Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

cybpsych
post Sep 22 2014, 05:40 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(stanny @ Sep 22 2014, 04:37 PM)
Anybody get an sms regarding "plastic resin" for the SCB promo? "Stanchart: We have purchased RMxxx of Plastic Resin for Term Deposit-i on your behalf...." What exactly is that?
just did a quick search in Google

https://www.sc.com/my/saadiq/deposit-rates.html

https://www.sc.com/my/_documents/islamic/pf-i/pfi_tnc.pdf
cybpsych
post Sep 23 2014, 09:36 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 23 2014, 09:05 AM)
Bank beauty line-up ?  tongue.gif
OCBC #1 indeed. went there for the 1st time, already got eye-candy from the trainee and counter girls wub.gif

back to topic, OCBC rep also trying to upsell FD-investment-insurance -linked package. since their relationship with GE insurance, they pushed it to their banking customers. vmad.gif

told him i only wanted a basic SmartSavers account to monitor my home loan balance via Internet Banking (free ATM card, cuz i dont want debit card which is chargeable) laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 23 2014, 08:15 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2014, 02:53 PM)
Again how to put box around someone's name? I try quoting, nothing happen.
sorry to say this but this topic is for FD, not "how to use xxxxx feature". pls dont keep spamming here except in /k/ https://forum.lowyat.net/Kopitiam

refer here on how to quote a person's name https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3053035

secondly, additional info about promo FD.

promo rates are purely to acquire new customers (at specific promotion period) to lock in their funds into their bank. they want your money, now.

upon maturity, autorenewal at board rate. why? no more promo period. simple as that. promo rates changes from time to time. board rate is the standard/base rate.

nobody knows what is the new promo rate down 1-month/3-months/6-months/12-months later. ergo, how would the bank know which promo rate to renew to?

cybpsych
post Oct 28 2014, 07:45 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

guys, got some questions about UOB's Pure FD for 12 Months - 4.05% p.a.

there's no cert given, right? it's statement-based account?

1) if i'm transferring fund from Maybank (banker's cheque) and enrol UOB's FD, what will I get as proof of deposit? how do i check this account? do i need to enrol online banking?

2) how do i IBG the fund from Maybank to UOB? since i dont have any accounts with UOB at all, how does UOB process the fund? can UOB do a reverse-IBG from Maybank?

for example: I go to UOB, tell them i want to enrol the FD but IBG the fund from Maybank. Can UOB do that? reason i'm asking this is to save my time travelling between banks biggrin.gif

2) upon maturity, can i request UOB to IBG the fund back to Maybank?

thanks blush.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 28 2014, 01:51 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 28 2014, 01:34 PM)
Just done my FD at UOB..

1) You will get a "Fixed Deposit Advice". When maturity date, you just need to bring your IC to go bank to withdraw your money.
2) You need to open a Fixed Deposit account at UOB first, then go Maybank do IBG to the fixed deposit account at UOB.(I'm not sure about this as I use banker's cheque)
3) Upon maturity, you can request UOB to IBG the money to other bank.
thanks for the update thumbup.gif

i dont think IBG to UOB's FD account would work because the FD account has not been created at the first place to receive IBG fund.

IBG upon maturity is preferable since i can jsut drop by over-the-counter and request UOB to IBG the fund+interest back to Maybank (instead of carrying banker's cheque again).
cybpsych
post Oct 28 2014, 02:03 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 28 2014, 01:55 PM)
Oh..I see..doesnt matter anyway..I can view online..  drool.gif
Thats why I mentioned that need to open a fixed deposit account first before IBG..but this 1 need to confirm with bank first..
I prefer to collect banker's cheque as I need to find another high interest FD after the maturity from UOB..if not later need to withdraw again to place it to other bank for FD..  wink.gif
i see, useful if you're periodically doing the musical chair laugh.gif

for now, i'm expecting this as 1-time placement. of course by the time it matures, i might use banker's cheque too if i dont have to utilize the fund for other purposes and deposit into a new promo FD thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 28 2014, 02:04 PM
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2014, 01:45 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

didnt see any posting about this, here this goes smile.gif

Exclusive RinggitPlus Breathe Easy With A Free Medklinn Asens Air Steriliser OCBC Fixed Deposit Special Offer Terms and Conditions
13th November 2014 and be available until 27th November 2014, both dates inclusive

Sources: RinggitPlus | *Free Medklinn Asens Air Steriliser - exclusive RinggitPlus offer. Terms & Conditions apply. | ** Win a 916 gold coin. Terms and Conditions apply.
cybpsych
post Nov 18 2014, 09:52 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(Mansamune @ Nov 18 2014, 02:38 PM)
I've applied for it. Really good rate. 4.10% p.a. with no CASA or Step-Up hidden it seems.

The Mediklinn Steriliser is guaranteed and worth RM599. Just have to be the first 200 customer ^^
Any idea of the 'fresh fund' definition for ocbc? I read the gold coin t&c, fresh fund inclusive of existing funds (eg CASA) transferred not more than 3 days.

If true, tempted to enrol this coming Friday, I can ibg the fund tomorrow and hopefully eligible to get this FD and one of the first 200 depositors smile.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 18 2014, 10:04 PM
cybpsych
post Nov 20 2014, 09:21 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(Mansamune @ Nov 19 2014, 10:13 PM)
https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/OC...uper-Deals.html

Promo sold out guys. Looks like Offer was too popular!!!

Should look out for more promos from them. It seems like they really do give you more for your money weh ^^
i wonder how does RinggitPlus know when to stop the promo hmm.gif

i presume it's based on total registrations in RP since the unit is given by RP, not OCBC. blink.gif

if this is the case, i might still have a chance to get the unit cuz i registered it on Tuesday (gotten SMS + email); have yet to place the FD in OCBC (planned to visit tomorrow).
cybpsych
post Nov 21 2014, 08:08 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

BoomChaChagsc

well, RP already removed the term "compounded interest" from their website. now only stated Your interest earnings will be calculated daily, but will only be paid out at the date of maturity. laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 21 2014, 08:53 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Nov 18 2014, 02:23 PM)
LATEST FROM AMBANK- Promo effective 17 NOV - 31 JAN 2015
AMSIGNATURE CUSTOMERS - additional 0.05%

No leaflet yet, so staff just wrote on piece of paper smile.gif - Ambank OUG

6 mths - 4%    (4.05% for AmSignature)
12 mths - 4.1%  (4.15% for AmSignature)
finally published on newspaper and website thumbup.gif

cybpsych
post Nov 21 2014, 10:47 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

At OCBC now to place Super Deal FD 12mth 4.1% p.a.

Asked about the promo (medklinn air sterilizer), still accepting (if u have the SMS from ringgitplus). Qualified FD placement will be tabulated by HQ to identify first 200 qualified depositors before submit to ringgitplus.

Gonna ask some questions about interest if maturity falls on nonworking days.

BRB....

Updates:

1) OCBC gives additional interest if maturity falls on non-working days (weekends or PH). FYI BoomChaCha

2) Read thru the internal briefs for Independence Day FD deals (expiring 30 Nov). I noticed all interest rate of 4.100010% p.a. is for the Gold Coin contest. I guess they're doing this on purpose to segregate eligible vs non-eligible depositors. p/s: mine printed 4.100010% p.a. as well as printed instructions to transfer the fund+profit back to my OCBC's SmartSavers account upon maturity.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 21 2014, 11:40 AM
cybpsych
post Nov 22 2014, 06:39 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 22 2014, 02:02 AM)
I see.. OCBC creates this differentiation is making sense to me. But my FD cert is printed like this: "Renew principal and interest for the same period at the prevailing interest/profit rate"
yeah, i specifically requested not to renew at board rate and transfer all to my OCBC saving accounts. i'm planning to use this fund to reduce my house loan's principal next year (OCBC's also), so the timing is just nice thumbup.gif

OCBC FD >> OCBC SmartSavers >> OCBC House Loan

this is also the main reason why i chose OCBC's FD instead of others since it's less hassle for me to handle the fund
cybpsych
post Nov 24 2014, 03:31 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 24 2014, 08:35 AM)
Public Bank Step Up FD 3 months 3.70% + 3 months 3.80% + 3 months 3.90%. This is good way to managed current buffer fund for yearly expenses.
QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 24 2014, 02:51 PM)
when does this end? with the 6+6 3.83%+4.28% step up, they told me that only the principal is rolled over into the 2nd 6mths. I guess it's the same for this 3+3+3?
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 24 2014, 02:55 PM)
Until 28 Feb 2015. Just saw in papers so do not know the details.
PB STEP UP FD

More info: Public Bank | T&Cs

cybpsych
post Nov 25 2014, 09:06 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Nov 25 2014, 05:50 PM)
Another additional  200units of air steriliser?
Same pool of 200 cuz T&CS and promo period are the same. Guess earlier target was not met after tabulating data from OCBC. Fuhhh luckily I did mine even after RP stopped it.

Now deposit time is too tight cuz ending 27 Nov.
cybpsych
post Nov 27 2014, 10:43 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

doh.gifO+Nov 26 2014, 09:18 PM-->
QUOTE(doh.gifO @ Nov 26 2014, 09:18 PM)
Hi all, wanna ask bout the OCBC FD ringgitplus,
Do you guys show the sms? I show to the person, and he don't seem to care about it. (like dont know this promo)

Will they write/note down anywhere? on the receipt?

i just worry din get the steriliser for their careless tongue.gif
for me, i just show the sms, the ocbc girl was aware of the promo. she then proceeded to register the FD as usual.

i noticed my FD cert got this * printed. I suspect it's for the gold coin contest promo.

'bout identification, i guess OCBC HQ submit the names to RP for verification. Since we already entered the details in RP, perhaps that's what they do.

still, not an efficient way to run the promo since there are other OCBC FD depositors unaware of RP promo and not showing the sms.
cybpsych
post Nov 27 2014, 11:35 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 27 2014, 10:55 AM)
Do we need to inform RP after FD placement? That day Ocbc staff said some of the customers said need to inform. Can anybody confirm?
the OCBC staff told me that their HQ will send the list to RP to reconcile and verify.

i guess no need to inform RP.
cybpsych
post Dec 4 2014, 05:15 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 4 2014, 12:39 PM)
Affin 4.38% for 2 years:
[attachmentid=4244701]
arghhh Fresh Fund needed?! rclxub.gif i got existing FD matured liao with Affin. Thought to redeposit to 2yr 4.38%.

@BCC, what's the best SA with Affin that you could recommend?
cybpsych
post Dec 5 2014, 05:36 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 4 2014, 09:28 PM)
According to Affin website, yes, fresh fund needed as stated below:

To participate in the promotion, the customer shall on the same day within the
campaign period, make new funds placement as follows:
Saving account?

My Affin saving account book does not mention any particular type of saving account,
I guess it is just a normal saving account.
confirmed fresh fund needed. grrr

Notes about AFfin's 2yr 4.38% FD's fresh fund. You can IBG from other banks to Affin's SA few days before placement (not weeks or months earlier). Affin still recognize this as "Fresh Fund". This is similar to OCBC's Fresh Fund definition earlier. Since MBB's online IBG has RM10k limit, i might need to do it few days before actual placement. cool2.gif

1) uplifted my matured FD, IBG it out to MBB for the time being (RM2 svc charge). IBG fund reached my MBB acct this evening liao.

2) placed a separate FD placement (cash), straightforward arrangement. principal + interest will all credited to SA upon maturity. No rollover allowed.

3) opened basic Affin SA* with RM100 instead of Affin Gold with at least RM1k to open; pffft not interested. told the officer, not intersted to use its SA. opened it just because their FD's T&C required it doh.gif

*Note: SA will go into dormant if inactive for 1 year. since the 4.38% FD promo is 2yr, need to keep the acct active each year. if not, upon FD maturity, principal+interest cannot be credited. FYI: FD dormancy is 7 years of inactive.

p/s: Freakin' a lot of forms to be signed. FATCA, PDPA, etc etc. didnt notice this much of forms to be signed last year. Told the officer StanChart also have lots of forms, taking hours to get it done laugh.gif laugh.gif She commented "then we are like StanChart" doh.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Dec 5 2014, 05:42 PM
cybpsych
post Dec 6 2014, 07:12 AM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 6 2014, 12:19 AM)
iRakyat (Bank Rakyat) IBG limit (use own PC) is RM 5K per day, IBG fee is RM 10 cents per transfer.
Did you get any GOATS gifts from Affin?

Affin Bank is currently having a CASA promotion - extra 0.39%
http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Whats-...A-3939-TNC.aspx
no GOATS for me cuz 2yr 4.38% FD has no CASA earmarked sweat.gif

however, min 20k FD placement will still be (auto) eligible for the Grand Prize of OMG (One Million Giveaway) Campaign. wasnt targeting this, but no harm nonetheless. OMG campaign ending 31 Dec, so it's a good time to place some decent FD here, considering the good rate.

0.0218sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:35 AM