Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

redlyfs
post Sep 18 2014, 01:56 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Sep 18 2014, 08:54 AM)
guys... im in a dilemma,

currently my gear is nex 5r, sigma 30mm f28 and kit lens 1650.

now im not sure whether should i get SEL16f2.8 or not for landscaping purpose. ive done some look around at flickr and none of the beautiful shot requires f2.8.

im still new to this. please help me.
Did you take Sigma 19? I'm using that. Besides that, what's wrong with stopping down?

QUOTE(uraki @ Sep 18 2014, 12:50 PM)
Not true, both my NEX-5R and A6000 has bulb mode.
But you do not need bulb mode to photograph milky way/stars.
Below are the milky way and star trails taken with Sony NEX-5R + Sigma 19mm F2.8 lens.
Milky way in Norikura Kogen (乗鞍高原) by gsuraki, on Flickr

Star trails in Norikura Kogen (乗鞍高原) by gsuraki, on Flickr
Wow.. Nice work! Feel inspired to break out my own 19

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Sep 18 2014, 01:58 PM
redlyfs
post Sep 19 2014, 09:03 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Sep 19 2014, 12:14 AM)
Thanks, I consider the Sigma 19mm and 30mm lens the best value lens for e mount.  thumbup.gif

I so agree. I'm fortunate to score the twin sigma deal at B&H for USD199. Been using 30mm as my everyday lens
redlyfs
post Sep 19 2014, 09:15 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 19 2014, 02:32 AM)
Did anyone buy things from this website before? Is it a reputable/reliable online store? Thanks.
http://www.ipmart.com.my/
Shitty place. Bought twice from them.
On the 1st order, they listed an item as in stock but 3 days after payment still no word from then so I called. No one answered. I wrote email, spam their FB and still no one replied until 3 days later which is 6 days after payment. The guy told me item is not in stock and ask me to wait another week. Parcel only arrived 14 days later. Delivery from date of payment : 3+3+14 = 20days.

2nd time, a year later. Forgotten how shitty their service is. Ordered something, arrived 3weeks later. This time they didn't bother replying anything. Calls, emails, FB. No I didn't order during holidays and no the order tracking wasn't updated on their website

Just go check their FB to see how poor their service is. I know for sure they delete a lot of negative feedback. They used to have a review section but took it down after streaking countless negative reviews. The review is still listed on my own FB, if anyone wants proof just let me know.

One case where they delete comment is when someone bought a Xiaomi powerbank and claimed it was fake. He backed it with photos. IPMart rep had the balls to tell him that they never stated that it was branded "Xiaomi", the guy proceed to provide an invoice that clearly showed it is stated as Xiaomi. Then IPMart proceed to blame it on the vendor, which was weird since the way they claim that they never said it was branded Xiaomi insinuated that they themselves had control of their own product descriptions. I also have screenshots of this comments prior to deletion.

Later when I saw people had complaints unattended, I provided information and contact details for complaint center; IPMart blocked me off on FB. Seriously. Don't give them business. I'm just thankful I didn't receive fake product but shitty ass follow up and late delivery.

On another note, since on the topic, here's some people who can help you regarding online commercial crime.

SKMM / MCMC Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission
http://www.skmm.gov.my/
1800 888 030

KPDNKK Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism
http://e-aduan.kpdnkk.gov.my/eaduan/aduanbaru.php?lang=2
1800 886 800

PDRM Royal Malaysia Police department for Commercial Crime Investigation
http://www.ccid.my/
603-20319999 / 603-22663333

Screenshots of IPMart fake Xiaomi powerbank comment

EDIT : Wow, they also disabled Posts by Others.

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Sep 19 2014, 09:29 AM
redlyfs
post Sep 24 2014, 01:00 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 23 2014, 11:42 PM)
kit lens can take decent photo too. is just matter of skills
Can't agree more. I guess some people compensate skills with gear.
redlyfs
post Sep 24 2014, 04:09 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 24 2014, 02:24 PM)
That said, you can't underestimate the power of proper tools in the proper (or otherwise) hands.

Though a person with zero understanding of photo skills will still come up with crap even with a top range camera and top end glass, it *will* be colorful and very sharp crap.
Don't misunderstand me though. I'm not saying top gear doesn't make a difference.

I believe that as beginners there's a certain limit to what we can learn without actual hands on. Opinions, reviews, photo comparison is all good but also subjective as each person have different views. The best way to know for certain is to stop talking, stop comparing and start shooting. Kit lens aren't the best, but they are not bad.

redlyfs
post Sep 30 2014, 04:56 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

*cough* EOS M
redlyfs
post Oct 3 2014, 02:31 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 3 2014, 02:04 AM)
Hey guys, anyone who have experience in legacy lens can guide me? Currently shopping for a tele legacy lens, not sure what to look for as this is my first time.

Eyeing OM Zuiko/Pentacon 135 2.8
I myself owns a 135 3.5 Minolta Rokkor. You can also search for the Celtic series. Kononya the cheaper version of Rokkor but in my opinion just as good.
redlyfs
post Oct 8 2014, 10:53 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

I thought of syok sendiri take KTM to Port Klang see if I can get anything tonight.
redlyfs
post Oct 14 2014, 09:10 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Oct 13 2014, 07:05 PM)
I'm using nex7 with selp1650, after taking photo I feel corner part of the photo seems doesn't look same.. Anyone faces this issue?
Assuming you meant something like this where the picture seems "warped" especially near corners, http://epaperpress.com/ptlens/distortion.html...
It's called barrel distortion and with selp1650, at wide angle it's very visible. However there are ways to correct this via software like Lightroom or PS

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Oct 14 2014, 09:17 AM
redlyfs
post Oct 15 2014, 08:49 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 15 2014, 06:03 AM)
Yesterday A6000 and A7S in the same bag got hit with each other and the ends result was both cameras (in addition to serious scratches on the lenses) have the same issue as attached pictures here. I burst shoot the image and it comes out with that weird color line. Any expert please advice me what was that (camera issue or possibly lens issue also? They are the FE 24-70 and E 50 F1.8 lenses) and where is the best place to send the camera in for repair (Any Sony Center/retail shop? Or there is a Sony technical Center somewhere? ) . Very sad now. Both cameras were bought less than 1 month. Sigh!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

ps: just got someone said it could be just the flickering of flourescent light, not camera's malfunction? i WISH it's true!!
Scratches on lens? Ouch..
However I kinda agree on the flickering part as fluorescent tubes flicker around 100-120hz frequency. If you're shooting indoors, try bumping shutter speed to compensate, otherwise try shooting outdoors. However I doubt repairs can be done on the scratches.
redlyfs
post Oct 15 2014, 09:03 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 15 2014, 08:53 AM)
scratches how to repair....now that 2 weeks old E 50 F1.8 look like a 10 year old lens.  cry.gif
Age is insignificant in this case. I have a whole line of Minolta Rokkors from 1970s and 80s that look brand new. I suggest to bring it back to Sony SC to see what options are available
In future be careful of your stuffs la. Why dump them together in the same bag without protection
redlyfs
post Oct 24 2014, 04:42 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Oct 24 2014, 03:49 PM)
Again, I forget to mention the lens I want to buy is for street photography portraits....

50mm is a tad short for that, and don't want manual lens,I'm too noob and will take over long time to focus.... Tamron 2/60 is AF lens?

Seems like e mount don't have suitable lens for this yet.... FE is too pricey and I plan to stay at apsc... Seems like I just have to wait whistling.gif
I'm using Sigma 30 for street. It became my everyday lens now. It's cheap and sharp. If there's one thing to complain is that it's slow af

Some sample shots from a trip to Korea. I picked up photography especially for this trip, do forgive me if you notice some noob settings on the EXIF. All these shots are not PP'ed

user posted imageDSC01072 by Redlyfs, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC01153 by Redlyfs, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC01645 by Redlyfs, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC01863 by Redlyfs, on Flickr

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Oct 24 2014, 04:55 PM
redlyfs
post Oct 30 2014, 12:27 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 30 2014, 10:21 AM)
wow really good looking pictures!

how do you get those beautiful colors? editing or it's SOOC? i always struggle with blue sky.
It looks saturated with added contrast.. But I don't mean it in a bad way, it's really beautiful as you said.
redlyfs
post Nov 4 2014, 11:03 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Nov 4 2014, 10:23 AM)
Guys smile.gif looking for a wideangle for APS-C a6k lense... What would you guys choose...

Samyang 24MM F1.4 or Mitakon 35MM 0.95 ?

mainly used for Landscape or street photography, or daily usage when lazy to change lense... for e.g. Portrait or family photo.... blablabla...
Sounds like you need a kit lens xD

redlyfs
post Nov 14 2014, 09:06 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Nov 13 2014, 08:18 PM)
just bought nissin i40~

Where did you get yours from?

Btw Eiraku, thanks for the heads up. Been looking for a flash with TTl but didn't consider 3rd party. Thought it didn't exist sweat.gif
redlyfs
post Nov 28 2014, 01:21 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Nov 28 2014, 11:21 AM)
lazy to walk la tu....

then get 18-200... suitable for ppl like this
Cannot say like that... Maybe he really got some disability? =/
redlyfs
post Dec 15 2014, 05:30 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Dec 15 2014, 11:30 AM)
Hi to all sifus.

Will be buying Sony A6000 at the end of this year, and aiming for Body plus kit lens 16-50mm Lens.

So, what I need to be looking for to utilize the power of Sony A6000?(anything, from lenses, additional accesories, etc)
Is it kit lens more than enough for a beginner like me?
BTW, this is my first mirrorless camera (and DSLR), normally just using the point and shoot camera.

Your advise is highly appreciated.
Kit lens is good enough to get a feel of what you actually want, and not simply impulse buy.
PS: I'm probably nitpicking but DSLR is not Mirrorless. SLR have a mirror to alternate between sending the image to sensor and to the viewfinder. D-SLR for digital, uses the same concept but without film. Mirrorless, as it implies, have no mirror. The image is directly received onto the sensor

This post has been edited by redlyfs: Dec 15 2014, 05:32 PM

0.0613sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:41 AM