6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V19, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

AVFAN
post Jun 4 2014, 07:50 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jun 4 2014, 07:33 PM)
anyone can help...?

call 1-300-88-1221. tell them yr problem.

they'll ask you to switch off everything, they will refresh on their side.

also, i suggest u do not turn off modem n router off all the time - this is not good for speed stability.

just happened to read yr posts... sharing my experience...

AVFAN
post Aug 6 2014, 05:30 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Aug 5 2014, 01:53 PM)
Good to know that they're offering rm179 nowadays.  thumbup.gif

After almost 3 yrs, they decided to call me to upgrade to vip10 @ rm179 but i refused, so they offered me rm139 for vip5 which I took up - 2 yrs deal BUT no new equipment.  biggrin.gif
this is interesting...

i know for some time now that they offer upgrade 5->10 for rm179.
what made them offer u rm139 instead of usual 149?
negotiable if no new equipment replaced?

i hv been on 10 for 3 yrs now, rm199.
offered 20 for rm229 instead of 249 but i hv no need.
asked before how to get rm179, was told need to terminate, reapply for rm149, then upgrade to 179 during promo... troublesome...

so, just wondering what i can do to pay less than rm199. i do not need any new router or new hypptv box. anyone hv any tip? tq.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 6 2014, 05:31 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 6 2014, 07:03 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Aug 6 2014, 06:23 PM)
they claimed that they called me for the rm169 vip10 offer but i know i didn't rec'd such calls! thereafter they called me about 3-4 times to offer me RM179 but i refused it all, so they offered me RM139 for vip5.

for me vip5 is fast enough, for now...  biggrin.gif

edit - call them up & say that they're not playing fair by not giving you the RM179 vip10 deal! tell them to give you the same deal or you'll form a group comprising the RM199 vip10 subscribers to lobby for the RM179 deal!

i did a similar thing to a bank and rec'd what i wanted!  wink.gif
i will call them soon, thanks.
AVFAN
post Aug 9 2014, 06:00 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Koros @ Aug 9 2014, 05:15 PM)
hey guys.. just unifi-ed, vip5

hate their modem+routher thing, require 2 power plug >: (mean more socket require)
no, it's good that way.

... the modem is life long warranty, if kaput, call to get new one.

... the wireless router 1 yr warranty, works but is weak, not so good; if u can spare a couple of hundred rm, replace it with a more powerful "unifi certified" one - this will increase the wifi strength and coverage, possibily more stability all round.
AVFAN
post Aug 10 2014, 06:20 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 10 2014, 02:10 PM)
Some lowcost housing area in Ampang la whistling.gif

But immediately after I post that speedtest suddenly speed goes back to normal laugh.gif

i get this kind of problem about thrice a year. usually last a few minutes, rarely more than that.

when i get that, i switch off modem n router, wait 10 secs, on again. works 4/5.

if it doesn't work, i call unifi to reset. switch off, wait 2 min, always ok.

one thing i shud add: - the orig dlink router from tm unifi works but is not so good. the sooner u replace it with a better router, the happier u will be. 9.x upload/dwnld ethernet or wifi all the time, no complaints. smile.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2014, 10:32 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 11 2014, 12:18 AM)
so at this case wifi range extender is it better for me since it doesn't require me to plug in the LAN cable from router
just simply press the WPS button (QSS button) on router and the wifi range extender hmm.gif ??
improving the range and strength is what everyone wants... some do with power adapters, some homeplugs, some wifi repeater, some just replace the wireless router, some go dual band to use 5ghz instead of the usual 2.4ghz.

which one is best may be dictated by specifics of the place and what kind of equipment in use. online hd games and streaming iso video/audio may require more than ipads.

if yr area of coverage is not that big, say a typical 2 storey house, i personally think a replacement with a more powerful wireless router might do, economical too at say rm200-300 and no messing with wires. highrise with 8-10 wifi on one floor can be tricky as there will be crowding on all channels. but one thing for sure - the orig unifi dlink router is not very good.

QUOTE(arecheese @ Aug 11 2014, 10:09 AM)
Hye guys, was wondering if  some direct me to a thread discussing the best unifi router replacement? I'm looking for something below rm300, dual band, unifi complaint, thanks!
think u need rm>400 to get dual band. aztech, tp link and asus seems popular. users seem to say use of 5ghz is good for highrise where there is a lot of users and channel crowding on 2.4ghz. and, it seems it works good in a smaller area with clear line of sight as the attentuation at higher frequency is higher, more power required.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2014, 10:37 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2014, 05:05 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(arecheese @ Aug 11 2014, 12:54 PM)
i found
this on lelong, seems like a good router and has dual band plus ac as well, supposed to be compatible with unifi and reviews are good but still searching. right now my house isnt crowded with wifi channels but i thought having one would be "future proofing" or maybe its not worth it? if not, what are some good 2.4ghz routers which have very good coverage? currently using a repeater (tp-link) and sometimes it acts up a bit

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 11 2014, 02:12 PM)
I just change router at April
Which is tp link wdr4300, it support dual band
But I thought 5ghz coverage smaller than 2.4ghz ?
So both homeplug & Wi-Fi range extender also will extend Wi-Fi coverage but the Wi-Fi range extender doesn't require me to plug in cable right?
i do not hv much experience with routers except for the unifi dlink one and my replacement, asus rt n12hp - a common 2.4ghz router with twin 15" antennae (looks like twin towers!), rm199. it has served me very well, much better than the orig. simple to install, unifi compatible, no additional wires (straight replacement), wifi all good in my area of coverage. and i suspect this router is also more stable for ethernet.

i decided that against spending more on higher asus or tp link models, dual bands, etc. because there isn't much wifi congestion in my house (no need to go 5ghz) and i only need stronger and more stable signals (is this called wifi extender?) within a 50ft radius (w/o excessive objects all over the place) to cater to a few devices.

reading all that i hv, it seems diff people hv different experience with diff brands, models, area to be covered, etc. so, may be hard to say 5ghz is best or brand a or model x is best. perhaps, for new unifi 5mbps user, best first step may be to try a so called high power (long antennae) router for rm200 first. if no good, then consider 5ghz or homeplugs, etc...??

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2014, 05:27 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2014, 06:56 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Aug 11 2014, 06:46 PM)
Currently is giving Innacomm RG4332
hmm... isn't this a modem-wireless router, i.e. 2-in-1, like they use to give for streamyx?

if so, need to buy new modem plus new router if not satisfied with it? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2014, 06:56 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2014, 09:51 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(arecheese @ Aug 11 2014, 08:52 PM)
I was thinking about this router too since it claims can increase wireless strength and has good reviews but one person said in review they used it for one year then it started to have problems with wifi connection and asus customer service not that good sad.gif This guy

anyone know of any other routers which have REALLY good wifi? since my house has tons of tablets/smartphones/laptops to access it, that was why i thought if i separated the into two bands maybe less congestion?
there r always some dissatisfied customers for any product; just be sure not too many.

one thing, this router stays cool, unlike the unifi one which gets quite hot.

i expect the router to stay good for 3 yrs (3 yrs warranty), after which it is ok to change to a new one. as technology improves, i m prepared to change new every 3 yrs be it router or androidtvbox or ipad or mobilephone...

about using dual band, if too many devices, i think may not be useful because u still get the same bandwidth for what u pay to unifi.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2014, 09:58 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 12 2014, 02:53 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 12 2014, 02:11 PM)
Hey guys,  have a question here.

I'll be moving to a new house soon, same neighbourhood but just one row behind. Pretty much the same area.

My question is, can I have the fibre cable all set up at my new house which is still under renovation (nearing completion now) while I continue to use my current unifi at my current place until I move over to the new whouse?

Reason being is, I'd want to avoid any internet downtime as much as possible because I do a lot of huge content uploading and backup (no, not torrenting if that's what you are thinking) for database purposes. Remote recording of CCTVs is also another reason why I'd like to avoid downtime as much as possible.

So yeah, can I just request for a unifi relocation but actually only move there when renovation is complete (due end of August)?

i dun think u can "transfer"...

for yr new house, better not assume unifi will come in rightaway becos the next road has it. it will depend on how they plan the next batch of ports, panels, enough demand, etc. also, not uncommon newly completed houses take 6-12 mths for unifi to activate.

for yr needs, best to apply asap for new house, see if they accept now. if they do, that's good news. if not, the wait is unknown.

hopefully the timing is perfect near perfect. the difficulty arises when u r ready to move but no unifi yet. then, u either delay the move or find some other wireless broadband to use temporarily. u r not alone, this situation happens to a lot of people.
AVFAN
post Aug 12 2014, 05:18 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 12 2014, 05:13 PM)
Thanks for the advice.

I took the assumption because the previous owner for my new house actually had a unifi line before, it was disconnected after I bought it over of course. In fact the fibre cable was still connected to the grey box before I did the renovation.

I will call TM and see how it goes.
ah... yr house is renovated one, not newly completed...

since this house had unifi before, it will depend on if any port available then.

in this case, some kind of "transfer" maybe be possible, u will need to talk to them.
AVFAN
post Aug 13 2014, 04:22 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Aug 12 2014, 07:02 PM)
any1 can recommend me new router?

Budget is <RM200.
Im using Unifi 5Mbps, at peak there will be like 2 PC, 4 phone connecting to it, all using wifi.

Stock router is kinda faulty cause sometimes the WiFi keeps dc. The only way to 24/7 with the router is to connect direct using wire.
i changed to this one, all good. my devices similar to yrs.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2764213/+80
AVFAN
post Aug 13 2014, 04:25 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Aug 13 2014, 12:57 PM)
First, change all the router administrator password

Make sure there's proper ventilation so router does not overheat
is the router admin password really important, any special reason?

i had thought the unifi password being 15 digits or so would be safe enough...?
AVFAN
post Aug 13 2014, 05:37 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Aug 13 2014, 05:02 PM)
Yes, extremely important.

It's one of the first few things one should do when receiving their router.

If someone manage to access your WiFi, they can easily access your device too. This is especially so if you live in a high density and close proximity area.

For example, TP Link default username & password will be 'admin'
ok, i thought so too - if yr wifi gets accessed.

more security issues in highrise, many wifi users, some naughty, dark users...

the reason i haven't changed that password in years is becos there r already 1 hundred id/pw to remember for so many things in our "modern" life. only solution is writing them down in a black book but if u lose it, big trouble. so i try not to change from default as much as i can.

anyway, thanks. will change it! nod.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 13 2014, 10:25 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Aug 13 2014, 10:21 PM)
Wow really long antenna but yeah the signal should be good cause my router is upstairs and i have a pc connecting to it downstairs.

I'll look forward to it. Does it come pre-setup for unifi?
no.

either u get the guy in the shop to do it for u (u need to call unifi for password, not the wifi pw) or diy by watching the video i posted in that thread.

not difficult, just a few minutes n u r back in biz. wink.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 13 2014, 11:15 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Aug 13 2014, 10:36 PM)
Cool! The login info eh? I kept it saved in my note during the installation.

Thank you!
ya, of course you need the user id u selected during yr unifi installation, something like abcxyz@unifi (no .com).

if u hv forgotten, can also ask for it too when u call unifi.
AVFAN
post Aug 14 2014, 05:17 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(whistleon @ Aug 14 2014, 04:29 PM)
you also use the TM router? today got TM agent call my office ask want to upgrade to unifi, i say about the slow speed at night, the agent say is router problem, wtf, if router got problem why give to customer mad.gif
unifi modem and router are cheap stuff.

the sooner u change to a better router, the happier u will be.

modem can keep as it is under life time warranty. the one i have, (alcatel-lucent?) seems fine... but changing router improves everything...more stable, consistent speed, stronger wifi... in my case.
AVFAN
post Aug 14 2014, 06:04 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(whistleon @ Aug 14 2014, 05:51 PM)
any router recommended? WIFI is important, now the router WIFI is so bad....
i hv only experienced the orig router and this as replacement:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2764213/+80

popular brands are aztech, tplink and asus, so do read as much as u can and see which one suits u most!
AVFAN
post Aug 16 2014, 07:16 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(hidayat14 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:28 PM)
I am new to unifi, just connected last monday (this week)
Today i find some lagging when i watch hypp tv. The lag is so bad that it totally hang. It takes some time before i can hear audio but the video is somehow distorted.
But the internet is working just fine. The speed is good. I called the customer service and they advice me to off the tv box, wait 30 seconds and power it up. They also did some reset and it is good. But few hours later it happen again.
Whats the problem? Is this normal? I am on 5mbps package.
i also think yr stb is kaput. call them n change it.

my stb was used for a week upon installation, then bundled up in a drawer for 3 yrs. last week, i put it on again, works like a charm but the foc channels r still crap. so, back in the drawer. decent channels, u pay very month... dun like, just like astro.

better spend rm300-400 one time on an androidtv box to get a lot lot more since u r already paying for unifi, a good stable broadband. use it to the full!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 16 2014, 07:24 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 18 2014, 02:26 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(hidayat14 @ Aug 18 2014, 02:23 PM)
can you recommend me a decent android tv box, i am actually looking for one.
read this and associated links, ask questions there. many people there can help u choose:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:41 PM