Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

saigetsu
post Sep 18 2014, 08:54 AM

707 posts

guys... im in a dilemma,

currently my gear is nex 5r, sigma 30mm f28 and kit lens 1650.

now im not sure whether should i get SEL16f2.8 or not for landscaping purpose. ive done some look around at flickr and none of the beautiful shot requires f2.8.

im still new to this. please help me.
saigetsu
post Sep 18 2014, 11:40 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Sep 18 2014, 11:28 AM)
You're right. None of the landscape shots requires f2.8, except for maybe shooting the Milky Way. But it's not something bad to have. You can't find a 16mm lens built specifically for the e-mount whose aperture starts at F8.0 anyway. But the SEL16F28 can be closed down to F8.0....
nex camera dont have bulb mode. so cannot take milkyway anyway
saigetsu
post Sep 18 2014, 11:52 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 18 2014, 11:50 AM)
are u serious???
i read from dpreview... yeah..
saigetsu
post Sep 18 2014, 12:08 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Sep 18 2014, 12:06 PM)
who needs bulb mode?i use M mode,aperture to widest,shutter set to 30seconds...play around with iso...
30 sec oso managed to get? got pic? what lense?
saigetsu
post Sep 18 2014, 02:26 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Sep 18 2014, 01:56 PM)
Did you take Sigma 19? I'm using that. Besides that, what's wrong with stopping down?
Wow.. Nice work! Feel inspired to break out my own 19
19 not wide enough for my liking....

saigetsu
post Sep 19 2014, 12:09 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2014, 08:47 PM)
BW vs Colour.
Can anyone advise me which one is more suitable for this kind of shot?

how to make this kind of picture... teach me!
saigetsu
post Sep 20 2014, 10:24 AM

707 posts

How to set focus to infinity manual focus for shooting stars? Yesterday and this early morning shots were failed. I sad mang... No star picture, blurry.
saigetsu
post Sep 20 2014, 11:20 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Sep 20 2014, 10:55 AM)
Turn it to infinity?
E mount lens doesn't hav infinity mark at the lens. There fore dunno how to focus toinfinity

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 20 2014, 11:41 AM)
Hand held or tripod? If handheld maybe motion blur?
Tripod. I think maybe i did not swr the focua to infinity
saigetsu
post Sep 20 2014, 11:22 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 20 2014, 12:17 PM)
which camera u using ? My A5100 when set to DMF, and u turn the focus ring, it will show a scale of focus area, from near to infinity. But then my old nex-3 first gen dont have this function.

If urs is older version, i search about this in mr google before, and the way is turn peaking and the MF assist or zoom magnifier on, iso set to highest, then try to focus manually by focusing on the brightest star.
Mine is nex 5r. Will try amd update here. My first star shoot
saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 12:05 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 20 2014, 12:17 PM)
which camera u using ? My A5100 when set to DMF, and u turn the focus ring, it will show a scale of focus area, from near to infinity. But then my old nex-3 first gen dont have this function.

If urs is older version, i search about this in mr google before, and the way is turn peaking and the MF assist or zoom magnifier on, iso set to highest, then try to focus manually by focusing on the brightest star.
20 sec 16mm f3.5 focus dunno how to infinity. Now please tell me what did i do wrong... No star at all. Sad.

Stupid cm browser

This post has been edited by saigetsu: Sep 21 2014, 12:08 AM

saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 01:00 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Sep 21 2014, 12:12 AM)
I see. But there's only 2 ends ma. Turn to one side, it's thats MFD then turn to the other side should be infinity.
Nex e moumt lens can turn 360 liao. No stop one.
saigetsu
post Sep 21 2014, 10:58 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 21 2014, 09:49 AM)
This. It actually looked like a cloud passed by while he was exposing the pic.
How dark is dark.. Like super dark? No street light at all?
saigetsu
post Sep 22 2014, 04:41 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 22 2014, 12:59 PM)
Have enough to pack it now. But want keep spare money in case of emergency.

Still hoping for a 35 or 50 f1.8 lens. But it's really expensive la. More than half the price of A6000 kit. Let's see if there's any good deals in any of the IT fairs here. Few weeks ago got one fair, Olympus giving extra prime lens that costs over 500SGD on top of kit lens(es) with freebies like dual 32GB card. Samsung on the other hand included free tablet with purchase of their camera. If can get A6000 with some similar offer it's really nice tongue.gif

So fast want persuade ppl buy flash d? Engine haven't order at all, even engine model not decided yet now already recommending me to supercharge my engine doh.gif biggrin.gif
35mm f1.8 rm1000 this is the cheapest i can get from garage sale. but till rm1000 is like need to fork out more... i think ill just wait first.

if i dun need 16mm f2.8 to capture milky way ( if stdrd kit can do) i will sell of my sigma 30mm f2.8.

anyway u interested with sigma 30mm f2.8? very sharp yo. many people recommend it. icon_rolleyes.gif
saigetsu
post Sep 23 2014, 05:09 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Sep 23 2014, 01:32 AM)
Fooding
user posted imageDSC00692 by bdrc, on Flickr

Birding
user posted imageDSC00480 by bdrc, on Flickr

cosplay - Kanato of Diabolik Lovers
user posted imageDSC01297-2 by bdrc, on Flickr
your cheery picture, was it uing macro mode? f3.5 is not that big, but the bokeh achieved is yummy
saigetsu
post Sep 23 2014, 04:08 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Sep 23 2014, 03:25 PM)
Shot with the SE30mm f/3.5 macro lens. Quite close to the object.
It's not cherry though, it's black grapes actually.
i dun think normal std kit lens can achive like this. i think because of macro la.

see the plate oso starts to blur on edge. normal lens cannot one. sure blur the whole thing.
saigetsu
post Sep 23 2014, 04:26 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Sep 23 2014, 04:19 PM)
read my previous post on how to get bokeh...
i know, but u must understand that bokeh quality is diff from one lens to another. to get the bokeh is very easy.
saigetsu
post Sep 24 2014, 08:23 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 23 2014, 09:12 PM)
Try make a guess what lens and aperture was used is this rclxms.gif

tip: it's also a 35mm
same lens? but bokeh ok2ony

This post has been edited by saigetsu: Sep 24 2014, 08:23 AM
saigetsu
post Sep 24 2014, 10:52 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Sep 23 2014, 09:54 PM)
Just walk around the neighborhood only nia.. wont go far far....

just went to nearby park and did a shiock sendiri photo session.... laugh.gif

In the end... all pretty bad  doh.gif

go to highway area... shoot star la!

otw to seremban, far from city, pull over car and enjoy
saigetsu
post Sep 24 2014, 12:15 PM

707 posts

actually y do you guys prefer using flickr? rather than picasa or any other pic web hosting?
saigetsu
post Sep 24 2014, 12:20 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 24 2014, 12:18 PM)
All I know is the Flickr doesn't compress pics or otherwise do funky things to whatever you upload onto it. Other than that your guess is as good as mine.

I only use Flickr to store my online portfolio. For sharing I prefer the no-nonsense-ness of imgur because on my phone (which I use to surf 90% of the time), Flickr doesn't give me the bbcode option for forums.
oh ok... do u mind share your flickr id?

0.0616sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:17 AM