125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

vincentlee90
post Aug 22 2014, 01:58 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 22 2014, 11:18 AM)
Sounds like it. New E mount lenses. Does the A6000 and A7 use E mount? I don't know. Haven't been following the latest for awhile. sweat.gif If yes then new Zeiss lenses for them.
yes. both A7 and A6000 is E-mount camera. the difference in between A7 and A6000 is A7 is full frame, thus named FE lenses, whereas A6000 is APS-C sensor camera
hazril
post Aug 22 2014, 02:32 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 22 2014, 10:23 AM)
Anyone has experience using this white balance lens cap? Are they good for custom white balance? And can it also use as a lens cap for protection? I also worried it may not fit on my lens/filter as I read somewhere people saying some third party lens cap won't fit into their lens.

http://www.lazada.com.my/generic-white-bal...7mm-527670.html
what for spend so much when u can buy a piece of A4 paper?or better yet buy those styrofoam like thingy at stationery shop...forgot what's called...make a bounce card for it and it doubles up as a white card...
nk3371
post Aug 22 2014, 02:48 PM

4 only ah?
536 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 22 2014, 01:09 PM)
That said the A7 lens catalogue for "proper" shooting (read: commercial shooting needing use of AF, OSS and stuff) is kinda sad, especially if you don't have the AF motor Alpha mount adapter. Not many first party FF lenses and even less third party stuff (which is bad news for a starving hobbyist like me).

Sure, there's the basic Sony stuff and the handful of Zeisses, but that's about it. Compare that with the long list of EF and FX lenses and you'll know what I mean.

It's actually sadder then during my A200 days, even when we used to moan about lens choice all the time. Back then we could easily get screw focus Minolta lenses because AF motor was in-body. And there was even more Minolta lenses than you could shake a stick at.

However, if you got the A7 to shoot manual lenses for fun it's a different story lol. Or if you don't mind using the slightly bulky LA-EA4, there's still those beautiful, beautiful Minolta glass floating around - especially the ones made for film.

Like the Sony/Minolta 135mm STF. Oh the STF. Good lord liquid bokeh literally dripping everywhere (though technically the STF is an MF lens so the LA-EA3 or even a Metabones adapter would suffice already).

In the end, Sony's mirrorless FF lineup still has quite a lot of room to grow, so time will tell.

BTW, has anybody begged Tamron to do an E-mount 17-50/2.8 yet? Or Sigma with their 16-35/1.8. Now that I'm firmly set on the A6000 I need lenses for the darned thing.
U racun tak ingat punya with those A-mount lenses.
Makes me wanna buy LA-EA2 edy.. sweat.gif

Later after work might go to nearest Sony Centre tapau 50mm f/1.8.
Decided to go 50mm instead of 35mm at last.
I think I can work myself around the extra 15mm of that lens. tongue.gif
awiekupo
post Aug 22 2014, 02:58 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

This wraps up everything...
In short, I felt that FE lens is still very limited and using adapter might overkill the 'light/compact/small' factor of this A7.
And if this upcoming FF lens is meant for A6000 or even A5100 then I'll still get the same FF capability on even smaller body... right? feel free to correct yup...

That said the A7 lens catalogue for "proper" shooting (read: commercial shooting needing use of AF, OSS and stuff) is kinda sad, especially if you don't have the AF motor Alpha mount adapter. Not many first party FF lenses and even less third party stuff (which is bad news for a starving hobbyist like me).

Sure, there's the basic Sony stuff and the handful of Zeisses, but that's about it. Compare that with the long list of EF and FX lenses and you'll know what I mean.

It's actually sadder then during my A200 days, even when we used to moan about lens choice all the time. Back then we could easily get screw focus Minolta lenses because AF motor was in-body. And there was even more Minolta lenses than you could shake a stick at.

However, if you got the A7 to shoot manual lenses for fun it's a different story lol. Or if you don't mind using the slightly bulky LA-EA4, there's still those beautiful, beautiful Minolta glass floating around - especially the ones made for film.

Like the Sony/Minolta 135mm STF. Oh the STF. Good lord liquid bokeh literally dripping everywhere (though technically the STF is an MF lens so the LA-EA3 or even a Metabones adapter would suffice already).

In the end, Sony's mirrorless FF lineup still has quite a lot of room to grow, so time will tell.

BTW, has anybody begged Tamron to do an E-mount 17-50/2.8 yet? Or Sigma with their 16-35/1.8. Now that I'm firmly set on the A6000 I need lenses for the darned thing.
This post has been edited by awiekupo: Aug 22 2014, 03:08 PM
N9484640
post Aug 22 2014, 04:37 PM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 22 2014, 12:42 PM)
yup.. just afraid on this... hmm.. maybe time to sell A7? ANy taker?  tongue.gif
I dont understand what are you afraid of?
those Zeiss are full frame lenses meant for your A7. If you still want to sell, give me a PM if the price is low.
cause the new ones are very "cheap" at the moment wink.gif

N9484640
post Aug 22 2014, 04:43 PM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 22 2014, 02:58 PM)
This wraps up everything...
In short, I felt that FE lens is still very limited and using adapter might overkill the 'light/compact/small' factor of this A7.
And if this upcoming FF lens is meant for A6000 or even A5100 then I'll still get the same FF capability on even smaller body... right? feel free to correct yup...
FE is FF lah, they are the same.... FE is the official code. FF is fullframe. FE stands for Fullframe E-mount.
And if you use FE lenses on the A5000/A5100/A6000/Nex you lose nothing. The only draw back is the cost.
Having said that, in practice, nobody will put a full frame lens on their APS-C camera body

This post has been edited by N9484640: Aug 22 2014, 05:18 PM
Eiraku
post Aug 22 2014, 05:07 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 22 2014, 04:43 PM)
FE is FF lah, they are the same.... FE is the official code. FF is fullframe. FE stands for Fullframe E-mount.
And if you use FE lenses on the A5000/A5100/A6000/Nex you lose nothing. The only draw back is the cost.
And the weird lens ranges. Like 24-70 that covers a very... peculiar... range on apsc when it's actually very usable on FF.

That said, where are the 2.8 constant zooms? Even the 16-70z is f4 for that price. I'd rather have a compact 16-35/2.8 than that (Sigma/Tammy/Tokky please take note).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 22 2014, 05:37 PM
ieR
post Aug 22 2014, 05:18 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

guys, the talk about FE vs E is the same with Sony DT vs FF. its a pointless argument because everyone has their point of view and noone is wrong. they can use any range and design as their please because its their money and their style of photography. nothing wrong.

it is true due to limitation due to the short flange range(clearance), it is very difficult to make a lens that is wide open, to be small, and yet retain all sharpness. hence you will end up with very aperture limited lens. (dont start comparing fuji or leica, its a non stop argument)... but on smaller apcs sensor, the possibility is more, and its cheaper choice to go if one plan to grab many lens to enjoy.

btw anyone else going to the Sony Super Workshop? i gathered a few people into a small whatsapp group, its good to get to know each other before the trip then we wont feel too stranger at the workshop.
TSalbnok
post Aug 22 2014, 05:21 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

QUOTE(mikeis18 @ Aug 21 2014, 03:10 PM)
Hi bro, who's the guy bringing the Speedmaster? Interested to have a look see.
I got mine here:

http://famecherry.com/shop-with-us-2/essen...ter-50mm-f0-95/
TSalbnok
post Aug 22 2014, 05:23 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

I removed the rear baffle on my LA-EA1 and it's now a full-frame adapter. Works great with my STF and A7S. Well, in theory, because I've not... actually... assembled... this combo yet. Soon!
Eiraku
post Aug 22 2014, 05:36 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 22 2014, 05:23 PM)
I removed the rear baffle on my LA-EA1 and it's now a full-frame adapter. Works great with my STF and A7S. Well, in theory, because I've not... actually... assembled... this combo yet. Soon!
This.

STF samples on A7s stat!

BTW, good seeing you're still around bro... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 22 2014, 05:38 PM
bdrc
post Aug 22 2014, 05:48 PM

1,626 posts

One of the main advantage of NEX/a6k series, the flexibility to adapt.
Shot using Vivitar 135mm f/2.8
unedited image, straight out of camera

user posted imageDSC02864 by bdrc, on Flickr

Some cosplay picts:
Taken with NEX-6 and Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 D
+ Lightroom

user posted imageDSC02278 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imagedsc02507 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC02393 by bdrc, on Flickr

Newbieeeeee
post Aug 22 2014, 06:38 PM

:)
1,286 posts

I went into Sony Centre today to try the RX100 M3 as well as the A6000. Oh God why did I even walk in in the first place.. sweat.gif The A6000's AF is very impressive!
vincentlee90
post Aug 22 2014, 07:22 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 22 2014, 06:38 PM)
I went into Sony Centre today to try the RX100 M3 as well as the A6000. Oh God why did I even walk in in the first place.. sweat.gif The A6000's AF is very impressive!
that's why the whole world of sony user keep talking A6000 XD
lwliam
post Aug 22 2014, 07:32 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

10Aug2014_1172 by william leong, on Flickr

Sony SLT-A99V
24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM
ƒ/3.2 70.0 mm 1/80 125 Flash (off, did not fire)
vincentlee90
post Aug 22 2014, 09:38 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 22 2014, 07:32 PM)

Sony SLT-A99V
24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM
ƒ/3.2  70.0 mm 1/80  125 Flash (off, did not fire)
nice shot thumbup.gif
yok70
post Aug 22 2014, 10:09 PM

12,698 posts

From what we see Sony has been doing in past one year, I am quite confident that in one to two years time, FE lens collection will be more than enough for photographers.
In fact, for myself, current FE lenses are pretty good already. And I don't have so much money to buy so many lens at a short period of time anyways. FE 55 F1.8 for portrait, FE 24-70 F4 for gun and run shoot, FE 70-200 F4 for tele. I don't like heavy lens putting on Sony E series cameras, because E series is all bout lightweight and portability. If I want heavy duty production, I will prefer the D800 or 5D3 solution as you have the best AF and every lens you want there, and of course weight will be double or triple from a E mount solution. If we want a FE 70-200 F2.8 OSS lens, it will probably double the weight of the current F4 lens. What I wish to see the most for now is a 35mm F1.8-1.4, and a 85mm F1.8-1.4. After that, I'd like to see a 150-250mm F4-2.8 (that would be just a 1.6x zoom, much smaller than a 70-200's 2.85x, so that it can remain lightweight).

yok70
post Aug 22 2014, 10:15 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 22 2014, 07:32 PM)

Sony SLT-A99V
24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM
ƒ/3.2  70.0 mm 1/80  125 Flash (off, did not fire)
so cute this girl. tongue.gif
yok70
post Aug 22 2014, 10:16 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Aug 22 2014, 02:32 PM)
what for spend so much when u can buy a piece of A4 paper?or better yet buy those styrofoam like thingy at stationery shop...forgot what's called...make a bounce card for it and it doubles up as a white card...
I was wondering if it can be used as a lens cap since the price is same as a normal lens cap......as I need to buy a lens cap lately for a step up ND filter.

This post has been edited by yok70: Aug 22 2014, 10:18 PM
Eiraku
post Aug 22 2014, 10:44 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 22 2014, 10:09 PM)
From what we see Sony has been doing in past one year, I am quite confident that in one to two years time, FE lens collection will be more than enough for photographers.
In fact, for myself, current FE lenses are pretty good already. And I don't have so much money to buy so many lens at a short period of time anyways. FE 55 F1.8 for portrait, FE 24-70 F4 for gun and run shoot, FE 70-200 F4 for tele. I don't like heavy lens putting on Sony E series cameras, because E series is all bout lightweight and portability. If I want heavy duty production, I will prefer the D800 or 5D3 solution as you have the best AF and every lens you want there, and of course weight will be double or triple from a E mount solution. If we want a FE 70-200 F2.8 OSS lens, it will probably double the weight of the current F4 lens. What I wish to see the most for now is a 35mm F1.8-1.4, and a 85mm F1.8-1.4. After that, I'd like to see a 150-250mm F4-2.8 (that would be just a 1.6x zoom, much smaller than a 70-200's 2.85x, so that it can remain lightweight).
This is very true though. Plus an f4 lens on FF is technically already an f2.8 lens anyway (and an f2.8 lens is EVEN faster).

But yeah, we hobbyists tend to be a bit on the "tamak" side after all - we want want our cake and we want to eat it, and it really helps if the cake is delicious AND cheap.

A more varied third party line of options would be interesting though - and if Sony can hang on to the FE lens mount as a standard long enough, who knows, it might even happen.

I mean, it's been years since the A100 and they're still kicking fine.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 22 2014, 10:49 PM

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:53 AM