125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V19, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

idoblu
post Nov 9 2014, 03:29 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Can this TP-Link AC1900 be use for Unifi?
If not, then what must I look for that indicates it's ready for Unifi? Looking for the best super duper Wifi using 802.11ac
I only need it for Internet, don't care about IPTV
Thank you in advance

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 9 2014, 03:34 PM
sHawTY
post Nov 9 2014, 04:24 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 9 2014, 03:29 PM)
Can this TP-Link AC1900 be use for Unifi?
If not, then what must I look for that indicates it's ready for Unifi? Looking for the best super duper Wifi using 802.11ac
1. Both TP-Link Archer C8 & Archer C9 hasn't arrive Malaysia yet.
2. Even if you buy it from the US, you still have to wait for a UniFi compatible firmware unless you're using OpenWRT.
3. If you want the best WiFi AC router, go for ASUS RT-AC68U or ASUS RT-AC87U. Both models are UniFi ready.
idoblu
post Nov 9 2014, 04:28 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 9 2014, 04:24 PM)
1. Both TP-Link Archer C8 & Archer C9 hasn't arrive Malaysia yet.
2. Even if you buy it from the US, you still have to wait for a UniFi compatible firmware unless you're using OpenWRT.
3. If you want the best WiFi AC router, go for ASUS RT-AC68U or ASUS RT-AC87U. Both models are UniFi ready.
oh ok, thanks. I thought its here cause I got it from TP-Link Malaysia's site.
Ok i just wait a bit and see what happens. Thanks
Btw does Unifi needs a separate modem like Streamyx?
SUSraynman
post Nov 9 2014, 06:37 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 9 2014, 04:28 PM)
oh ok, thanks. I thought its here cause I got it from TP-Link Malaysia's site.
Ok i just wait a bit and see what happens. Thanks
A separate ADSL modem for Streamyx is not mandatory.

You can opt for an all-in-one wireless ADSL modem router for Streamyx.

But for Unifi, you definitely need a separate fibre-modem.

godisnowhere
post Nov 9 2014, 07:18 PM

Anyone tried firmware 7.19 for tm's supplied dir-615 yet?
sHawTY
post Nov 9 2014, 09:53 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 9 2014, 04:28 PM)
UniFi already provided you with a modem. TM called it as Broadband Termination Unit (BTU).
BTU can't be removed or replaced.

The residential gateway AKA router is the one that you can replace / upgrade.
frozenslayer
post Nov 10 2014, 11:15 AM

36 posts

Received a call from Unifi last week(monday) offering upgrade from VIP 5 to VIP 10 for RM179 , I wasn't home last week and my dad answered the phone , he told the caller the call me but they never did , so i decided to call unifi myself and they made a "report" about it cause they are just customer service and the sales department handles these promo =.= ~ till now they didn't call me yet. I want my upgrade dammit.
AVFAN
post Nov 10 2014, 11:55 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(frozenslayer @ Nov 10 2014, 11:15 AM)
Received a call from Unifi last week(monday) offering upgrade from VIP 5 to VIP 10 for RM179 , I wasn't home last week and my dad answered the phone , he told the caller the call me but they never did , so i decided to call unifi myself and they made a "report" about it cause they are just customer service and the sales department handles these promo =.= ~ till now they didn't call me yet. I want my upgrade dammit.
the way i understand it, the caller for these upgrades are unifi AGENTS but they always identify themselves as official TM/Unifi". Some TM Points are actually agent or dealer operated. TM Unifi as principal, understandably don't deal with customers on sales and pricing, deal only technical and billing issues.

every agent supposedly keep tracks of vip5 customers nearing end of contract and make this call. TM unifi hotline people typically do not know what these agents do.

but since u lodge report, customer service supposedly will pass message to agent, let him deal.

but may need to wait, call a few times...

in my case, the merry-go-round took a long time, a few weeks... "agent never call?"... "pass on message again...", "agent still never call?"...." new report made"..."call this no. (but says wrong dept)"... "we'll contact agent again"....!!! if that happens, demand to speak to manager or acting mgr.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 10 2014, 12:12 PM
frozenslayer
post Nov 10 2014, 01:59 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 10 2014, 11:55 AM)
the way i understand it, the caller for these upgrades are unifi AGENTS but they always identify themselves as official TM/Unifi". Some TM Points are actually agent or dealer operated. TM Unifi as principal, understandably don't deal with customers on sales and pricing, deal only technical and billing issues.

every agent supposedly keep tracks of vip5 customers nearing end of contract and make this call. TM unifi hotline people typically do not know what these agents do.

but since u lodge report, customer service supposedly will pass message to agent, let him deal.

in my case, the merry-go-round took a long time, a few weeks... "agent never call?"... "pass on message again...", "agent still never call?"...." new report made"..."call this no. (but says wrong dept)"... "we'll contact agent again"....!!!  if that happens, demand to speak to manager or acting mgr.
I will do just this , thanks alot!
jammerlee711
post Nov 10 2014, 04:08 PM

395 posts

i'd like to set up IPv6 for my Innatech RG4332...what should i do??
SUSraynman
post Nov 10 2014, 05:26 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Nov 10 2014, 04:08 PM)
i'd like to set up IPv6 for my Innatech RG4332...what should i do??
You should put it away and use an ASUS RT-N12 D1 instead, like what I did.

mashi1234
post Nov 13 2014, 03:53 PM

43 posts

Hi Guys,i was very noob in networking.Want to ask a question.
My unifi modem was on downstair and my desktop on upstairs.my desktop wifi signal
very bad and unstable.Is that any way is easiest to boost up the wifi signal without setting bla bla bla unsure.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 13 2014, 05:08 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(mashi1234 @ Nov 13 2014, 03:53 PM)
Hi Guys,i was very noob in networking.Want to ask a question.
My unifi modem was on downstair and my desktop on upstairs.my desktop wifi signal
very bad and unstable.Is that any way is easiest to boost up the wifi signal without setting bla bla bla  unsure.gif
change the router.
for a typical double storey house, this will do, works well with unifi.
ethernet or wifi, pc or android or ipad, from one corner to another, good enough.
asus rt n12hp, rm2xx at some stores, rm199 at others.
there are type a, b, c, i think. i hv b1, good.
models, prices, info on how to set up:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2764213/+100
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+2020
mashi1234
post Nov 13 2014, 07:30 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2014, 05:08 PM)
change the router.
for a typical double storey house, this will do, works well with unifi.
ethernet or wifi, pc or android or ipad, from one corner to another, good enough.
asus rt n12hp, rm2xx at some stores, rm199 at others.
there are type a, b, c, i think. i hv b1, good.
models, prices, info on how to set up:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2764213/+100
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+2020
Thanks bro. notworthy.gif
D_L
post Nov 14 2014, 08:35 AM

257 posts

hi all, just install unifi for about a week and i found that hd content on hypptv is so lagging to extent of u can't watch them at all time.

i lived in a condo and i did buy long telephone line just to move all 3 boxes(modem,wifi router,tv box) into my room.

is it because of the long line that made hd content terrible or the type of cable i use? i noticed that the original tel line given by tm is a bit different at the connector part.

the installer did recommend me to use long lan cable but i just decided to move all the boxes instead of only the tv box. thats why i opt for the telephone line and they are cheaper than the lan cable.
AVFAN
post Nov 14 2014, 01:44 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(D_L @ Nov 14 2014, 08:35 AM)
hi all, just install unifi for about a week and i found that hd content on hypptv is so lagging to extent of u can't watch them  at all time.

i lived in a condo and i did buy long telephone line just to move all 3 boxes(modem,wifi router,tv box) into my room.

is it because of the long line that made hd content terrible or the type of cable i use? i noticed that the original tel line given by tm is a bit different at the connector part.

the installer did recommend me to use long lan cable but i just decided to move all the boxes instead of only the tv box. thats why i opt for the telephone line and they are cheaper than the lan cable.
U already hv the answer.
Installer advises u to do a, u did b n c.
Of course nothing worked.

Unifi works on fiber optic cables until modem, then proper network cables. Use of cheap tel cables give u cheap results or nothing.
cskean
post Nov 14 2014, 01:50 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(frozenslayer @ Nov 10 2014, 11:15 AM)
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 10 2014, 11:55 AM)

in my case, the merry-go-round took a long time, a few weeks... "agent never call?"... "pass on message again...", "agent still never call?"...." new report made"..."call this no. (but says wrong dept)"... "we'll contact agent again"....!!!  if that happens, demand to speak to manager or acting mgr.
But this VIP10 for RM179 is bound to a 24 months contract. What if in between this period, TM suddenly decided to reduce the price for VIP5 VIP10 and VIP20? Will they also readjust those price that still in contract accordingly?

AVFAN
post Nov 14 2014, 02:10 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 14 2014, 01:50 PM)
But this VIP10 for RM179 is bound to a 24 months contract. What if in between this period, TM suddenly decided to reduce the price for VIP5 VIP10 and VIP20? Will they also readjust those price that still in contract accordingly?
A contract is a contract. So after signing, even if they cut prices for new users, nothing u can do until contract over.

When contract over, u can change ISP, negotiate, etc.

The way I see it, Unifi dun give 2 hoots whether a customer stay or leave, their style, we know.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 14 2014, 02:11 PM
D_L
post Nov 14 2014, 02:34 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2014, 01:44 PM)
U already hv the answer.
Installer advises u to do a, u did b n c.
Of course nothing worked.

Unifi works on fiber optic cables until modem, then proper network cables. Use of cheap tel cables give u cheap results or nothing.
oohhh i see..i did ask them first bout that but they said its ok...can u recommend me other option for telephone cable...really dunno if got other type.
AVFAN
post Nov 14 2014, 03:11 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(D_L @ Nov 14 2014, 02:34 PM)
oohhh i see..i did ask them first bout that but they said its ok...can u recommend me other option for telephone cable...really dunno if got other type.
if they said what u did with cheap cables is ok, then ask them to come back n fix it!! tongue.gif

best u revert to original to make sure all is ok first. with modem and router in original place, connections and cables, connecting router to hypptv box with a long but right network cable should be ok. network cable can buy in any it shop.

i m not installer, better consult same or other installers/experts for further advise if necessary.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 14 2014, 03:28 PM

125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:34 AM