Microsoft Windows 10

Hawaiiii
post Jul 30 2015, 05:47 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 30 2015, 05:42 PM)
call ms support. win+x to run command prompt (admin). type slui 4. in the country field, select malaysia. in the next page there will be a 1800 number for you to call. don't close the dialog until activation is completed.
no. it's not the same key, because during the clean install, you *do not* need to use any key. all you need to do is to install w10, skip any place that ask you for key. after successful install, connect to the internet and w10 will be activated automatically. yes, no key is needed.

that ms.tech probably is still not aware of what's going on. it's a new activation system, at least for this free upgrade offer of w10.
Thanks for the info, but i guess my w10 is activated. Just want to check if i change mobo next time whether will void the windows sad.gif
horns
post Jul 30 2015, 05:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jul 30 2015, 05:47 PM)
Thanks for the info, but i guess my w10 is activated. Just want to check if i change mobo next time whether will void the windows sad.gif
Ok yes what i meant is for you to do when you swap new mobo. However i'm not really clear about this part (i.e. hardware replacements), because if i checked the license agreement, it says the license is valid for the lifetime of the device, but when i looked at the definition of device, i pening a bit.
sp6068
post Jul 30 2015, 05:57 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

Did anyone come across the error saying "Something Happened" when selecting upgrade from the Creation Tool?
hirota
post Jul 30 2015, 06:05 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Jul 30 2015, 05:04 PM)
at first i have a problem after upgraded to win10 via the media creation tool.
after everything done, when in desktop mode, totally cannot click anything until i shut it down and turn on again.

thanks to all sifu here
just after few restart now my win10 cannot use again....
sigh...
MPK
post Jul 30 2015, 06:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jul 30 2015, 05:57 PM)
Did anyone come across the error saying "Something Happened" when selecting upgrade from the Creation Tool?
just change the language to united stated, English will be fine
sp6068
post Jul 30 2015, 06:08 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Jul 30 2015, 06:05 PM)
just change the language to united stated, English will be fine
I cant change any language when choosing the Upgrade This PC method. All it does is just show a loading icon, then "Something Happened".
Rei7
post Jul 30 2015, 06:10 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

no. it's not the same key, because during the clean install, you *do not* need to use any key. all you need to do is to install w10, skip any place that ask you for key. after successful install, connect to the internet and w10 will be activated automatically. yes, no key is needed.

that ms.tech probably is still not aware of what's going on. it's a new activation system, at least for this free upgrade offer of w10.
Ermm hmm.gif
Does that mean they use the key from our mobo?

I don't plan on clean install. But that's what the ms tech said. I just ask, just in case. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Rei7: Jul 30 2015, 06:11 PM
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 30 2015, 06:12 PM

2,776 posts

Any issues so far? Plan to upgrade w/o formatting.
Rei7
post Jul 30 2015, 06:19 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 30 2015, 06:12 PM)
No issue so far.. Been using more than a day, but on my Surface Pro 3.
GamersFamilia
post Jul 30 2015, 06:20 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,716 posts

no issue for me thumbup.gif
tictoctoe
post Jul 30 2015, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jul 30 2015, 06:08 PM)
I cant change any language when choosing the Upgrade This PC method. All it does is just show a loading icon, then "Something Happened".
You need to change it from "Control Panel" i.e. Control Panel > Clock, language and region. Change region location to "United States" & language to "English(United States). Refer this link if still unsure "Something Happened"
mynet
post Jul 30 2015, 06:29 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Jul 30 2015, 06:05 PM)
just after few restart now my win10 cannot use again....
sigh...
maybe time to change hdd
install new windows (activated(
do upgrade from your downloaded win10 media
it will auto activated soon after you have internet connection.
1024kbps
post Jul 30 2015, 06:30 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

Asus seems to forget Windows 10 just went gold. no Windows 10 drivers for old asus devices rclxms.gif
StuartLee2015
post Jul 30 2015, 06:55 PM

1,221 posts

My Windows 10 is upgraded from Windows 8.1, and what would happend to my license if i upgrade/change a motherboard, or processor, ram, or hdd in the future?
rikimtasu
post Jul 30 2015, 06:58 PM

Tired...
760 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 30 2015, 06:55 PM)
My Windows 10 is upgraded from Windows 8.1, and what would happend to my license if i upgrade/change a motherboard, or  processor, ram, or hdd in the future?
Change motherboard need to re-active other thing nope i guess.
DellMalaysia
post Jul 30 2015, 06:58 PM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

My Windows 10 is upgraded from Windows 8.1, and what would happend to my license if i upgrade/change a motherboard, or  processor, ram, or hdd in the future?
windows system already recognized your w8.1=w10 license key
StuartLee2015
post Jul 30 2015, 07:04 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Jul 30 2015, 06:58 PM)
Change motherboard need to re-active other thing nope i guess.
If change motherboard >

a) Re-install windows 8.1, activate it with license key, then install windows 10 over it, an re-active on a new Motherboard or
b) straight install windows 10 pro on the new motherboard

IF i go with b), what i need to do?

This post has been edited by StuartLee2015: Jul 30 2015, 07:12 PM
mynet
post Jul 30 2015, 07:05 PM

88 posts

u need to re-activate win81 before upgrading to win10
dwks
post Jul 30 2015, 07:06 PM

414 posts

hey, been busy for the past month, but still excited about windows 10.

any kind souls could answer my question, if it is feasible to upgrade to windows 10 without upgrading/installing drivers to windows 10 compatible or should i wait?

Many thanks for the reply! notworthy.gif
XeactorZ
post Jul 30 2015, 07:06 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jul 30 2015, 05:37 PM)
Wait but you must first do the windows update to upgrade to windows 10..Then only that key will work..
Many upgrade it through windows update first. And clean install it later.

Cannot confirm direct try iso will work or not for first try
too late I saw this, already upgraded to windows 10 using ISO method
so far so good
if next time clean install can't activate my windows 10, just call the customer service will do since I still keep my windows 7 cd key
and I just check the cd key using the software I mention just now, the key is different
however the internet explorer showing there is same as my windows 7 cd key, weird rclxub.gif

call ms support. win+x to run command prompt (admin). type slui 4. in the country field, select malaysia. in the next page there will be a 1800 number for you to call. don't close the dialog until activation is completed.

so I can clean install next time if I want to install windows 10 on ssd ?

127 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:22 PM