Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

magika
post Oct 24 2014, 12:22 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 24 2014, 10:49 AM)
You are very modest !  notworthy.gif

From the ideas and actions you have taken, you seem to be a seasoned person on FD. So do post more to share your ideas.  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif

The Captain has been on/off and travelling for sometime now. So he should post more to share on his unique style and insights !  rclxms.gif

Ah Boom has been good "at running a tight ship" (as you put it). So other than burning midnight oil (still doing that ?), do post more as well !  rclxms.gif

Not forgetting our good guy Magician, Moderator to be and other unnamed contributors .................. tongue.gif
All leng lui you will reply immediately. laugh.gif Make sure you dont get suspended by moderators wannabes.

I was at HLB yesterday but only noticed placard for 15 mths / 3 mths fd. Premier Banking was empty of staff and customers. I got a feeling that this must be the most unfriendly bank with nobody minding you.

TSGen-X
post Oct 24 2014, 12:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kyenli @ Oct 24 2014, 09:30 AM)
Hi there,

When they say fresh fund, can I use RM10k from Bank A to put into FD Bank B but the next day, transfer RM10k from Bank B to Bank A?
Yes, that's fresh fund, but why not do it on the same day? And by the way, what method you intend to transfer the fund? Cash or Banker's Cheque?

QUOTE(smile888 @ Oct 24 2014, 11:57 AM)
Hi everyone, how do you all manage to quickly dump in money into fd from one bank to another? wouldnt you all be losing the previous bank fd interest which at the end of the day you dont really benefit much from the new fd in other bank?
Not if you do it on the same day or even few days later. Say you like go to the bank after 2 days e.g. after getting banker's cheque from Bank A, you only got time to go to Bank B on Day 3, it will be still worthwhile to go move your funds. Go do the math, for example say Principal RM100K, HSBC 12 months board rate 3.25% versus UOB Promo interest rate 4.05% and you will find that you'll be richer by more than RM750 after 367 days if you go with UOB Promo rate.

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 24 2014, 12:22 PM)
All leng lui you will reply  immediately. laugh.gif  Make sure you dont get suspended by moderators wannabes.

I was at HLB yesterday but only noticed placard for 15 mths / 3 mths fd. Premier Banking was empty of staff and customers. I got a feeling that this must be the most unfriendly bank with nobody minding you.
haha, leng lui sure we entertain mah. As for wannabe Mod, they got no power to suspend anyone tongue.gif

There are many HLB Priority Banking centres and if you are not a regular, they are not so friendly. The other day I went to a HLB Priority Banking centre and ask the teller if I must take a Q number. Both the tellers look at me in a funny way (normal lah, I'm ususally dressed like a VCD seller, wearing T-shirt, slippers with sling bag). One teller then ask for my NRIC so they can check with their system if I got Priority Banking status. Only after checking she entertained me and was then nicer to me and even tried to persuade me to stick with them when they found out the amount I was withdrawing.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 24 2014, 12:52 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 24 2014, 12:50 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 24 2014, 12:22 PM)
Must be you complain too much la, good guy ! brows.gif

Recently I got food tray given for FD placed in HLB. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 24 2014, 12:41 PM)

haha, leng lui sure we entertain mah. As for wannabe Mod, they got no power to suspend anyone  tongue.gif

There are many HLB Priority Banking centres and if you are not a regular, they are not so friendly. The other day I went to a HLB Priority Banking centre and ask the teller if I must take a Q number. Both the tellers look at me in a funny way (normal lah, I'm ususally dressed like a VCD seller, wearing T-shirt, slippers with sling bag). One teller then ask for my NRIC so they can check with their system if I got Priority Banking status. Only after checking she entertained me and was then nicer to me and even tried to persuade me to stick with them when they found out the amount I was withdrawing.
Actually I am not sure if she is a she except Captain mentioned "sis" in earlier post.

For HLB, showing the priority debit card will be sufficient instead of showing the ic for them to check. I use it to jump queue and go straight to the PB counter (normal branch not PB branch of HLB). smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 24 2014, 12:58 PM
magika
post Oct 24 2014, 02:03 PM

2,612 posts

You dont happen to wear eye patch tongue.gif
If you placed people in front of banking hall, then must make sure they entertain customers lah.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 24 2014, 12:50 PM)
Must be you complain too much la, good guy !  brows.gif

Recently I got food tray given for FD placed in HLB.  rclxms.gif
Actually I am not sure if she is a she except Captain mentioned "sis" in earlier post.

For HLB, showing the priority debit card will be sufficient instead of showing the ic for them to check. I use it to jump queue and go straight to the PB counter (normal branch not PB branch of HLB).  smile.gif
She is the originator of the famous "musical chair" quote, you no respect like a common leng lui. vmad.gif
Nowadays i am very kiasi of being Priority / Premier Banking, as the RMs usually try to waste my time promoting their products.

Captain called everybody sis or bro as he is actually a very young man.

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 24 2014, 02:04 PM
sylille
post Oct 25 2014, 12:08 AM

45 posts

haha, leng lui sure we entertain mah. As for wannabe Mod, they got no power to suspend anyone  tongue.gif
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 24 2014, 12:50 PM)
Must be you complain too much la, good guy !  brows.gif

Recently I got food tray given for FD placed in HLB.  rclxms.gif

For HLB, showing the priority debit card will be sufficient instead of showing the ic for them to check. I use it to jump queue and go straight to the PB counter (normal branch not PB branch of HLB).  smile.gif
QUOTE(magika @ Oct 24 2014, 02:03 PM)
You dont happen to wear eye patch tongue.gif
If you placed people in front of banking hall, then must make sure they entertain customers lah.
She is the originator of the famous "musical chair" quote, you no respect like a common leng lui. vmad.gif
Nowadays i am very kiasi of being Priority / Premier Banking, as the RMs usually try to waste my time promoting their products.

Captain called everybody sis or bro as he is actually a very young man.
Guys, u hv not heard of "Hell has no fury like a woman's wrath."? So don't mess around with lenglui Flo. Once her probation over you better watch out tongue.gif

Aiyah, Captain Gen-X not piloting pirate ship so don't need eye-patch to enhance his image. He is really a v nice n respectful young man. I am v thankful he called me 'Sis' instead of 'Auntie'. Very flattered u guys, young enough to be my little bros, r calling me lenglui. Actually, I am an ex-lenglui who now totes a pension card to get senior citizen's privileges from banks. laugh.gif

Those Priorty or Privelege banking nowadays r really rubbish. Majority of the RMs r like buayas. They sulk n won't layan u anymore when u tak hui their sales pitch once too often. Despite serving us brand-name coffee/tea their brew still leave a bitter after-taste. Even their gifts, if u r priveleged enough to receive them, r sub-par. BBG, hope the tray from HLB is worth ur time n effort (like having to ask for it?).

Sorry Flo, know its OT. Hope u will just let it slip this time. Will keep mum after this post smile.gif

bbgoat
post Oct 25 2014, 08:43 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Oct 25 2014, 12:08 AM)
Guys, u hv not heard of "Hell has no fury like a woman's wrath."? So don't mess around with lenglui Flo. Once her probation over you better watch out tongue.gif

Aiyah, Captain Gen-X not piloting pirate ship so don't need eye-patch to enhance his image.  He is really a v nice n respectful young man. I am v thankful he called me 'Sis' instead of 'Auntie'. Very flattered u guys, young enough to be my little bros, r calling me lenglui. Actually, I am an ex-lenglui who now totes a pension card to get senior citizen's privileges from banks. laugh.gif

Those Priorty or Privelege  banking nowadays r really rubbish. Majority of the RMs r like buayas. They sulk n won't layan u anymore when u tak hui their sales pitch once too often. Despite serving us brand-name coffee/tea their brew still leave a bitter after-taste. Even their gifts, if u r priveleged enough to receive them, r sub-par. BBG, hope the tray from HLB is worth ur time n effort (like having to ask for it?).

Sorry Flo, know its OT. Hope u will just let it slip this time. Will keep mum after this post smile.gif
The extraordinary "touch" or persona you gave to this forum is unique. Reminds me of the ET reaching out ................ Very moving. notworthy.gif

Don't keep mum lah, give us more posts and your unique (ET) touch. rclxms.gif

I dislike RM to the extent I have turned down offer to be PB customers and stay as normal for some banks. The so called "gift" are more often not really worth the value. But when I ask for gift it is not to the extent of "effort", ha ha ! Why waste effort to get sub standard gift ? tongue.gif Most of the time the bank will give out without being asked. There is one bank calling me to collect the "gift" but I will only do it when I am going there to do my banking needs. biggrin.gif

Anyway, sis, give us more posts ........................ rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
magika
post Oct 25 2014, 11:20 AM

2,612 posts

Oh, its not aimed at Ah Flo, our favourite lenglui. wub.gif

Pension card can get what benefit ? So you are formerly gomen servant? In the papers today, it seems customers deposit are at an alltime low. No wonder all the banks scrambling for deposit in compliance with Basel requirements. Hope the promos will continue as have FDs maturing next month until next January.
giko
post Oct 25 2014, 11:42 AM

376 posts

rate hike imminent?

"...banks may need to more aggressively compete against one another for short and medium term deposits."

Source = http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ures/?style=biz
nexona88
post Oct 25 2014, 04:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

Expect more promo for FD & deposits from banks..

deposit growth is near 3 year low, banks need to get more money @ deposits ASAP whistling.gif
munkeyflo
post Oct 25 2014, 08:23 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Hi there,

When they say fresh fund, can I use RM10k from Bank A to put into FD Bank B but the next day, transfer RM10k from Bank B to Bank A?
This means that you got 20k all together right? You can do it on the same day like Captain said, since you already got the funds to put in.

QUOTE(smile888 @ Oct 24 2014, 11:57 AM)
Hi everyone, how do you all manage to quickly dump in money into fd from one bank to another? wouldnt you all be losing the previous bank fd interest which at the end of the day you dont really benefit much from the new fd in other bank?
Most of us wait till our FD is mature only we jump to the other bank. We won't lose out on interest that way. If you uplift early, then of course you'll lose out on the interest. Which is why some of us are also placing FDs in shorter tenure, so won't miss out on certain promos. laugh.gif

QUOTE(sylille @ Oct 25 2014, 12:08 AM)

Aiyah, Captain Gen-X not piloting pirate ship so don't need eye-patch to enhance his image.  He is really a v nice n respectful young man. I am v thankful he called me 'Sis' instead of 'Auntie'. Very flattered u guys, young enough to be my little bros, r calling me lenglui. Actually, I am an ex-lenglui who now totes a pension card to get senior citizen's privileges from banks. laugh.gif

Those Priorty or Privelege  banking nowadays r really rubbish. Majority of the RMs r like buayas. They sulk n won't layan u anymore when u tak hui their sales pitch once too often. Despite serving us brand-name coffee/tea their brew still leave a bitter after-taste. Even their gifts, if u r priveleged enough to receive them, r sub-par. BBG, hope the tray from HLB is worth ur time n effort (like having to ask for it?).

Eh eh, don't mind me. I got no power here at all. Just another random forumer posting on FD thread like you all. tongue.gif

Ya I agree those Privillege banking nowadays always give sales pitch only. But sometimes still get special parking and also special service from some of them, just have to constantly say no to their sales pitch. biggrin.gif
gsc
post Oct 26 2014, 12:56 AM

1,624 posts

Hi there,

The usual sequence is transfer from A to B first and then płace FD at A. This usually done at the same time before 12 noon within the same day with personal cheque. I believe this is the most efficient way.

Certain bank allowed you to pre-sign the documents 1-2 days earlier before mature day if you happen unable to go to the bank on mature day.
Lineage
post Oct 26 2014, 08:28 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Good morning guys..

Interested to place my extra money into fixed deposit..after browse through first page..seems a bit confusing..there are so many options..

What I have is RM10k and I wish to put for 12 months..

UOB Pure FD, valid from 1st September to 30th November 2014 - (New added by nomen on 10 October)
(1) 3 Months - 3.80% p.a.
(2) 12 Months - 4.05% p.a.
Min. placement 10K

Is UOB FD is the best option for me at the moment? Or any other suggestion beside this one? Any reason why I cant find it at their website? Mostly good FD rate information only available when we walk into bank?

Appreciate for sifu here that willing to share as this is my first time to do FD.. wink.gif
bbgoat
post Oct 26 2014, 09:39 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 26 2014, 08:28 AM)
Good morning guys..

Interested to place my extra money into fixed deposit..after browse through first page..seems a bit confusing..there are so many options..

What I have is RM10k and I wish to put for 12 months..
Is UOB FD is the best option for me at the moment? Or any other suggestion beside this one? Any reason why I cant find it at their website? Mostly good FD rate information only available when we walk into bank?

Appreciate for sifu here that willing to share as this is my first time to do FD..  wink.gif
For 10k and 12 mths FD, UOB is the best at the moment, I think. But if you don't mind non PIDM, BR is 4.1%. smile.gif
Lineage
post Oct 26 2014, 10:40 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 26 2014, 09:39 AM)
For 10k and 12 mths FD, UOB is the best at the moment, I think. But if you don't mind non PIDM, BR is 4.1%.  smile.gif
Thanks for ur reply..normally how u all do transfer from 1 bank to 1 bank? Use banker's cheque? Or what else method can be use?

munkeyflo
post Oct 26 2014, 10:43 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 26 2014, 10:40 AM)
Thanks for ur reply..normally how u all do transfer from 1 bank to 1 bank? Use banker's cheque? Or what else method can be use?
Bankers cheque would be good. If you have a personal cheque book then you can use your personal cheque as well.
besiegetank
post Oct 26 2014, 01:56 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 26 2014, 10:40 AM)
Easiest and cheapest of course is to withdraw cash but it will be riskier tongue.gif

Else use cheque or interbank transfer.
Ramjade
post Oct 26 2014, 01:58 PM

24,339 posts

Few noob question :

1. What is the difference between banker's cheque and normal cheque?
2. How long does it takes to clear a banker cheque? (same day or extra few more days)?
3. If someone hold you at knife point and you have a banker's cheque, can they take your money? (I heard like banker's cheque is like blank cheque like that. Not sure true oe not)

Sorry for asking noob questions
SUSDavid83
post Oct 26 2014, 04:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 26 2014, 01:58 PM)
Few noob question :

1. What is the difference between banker's cheque and normal cheque?
2. How long does it takes to clear a banker cheque? (same day or extra few more days)?
3. If someone hold you at knife point and you have a banker's cheque, can they take your money? (I heard like banker's cheque is like blank cheque like that. Not sure true oe not)

Sorry for asking noob questions
Normal cheque: Personal cheque issued by the current account holder

Banker's cheque: Bank is issuing the the cheque instead

Technically there's no difference for the cheque clearance time.

This post has been edited by David83: Oct 26 2014, 04:53 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 26 2014, 05:00 PM

24,339 posts

How about security wise? (is it like a blank check - so if anyone hold you at knife point, that can write how much they want to withdraw from your account )

True or not? The above
woonsc
post Oct 26 2014, 05:01 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 26 2014, 05:00 PM)
How about security wise? (is it like a blank check - so if anyone hold you at knife point,  that can write how much they want to withdraw from your account ) 

True or not? The above
account $0, got blank check also no use..
bounce looo

124 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:22 AM