Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

TSRegentCid
post Jan 8 2015, 08:29 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Jan 8 2015, 07:01 PM)
Actually this is something i need help with..

What's the odds finding a big size winter jacket/coat in Japan?
Malaysia Uniqlo mostly you can found was XL size. But Japan Uniqlo can found XXl size
electron
post Jan 8 2015, 08:55 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Jan 8 2015, 04:49 PM)
My apologies.
I'm thinking arrive Osaka and return via Tokyo or vice versa if possible. Planning to see the cherry blossoms. Im not expecting to be spoon fed but just a reference, anyway I'm still looking for flight tickets on whether to arrive and depart from the same city or different city. Thanks anyway
for arriving and departing from same city, do consider the time and extra cost of travelling between osaka and tokyo

skylinegear
post Jan 8 2015, 11:28 PM

just want to clarify the route from arashiyama to kinkaku-ji temple
train from saga arashiyama to enmachi (JR sagano line)
then walk to nishinokyo enmachi bus stop
take city bus 205 to kinkakuji michi bus stop

is this the fastest way using public transport?
the bus annoucement will be in english?

electron
post Jan 8 2015, 11:55 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(skylinegear @ Jan 8 2015, 11:28 PM)
just want to clarify the route from arashiyama to kinkaku-ji temple
train from saga arashiyama to enmachi (JR sagano line)
then walk to nishinokyo enmachi bus stop
take city bus 205 to kinkakuji michi bus stop

is this the fastest way using public transport?
the bus annoucement will be in english?
I took the Keifuku Raden Train and it's a nice experience
it's more like a small tram
My direction was the reverse from your plan.
Took bus from Kinkaku-ji, get off at Omuro Ninnaji bus stop (it's right opposite a big temple)
then walk down the T-junction fronting the temple to the Omuro Ninnaji train station.
The station is small and very simple looking. Took the train to Arashiyama

I can't comment on the speed but the location of the station in Arashiyama is better compared to the JR station (out of the station, Togendai bridge to the left, Bamboo forest to the right, about 2 mins walk each way)

You can reverse the journey for your needs
Human Nature
post Jan 9 2015, 01:02 AM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

here's mine

kinkakuji-michi bus top to kitano hakubaicho Bus Stop then took randen from kitano hakubaicho St to arashiyama St.

They played a cute japanese tune when it approaches arashiyama biggrin.gif

skylinegear
post Jan 9 2015, 08:59 AM

thanks for the input. might change my plan to kinkakuji first then arashiyama
ping325
post Jan 9 2015, 10:56 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(skylinegear @ Jan 9 2015, 08:59 AM)
thanks for the input. might change my plan to kinkakuji first then arashiyama
same here , i wil be staying and ktoyo tower hotel , and once i check out early in the morning , i will leave my luggage at there , which is also beside JR station , for my shinkansen to tokyo in late evening

i plan to visit 3 place , bamboo forest , kinkakuji and higashiyama district

from hotel i will direct go up to kinkakuji first , then to bamboo forest , from bamboo forest then go higashiyama for the whole afternoon and evening from higashiyama go to JR station to tokyo

is this the best and efficient route ? it is because i think the view for kinkakuji will be the best early morning so i plan to there first , and it is located at north also

electron

This post has been edited by ping325: Jan 9 2015, 10:56 AM
electron
post Jan 9 2015, 01:48 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Jan 9 2015, 10:56 AM)
same here , i wil be staying and ktoyo tower hotel , and once i check out early in the morning , i will leave my luggage at there , which is also beside JR station , for my shinkansen to tokyo in late evening

i plan to visit 3 place , bamboo forest , kinkakuji and higashiyama district

from hotel i will direct go up to kinkakuji first , then to bamboo forest , from bamboo forest then go higashiyama for the whole afternoon and evening from higashiyama go to JR station to tokyo

is this the best and efficient route ? it is because i think the view for kinkakuji will be the best early morning so i plan to there first , and it is located at north also

electron
FYI, there's a train running between Kyoto Station to the JR station in Arashiyama
As for bus between Arashiyama/Kinkakuji and Higashiyama/Gion, i don't think there's a direct bus. You'll need to change buses. During change of buses, make sure you take the one going in the right direction (clockwise or counter clockwise of the route) and the bus stop may not exactly be located opposite each other at the same spot
Neo|ofGeo
post Jan 9 2015, 01:57 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 8 2015, 08:29 PM)
Malaysia Uniqlo mostly you can found was XL size. But Japan Uniqlo can found XXl size
Hurmmm..
alright thanks for the input
maybe i will go poke a friend to see what's the pricing range there.

ping325
post Jan 9 2015, 02:12 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 9 2015, 01:48 PM)
FYI, there's a train running between Kyoto Station to the JR station in Arashiyama
As for bus between Arashiyama/Kinkakuji and Higashiyama/Gion, i don't think there's a direct bus. You'll need to change buses. During change of buses, make sure you take the one going in the right direction (clockwise or counter clockwise of the route) and the bus stop may not exactly be located opposite each other at the same spot
my plan is from my hotel , go to JR station then use train to enmachi station , then bus to kinkakuji
from kinkajuji to bamboo forest , plan to take bus to Kitanohakubaicho Station and use train to arashiyama station

my questions how far is the bamboo forest from arashiyama station by walking ?

from arashiyama to higashiyama , i plan to use train , from arashiyama to Kawaramachi Station then , from here use bus from 四条河原町(バス) to 清水道(バス)

and finally from higashiyama to kyoto station , i thinking of using direct bus to there .

or u have better suggestion ? correct me if im wrong LOL

regentCidelectron

This post has been edited by ping325: Jan 9 2015, 02:12 PM
electron
post Jan 9 2015, 02:24 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Jan 9 2015, 02:12 PM)
my plan is from my hotel , go to JR station then use train to enmachi station , then bus to kinkakuji
from kinkajuji to bamboo forest , plan to take bus to Kitanohakubaicho Station and use train to arashiyama station

my questions how far is the bamboo forest from arashiyama station by walking ?

from arashiyama to higashiyama , i plan to use train , from arashiyama to Kawaramachi Station then , from here use bus from 四条河原町(バス) to 清水道(バス)

and finally from higashiyama to kyoto station , i thinking of using direct bus to there .

or u have better suggestion ?  correct me if im wrong LOL

regentCidelectron
which bus are you taking to Kinjakuji from enmachi?
Do note that you need to get to Kinkakuji-mae bus stop, which is at the entrance. Kinkakuji-michi is a bit further away
Use this map to refine your transport plan:
http://youinjapan.net/maps/kyoto/kyoto_bus_map.pdf

Bamboo forest to Keifuku Raden station is very near, 2-3 minutes i would say
Bamboo forest to JR i'm not sure cos i took a big loop around to get to it, which took me more than 10 minutes. There's a shorter more direct path
Arashiyama to Kawaramachi has 2 train routes -using Hankyu only, or using Keifuku+Hankyu
Use hyperdia to estimate travelling time
ping325
post Jan 9 2015, 03:51 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jan 9 2015, 02:24 PM)
which bus are you taking to Kinjakuji from enmachi?
Do note that you need to get to Kinkakuji-mae bus stop, which is at the entrance. Kinkakuji-michi is a bit further away
Use this map to refine your transport plan:
http://youinjapan.net/maps/kyoto/kyoto_bus_map.pdf

Bamboo forest to Keifuku Raden station is very near, 2-3 minutes i would say
Bamboo forest to JR i'm not sure cos i took a big loop around to get to it, which took me more than 10 minutes. There's a shorter more direct path
Arashiyama to Kawaramachi has 2 train routes -using Hankyu only, or using Keifuku+Hankyu
Use hyperdia to estimate travelling time
wow the pdf map is a great help , thanks
i'll study first in the mean time laugh.gif
transportation map in japan indeed very complicated sweat.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 04:09 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

I m testing how to book Romance Cars using this guide >> Romance Car Guide

PLS COMMENT!!!

1) It written, only able to book 1month in advances, hence i select the last day...
seem like "Front Panorama" seat is hotcake~
anyone here managed to get Front Panorama?? wat time u all start ur booking?

2) anyone know which is the best? VSE50000 series?? or MSE, EXE, LSE
hehehe, ok this is abit too much... blush.gif i know

3) Next im trying to understand this using google translate

座席種別>> is seat selection... standard/panorama

号車指定 >> carriage selections... if choose Front Panorama, still need to choose carriage?

席が離れた場合>> windows seat selections...
google translate give me 3options.... original only have 2 options >> 席が離れても購入/予約する ||| 席が離れた場合は、購入/予約しない why leh???
a) The priority the aisle
b) Priorities a window
c) it is not reserved when the window side can not be taken
apalah... &%##@@@%)>:L
so which selection have to choose?

4) Finally 購入/予約選択... purchase or reserved
what u guyz normally go for? how long it can be reserved?
if purchase, front panorama is more expensive rite?...

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 9 2015, 04:10 PM
TSRegentCid
post Jan 9 2015, 05:33 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

See my way to Gora. Didnt booking any thing
..i still sit most front paranoma view

And the train was quite empty.

That need level 999 skill.
You know which month which date go hakone.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jan 9 2015, 05:35 PM
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 05:48 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2015, 05:33 PM)
See my way to Gora.  Didnt booking any thing
..i still sit most front paranoma view

And the train was quite empty.

That need level 999 skill.
You know which month which date go hakone.
u go 6pm of coz la...
next time try 9am

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 9 2015, 05:48 PM
TSRegentCid
post Jan 9 2015, 08:50 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 9 2015, 04:48 PM)
u go 6pm of coz la...
next time try 9am
My Train was 10am. See careful again.
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 10:02 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2015, 08:50 PM)
My Train was 10am. See careful again.
laugh.gif I tot u r going there jus now
going there is like us going to melaka
can go evvery weekend, sap sap sui brows.gif
TSRegentCid
post Jan 10 2015, 06:37 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

2015 January Tips of the months been updated.

Hope you guys like it
lucaswjk
post Jan 10 2015, 07:07 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

i planned togo umeno... for the plum blossom
then i came across
Sad news: 1,266 famous Tokyo plum trees get the axe to prevent spread of “plum pox”
all the tree gone, really heart break

now hv to settle for hanegi
fruitie
post Jan 11 2015, 11:27 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

Guys, my friend says if I were to take Shinkansen from Tokyo, the nearest station to her place is Shin-Kobe.

I plan to buy 3-day Kansai Thru Pass, I do not know where I can get this pass... It seems most of the places to get it are in Osaka or Kyoto.

http://www.surutto.com/tickets/kansai_thru_english.html

Or simpler way is I explore in Osaka first before going to her place in the evening. hmm.gif

128 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:35 AM