8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

magika
post Sep 30 2014, 11:51 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 29 2014, 05:06 PM)

But for EPF, you have to put the beneficiary name, EPF claims that they do not honor will  --> This is our Bolehland... sweat.gif
The other side of the coin, is bancruptcy act also cannot touch...
magika
post Oct 5 2014, 11:18 AM

2,605 posts

ah... those hoping for OPR increases umm..... basically have funds available many times more than loans...
In theory we are looking for passives return to sustain us comfortably with minimum risk to our principal. We do have higher risk investment though but the funding ratio is a can afford to lose proportion. Some of us is just looking for the best FD deals available for emergency funds parking n not really hoping for OPR increases.

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 5 2014, 11:42 AM
magika
post Oct 5 2014, 11:45 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 5 2014, 11:31 AM)
or no more loans/debt free ........  biggrin.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

old goat n uncle bcc flex.gif flex.gif
magika
post Oct 5 2014, 02:37 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(eymc @ Oct 5 2014, 01:37 PM)
Wow....and here I thought life is hard!!
Salute!!

You guys should see they debate in property area about bubble coming up!!
With you guys here....I would say bubble my arse!!!

ok..carry on....lets get more FD details!!

Good day !!!
Thats because they are smart investor using leveraging. If bubble burst, most probably a few will be bankrupt.

FD is old man tool, kiasi system.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 08:26 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Oct 7 2014, 11:59 PM)
Today went to RHB and found out that the 15-mth step up promotion has closed from 1-Oct.

Uplifted my 3-mth FD with BR (after 2 time of renewal) and didn't notice they adjust the maturity date by 1 day later (for BR whenever maturity date falls on a holiday they will auto adjust the new maturity date to the next working day)...
I only realized after signing all the withdrawal and IBG forms...and they refused to change saying that the money already transferred to the destination bank.. end up losing interests for premature withdrawal by 1 day!!!

Painful lesson.. anyone has similar experiences before?

I am pissed off that the BR staff never reminded me of the new maturity date..
To play musical chairs, a few things that we should be aware of

1. Effective interest rate.
2. Maturity date.
3. Complicated t & C
4. Recalculate effective interest rate in RM to tally with cert.
5. Must be able to calculate ineterest amount per day.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 08:29 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 8 2014, 08:22 AM)
ohhhh that hurts! sorry to hear that . but i still don't understand how you could have prematurely withdrawn.

Sunday 5th was Aidil Adha & so Monday 6th was a replacement holiday nationwide. If you placed your fd on 5/7 or 6/7, the 3 mths supposed to mature 5/10 or 6/10 but BR will change it to 7/10.

And since banks only opened on 7/10, you could not have prematurely withdrawn IMHO.

Unless BR was open on Monday 6th at your location & you withdrew that day. I can only think of that possibility  or i missed something so obvious  hmm.gif
Very good observation. You working as an auditor. rclxms.gif

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 08:48 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 8 2014, 08:45 AM)
6. parking
7. transport - fuel/taxi
8. cost of ibg / chq
9. ???
Old goat n Bcc
9. got leng lui or not

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 08:58 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 8 2014, 08:43 AM)
hahaha no lah. most times we just react from emotion. if we stop to think about it, all of us will notice also  tongue.gif still like to know how it happened that way
Most of the time we track our fund data by keeping it in an excel file. The fund history could be quite a number of years back. Upon renewal, we tend to just add a year to our record without collaborating with the actual cert. This could also be due to certain banks not giving out the certs instantly. Its not only the date that needs to be corrected, the maturity amount also need to be rechecked. Its why i personally dont like monthly interest as troublesome to recalculate even using formulas.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 09:04 AM

2,605 posts

10. Record all FD details in spreadsheet as many of us have numerous certs with different banks.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 09:06 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 8 2014, 09:04 AM)
actually hor ... i think they veli nice oredi. i dun have experience of maturity on non-working days with the big banks that covered by pidm & hence lower rates. I dunno but i guessing those big banks will not adjust your maturity to next working day. Why? hehehe they chiak your interest for the long weekend maaaaa  mad.gif
Not all banks will adjust to next working day.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 09:22 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 8 2014, 09:16 AM)
Why exclude the all time Magician ?  tongue.gif The leng lui must have been in your mind. Don't worry, your beloved will not know about it.  tongue.gif
Its because i usually dont expressed it so openly ma..

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 12:07 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Oct 8 2014, 11:40 AM)
Ok, agreed 3 months not as bad as 1 year..

thanks for all the suggestions.

I think to prevent future mistake it's better to ask the bank to update the certs for each renewal cycle to see any adjustment of maturity date. Own assumptions could be dangerous..
Now i see it, each renewal on maturity, you did not request for new cert. Luckily its not nego rates, or it will fall back to board rates.

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 8 2014, 12:07 PM
magika
post Oct 8 2014, 03:20 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 8 2014, 01:39 PM)
hahaha me too  smile.gif  your fd  rolled over many times but never print new cert, date also changed. understand now  tongue.gif

magika - in ur experience which do like BR? wonder if we can ask them to push to next working day
If not mistaken, theirs is next working day system. However its manually keyin, so the best next thing to do for whichever bank we deposit in is to be aware of maturity date and sum when collecting the cert. Islamic FD has the advantage whereby the maturity amt is printed on the cert itself.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 03:26 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 8 2014, 11:37 AM)
So, my question is on the definition of fresh fund.

If I do IBG from CASA Bank A to CASA Bank B, then I go for the FD of Bank B, will Bank B consider it as fresh fund?

Or the only option is bank draft that I should forget about the few ringgit of the cost of that bank draft? i notice the method being mentioned mostly in this thread is bank draft. biggrin.gif
For fresh fund requirement, usually i use personal cheques. However be careful when IBG funds to your current account, then issuing cheques for FD deposits. Once i forgot to transfered funds to my current account, luckily bank called and they transfred for me.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 05:00 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 8 2014, 04:19 PM)
Didnt ask, cause i applied for Premier Banking, they told me bout this promotion, so split my funds for some to FD
Hope the RM didnt side tracked u into buying some form of saving product?
magika
post Oct 8 2014, 05:05 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(mokkf82 @ Oct 8 2014, 05:03 PM)
Hello all,

I have a FD processed for the passed three years. I just found out I lost the certificate.
What do we need to do if we need to close the FD and take the money out?

Will bank impose some cost if certificate lost?
Depending on whether it is a cert or a receipt type. If cert then there should be some payment.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 05:08 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 8 2014, 05:05 PM)
Nope, i said only want current acc and fd.

I know they want to sell my Unit Trust....lots of promotions actually, but i said no.

Got one is 5.5% 3 months for FD, but must buy selected UT, something like that.
Then u are lucky. I recommend 3 relatives to Premier Banking and all 3 got stuck with useless builder product.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 05:16 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 8 2014, 05:10 PM)
what is builder product?

RM mentioned Unit Trust, Savings Plan...etc...i said only CA and FD, i think he know i was going to walk.
Its a form of saving plan, dont touch it, after a few years gurantee regret. Not going to go into specifics.

magika
post Oct 8 2014, 05:19 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Oct 8 2014, 05:17 PM)
waaa so teruk ah...why ocbc sell something like that...

their standard not very high meh
Almost all banks have it in one form or another.

magika
post Oct 9 2014, 10:14 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Oct 9 2014, 08:41 AM)
Most of the time, attractive promotional FDs are based on auto-renewal basis (board rate) is it?  I tried asking for non-auto renewal and OCBC previously told me unable to as it is part of their T&C for that particular promo.  So meaning on the day of maturity have to personally go to bank & withdraw?  My half day leave gone leh.

Any promo that do not insist on auto-renewal back to board rates?
I would think all promo will go back to board rates upon maturity. Even if they held another promo during the maturity period, if you do not uplift and redeposit, then it will go back to board rates. Its one of the reason some banks insist on fresh funds, so could not uplift and redeposit back without hassle.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:56 AM