Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

kehadapan
post Jan 8 2015, 12:01 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 7 2015, 11:59 PM)
Mine will be 30-3 Tokyo. 3-7 Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe. I have no plan yet, so flexible. However I will need to come from Kobe everyday. laugh.gif
okay, lets try to meet on 3 feb in kyoto, at night. a group dinner.
i dont want to disturb your plan on day part.
fruitie
post Jan 8 2015, 12:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,787 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Jan 8 2015, 12:01 AM)
okay, lets try to meet on 3 feb in kyoto, at night. a group dinner.
i dont want to disturb your plan on day part.
Actually I'm kinda OK for day and may not be that OK for night. laugh.gif I'm staying at my friend's apartment and she only comes home after work at night, so I wanna spend more time with her. If you get what I mean. blush.gif

3rd in Kyoto is not a good time for me as I will reach Osaka on that day with my luggage. blush.gif Osaka is nearer to her place compared to Kyoto. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 8 2015, 12:05 AM
kehadapan
post Jan 8 2015, 12:07 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 8 2015, 12:03 AM)
Actually I'm kinda OK for day and may not be that OK for night. laugh.gif I'm staying at my friend's apartment and she only comes home after work at night, so I wanna spend more time with her. If you get what I mean. blush.gif

3rd in Kyoto is not a good time for me as I will reach Osaka on that day with my luggage. blush.gif Osaka is nearer to her place compared to Kyoto. tongue.gif
ah really ? actually we rented apartment in shimoshinjo area, in Osaka also lol.
nevermind, i try to discuss this matter with my gf first, and to see our plan on 3 feb.
sacwoc
post Jan 8 2015, 10:06 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jan 7 2015, 10:30 PM)
I going to travel to Japan tomorrow for first time, as title state, how to rent a broadband there? can anyone share your experience?
I have a friend who actually rented a mobile wifi for 1000yen/day. He told me he got it from the Narita. Arrived, came out with luggage and go to those phone counters and ask.
ping325
post Jan 8 2015, 10:25 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jan 7 2015, 09:30 PM)
I going to travel to Japan tomorrow for first time, as title state, how to rent a broadband there? can anyone share your experience?
speaking about this i plan to rent this as well , after some research i found this quite cheap

http://www.pupuru.com/en/

or u guys have better suggestions ? does cell phone a must in japan ? because i think hardly make any calls
regentCid electron

This post has been edited by ping325: Jan 8 2015, 10:38 AM
JooSeng
post Jan 8 2015, 10:50 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Jan 8 2015, 10:25 AM)
speaking about this i plan to rent this as well ,  after some research i found this quite cheap

or u guys have better suggestions ? does cell phone a must in japan ? because i think hardly make any calls
regentCid electron
i used pupuru on my recent visit to japan. coverage very good, even got signal around mountain area and the speed good enuff to youtube, no lagging.
terryykf
post Jan 8 2015, 11:29 AM

175 posts

speaking about this i plan to rent this as well ,  after some research i found this quite cheap

regentCid electron
QUOTE(JooSeng @ Jan 8 2015, 10:50 AM)
i used pupuru on my recent visit to japan. coverage very good, even got signal around mountain area and the speed good enuff to youtube, no lagging.
I'm also looking at portable wifi device to rent.
Alidavidsun
post Jan 8 2015, 01:02 PM

190 posts

Hi, Im planning to go to japan for about 12 days during early April. Its my first time there, can anyone who had been there at this time of the year share with me your itinerary? Appreciate it. Thanks
weigie
post Jan 8 2015, 02:02 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Jan 7 2015, 05:10 PM)
icoca + haruka is the best deal u can get..if ur going to and back from kansai airport..icoca card can be used to travel between Kyoto - Nara and all other JR stations within Kansai..when i was there in november last year...there seem to be a notice in kyoto bus that they are gonna implement icoca for buses also..previously gotta use coin all the way..hope this info help
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 7 2015, 05:44 PM)
Icoca not only JR train. It can used on subway and private line.  Icoca card can used in whole Japan. Not just kansai area.
Thanks guys for the info. At least i make clear the transportation for my trip. Next, it's time to look for accommodation.
TSRegentCid
post Jan 8 2015, 02:12 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Jan 8 2015, 12:02 PM)
Hi, Im planning to go to japan for about 12 days during early April. Its my first time there, can anyone who had been there at this time of the year share with me your itinerary? Appreciate it. Thanks
Here we don't spoon feed. You start your own first then share parts come later
ping325
post Jan 8 2015, 02:18 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 8 2015, 02:12 PM)
Here we don't spoon feed. You start your own first then share parts come later
indeed no spoon feed , all info basically can be google ... lol
and japan guide . com did help a lot

i will come out with my planned itineary soon for osaka kyoto and tokyo icon_rolleyes.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 8 2015, 02:42 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Jan 8 2015, 11:29 AM)
I'm also looking at portable wifi device to rent.
sorry guyz, rc don't internet during vacation
he didn't use GPS oso, rely on airport maps and 100% research
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
fruitie
post Jan 8 2015, 02:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,787 posts

Anyway, the IImjio SIM card I shared earlier doesn't have a fixed price as it depends on the retailers' pricing. Anyway, it is around plus minus 4000 yen. That's a pretty good deal with 2GB and 3 months validity. Plus, the flexibility to use it on your phone (if you want it) or your tablets. I'll be using it on my iPad Mini and it allows tethering. I read from online and feedback about the coverage and speed is not too bad.

I have a LTE MiFi (portable WiFi) and to me the battery doesn't last long. That's the reason I didn't want to rent for any device. I thought of using my MiFi during my 10 days trip in Thailand but ditched the idea and used it on my iPad mini. iPad Mini's battery lasts much longer compared to the MiFi. My MiFi can only last around 6 hours of continuous usage whereas my iPad Mini's hotspot lasted from morning till night and it still had around 20% of battery juice left at the end of the day.

Anyway, this is just a sharing from my side. smile.gif I'm getting the IIjmio by the way. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 8 2015, 02:59 PM
electron
post Jan 8 2015, 04:30 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Jan 8 2015, 01:02 PM)
ooo, you are asking to be spanked smile.gif
anyway, you need to specify which region that you are going as Japan is not small and i doubt you plan to cover the entire Japan in 12 days right?
electron
post Jan 8 2015, 04:34 PM

1,329 posts

regentCid electron
i didn't use a mifi device
i just ordered a data plan and had the sim card delivered to my hotel.
used the sim with a phablet

i used econnect as it offered 1 month usage compared to 14 days on bmobile
never noticed running out of coverage during the entire trip
however, fruitie seems to have found a better package. 2G for 3 months compared to 1G for econnect/bmobile

This post has been edited by electron: Jan 8 2015, 04:36 PM
weigie
post Jan 8 2015, 04:48 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Jan 8 2015, 02:18 PM)
indeed no spoon feed , all info basically can be google ... lol
and japan guide . com did help a lot

i will come out with my planned itineary soon for osaka kyoto and tokyo  icon_rolleyes.gif
Much appreciated if you like to share your itinerary for Osaka and Kyoto. PM me please =)
Alidavidsun
post Jan 8 2015, 04:49 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 8 2015, 04:30 PM)
ooo, you are asking to be spanked smile.gif
anyway, you need to specify which region that you are going as Japan is not small and i doubt you plan to cover the entire Japan in 12 days right?
My apologies.
I'm thinking arrive Osaka and return via Tokyo or vice versa if possible. Planning to see the cherry blossoms. Im not expecting to be spoon fed but just a reference, anyway I'm still looking for flight tickets on whether to arrive and depart from the same city or different city. Thanks anyway
Amatiel
post Jan 8 2015, 04:58 PM

62 posts

Hi anyone noticed flypeach osaka-tokyo route from april onwards only 1x flight daily? Jan-March still got 3x daily. Anyone knows why? I was hoping to fly from osaka-tokyo... now... T_T
Neo|ofGeo
post Jan 8 2015, 08:01 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

Actually this is something i need help with..

What's the odds finding a big size winter jacket/coat in Japan?

vercingetorix
post Jan 8 2015, 08:23 PM

25 posts

Well for this month going to Sapporo will be best choice of all. Friend of mine jap local also recommend to go there thumbup.gif

128 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:40 PM