Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

MGM
post Oct 10 2014, 03:02 PM

18,399 posts

went to 2 MBB branches, both at best can offer 3.7percent. Higher or islamic rate
already met qouta, took them 50min to check. Must wait until new quota. Lots of bull. Got tricked and lose 3 days interest cos can't make it to other banks.
MGM
post Oct 10 2014, 11:29 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Oct 10 2014, 07:13 PM)
Actually I uplifted my FD from UOB today by Cashier's Order to make a new placement in MBB for the 3-month promo but ended with nothing and instead had to deposit the cheque into my MBB CA for clearance, wasting the weekend interest.
I better be going back to UOB on Monday for the 3-month 3.80% p.a. as I do not think there is a better rate anywhere else for
3-month FD.  hmm.gif
Any bank that open on weekend and also offering high FD rates? MBB, UOB, Ambank or SCB?

After checking MBB-JB opens on Sat, OCBC-TmnMolek Sat&Sun, Ambank-most branches in JB open on 1st&last Sun.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 11 2014, 12:09 AM
MGM
post Oct 11 2014, 11:54 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(pinpinmiao @ Oct 11 2014, 12:45 AM)

KFH

13 Months effective rate 4.09% Minimum RM10k

26 Months effective rate 4.49% Minimum RM25k

rclxms.gif
4.09% interest is for 13months not converted to effective rate per annum yet. Should be about 3.78%. 26month fd should be 4.15%/pa.
MGM
post Oct 11 2014, 12:29 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 11 2014, 12:21 PM)

My calculation is 3.76% for 13 mths FD and 4.10% (4.098%) for the 26 mths one.  smile.gif
Interest pay out periodically? My calculation based on interest compounded.
MGM
post Oct 13 2014, 11:28 PM

18,399 posts

two under the counter MBB's FD offers:
3.95% for 3m FD min 50K. Must be cheque from the 3 'banks' in one lump sum, cannot combine with cash or other banks's cheque.

4% 12m islamic FD with interest paid upfront, giving effective rates of 4.16%.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 13 2014, 11:28 PM
MGM
post Oct 14 2014, 12:18 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 13 2014, 11:53 PM)
For the islamic FD promo, the fund must come from the 3 banks too?
My RHB cheque was short of a couple of thousands and was not allowed to topup with cash but was counter offered the 4% which I didn't explore further cos was running out of time to rush to SCB for the 4.25% promo.
MGM
post Oct 14 2014, 05:17 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 14 2014, 05:01 PM)
I just came back from a MBB branch instead of Premier Wealth Centre or Premier Wealth Lounge (I got no idea what is the diff between PWC and PWL), and too bad did not manage to catch your earlier reply to my post.

Asked the MBB staff at reception counter and was shown the FD promos reported here. When I asked her about 4% Islamic Upfront, she had no idea and referred me to an Officer. When I saw the Officer, I immediately asked about 4% Islamic Term Deposit. She asked me how I knew about it, I said from friend. She then asked me I'm depositing cash (I was dressed like a VCD seller - wearing T-Shirt, slippers and having a sling bag, hahahaha) or funds from which bank? I said any bank also can (as if), then she said how about CIMB, aiyah, that bank I have no account  doh.gif , hahaha. So, I said I have RHB, she then only disclose that there is indeed a 4% upfront Islamic Term Deposit for funds from RHB, CIMB and MBSB.

Anyway, I asked the Officer how the 4% works. She said the dividend will be credited into CASA immediately. I then asked what if my cheque have yet to be cleared (I was under the impression that I can use my Personal RHB Cheque but did not confirm if this was possible), she said she will hold the cert for 2 days (which means she is aware I 'm using Personal Cheque because if I were to give her RHB Banker's Cheque, sure okay ma).

Now, Bro, like I said, I should have read your post earlier about the RHB thingy. Now have to go reconfirm if my personal RHB cheque can or not. I guess maybe I will go to MBB Premier Wealth Lounge Centre (PWL) tomorrow and check it out because the branch I went to said no penalty fees if AUM falls below required amount. And based on what you said, I will also take my RHB PB Cheque Book to show proof I have RHB account and see using HLB Banker's Cheque can or not. Well, the plus side is now I have something to do for tomorrow  tongue.gif

And on behalf of all here who are going to enjoy "under the counter" 4% upfront from MBB, a BIG thank you to MGM.

zenquix - my report above may or may not be useful to you.
Captain, u are welcome. I actually brought a RHB bankdraft to MBB for the 4% FD deal but was told it will still two days to clear eventhough I told them it is as good as cash.
MGM
post Oct 14 2014, 05:28 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 14 2014, 05:20 PM)
The 3 mth 3.95% MBB promo, can you confirm again ?  smile.gif
I went to MBB Damansara Utama last Friday and yesterday and was offered this promo but finally chose SCB 4.25%.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 14 2014, 05:29 PM
MGM
post Oct 15 2014, 02:10 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 15 2014, 12:26 PM)
Upfront interest paid immediately! this is something new to me! So, you can rollover the interest paid to another FD. A bit of a hassle to open another FD. I will try UOB then.
No hassle and u can do it in 1 FD.

Say u have rm104000 cash but want to keep about rm4000 for expenditure.

Put in rm104000 in 4% FD and get rm4160 interest paid upfront for expenditure, 1 time FD only.
Instead of put rm100k in 1st FD then take the interest of rm4k as 2nd FD. Almost same result, I think.
MGM
post Oct 20 2014, 09:32 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 20 2014, 08:52 PM)
Bro, last time I uplifted OCBC FD, no fee for Banker's Cheque if payable to myself.
Me too, few months ago.
MGM
post Oct 28 2014, 02:46 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 27 2014, 04:50 PM)
There is another advantage of 6 + 6 months rollover as 1 year FD (compared to straight 1 year FD), ie. you can withdraw when the 6 months maturity due, and decided not to rollover (if there is better rate after 6 months time), get the 3.83%, then withdraw, and opt to use the fund for other FD or other purpose.

But it is very unlikely u can get a better rate than "6month 4.28% FD" after the first 6 months.
MGM
post Nov 14 2014, 08:28 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2014, 08:13 AM)
Yes, there is cut off before about noon time to enable Rentas to credit in the same time based on experience.

But now, IBG if done early in the morning, late afternoon already credit into the account already.

Just IBG has max limit of 10~20K generally, so if bigger amount still has to do with Rentas. Correct me if I am wrong or slow in update the info.
I think IBG done over the counter has no limit.
MGM
post Nov 14 2014, 10:50 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 14 2014, 10:48 AM)
Standard RENTAS charge could be RM 2. Some bank used to charge it for RM 4.
Once I was charged rm9 for rentas, but can't remember which bank.
MGM
post Nov 16 2014, 08:49 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 15 2014, 07:25 PM)
For those who placed extra money in KWSP.
KWSP proposed that that eligibility to withdraw at age 55 to be extended until age 60.
According to deputy CEO of KWSP, this is in line with the gov policy of new retirement age of 60.
It was in the news since 2012 but now in the news again.
Mampus lah. Don't know whether can withdraw those funds under "Self Contribution" anytime or it will be stuck there until 60yo.
MGM
post Nov 18 2014, 03:40 PM

18,399 posts

After reading the ringgitplus promo, came straight to ocbc DU to deposit 10k for 12months. Hopefully i am in the first 200.
MGM
post Nov 19 2014, 12:27 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Nov 18 2014, 04:36 PM)
I just did the same, but it was weird that when I entered my new IC number, the Ringgit Plus sign-up form
did not recognize my new IC number, then I entered my old IC number, then it worked..  doh.gif

Now received email from Ringgit Plus, but no SMS from Ringgit Plus yet..
Don't know how soon can receive SMS.. Did you receive SMS?

Sorry just read your question. I received the SMS a few minutes after completed Ringgitplus signup form. At first it didn't recognise my new ic with the '-' in between so I entered without '-' and was accepted. You need the SMS to show it to OCBC for the deal.
MGM
post Nov 19 2014, 12:34 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2014, 01:45 PM)
didnt see any posting about this, here this goes smile.gif

Thanks for this info, hopefully I am not too late for the Air Steriliser. Put in rm10k to get interest of rm410 + the Medklinn, very good deal indeed.

This post has been edited by MGM: Nov 19 2014, 12:37 AM
MGM
post Nov 19 2014, 08:29 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 19 2014, 08:26 AM)
An update on using online IBFT (instant version of IBG) to transfer FD interest from RHB. It is immediate  transfer to CB. Logged in to CB and saw it just seconds later. Now I am a believer. The cost is 80 cents vs normal online IBG of 10 cents. Worth it if we need the funds. Other banks charges is different for IBFT.
That's cheap. What is the limit/day?
MGM
post Nov 20 2014, 02:08 PM

18,399 posts

Wonder how does Ringgitplus makes money by burning money first?

The MedKlinn Asens Air Sterilizer's N.P is rm599 & Offers at rm389. If qualifies for it, rm10000 FD give returns of rm410+rm389, almost 8%.

http://www.medklinnstore.com/product_info_901003-100001.htm

This post has been edited by MGM: Nov 20 2014, 02:22 PM
MGM
post Nov 20 2014, 08:40 PM

18,399 posts

公積金派息料超過6.35% (EPF dividend will probably be more than 6.35%)

http://www.chinapress.com.my/node/578665

0.0683sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:43 PM