125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

Eiraku
post Sep 18 2014, 08:35 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Sep 18 2014, 06:02 PM)
Thanks. was looking for budget wide angle lens and mostly this budget ones are manual focus. Search some from google and few mention MF is enough.
looking at your reason, i have to rethink again my options.
It depends. How wide do you need it to be? If you need cheap wide with AF (and don't mind ONLY shooting JPEGs), the kitty already does 16mm. Or if you need it sharper (and need RAWs), the Sigma 19. Both are cheap.

Any wider and things get a bit more expensive.

As for AF vs MF, like Edpaul said, it depends. If you wanna do action/event with shallow DOF (like f2 or f4), yes you might be needing AF if you're not used to MF.

Juat remember though, a wide lens at F8 has a VERY WIDE DOF.

What that means is that if you set a wide lens for F8 and set it around infinity (check the DOF scale, if the lens has one), everything should theoretically be in focus right in front of you to the end of the horizon (infinity) - except things that are too close. So you don't really have to worry much about AF, unless you go for wider apertures.

Hence "F8 and be there". Google "hyperfocal distance" for more info.

edpaul Nice star trails BTW.

uraki Japan eh. So jeles wei.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 18 2014, 09:31 PM
awiekupo
post Sep 18 2014, 08:47 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

BW vs Colour.
Can anyone advise me which one is more suitable for this kind of shot?

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Sep 18 2014, 08:50 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 18 2014, 09:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2014, 08:47 PM)
BW vs Colour.
Do you need the color to tell the story? Or to define the subject?

In your case I prefer BW as it simplifies things.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 18 2014, 09:25 PM
vincentlee90
post Sep 18 2014, 09:28 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

BW vs Colour.

depends individual preference. maybe sepia feel better? haha
lwliam
post Sep 18 2014, 09:36 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 18 2014, 08:54 AM)
guys... im in a dilemma,

currently my gear is nex 5r, sigma 30mm f28 and kit lens 1650.

now im not sure whether should i get SEL16f2.8 or not for landscaping purpose. ive done some look around at flickr and none of the beautiful shot requires f2.8.

im still new to this. please help me.
your landscape shots would need more of f/8 - f/11

unless your purpose is to get the fisheye adapter with the 16/2.8, then I'd suggest you give it a skip. your current 16-50 kit lens will fare better

NightFelix
post Sep 18 2014, 09:43 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 17 2014, 11:48 PM)
Sony HVL-F32M - compact external flash designed for camera with hotshoe

now, sony had announced the HVL-F32M flash. for those who think 443M still bulky for mirrorless camera, may consider F32M  drool.gif
Got price tag? hmm.gif
vincentlee90
post Sep 18 2014, 09:45 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 18 2014, 09:43 PM)
Got price tag? hmm.gif
haven't give exactly price yet. perhaps RM699 or RM799 when launching?
Eiraku
post Sep 18 2014, 10:10 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:45 PM)
haven't give exactly price yet. perhaps RM699 or RM799 when launching?
Internet say Sony aims to price it at USD300. So we most prolly will be looking at RM999 when it comes over.

Hmm the i40...
vincentlee90
post Sep 18 2014, 11:38 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

hope to see u all at mid valley on 11am smile.gif
uraki
post Sep 19 2014, 12:14 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Sep 18 2014, 01:56 PM)
Did you take Sigma 19? I'm using that. Besides that, what's wrong with stopping down?
Wow.. Nice work! Feel inspired to break out my own 19
Thanks, I consider the Sigma 19mm and 30mm lens the best value lens for e mount. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 18 2014, 08:35 PM)
uraki Japan eh. So jeles wei.
Yes, taken in Norikura Kogen on new moon day, around 1500m above sea level.
No air pollution at all, I was able to see thousands of stars with just naked eyes.
Eiraku
post Sep 19 2014, 12:53 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Sep 19 2014, 12:14 AM)
Yes, taken in Norikura Kogen on new moon day, around 1500m above sea level.
No air pollution at all, I was able to see thousands of stars with just naked eyes.
Few years back when I went Japan I already sold my A200 lol... so stuck with film. Didn't manage to get as many pics as I wanted, but I did manage to get a few keepers.

That said, had no room to experiment much as, well, I would've had no idea how it would have turned out until I went to develop - which I has to do
back here (coz it soooo much cheaper). So I only took normal "safe" photos (which didn't really turn out well 100% anyway lol).

Anyway, random experiment for today - Exploring the shutter limits of handheld, environment-stabilized pics (aka no tripod, braced against some railing).

Could barely get up to 8 secs for now with OSS off (cause it actually makes the blurring worse in long exposures, apparently). Please forgive the motion blur and light ghosting though - I need to get better at bracing the camera on railings *and* remember to unscrew my cheapo UV filter when taking night pics.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 19 2014, 01:02 AM
yok70
post Sep 19 2014, 02:32 AM

12,698 posts

Did anyone buy things from this website before? Is it a reputable/reliable online store? Thanks.
http://www.ipmart.com.my/
nixonyang
post Sep 19 2014, 03:20 AM

757 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 19 2014, 02:32 AM)
Did anyone buy things from this website before? Is it a reputable/reliable online store? Thanks.
ya, bought non-camera related things. Fast and reliable.
Eiraku
post Sep 19 2014, 03:29 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Capture One 8 for Sony announced wooo. Free for Express, RM90+ for Pro. Full image/RAW processing + basic tethered shooting for less then a hundred woah... sure beats Lightroom 5 in price at least, especially if you only shoot Sony cams.

SOS: http://bit.ly/1DlW93V

Unfortunately no 32bit version for my poor Tablet but oh well.

Downloading the express trial to test first.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 19 2014, 03:34 AM
redlyfs
post Sep 19 2014, 09:03 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Sep 19 2014, 12:14 AM)
Thanks, I consider the Sigma 19mm and 30mm lens the best value lens for e mount.  thumbup.gif

I so agree. I'm fortunate to score the twin sigma deal at B&H for USD199. Been using 30mm as my everyday lens
redlyfs
post Sep 19 2014, 09:15 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 19 2014, 02:32 AM)
Shitty place. Bought twice from them.
On the 1st order, they listed an item as in stock but 3 days after payment still no word from then so I called. No one answered. I wrote email, spam their FB and still no one replied until 3 days later which is 6 days after payment. The guy told me item is not in stock and ask me to wait another week. Parcel only arrived 14 days later. Delivery from date of payment : 3+3+14 = 20days.

2nd time, a year later. Forgotten how shitty their service is. Ordered something, arrived 3weeks later. This time they didn't bother replying anything. Calls, emails, FB. No I didn't order during holidays and no the order tracking wasn't updated on their website

Just go check their FB to see how poor their service is. I know for sure they delete a lot of negative feedback. They used to have a review section but took it down after streaking countless negative reviews. The review is still listed on my own FB, if anyone wants proof just let me know.

One case where they delete comment is when someone bought a Xiaomi powerbank and claimed it was fake. He backed it with photos. IPMart rep had the balls to tell him that they never stated that it was branded "Xiaomi", the guy proceed to provide an invoice that clearly showed it is stated as Xiaomi. Then IPMart proceed to blame it on the vendor, which was weird since the way they claim that they never said it was branded Xiaomi insinuated that they themselves had control of their own product descriptions. I also have screenshots of this comments prior to deletion.

Later when I saw people had complaints unattended, I provided information and contact details for complaint center; IPMart blocked me off on FB. Seriously. Don't give them business. I'm just thankful I didn't receive fake product but shitty ass follow up and late delivery.

On another note, since on the topic, here's some people who can help you regarding online commercial crime.

SKMM / MCMC Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission
http://www.skmm.gov.my/
1800 888 030

KPDNKK Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism
http://e-aduan.kpdnkk.gov.my/eaduan/aduanbaru.php?lang=2
1800 886 800

PDRM Royal Malaysia Police department for Commercial Crime Investigation
http://www.ccid.my/
603-20319999 / 603-22663333

Screenshots of IPMart fake Xiaomi powerbank comment

EDIT : Wow, they also disabled Posts by Others.

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Sep 19 2014, 09:29 AM
saigetsu
post Sep 19 2014, 12:09 PM

707 posts

BW vs Colour.

how to make this kind of picture... teach me!
TSalbnok
post Sep 19 2014, 12:17 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 18 2014, 10:10 PM)
Internet say Sony aims to price it at USD300. So we most prolly will be looking at RM999 when it comes over.

Hmm the i40...
That's crazy given that it should be a step below the HVL-F43M, at a recommended retail price of RM999 (and street price of RM7xx).

If anything it should rightfully sit in between the HVL-F20AM/HVL-F20M and the HVL-F43M - I'd say street price of RM5xx-6xx.
Valentino46
post Sep 19 2014, 01:09 PM

638 posts

play with my a6000 with 16-70z for few weeks now
i don't know if anybody share my frustration but i felt sony a6000 were not designed by photographer but bunch of idiot engineers who knows nothing about photography and whose goals were just to crammed as much features into the camera as possible without really know how to use them

i'm no pro-photographer(nor wannabe).i'm jpeg shooters (no,don't suggest raw to me),and here's my quirks about a6000 that i hope fellow forumers can help me with

1) lock on focus (not tracking) work like shit, the camera doesn't respect your "lock-on" area,rather the lock square just resize,expand,contract and run away from your selected area according to its own mind,focus on off center subject is a pain in the arse with this camera. my 3 years old xz-1 has muuuuch better lock on focus than this shit

2) face detection feature will overwrite your chosen metering mode and switch to centre/spot weighted metering whenever it detect a face. you'll always end up with overexpose image if background is brighter than subject, auto exposure also become very erratic under this situation. none of my other old camera does this shit

3) soft skin features doesn't work with burst mode,happy pressing on shutter button and missing shots.my xz-1 does this with burst mode. it also doesn't work without face detection turn on,so happy overexpose and missing shots.

4) face detection lock on face 50% of the time if i'm lucky. camera phone does this better

5)flexible spot focus missing the lock on focus,unless u go in function menu to reactivate everytime u want to lock on something

6) power saving mode doesn't work with remote control turn on,why? can't i just set to longer sleep time if the concern is remote can't wake the camera up?

7) camera menu messy as cow shit

i don't understand sony has so many restriction on all their features
this is just part of my complain,has dozens more but i can't recall them all,wonder if anybody has any work around on this

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Sep 19 2014, 01:45 PM
avanpiper
post Sep 19 2014, 01:50 PM

165 posts

^ I'll let the sifus answer your complaints since I'm not pro. I have not much problem with my A6000 so far. Then again, I'm totally new to Sony system (jumping ship from Nikon) so I just learn the menu as a fresh newbie. Or maybe I'm not very particular about the things you mentioned.

But it'll be nice for the sifus to share their opinion.

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:33 PM