RM0.00 UOB Christmas Special: Enjoy up to 4.20% pa FD when you deposit new funds with us. Valid till 24 Dec 2014. Visit any UOB branch today. T&C Apply.
Got details?
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2
Dec 12 2014, 01:02 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anybody received this promo SMS from UOB:
QUOTE RM0.00 UOB Christmas Special: Enjoy up to 4.20% pa FD when you deposit new funds with us. Valid till 24 Dec 2014. Visit any UOB branch today. T&C Apply. Got details? |
Dec 12 2014, 02:26 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Dec 12 2014, 04:49 PM
24,385 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
What is the minimum for MBSB 4.70 for 5 years? Do we need to open a CASA or SA for them to deposit the interest in?
What will happen to my depsoit once MBSB + RHB + CIMB merge? What I meant is (i) will my current rates still maintain? (ii) do I need to get a new cert from them? (iii) how do I uplift it after 5 years? |
Dec 12 2014, 08:41 PM
65,324 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hong Leong 12-Month Festive FD Promotion
15 December 2014 - 31 March 2015 (both dates inclusive) 12 Months @ 4.08% p.a. ● Fresh fund required. ● Min RM10k. Max RM5mil. ● Required to nominate a CASA Account for the purpose of crediting the FD interest. ● FD interest must be credited into the CASA on a monthly basis. ● Interest to be added-on to the FD principal sum is not allowed. ● Upon maturity, the Principal FD amount shall be auto-renewed at the prevailing 12-month Conventional FD board rate. More info: HLB | T&Cs (En) | T&Cs (BM) | T&Cs (Chinese) ![]() |
Dec 12 2014, 08:44 PM
1,035 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 17 2014, 12:25 AM) Ya loh.. I think it is better to place not more 1 year tenure now unless if the FD promotion is very fantastic.. You've anticipated for the increase of the OPR till end of 2014...now you are willing to hold-up your MBSB plan until December 2015? I am still hoping there is another OPR increase soon.. Economists said next OPR hike should be in between June to December of 2015.. Fuh...respect your perseverance QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 17 2014, 12:25 AM) Warrior, you can get joint account for Coop card. Thanks for the info & confirmation that the Coop joint account card exists.My Coop card is joint account, it cost me RM 8 for one time fee. I think if your FD is joint account then you should be able to get your Coop card in joint account. Will apply for it during my next visit to BR. If your Coop card is a joint account, are you able to view & perform transactions for your individual BR account? QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 6 2014, 12:53 AM) Warrior..it seems the FD rates are keep going-up lately... I'm going to put on hold my plan to the "casino" as well So, I think I will put on hold not to place with MBSB 5 years.. Most likely I will go for UOB 1 year at 4.2% first.. |
Dec 12 2014, 09:15 PM
1,035 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(okuribito @ Dec 8 2014, 01:54 PM) another option ... hope not confuse you ... put into BR 1 year in how ever many certs possible. If you have emergency, and need to withdraw, they pay you the next best rate eg if withdraw after 9th month + x days, you get interest as if it was 9mth FD in the first place. That's what they explain to me last time. Pls call them to confirm I have made a premature FD withdrawal from BR recently & can confirm that the highlighted part is accurate.QUOTE(magika @ Dec 8 2014, 04:09 PM) Not the way to calculate premature withdrawal, like that I will put 5 years deposit, withdraw after 12 months still no loss. Previously, I've posted in FD thread that BR has ditched the old "pramatang" table.On withdrawal after 9 months, they will refer to their own table for "pramatang" so they called it 9 months rate @ reduced rate. Currently, if you put 5 years FD deposit with BR, you'll get 4.50%. In the event that you withdraw after 12 months, then the 12-month profit rate is applicable ---> 4.10% |
Dec 12 2014, 09:17 PM
31 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
Dec 12 2014, 09:19 PM
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 13 2014, 08:16 AM
24,385 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
What is the minimum for MBSB 4.70 for 5 years? Do we need to open a CASA or SA for them to deposit the interest in?
What will happen to my depsoit once MBSB + RHB + CIMB merge? What I meant is (i) will my current rates still maintain? (ii) do I need to get a new cert from them? (iii) how do I uplift it after 5 years? |
Dec 13 2014, 12:16 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 12 2014, 12:06 PM) Just came back and checked (online and calling CS) latest FD promos with the banks.I just updated my Fixed Deposit Page. Alliance Bank now offering 4.1% 12 months for their FD Gold, which is lower than in November 2014 and instead increased their 9 months FD promo to 4.15%. Noted more banks are offering higher interest rates for FD Promo for less than 1 year tenure. Maybe this is because of the uncertainty we may face in 2015 in view that oil price has dropped tremendously in the last few months and this will have direct impact on many countries including Malaysia as we are dependent on oil. I am wondering if I should go lock in 4.15% with HLB Juinor FD for the next 2 years or go with UOB Christmas Promo until 24 Dec 2014 4.2% 12 months, minimum fresh fund RM50K. But then again, with our Ringgit depreciating, I may end up with less purchasing power in 2 years time. And what if the stock market dive further, another lost in opportunity, decisions, decisions...... giving me a headache. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 13 2014, 01:17 PM |
Dec 13 2014, 12:25 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 13 2014, 12:16 PM) Just came back and checked (online and calling CS) latest FD promos with the banks. Captain, welcome back ! I just updated my Fixed Deposit Page. Alliance Bank now offering 4.1% 12 months for their FD Gold, which is lower than in November 2014 and instead increased their 9 months FD promo to 4.15%. Noted more banks are offering higher interest rates for FD Promo for less than 1 year tenure. Maybe this is because of the uncertainty we may face in 2015 in view that oil price has dropped tremendously in the last few months and this will have direct impact on many countries including Malaysia as we are dependent on oil. I am wondering if I should go lock in 4.15% with HLB Juinor FD for the next 2 years or go with UOB Christmas Promo until 24 Dec 2014 4.2% 12 months, minimum fresh fund RM50K. But then again, with our Ringgit depreciating, I may end up with less purchasing power in 2 years time. And what if the stock market dive further, another lost in opportunity, decisions, decisions...... giving me a headache. Time really flies ! I also have the same dilemma. But more of putting into FD for some bullet or into UT. UT, stocks are getting a beating now. As for you, you are more into "guaranteed" returns, i.e. FD. |
Dec 13 2014, 01:42 PM
1,021 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « yup welcome back! thing about UT is that it's a long term vehicle ... transaction costs very high. If can catch the bottom of the market & can sit long term, it'd be fantastic. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Good point about the 9mth rates. But another possibility is that Alliance itself is short in that tenure. Would like to see if it's a trend among the others. Hehe here we are wondering what will happen to interest rates... we're not even pro economists, and yet I haven't found any reports or analysis with a committed opinion on how BNM will go next year from the pros in the banks or stockbroking houses. Anybody can share some good reports? This post has been edited by okuribito: Dec 13 2014, 01:43 PM |
Dec 13 2014, 08:13 PM
2,338 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Has anyone here won the Ambank Merdeka promo: 8.31% FD yet?
Dec 13 2014, 10:27 PM
1,603 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 10 2014, 09:52 AM) no, i going to do all new fresh.. Mach Money Box is actually a saving account. For your case, just go to Mach branch, open a Mach Money Box account, and obtain access Hong Leong Connect. You can deposit your cash in the cash deposit machine in the branch, or use interbank transfer, but the money must be available in the Mach Money Box on that day, to prevent the saving account being closed. so i should open hl sav acc, take the hl atm card, apply to open money box ? kenot use other computer to place money in mach FD? if i put over 1k also can rite? this mach make me bit confuse with added money saving box.. so the money should go like this.. 3rd party i IBG > to HL bank, then use HLB > money deposit box.. then >> mach FD ? when mach FD maturity.. money go back to money deposit box and i need use money deposit box transfer back to HLB? It is up to you whether you need to have the Mach debit card (RM 8 annual fee), or not. There is no need to open a Hong Leong saving account. Once you have access to Hong Leong Connect, you can make a fixed deposit placement in any computer, not necessarily the computer in Mach branch. For sure, you can place more than RM 1000 in a single fixed deposit placement. However, it is better to put in RM 1000 in each placement. So, if you want to deposit RM 3000, just split into 3 placement. In case you need to uplift one fixed deposit placement due to emergency, the interest for other placement will not be affected, instead of having all money in just one placement. If you uplift the fixed deposit account upon maturity, the principal plus the interest are in Mach Money Box account. |
Dec 13 2014, 10:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 13 2014, 12:16 PM) Just came back and checked (online and calling CS) latest FD promos with the banks. One of reason may because banks see OPR is not trending higher, so no point to offer long term high rate. I just updated my Fixed Deposit Page. Alliance Bank now offering 4.1% 12 months for their FD Gold, which is lower than in November 2014 and instead increased their 9 months FD promo to 4.15%. Noted more banks are offering higher interest rates for FD Promo for less than 1 year tenure. Maybe this is because of the uncertainty we may face in 2015 in view that oil price has dropped tremendously in the last few months and this will have direct impact on many countries including Malaysia as we are dependent on oil. I am wondering if I should go lock in 4.15% with HLB Juinor FD for the next 2 years or go with UOB Christmas Promo until 24 Dec 2014 4.2% 12 months, minimum fresh fund RM50K. But then again, with our Ringgit depreciating, I may end up with less purchasing power in 2 years time. And what if the stock market dive further, another lost in opportunity, decisions, decisions...... giving me a headache. |
Dec 14 2014, 12:12 AM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(HJebat @ Dec 12 2014, 08:44 PM) You've anticipated for the increase of the OPR till end of 2014...now you are willing to hold-up your MBSB plan until December 2015? Fuh...respect your perseverance Warrior, the weather condition sometimes is hard to predict. We look at the economic condition of bolehland today, I think only few people will go for long term now. Just take Affin 4.38% for 2 years as an example, 4.38% is quite close to 4.7%, this indirectly will give pressure to MBSB to revise their 4.7% rate to higher rate. QUOTE(HJebat @ Dec 12 2014, 08:44 PM) Thanks for the info & confirmation that the Coop joint account card exists. Will apply for it during my next visit to BR. If your Coop card is a joint account, are you able to view & perform transactions for your individual BR account? Warrior, I have never used the coop card in BR ATM machine except during the first time I had to use it in BR ATM to activate the card. Just like other ATM cards, I think everybody can use the BR card in ATM as long as knows the password. If to use iRakyat account, when I log-in iRakyat to view, perform transactions or IBG money, I just need to use the same user ID and same password that I have registered in iRakyat. But I had experienced twice that when I wanted to IBG money from iRakyat, I had to get the OTP from BR, in less than a minute, BR sms the OTP to my mobile phone. In this case, the secondary name in joint account will not be able to get the OTP. QUOTE(HJebat @ Dec 12 2014, 08:44 PM) I'm going to put on hold my plan to the "casino" as well Ya loh..Warrior... QUOTE(HJebat @ Dec 12 2014, 09:15 PM) I have made a premature FD withdrawal from BR recently & can confirm that the highlighted part is accurate. This is very nice of BR. I respect BR in this area.. Previously, I've posted in FD thread that BR has ditched the old "pramatang" table. Currently, if you put 5 years FD deposit with BR, you'll get 4.50%. In the event that you withdraw after 12 months, then the 12-month profit rate is applicable ---> 4.10% This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Dec 14 2014, 12:29 PM |
Dec 14 2014, 12:37 AM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Welcome Back.. This is the first time we see Captain got a headache.. Take a gamble to place FD not more than a year lah.. Captain.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thank You.. Affin's latest FD & pay interest on non-working days info have updated on Post #2 QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2014, 08:16 AM) What is the minimum for MBSB 4.70 for 5 years? Do we need to open a CASA or SA for them to deposit the interest in? I am not sure about the minimum, but I guess it is RM 1000..?What will happen to my depsoit once MBSB + RHB + CIMB merge? What I meant is (i) will my current rates still maintain? (ii) do I need to get a new cert from them? (iii) how do I uplift it after 5 years? No, you do not have to open MBSB CASA when place FD in MBSB. (i) Logically and legally speaking, the current FD rate will still maintain until maturity. (ii) Not sure. But based on the past experience from bank merged, can still use the existing FD cert until maturity. (iii) Just uplift it as usual (get cash or banker's check); or MBSB branch or MBSB HQ will wire transfer to your desired bank account. |
Dec 14 2014, 12:26 PM
26,530 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Guys, what will happen to our PIDM protected FD if the country bankrupts?
Dec 14 2014, 01:23 PM
1,021 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
if country bankrupt? I think everybody koyak except those with net assets parked in non-bankrupt countries
can provide link to any report discussing this possibility? |
Dec 14 2014, 02:19 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 14 2014, 12:12 AM) But I had experienced twice that when I wanted to IBG money from iRakyat, I had to get the OTP from BR, in less than a minute, BR sms the OTP to my mobile phone. |
| Change to: | 0.0370sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:05 AM |