Does Alliance bank pay interest for non working days?
Alliance Bank, 4% for 6 months and 4.15% for 9 months. Min 10k of new fund. From now until 31 Dec 2014.
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2
Dec 11 2014, 10:25 AM
45 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Oil town |
Does Alliance bank pay interest for non working days?
Alliance Bank, 4% for 6 months and 4.15% for 9 months. Min 10k of new fund. From now until 31 Dec 2014. |
Dec 11 2014, 10:54 AM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 10 2014, 02:58 PM) Ah Goat Sir & Double Magic, Ah Boom Sir, will still do it early next year. All because of the better rate offered. You guys still want to put self-contribution money to EPF early next year..??? For me, I am quite hesitating wor.. To deposit few days before end of month ? Thanks to Double Magic for the tipsie ! QUOTE(magika @ Dec 10 2014, 03:36 PM) Its already too late to move RM overseas , for me it still is on at the moment. Still beats banks rate. Double Magic Sir, move RM overseas ? Never in my mind for this type of action. Sophisticated investor, Double Magic Sir ! If hesitant then only considered later half of the year. U no scared meh.. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 11 2014, 12:15 PM |
Dec 11 2014, 01:53 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(magika @ Dec 10 2014, 03:36 PM) Worried about present stock market downturn ? As mentioned, Uncle is kiasi & kiasu, Uncle don't buy stock QUOTE(magika @ Dec 10 2014, 03:36 PM) Its already too late to move RM overseas , for me it still is on at the moment. Still beats banks rate. I do not think now it is a good idea to move RM to oversea lah, unless got kid study oversea.If hesitant then only considered later half of the year. U no scared meh.. Singapore, US FD rates are low, I would rather to keep RM here to take advantage of the going-up interest rate. why "If hesitant then only considered later half of the year" leh..? Scared about what leh..? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Oh... You know all the lubang to gorek money.. quite steady.. Yes, I noticed AUD has less volatile to against the recent depreciation of RM. QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 11 2014, 01:15 AM) Thanks for the reminder. Public bank foreign currency account automatically move it to working day if maturity falls on off and rest day. I noticed ths a couple of years back but not sure is the bank still practice this. I do not think so. I think each bank has different policy.I wonder in general will bank allow client to move maturity date to working day during the FD placement. For example, my SCB FD will mature on Saturday. SCB does not move the Saturday FD maturity day to working day. So, when this FD matures, it will auto renew on Saturday for another new 15 months FD, therefore I have to request SCB to put my FD principal + earned interest to my SCB saving account upon FD maturity so that I still can earn at least 1 day interest in my saving account after I make withdrawal from my SCB saving account on Monday. QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 9 2014, 04:49 PM) I have a different view on this and my choice would be RHB 9mths. I think I prefer this strategy because of the advantage of earlier FD maturity.. After factor in the compound interest for the next 3 months from 9th to 12th. The effective rate is 4.182. Very close to UOB 12 mths 4.20% already. Therefore for Rm50k deposit it's RM6.75 lesser interest over 9 mths period but i get the advantage of earlier maturity. Upon maturity at 9th month, I don't think can get 3 mths 4.35% but one still can renew 9 mths or 12 months for higher rates. ( assuming prevailing FD rates remain the same) I am still expecting the interest rate will go up again soon during next year... |
Dec 11 2014, 02:00 PM
Dec 11 2014, 02:49 PM
941 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Dec 11 2014, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 11 2014, 10:54 AM) Ah Boom Sir, will still do it early next year. All because of the better rate offered. To deposit few days before end of month ? Thanks to Double Magic for the tipsie ! We need to hormat Double Magic for sharing this to us.. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 11 2014, 10:54 AM) Double Magic Sir, move RM overseas ? Never in my mind for this type of action. Sophisticated investor, Double Magic Sir ! Move RM to oversea..? This will cost money in currency conversion and processing fee.QUOTE(almeizer @ Dec 11 2014, 02:49 PM) OK, Thanks |
Dec 11 2014, 04:18 PM
239 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Dec 11 2014, 04:22 PM
45 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Oil town |
Instead of 3 months 3.85% from UOB and OCBC, any other banks for min 10k?
UOB & OCBC located quite far from my place. |
Dec 11 2014, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Dec 11 2014, 04:18 PM) I have never placed eFD, So sorry, I do not have correct answer for you.I hope other members can answer you. PS: Write down all your user IDs and passwords on a school exercise book (buku latihan), so that you will not lose your IDs and passwords anymore. QUOTE(aijiet @ Dec 11 2014, 04:22 PM) Instead of 3 months 3.85% from UOB and OCBC, any other banks for min 10k? Please check Post#1 & #2:UOB & OCBC located quite far from my place. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3341150 Good Luck.. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Dec 11 2014, 05:03 PM |
Dec 11 2014, 08:23 PM
10,061 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Sheffield |
look at RM against SGD want to cry
look at SGD FD rate also want to cry 24m promo - 1.55% |
Dec 11 2014, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 11 2014, 05:01 PM) I have never placed eFD, So sorry, I do not have correct answer for you. Lol...I hope other members can answer you. PS: Write down all your user IDs and passwords on a school exercise book (buku latihan), so that you will not lose your IDs and passwords anymore. Good Luck.. Actually i placed before the eFD, on Public bank... They will call you once the FD slip is ready in the bank. I was just transferring money from saving account to FD, done online. And few days later, they called for collection of slip. I'm just wondering if those promo that need new fund, eFD still applicable? |
Dec 11 2014, 09:25 PM
2,617 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Dec 11 2014, 09:16 PM) Lol... I dont think that qualifies as eFD though. Actually i placed before the eFD, on Public bank... They will call you once the FD slip is ready in the bank. I was just transferring money from saving account to FD, done online. And few days later, they called for collection of slip. I'm just wondering if those promo that need new fund, eFD still applicable? |
Dec 11 2014, 10:06 PM
1,021 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 11 2014, 08:23 PM) then should put into rubles 1mth 7.4%, 1yr 9.5% . . . and for the risk takers out there, it might... it just might be a good time to put in there .... all time low now (see chart) put in for 2 yrs, sure rebound when mature |
Dec 11 2014, 10:32 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,382 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(okuribito @ Dec 11 2014, 10:06 PM) then should put into rubles 1mth 7.4%, 1yr 9.5% Is there any way to put FD in rubles?. . . and for the risk takers out there, it might... it just might be a good time to put in there .... all time low now (see chart) put in for 2 yrs, sure rebound when mature |
Dec 11 2014, 10:39 PM
Dec 11 2014, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(okuribito @ Dec 11 2014, 10:39 PM) But u can only do that via someone personally present at that country Or you somehow have an account opened there before...problem is how we can put it under our own name to earn that %? I know once rubles FD gives 13% pa, and i'd put into that FD rate using USD.. |
Dec 11 2014, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Dec 11 2014, 11:12 PM) But u can only do that via someone personally present at that country Or you somehow have an account opened there before... waaaaa u put into russia before? problem is how we can put it under our own name to earn that %? I know once rubles FD gives 13% pa, and i'd put into that FD rate using USD.. a friend mentioned in passing the other day. no, me small ball maybe u can try hsbc |
Dec 11 2014, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(okuribito @ Dec 11 2014, 11:35 PM) waaaaa u put into russia before? that time there was a FD promo, thereafter rate fluctuating between 7-10%a friend mentioned in passing the other day. no, me small ball maybe u can try hsbc Well, that was before...quite some time ago I'm just wondering how can we put into 'practice' here in malaysia...any idea anyone? |
Dec 11 2014, 11:58 PM
Dec 12 2014, 12:06 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
65,324 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
back from placing another FD with Affin for the 2yrs 4.38% p.a.
utilized IBG "fresh" fund from MBB >> Affin's SA which i did from Monday till Wednesday. Better than using MBB's banker's cheque @ RM5. FYI, Affin has a new 6-mth FD promo. 6-month @ 3.90% p.a. Fresh fund with min. RM10k per customer. This is better than its own board rate of 3.70% p.a. for 12-mth, but still lower than OCBC/RHB/AmBank/UOB/Alliance @ 4.00% p.a. ps BoomChaCha, Affin pays interest if maturity falls on non-working days. This post has been edited by cybpsych: Dec 12 2014, 04:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0372sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:05 AM |