Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

aeiou228
post Sep 12 2014, 01:33 PM

5,867 posts

For minor savings account up to RM50K, PBB Wise SA can get effective 3.15%

Effective rate includes 5% bonus on interest earned if no withdrawal in a month
6 free withdrawal in 6 months, above it, pay RM2 each withdrawal.
Interest credited and compounded every month on 15th.

Best place to park high liquid cash for not more than RM50k.
aeiou228
post Sep 13 2014, 12:36 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Sep 12 2014, 04:51 PM)
guys, let say you have a fund of 300-500k, will you go to a bank and nego for best rate or place 100k in different banks ?
I don't think RM500k carry any weight to bargain for better rate. Even if you manage to get negotiated rate, I don't think the rate can be better than SCB promo rate of 4.25%.
aeiou228
post Sep 16 2014, 06:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 16 2014, 02:59 PM)
Ah ChaCha, my thinking is between 15 mths 4.25% and 5 yrs 4.7%, diff is 0.45%. Time lock in diff is 3 yrs and 9 mths. With impending OPR change, the 0.45% over nearly 4 yrs lock in is not that attractive. Unless MBSB revise the rate .................. hmm.gif

That is just my opinion.  smile.gif

It would be interesting to see if US raise the interest rate this Wed (US date) and then BNM meeting this Thursday.  smile.gif
I'd share the same thought as you. We are expecting interest rate uptrend, better don't tight up money for 5 years.

Not sure about US interest rate but in UK, this Lloyd's bank letter shows a whooping 45% interest rate reduction letter for savings account effective from 25th Novmber 2014.
aeiou228
post Sep 16 2014, 08:13 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 16 2014, 07:45 PM)
Sorry...I do not understand...
you mean when UK interest goes down, then Malaysia interest rate will go up..?  hmm.gif
No Bro, it was just 2 separate answers to bbgoat post quoted.
My personal view on Malaysia's interest rate is uptrend.

As for the UK interest rate, I have no idea. But the letter I received stated savings interest rate across the UK marketplace have been going down for some time. As as result, Lloyd's bank is going to reduce savings interest rate from 1% to 0.55% effective November.

aeiou228
post Sep 17 2014, 01:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Sep 17 2014, 12:22 PM)
How many days does it take for a Bankers cheque to clear? I enquired with Standard Chartered Bank (Saadiq) and they told me need 2 or 3 days to clear, is this true?

My KFH FD matures today and I want to transfer to SCB for the FD promotion, now I'm stuck. Giro only limits 5k a day.

I don't want to use cash.

Anyone with any ideas?

Updates:

I went to KFC to ask, the officer told me to do a "Rentas" transfer which cost me RM8.00 but transfer to my SCB account would only take an hour.
If I had gone before 12.00pm, I could have transferred using Giro @ RM2.00, the money would be reach my account after 3.00pm the same day.
I hope you can read my reply before you do the Rentas.
Withdraw your KFH FD by banker's chq, then bring the banker's chq to SCB before 4pm. You new SCB FD commencement date will start today and value date is tomorrow evening.
I don't know how much is the KFH bankers chq (OCBC is free) but I'm sure it should be cheaper then RENTAS.
Commencement date is the date your FD start earning interest.
Value date is the date your money in FD is good and available.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 17 2014, 01:35 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2014, 02:34 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Sep 17 2014, 01:38 PM)
Hi aeiou228,

Thank you for your advise. No, your reply did not reach me but I appreciate your effort to let me know, I have done the Rentas transfer.  sad.gif
If what you say is true, the SCB Saadiq officer have given me the wrong info.  mad.gif

Anyway, the bankers cheque issue by KFH will cost me RM3.00+ (around there), so I'll be paying a little more for the "Rentas" transfer.
You are most welcome.
The SCB Saadiq officer was right too. 2 days means today and tomorrow. Depending on how you ask the officer, if you only asked him when is the chq value/clearance date, I would say his answer was right.
Then why the officer also said 3 days clearance ? This is because if you bank in after 12pm today, the value date will be tomorrow evening and the bank already closed. Therefore if you want to liquidate the money over the bank counter, you must come back day after tomorrow. So this is why most bank officers tell the customers 2 or 3 days.
For your situation, the appropriate question to ask is, when is my FD commencement date or effective date if I bank in a chq before 4pm today? Since you are not going to cash out the money, you don't have to bother about value date.
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2014, 03:03 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Sep 17 2014, 02:53 PM)
After rushing the "Rentas" transfer, I went to SCB Saadiq after 2.00pm to apply for the FD and you know what, the bank officer says because the cut off time is 3.00pm for FD placement and they need to submit the FD application by 2.15 or 2.30pm, they are unable to process the FD application and advise me to come tomorrow morning instead. No matter what I say, they would not do the FD application for me  mad.gif  vmad.gif !!
It is fortunate that my office is just above the bank. Really frustrated with this bank, got money oso don't want.
Somemore the bank officer trying to tell me to put my money in their investment plan where 50% will be placed with Maybank FD and 50% for investment in sharemarket. Told her  a big NO!!.
That's quite unusual and not a standard policy practiced by most banks. hmm.gif

aeiou228
post Sep 17 2014, 04:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 17 2014, 04:36 PM)
15 months FD for SCB works out to be 5.31%
At the glance, it's highly unlikely. Mind share how you turn 4.25% to 5.31% ?
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2014, 07:58 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 17 2014, 05:43 PM)
since it is 4.25 p.a so the remaining 3 months 4.25 divide by 12 x 3 equals 1.0626, add them all up is 5.31%
To add more confusion brows.gif
Assuming FD amount is RM100.

RM100 x 4.25% x 15months / 12 = RM5.31 rclxms.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2014, 07:14 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 17 2014, 11:55 PM)
ok guys actually CS also confirmed it is 5.31% for 15 months
Thanks for the confirmation.

So for RM100k deposit @ 5.31%, one will get RM6,637.50 interest after 15 mths right ? hmm.gif
But I'm still confused, why SCB advertised 4.25% leh ? rclxub.gif why don't SCB advertise the hidden 5.31% as you pointed out to attract more depositors ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 18 2014, 07:28 AM
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2014, 09:29 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 18 2014, 09:25 AM)
You still don't get it?  laugh.gif

4.25% pa

A total 5.31% interest payout after 15 months (pa missing)
A total 8.5% interest payout after 24 months (pa missing)

They are the same.

Learn new creative marketing.
Hai ya...!! The fun is about to begin and you guys really potong steam one mad.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 18 2014, 09:36 AM
aeiou228
post Sep 18 2014, 09:41 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 18 2014, 09:35 AM)
like i said, stop giving bank new idea to con mad.gif  tongue.gif
It's not new, I've seen in the past some structured financial products claiming 30% return over 5 years period. But never seen such claim on FD la.
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2014, 08:47 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 24 2014, 02:47 AM)
Everytime when I go to OCBC, I always have the feeling that I wish I was 25 years old..  drool.gif
Why I have feeling like this leh..? 
You received OTAC also..?
What is the usage of this OTAC for us to log-in internet banking..?
I think SCB sent this OTAC mistakenly, they were supposed to sms temporary password to us instead..
He is similar to OCBC RM
Yesterday I called SCB leng chai again, but he still said that interest would only pay upon maturity, then I asked him to read
the terms written on the FD cert, then he said he would call me back. But I do not think he will call me back unless
if I buy corporate bond from him... sad.gif
This depends on what renewal instruction (number) we request when we place the FD.
I just found out the Renewal Instructions At Maturity (number) on the back side of the FD cert:
[attachmentid=4145790]

Mine is 1, this means my principal + interest will roll over to board rate upon maturity.
--> So when I withdraw on Monday, 21 Dec 2015, I will not earn any interest at all for 2 days -- Saturday 19th Dec and
Sunday 20th Dec.

Yours is 2, this means your principal will roll over to board rate upon maturity, but your interest will deposit
into JustOne saving account upon FD maturity.

Assume if you withdraw FD on Monday which is 21 Dec 2015.
You will earn 2 days (19th and 20th of Dec 2015) interest from paid FD interest in your JustOne saving account.
But you (and me) will lose 2 days principal (FD) interest on 19th and 20th of Dec 2015.

Now for the FDs that we have placed on 19 Sept 2014, the best solution for us is to select 3 which is credit principal
and interest to our Just One Saving accounts so that our principal + interest can earn 2 days interest on 19 & 20 of Dec 2015.

On the back of the FD cert, it also stated like this:
Any changes to the above instructions must be made before the maturity date of the deposit.

If you are placing your FD with SCB for 18 months today, your FD maturity date is Thursday, 24 March 2016.
So your new FD does not have any issue since 24 March 2016 is a bank working day.
http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/?year=2016&country=69

I am thinking to request to change my Renewal Instruction from 1 to 3..but do not know if SCB will cancel my FD cert and issue a new FD cert with a new effective date, then I will lose few days interest, in this case it is not worth changing it.. hmm.gif
If FD maturity date fall on non-banking day and you uplift the said FD on the next available banking day, the bank will pay extra interest for the non banking days. This was what I experienced with my banks la.
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2014, 07:59 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 24 2014, 07:43 PM)
SCB Leng Chai returned to my call this afternoon, he said if matured FD auto-renew (roll-over to board rate) on
Saturday, and if withdraw on the following Monday, then no interest for Saturday and Sunday.

But I am not sure what he said was true or not.
Because he is a RM, apparently he does not know much about FD products.

I know OCBC will pay interest for Saturday and Sunday. But I doubt about UOB... hmm.gif
Is there an open option ? Depositor will decide upon maturity ? Will they pay interest on non banking day under this option?
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2014, 11:27 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Sep 24 2014, 10:41 PM)
http://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/SiteAssets...D/TopRateTD.jpg

Para 3 of the T&C's per the above states "Upon maturity, the time dep will be renewed for 5 mths tenure at prevailing board rates"

However per 4.4 of http://www.ambank.com.my/ambank/SiteAssets...0(Eng)%20v2.pdf ,

"The Promotional Rate stated above is applicable for one (1) cycle only. Upon maturity of the FD/TD Account after the Promotion Period, the Bank‟s prevailing board rates for FD/TD Account shall apply to any rollovers and/or renewals."

Now which T&C is the accurate one as the former "forces" you to renew while the latter gave you the option of not renewing...

Sifus, can clarify. TQ smile.gif
There is no "paksa" in FD. Upon maturity of 1st cycle (5mths), you can choose to auto renew at board rates in Ambank or withdraw it for better rates else where.
aeiou228
post Sep 26 2014, 11:02 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 25 2014, 07:21 PM)
Ok, update Ah Sir Ah Boom:

1. SCB do NOT give FD interest if maturity is on Sat/Sun.

2. For this promotion, the instruction from HQ is renew principal and interest go to SA. I mentioned that I heard someone has "1" instead. But the leng lui still repeat HQ instruction.

3. Renewal instruction "1" is for 12 mths or less. I said I heard for last promotion, there are people for 15 mths still getting "1". Leng lui answer is cannot be. Ah Boom, you did not try to change to "3" ?

4. For this 18mths promo, every 6 mths interest to SA.

End of report.  biggrin.gif
This is not fair to the customers. Though the amount is small for average depositor, ethically SCB should pay the interest for something beyond customer's control.
I remember reading a comment here in the past thread that a bank (was it PBB ? sorry can't recall) also don't give interest but upon insistence from the depositor, the bank gave.
Boom, perhaps you can ask BNM opinion about this situation?
aeiou228
post Sep 30 2014, 12:27 PM

5,867 posts

These are the names for the recent ATM hack. Source Bernama.

The ATMs were located at Jalan Yong Shook Lin, Petaling Jaya (Affin Bank, losses of RM303,000); Dataran Sunway (Al-Rajhi Bank, RM285,700); Seksyen 14, Petaling Jaya (Bank Islam, RM395,850); Kota Damansara (Bank Islam, RM221,160) and Kelana Jaya (Al-Rajhi) where the full amount lost has yet to be ascertained.

Another Al-Rajhi Bank branch in Section 9, Shah Alam lost RM116,000 to a similar hacking.

Though the ATM hacking doesn't involved individual accounts, there were reports recently about money in individual account being transferred out electronically using a Trojan sent to the account holder's mobile phone and a copy of the TAC sms being forwarded to the hacker's phone.
It's best to avoid eFD or untag/unlink FD accounts in your internet banking account.

aeiou228
post Oct 13 2014, 06:22 PM

5,867 posts

Copy and paste from sin chew.
http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/103488
aeiou228
post Oct 17 2014, 02:18 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Pisang_Dy88 @ Oct 16 2014, 12:04 AM)
To all sifus,

I want to get some opinions from you guys.
Currently my credit card debt approx 15k, and I dont have any FD with me.
But I have my EPF acc 2 that able to settle up my CC and I plan to withdraw all and balance put in FD.(because can withdraw one time only,if i sell away my first house then different story)
Any suggestion that I can get from you guys?
You have to go to KWSP website and read about Jenis-jenis pengeluaran first before deciding on your plan A above.

I can suggest you an interesting plan B if you qualify for it.
There is a 12 months 0% balance transfer (BT) promotion by Maybank card now (ending 8th March 2015). Go apply any Maybank card and BT the RM15k to your MBB card and pay off the RM15k in 12 interest free instalments.

Maybank card 12 month 0% BT

For those who have high Maybank card credit line and high cc spender, you can BT all your non-MBB cc combine monthly statement balances then put the money back to Maybank's "undercounter" FD and enjoy the absolutely free upfront interest (of course must meet minimum FD deposit requirement). BTW, you can apply as many times as you like but subject to 90% of your MBB card credit limit and 8th March 2015 dateline.

MBB 0% BT application form.

aeiou228
post Oct 27 2014, 01:46 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 27 2014, 11:55 AM)
hmm.gif jus spotted in the lower page of this brochure the fine prints that reads, " The promotional interest / profit rate will be subject to revision should there be any Overnight Policy Rate changes"..
is this common? does it means...if OPR goes up 0.25% next month..the rate in the FD would also automatically goes up too?
Nope ! Banks wouldn't practice that. Because you will curse the bank kaw kaw if the bank drop your second 6 months deposit rate instead of 4.38%......if OPR drop.
If you already made the FD placement today, you will get the advertised 4.28% on your first roll-over six months later regardless of changes in OPR.
If you haven't make any FD placement yet, then the 3.83% + 4.38% advertised rate is subject to revision should there be any OPR changes.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0565sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:30 AM