I thought RENTAS should be nearly immediate/instant.
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2
Nov 13 2014, 07:45 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I thought RENTAS should be nearly immediate/instant.
Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM
2,612 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 13 2014, 07:45 PM) That we also heard but need confirmation from those using it before. Google it but there is just cutoff time for same day transfer.Maybe previously IBG (giro) needs longer time frame but now IBG is also same day transfer with respect to cutoff times. So wonder whether it is still relevant for normal customers. Maybe our bro cherroy can shed some light. This post has been edited by magika: Nov 13 2014, 08:04 PM |
Nov 13 2014, 08:37 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 13 2014, 05:49 PM) The first character of Rentas R stand for Real-time. So it suppose to be immediate.QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 13 2014, 06:19 PM) Thanks. I saw something similar on Am Bank ATM machine at Air Itam branch, Penang. I took a photo and reliasise it was not complete and thinking of re taking the photo to share. You have save my trip to retake the photo, tq Pls take note that the chart I posted was for OTC and ATM. Not online IBG, but I guess it should be the same.This post has been edited by aeiou228: Nov 13 2014, 08:38 PM |
Nov 13 2014, 09:35 PM
2,383 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Singapore, Negeri Sembilan, Masai, KL. |
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:37 PM) The first character of Rentas R stand for Real-time. So it suppose to be immediate. Yeap, Rentas the funds will immediate transfer to others party. But, if you fillup form OTC it could be delayed..due to tellers need officer to approve the payment.Pls take note that the chart I posted was for OTC and ATM. Not online IBG, but I guess it should be the same. Correct me if I'm wrong, because this is what my working bank practice lol. |
Nov 13 2014, 10:04 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM) That we also heard but need confirmation from those using it before. Google it but there is just cutoff time for same day transfer. I did it once from UOB to CB last year. My experience is it is not immediate, still hrs later, the same day. Maybe others can share their experience.Maybe previously IBG (giro) needs longer time frame but now IBG is also same day transfer with respect to cutoff times. So wonder whether it is still relevant for normal customers. Maybe our bro cherroy can shed some light. cherroy can tell us more. |
Nov 13 2014, 10:08 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 03:59 PM) Captain.. what is AWOL..? Admiral Sir, soon I won't be updating Post#1 or posting for few weeks because I going Absent Without Official Leave, i.e. not getting your approval. What proposal..? As for the proposal, okuribito suggested that we list the banks that pays interest for non-working days where we are unable to withdraw our FD. See his quote below: QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 13 2014, 11:21 AM) yup rhb win hands down. boss, can i suggest a list of banks that adj maturity to next working day & those who don't on your 1st post? afaik the good guys are br & uob. not so good guys mbb, ambank, rhb So Sir, okuribito's suggestion is up for your consideration and implementation.hope others can confirm with their respective banks for this list ... in the spirit of maximisingreturn the ultra kiasu way This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 13 2014, 10:08 PM |
Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 13 2014, 10:08 PM) Admiral Sir, soon I won't be updating Post#1 or posting for few weeks because I going Absent Without Official Leave, i.e. not getting your approval. Aiyo.. As for the proposal, okuribito suggested that we list the banks that pays interest for non-working days where we are unable to withdraw our FD. See his quote below: So Sir, okuribito's suggestion is up for your consideration and implementation. Yes Sir, Five Stars Admiral.. Under your command, I will do my best job to update FD info on Post #2.. okuribito's idea is a good idea.. Let's start from here now, will post it on front page... Banks that pay interest for non-working days OCBC Bank Rakyat UOB Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days May Bank Ambank RHB QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 13 2014, 04:17 PM) Ladies & Gentlemen, called BR just now: Thanks for checking it out.. 1. IBG RM0.30 promotion is over, RM2 from now onwards 2. The upfront interest promo is for FD of 6 mths only. But I did not ask if it is 1 to 6 mths or just 6 mths FD. 3. RENTAS can be done for individual also but they have to use another system of theirs which is "remitting". So maybe earlier when I asked about RENTAS the staff do not want to use the other system ? Only limit to 6 months tenure at 3.65% has no meaning lah.. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 13 2014, 04:17 PM) So SCB service NG ? SCB service is normal.Next time better to place FD in regular counter rather than RM will make life easier. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Nov 14 2014, 12:01 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 02:56 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) Banks that pay interest for non-working days OCBC Bank Rakyat UOB Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days May Bank Ambank RHB Public bank does not pay interest when FD matures on non working day. But when you make nose, the assistant branch manager or some times the counter girl upon checking with their immedate superiors will credit the interest. I have experienced twice and all get credited. Under category, non -voluntary credit interest unless appeal? |
Nov 14 2014, 08:06 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
hahaha yeah, these are the banks that make you fight & beg for it. If BR & UOB can make that simple program change (if holiday, then goto next working day), I can't accept the others not doing the same. It's the honorable thing to do lah, why make ppl beg & fight for it? Or in the case of our general, threaten to complain to bnm
Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM) That we also heard but need confirmation from those using it before. Google it but there is just cutoff time for same day transfer. Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience.Maybe previously IBG (giro) needs longer time frame but now IBG is also same day transfer with respect to cutoff times. So wonder whether it is still relevant for normal customers. Maybe our bro cherroy can shed some light. But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. |
Nov 14 2014, 08:28 AM
18,429 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM) Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience. I think IBG done over the counter has no limit.But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. |
Nov 14 2014, 08:43 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM) Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience. IBG OTC used to have limit, I think 1-2 years ago. I remembered I was forced to use Rentas because of the limit. Genx-x has recently rightly pointed out the limit has changed to RM1 million for IBGBut now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. |
Nov 14 2014, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) Let's start from here now, will post it on front page... Ah Boom Sir, remember SCB NOT paying interest for non-working day ? Banks that pay interest for non-working days OCBC Bank Rakyat UOB Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days May Bank Ambank RHB QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) Ya loh, they know their 6 mth rate is not competitive. QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM) Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience. When RENTAS was created, it was meant for large sum of money xfer and guaranteed within same day before cut off time (12.30pm ?). Years later this has changed. IBG xfer limit probably has changed to a much bigger sum. But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. When I did RENTAS in UOB last year, the staff still say have to do before cut-off time, if not cannot guarantee within same day. I guess difference between RENTAS and IBG is the word "guarantee". But so far, my experience with IBG online is they are received per time shown on the table (diff cut-off time). As I used CB as receiver bank most of the time, I will be informed when fund appear in my acct by SMS. That is how I double check the time of receipt though there are slight delays in the SMS This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 08:51 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM) Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience. Thanks bro. But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already. Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info. Am in Bank Rakyat trying to perform Rentas, initial reaction staff extremely unhappy. However I regard this as a learning experience and will update the process later. |
Nov 14 2014, 09:47 AM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 14 2014, 08:43 AM) IBG OTC used to have limit, I think 1-2 years ago. I remembered I was forced to use Rentas because of the limit. Genx-x has recently rightly pointed out the limit has changed to RM1 million for IBG RM1m is the highest limit allowed by IBG system but most banks set the upper limit for OTC IBG to RM500k. If want to transfer say RM700k, must IBG two times.As for Rentas, my experience was almost immediately remitted. Not really real time. Maybe due to bank officer processes. By the way, orang kaya detected. OTC IBG limit can not meet his remittance requirement. |
Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 13 2014, 11:14 PM) okuribito's idea is a good idea.. Admiral Sir, below was what. I reported earlier.Let's start from here now, will post it on front page... Banks that pay interest for non-working days OCBC Bank Rakyat UOB Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days May Bank Ambank RHB QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 13 2014, 02:24 PM) Bro, for MBB, the cert may not state the next working day as maturity date unlike UOB and OCBC which are statement based and sometimes for 1 year tenure it can be 364 days. But this does not mean MBB won't pay you interest for the non-working days, i.e. your cert date in on a Saturday and you only can go to the bank on Monday, therefore MBB will still pay you the 2 days interest. As far as I know, MBB do pay interest for the non-working days if you go uplift on the next following day. However, the teller may not include this extra days interest if system not shown. So, what you should do is ask him/her to refer to the officer and they will adjust it. As for Public Bank, I have repeated several time that they will try to cheat us. Only after I met with the Service Manager (teller and officer insisted I be penalized as shown in their system!) and requested her to refer to HQ or else I will complain to BNM, only she called HQ and then PBB only paid me the interest for the non-working days. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 12 2014, 06:25 PM) So now you are auto-renewing your FD for a month. After u are back from Australia will then do the FD musical chair thingy. hahaha, you point out the "Key Phrases" for me, over time I can do an Index. What dirty words you talking about? It's part of the human anatomy! hahahaJust finished reading your blog. "Chiak Pa Tan Si", interesting ! Key phrase: Why work to make other people rich Spending children's inheritance Yes, decided from now on will instruct all new FDs to be auto renewed for a month. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 14 2014, 08:48 AM) When I did RENTAS in UOB last year, the staff still say have to do before cut-off time, if not cannot guarantee within same day. I guess difference between RENTAS and IBG is the word "guarantee". But so far, my experience with IBG online is they are received per time shown on the table (diff cut-off time). As I used CB as receiver bank most of the time, I will be informed when fund appear in my acct by SMS. That is how I double check the time of receipt though there are slight delays in the SMS RENTAS also got cut-off time but I don't know what time because I prefer to get bankers cheque. The best just go to the bank in the morning and complete either RENTAS or IBG before 12.30pm, guaranteed money will be credited same day. |
Nov 14 2014, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM) hahaha, you point out the "Key Phrases" for me, over time I can do an Index. What dirty words you talking about? It's part of the human anatomy! hahaha Hokkien has a lot of interesting phrase which became popular by Taiwanese TV soap's. Of course the human anatomy part not used in the TV shows. QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM) RENTAS also got cut-off time but I don't know what time because I prefer to get bankers cheque. The best just go to the bank in the morning and complete either RENTAS or IBG before 12.30pm, guaranteed money will be credited same day. I also prefer banker's cheque. That time in UOB as was trying to get the promo rate of new fund. So terminate one FD, used cheque for the new FD. As amt is slightly big (exceed my OD limit), just want to make sure cheque clearance not an issue on the same day. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 14 2014, 10:14 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 10:29 AM
Update on RENTAS at Bank Rakyat.
Not having the experience of using RENTAS plus lack of info on the net, so decided to perform it on one of my FD upliftment at Bank Rakyat. Staff at the bank rebuffed me on the use of the facilty so left with no choice, i called their customer service, after a bit of my stern lecture, customer service facilitate by arranging with my branch.Was informed cutoff time before 11 am contrary to existing info. Went to the branch, immediately saw unhappy faces at the counter and backoffice. Counter officer informed me that normally only allowed for fund over 300k, that is questionable, but this time i let it be. However , need to write request letter to bank on the spot requesting to RENTAS my fund to receipient bank. No standard form means , maybe, i am the first individual to use that facility. RENTAS is immediate real time transfer. How i know ? Immediately after being handed the transfer statement, i login my receipient bank and available total in full is shown. Summon bbgoat How much it cost ? Nil or RM0.00 , maybe due to FD upliftment or maybe officers afraid I will lodge further complain. This post has been edited by magika: Nov 14 2014, 10:32 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 10:48 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 14 2014, 10:29 AM) Update on RENTAS at Bank Rakyat. Standard RENTAS charge could be RM 2. Some bank used to charge it for RM 4.Not having the experience of using RENTAS plus lack of info on the net, so decided to perform it on one of my FD upliftment at Bank Rakyat. Staff at the bank rebuffed me on the use of the facilty so left with no choice, i called their customer service, after a bit of my stern lecture, customer service facilitate by arranging with my branch.Was informed cutoff time before 11 am contrary to existing info. Went to the branch, immediately saw unhappy faces at the counter and backoffice. Counter officer informed me that normally only allowed for fund over 300k, that is questionable, but this time i let it be. However , need to write request letter to bank on the spot requesting to RENTAS my fund to receipient bank. No standard form means , maybe, i am the first individual to use that facility. RENTAS is immediate real time transfer. How i know ? Immediately after being handed the transfer statement, i login my receipient bank and available total in full is shown. Summon bbgoat How much it cost ? Nil or RM0.00 , maybe due to FD upliftment or maybe officers afraid I will lodge further complain. This post has been edited by David83: Nov 14 2014, 10:49 AM |
Nov 14 2014, 10:50 AM
18,429 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:21 AM |