Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

BoomChaCha
post Sep 29 2014, 08:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 29 2014, 08:27 PM)
Sceptical ?  biggrin.gif
No lah.. biggrin.gif I am just trying to get more info so I can put it on Post #2...

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 29 2014, 08:33 PM)
Was in SCB again today. Lots of people and the leng lui complained did not have breakfast & lunch at around 2pm !!

This is the best deal now !

But their process is kind of slow. Have to get the FD cert later due to too many people in there.

When I first open my acct there, it took 55 minutes to complete the process.  shakehead.gif
It seems so many people go to SCB to place FDs..
Did you get any gift from SCB? hmm.gif
I did not get anything..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 29 2014, 08:48 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 29 2014, 10:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 29 2014, 08:39 PM)
No lah.. biggrin.gif  I am just trying to get more info so I can put it on Post #2...
OK, from my close relative. I was surprised as UOB has been raising their FD rates. But this is reliable info. Anyway will be in UOB on Wed or Thursday to place FD. smile.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 29 2014, 08:39 PM)
It seems so many people go to SCB to place FDs..
Did you get any gift from SCB?  hmm.gif
I did not get anything..
I have asked, no gift. But urged to join their PB. Not sure what benefits they have. smile.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 29 2014, 10:46 PM

2,490 posts

Deleted...

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 5 2014, 02:42 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 29 2014, 10:52 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

Was at SCB today too. Only one customer in queue before me but just a single lengzhai to handle all FD matters today so took me about 50 mins. Had to photocopy my IC again despite me already having an account there. Asked if there is any free gift but none given. I will be happy if even if they give me a tupperware...but the sad thing is, the last week lenglui saw me but didn't smile at all.
Styrroyds
post Sep 30 2014, 04:42 AM

103 posts

remember cimb has the best 1 month fd rates?

that lasted only 2 months lol. down to 3.15%

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/important_notic...tes_Oct2014.pdf

This post has been edited by Styrroyds: Sep 30 2014, 04:42 AM
BboyDora
post Sep 30 2014, 10:09 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 29 2014, 05:06 PM)

(1)
You have to prepare a will, this will solve a lot of problems.

(2)
If still in the middle of preparing the will, then to get your FD joint name with another person (I think up to 4 names
in total) that you trust, and instruct the bank to put the FD account either one to sign.

If anything happens, don't make the condolence on the newspaper, then banks will not know the death
news and they will not freeze the accounts (FD, saving, current).

(3)
If no will, then go to Amanah Raya, they charge few % from the total value of the assets, but will cheaper than hire
a lawyer.

Another option is Pusaka (land office), they will charge cheaper than Amanah Raya, but you will need to spend
time to go back and forth for paper work.

The best solution is (1)

But for EPF, you have to put the beneficiary name, EPF claims that they do not honor will  --> This is our Bolehland... sweat.gif
Thanks man. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

magika
post Sep 30 2014, 11:51 AM

2,606 posts

But for EPF, you have to put the beneficiary name, EPF claims that they do not honor will  --> This is our Bolehland... sweat.gif
The other side of the coin, is bancruptcy act also cannot touch...
aeiou228
post Sep 30 2014, 12:27 PM

5,867 posts

These are the names for the recent ATM hack. Source Bernama.

The ATMs were located at Jalan Yong Shook Lin, Petaling Jaya (Affin Bank, losses of RM303,000); Dataran Sunway (Al-Rajhi Bank, RM285,700); Seksyen 14, Petaling Jaya (Bank Islam, RM395,850); Kota Damansara (Bank Islam, RM221,160) and Kelana Jaya (Al-Rajhi) where the full amount lost has yet to be ascertained.

Another Al-Rajhi Bank branch in Section 9, Shah Alam lost RM116,000 to a similar hacking.

Though the ATM hacking doesn't involved individual accounts, there were reports recently about money in individual account being transferred out electronically using a Trojan sent to the account holder's mobile phone and a copy of the TAC sms being forwarded to the hacker's phone.
It's best to avoid eFD or untag/unlink FD accounts in your internet banking account.

cherroy
post Sep 30 2014, 01:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 29 2014, 10:52 PM)
Was at SCB today too. Only one customer in queue before me but just a single lengzhai to handle all FD matters today so took me about 50 mins. Had to photocopy my IC again despite me already having an account there. Asked if there is any free gift but none given. I will be happy if even if they give me a tupperware...but the sad thing is, the last week lenglui saw me but didn't smile at all.
I do not understand why they need photocopy each time in placing FD, despite you already have existing account, and they already have all of your details. doh.gif

It is hassle, and make waiting time and q longer only.
Wait for 30~50 min to place a FD, very unproductive.

Even though they have one of highest rate around, I can't place with them due to time consuming and hassle.

cherroy
post Sep 30 2014, 01:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 30 2014, 12:27 PM)
These are the names for the recent ATM hack. Source Bernama.

The ATMs were located at Jalan Yong Shook Lin, Petaling Jaya (Affin Bank, losses of RM303,000); Dataran Sunway (Al-Rajhi Bank, RM285,700); Seksyen 14, Petaling Jaya (Bank Islam, RM395,850); Kota Damansara (Bank Islam, RM221,160) and Kelana Jaya (Al-Rajhi) where the full amount lost has yet to be ascertained.

Another Al-Rajhi Bank branch in Section 9, Shah Alam lost RM116,000 to a similar hacking.

Though the ATM hacking doesn't involved individual accounts, there were reports recently about money in individual account being transferred out electronically using a Trojan sent to the account holder's mobile phone and a copy of the TAC sms being forwarded to the hacker's phone.
It's best to avoid eFD or untag/unlink FD accounts in your internet banking account.
Your mean Zeus issue?
It is combination of phishing and trojan.

Phishing - you land into fake online banking.
Trojan, TAC sent to your phone being sent to scammer.

They have both user/password through fake site
Then they have TAC to make transfer.

The ATM issue, doesn't relate to the above, as it "hack" the ATM machine, not account.

So both are not related to the online banking security issue.
Human Nature
post Sep 30 2014, 01:36 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 30 2014, 01:30 PM)
I do not understand why they need photocopy each time in placing FD, despite you already have existing account, and they already have all of your details.  doh.gif

It is hassle, and make waiting time and q longer only.
Wait for 30~50 min to place a FD, very unproductive.

Even though they have one of highest rate around, I can't place with them due to time consuming and hassle.
and before that, i spent another 40 mins at OCBC to uplift and do banker cheque. I dislike this 2 tier processing and teller method. I prefer UOB and Ambank, just create a profile once and everything else handled by the teller.
bbgoat
post Sep 30 2014, 05:37 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 29 2014, 10:32 PM)
OK, from my close relative. I was surprised as UOB has been raising their FD rates. But this is reliable info. Anyway will be in UOB on Wed or Thursday to place FD.  smile.gif
Confirmed that UOB 13 month FD changed to 4.0% starting on 29/9 Monday. smile.gif
nexona88
post Sep 30 2014, 06:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,420 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 29 2014, 10:52 PM)
dun understand their SOP doh.gif already have account, need to photocopy again IC doh.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 30 2014, 06:40 PM

2,490 posts

Just received a PM from Top Cat RO Player about May Bank 4% up-front interest FD Promo:

Top Cat received this gift from May Bank:

Thanks Top Cat RO Player notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 30 2014, 06:45 PM
yygo
post Sep 30 2014, 06:48 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 30 2014, 06:40 PM)
Just received a PM from Top Cat RO Player about May Bank 4% up-front interest FD Promo:

Top Cat received this gift from May Bank:

Thanks Top Cat RO Player  notworthy.gif
Any details as to 12 month FD? Error when click on thumbnail.TQ.

Edit:seems ok now. Thank.

This post has been edited by yygo: Sep 30 2014, 06:50 PM
okuribito
post Sep 30 2014, 06:49 PM

1,021 posts

Ya loh.. Warrior, a bit surprise you are quite hampsap also...  biggrin.gif  joking only... smile.gif
(1)
You have to prepare a will, this will solve a lot of problems.

(2)
If still in the middle of preparing the will, then to get your FD joint name with another person (I think up to 4 names
in total) that you trust, and instruct the bank to put the FD account either one to sign.

If anything happens, don't make the condolence on the newspaper, then banks will not know the death
news and they will not freeze the accounts (FD, saving, current).

(3)
If no will, then go to Amanah Raya, they charge few % from the total value of the assets, but will cheaper than hire
a lawyer.

Another option is Pusaka (land office), they will charge cheaper than Amanah Raya, but you will need to spend
time to go back and forth for paper work.

The best solution is (1)

Thanks for your post. Researched and found this very informative pamphlet written by M'sian Bar Council - share with all >> http://www.lawnet.com.my/lawnetpublic/Lega...75/Default.aspx

Those who want to save money, go download Wills Act 1959 and Probate & Admin Act 1959

Also see Rockwills' FAQ for quick start

Looks like we need to think very carefully who to appoint for these roles - 2 witnesses, executor (2 executors if got minor children), trustee for minor children and guardian for minor children. Minor children are those who have not reached 18 years of age (at the time of writing the will)

In terms of age, only those who reach 21 years can write a will. I wonder why the gap between 18 and 21 rclxub.gif

Following from that, can someone enlighten as to the age criteria for witnesses, executors, trustees and guardians? 18 or 21?

Also if anyone can confirm if EPF beneficiary need to be at least 18 or 21?

This post has been edited by okuribito: Sep 30 2014, 06:51 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 30 2014, 07:43 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 30 2014, 05:37 PM)
Confirmed that UOB 13 month FD changed to 4.0% starting on 29/9 Monday.  smile.gif
Thanks for the UOB update.. notworthy.gif

I did 2 things in SCB this afternoon:
(1) Changed Renewal Instruction from 3 to 1.
Customer service Leng Lui helped me to fill out 2 forms (1 FD cert per form) to request to change to Renewal
Instruction 1, this process will take about a month. I still keep the original FD certs, I can go back to SCB
to get the updated FD certs with Renewal Instruction 3 printed on the FD certs in about 1 month later.
if I wanted to change to Renewal Instruction 3 immediately, then SCB would need to issue new certs, then
I would lose 11 days interest. So, I prefer to use original FD certs and wait for a month so that interest will
not be lost.

(2) To deposit RM 10K fresh fund to priority current account so that I can participate Bonus Saving account 4% p.a.
promotion for 6 months tenure.

This time I did not bother leng chai.
Because I know he does not have mood to entertain me since I do not buy bond from him. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 30 2014, 11:51 AM)
The other side of the coin, is bancruptcy act also cannot touch...
This is true. Bank cannot claim the money in EPF account even somebody is bankrupt.

But during the negotiation period in between the bank and the borrower and before a bankruptcy is officially filed,
bank has to right to ask for the EPF statement from the borrower, if the bank discovers that the amount of money is
big in the borrower's EPF statement, this could reduce the bargaining power for the borrower to request for a minimum
settlement from the bank.

bbgoat
post Sep 30 2014, 08:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 30 2014, 07:43 PM)

(2) To deposit RM 10K fresh fund to priority current account so that I can participate Bonus Saving account 4% p.a.
    promotion for 6 months tenure.

This time I did not bother leng chai.

So 10k to the priority current account, then the amt in SA can get 4% ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 30 2014, 08:06 PM

6,614 posts

RHB step-up FD promo ends today. The BM told me the HQ will decide if they will extend again. He will confirm with me tomorrow.

BoomChaCha
post Sep 30 2014, 08:32 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 30 2014, 08:03 PM)
So 10k to the priority current account, then the amt in SA can get 4% ?  hmm.gif
SCB will credit interest to priority saving account based on the total amount in priority current account:
2 options to participate and enjoy this 4% p.a. for 6 months.

Option 1
Deposit one time minimum and maintain RM 20K in priority current account for 6 months.

You can add more money to your current account on any calendar day within 6 month if you wish.

If you do not want to add additional money to priority current account also can but provided you
have to maintain minimum RM 20K in priority current account.

4% interest based the amount in priority current account will credit to your priority saving account monthly.

Option 2
Deposit minimum RM 10K every month for 6 months to priority current account.
You can add more money on any calendar day within 6 months if you wish.

I use this SCB current account to replace my Affin saving for temporary.
Tomorrow I will move all my Affin saving fund to SCB priority current account.

Aiya, doh.gif .. Ah Goat, I already reminded you yesterday on my Post #463
You did not read meh..? Aiyo.. doh.gif

124 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:12 PM