92 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Canon PowerShot S3 IS

ymjay
post May 19 2007, 02:22 PM

The Sandman
601 posts

hmm.....u think the s5is will produce better image quality due to its 8mp?
the sensor still the same size
wonder if the DIGIC III image processing will produce better results
i guess 6-7 mp is still the best for ultrazoom cameras
but much harder to sell

driftmeister
post May 19 2007, 02:28 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ May 19 2007, 12:47 PM)
i tell u the oly 550UZ u may say 16x is it correct zoom? u may say WOW,Focal Length i like it , but one thing the Image stablization and image quality is so so only. S3 IS still leads  laugh.gif , dont believe u can try testing both, even my fren DSLR kaki tried the 550uz he said s3 still better
18x dude tongue.gif
another fren of mine said the same thing
and he said the focus when on 18x is dead slow =/

aik......seems like s3 is my best bet

QUOTE(ymjay @ May 19 2007, 02:22 PM)
but much harder to sell
the megapixel doesnt really affect the image quality
it is only important when u want to have a giant poster print
normal user like me doesn't require too many megapixel
afterall all the image will be resize to upload into portfolio for showcase
for the digic3, i hav no idea
still need to wait until s5 comes out
or try the g7 with digic3 ?

This post has been edited by driftmeister: May 19 2007, 02:30 PM
sherren
post May 19 2007, 03:44 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

but much harder to sell
well i say usually 6 mega pixel between 8 mp is not that much difference.
yes the DIGIC III image processing will produce better results just like the g7. but wont be that much difference, of coz better abit lah
julchin_09
post May 19 2007, 05:00 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I guess the S3 IS is a better bet as the lens uses a USM Motor present on the normally VERY EXPENSIVE Canon EF L lenses. FAST and SILENT. Also the UD Glass used helps reduces chromatic aberrations and purple fringings.......

But for me the best still STEREO Recording.... TOP THAT...! And also Photo Taking while Video Recording..... smile.gif

But DIGIC III SHOULD be able to produce good pics, maybe reduce in noise at ISO 800, But with the same sensor size? Yup, ain't much diff in pic quality.......
DreamChaser
post May 19 2007, 09:13 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

Just hacked my S3. Taking RAW was awsome! :thumb:
sherren
post May 19 2007, 10:29 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

QUOTE(DreamChaser @ May 19 2007, 09:13 PM)
Just hacked my S3. Taking RAW was awsome!  :thumb:
show some shots pls
SUSitanium
post May 20 2007, 08:06 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

6MP and 8MP will NOT affect your shot quality UNLESS you decide to enlarge the prints more than A3 size. You wont even notice the diffs if you develop 4R sizes taken on 4MP.

S3is and S5is lens are the same USM/UD smile.gif

Digic II vs Digic III - better processing - depend on which angle you look at it..i would say a more 'processed' shot LOL. Anyway doesnt matter to me now because i am enjoying takin raw format on my S3 so DigicIII wont make much diff i would think.

Hotshoe - MUST GET FEATURE(for me) helps a LOT when you are takin pictures during the night and the build in flash isnt adequate(applies to almost ALL compacts/superzoom with built-in flashes)

Even though S5is and Lumix FZ-50 has diff price point but the S5is is threading really close to those territory. Canon can finally lay to rest the PRO1....long live PRO1.
JET
post May 20 2007, 09:53 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 20 2007, 08:06 PM)
Hotshoe - MUST GET FEATURE(for me) helps a LOT when you are takin pictures during the night and the build in flash isnt adequate(applies to almost ALL compacts/superzoom with built-in flashes)
So... wht Flash tht u using now?
wondering is "Speedlite 220EX" sufficient??
Cause 450EX is too $$$ which required 1.4k++++ shocking.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif
alex_8982
post May 20 2007, 11:24 PM

312 posts

I went to Fotokem and check out the price for S3, RM1650 with 2GB Memory Card and standard package... Do you think its worth the price for what I am getting?

I am in between of choosing a camera, considering Pana FZ-8, more cool, sharper display and image... I asked the sales women, she says that FZ-8 is better than S3 (feedback from customer).

Are night scenes image quality good? Cant test it in a shopping center though...

Please please gimme some advice...

sherren
post May 20 2007, 11:38 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

hey check out here s3 is price rm 1400

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/154761

btw fz7 comparision between fz8 not much difference jus abit upgrade.
Canon s3 Is i think is still better, becoz that sales woman[says customer feedback]
let say im a sales man im talking to u[ i can say fz8 is good , and say customer feedback also. but fz8 is a good camera also i played with it so as good as fz7.
why not try searching @ dp review fz8 reviews and S3 is.its also depends on user liking some sort u dont feel user friendly with canon, u prefer panasonic interface. S3 IS and Pana Fz8 both also good i pening liao rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sherren: May 20 2007, 11:40 PM
alex_8982
post May 20 2007, 11:46 PM

312 posts

I am also very confuse...Both S3 and FZ-8 looks good to me... :S

Can some one help me out ... (to make decision) tongue.gif haha...

Added on May 20, 2007, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(sherren @ May 20 2007, 11:38 PM)
hey check out here s3 is  price rm 1400

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/154761

btw fz7 comparision between fz8 not much difference jus abit upgrade.
Canon s3 Is i think is still better, becoz that sales woman[says customer feedback]
let say im a sales man im talking to u[ i can say fz8 is good , and say customer feedback also. but fz8 is a good camera also i played with it so as good as fz7.
why not try searching @ dp review fz8 reviews and S3 is.its also depends on user liking some sort u dont feel user friendly with canon, u prefer panasonic interface. S3 IS and Pana Fz8 both also good i pening liao rclxub.gif
But..... its in Penang ler....

KL prices are more expensive?

This post has been edited by alex_8982: May 20 2007, 11:48 PM
driftmeister
post May 20 2007, 11:52 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

this dude here selling rm1400+ with 4gb card and standard package

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/455877
ymjay
post May 21 2007, 12:15 AM

The Sandman
601 posts

s3is or fz8
now i have added h7/d9 sony to the equation
h9 has 15x zoom, nightshot where u can take pictures in total darkness, and a tilting 3inch screen.
h7 has the same specs but no nightshot and fixed 2.5 inch lcd
both come with remote control
sherren
post May 21 2007, 01:33 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

QUOTE(ymjay @ May 21 2007, 12:15 AM)
s3is or fz8
now i have added h7/d9 sony to the equation
h9 has 15x zoom, nightshot where u can take pictures in total darkness, and a tilting 3inch screen.
h7 has the same specs but no nightshot and fixed 2.5 inch lcd
both come with remote control
S3 IS drool.gif

well sony semi pro's are costly shocking.gif not to sure about their img quality and IS,it seems dam costly very few ppl buy. unless CAnon,Nikon,Pano,Oly laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSitanium
post May 21 2007, 09:56 AM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(JET @ May 20 2007, 09:53 PM)
So... wht Flash tht u using now?
wondering is "Speedlite 220EX" sufficient??
Cause 450EX is too $$$ which required 1.4k++++  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
My S3 where got hotshoe shakehead.gif

For those who are goin to spend rm2.2k onwards you should seriously consider Canon 350D or Nikon D40 instead.
coolzero
post May 21 2007, 11:00 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 21 2007, 09:56 AM)
My S3 where got hotshoe  shakehead.gif

For those who are goin to spend rm2.2k onwards you should seriously consider Canon 350D or Nikon D40 instead.
Spending 2.2k on S3is is going to be the max (what else can you upgarde?) BUT for DSLR even the cheapest Nikon D40 kit set already cost you 2k above, you need flash and more lens plus filter in future which could esily goes above 3k or 4k.

This post has been edited by coolzero: May 21 2007, 11:13 AM
ymjay
post May 21 2007, 11:17 AM

The Sandman
601 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ May 21 2007, 01:33 AM)
S3 IS  drool.gif

well sony semi pro's are costly shocking.gif  not to sure about their img quality and IS,it seems dam costly very few ppl buy. unless CAnon,Nikon,Pano,Oly laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah....but now the sony's prices similar
h9 is rm 1899
h7 is rm 1699
haih.....at least h5 cannot consider as it was RM1999
coolzero
post May 21 2007, 11:24 AM

484 posts

but much harder to sell
If the sensor size is the same and more mega pixels, whih means the pixels have to be smaller to pact into the same size of sensor. Smaller pixel will create blooming effect and smaller dynamic range except the DIGIC III is smart enough to fix all these backend. tongue.gif

llamasonic
post May 21 2007, 12:20 PM

99 posts

Want to buy Powershot S3 iS - meet in seremban 2, or nilai ktm.
alex_8982
post May 21 2007, 02:44 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(llamasonic @ May 21 2007, 12:20 PM)
Want to buy Powershot S3 iS - meet in seremban 2, or nilai ktm.
New or Old?

How much? What is the package like?

92 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0190sec    1.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:18 PM