Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 15 2014, 02:09 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 14 2014, 07:22 PM)
Thanks for your reply again Alaskan bunny.  I decided to go with company A after taking into account of future job prospect.

I have another question. Can someone help me out? My company is applying for a pass for me and the official website says it is going to take 5 weeks.  However, is 5 weeks really what it takes or will it be maybe 3-4 weeks? This is just so i can plan for anything-Singapore.
i got mine d next day... some 6 weeks... it depends lor...

plan for housing, telco n bank... also how 2 shift ur stuff
aLertz
post May 15 2014, 08:58 AM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 14 2014, 07:22 PM)
Thanks for your reply again Alaskan bunny.  I decided to go with company A after taking into account of future job prospect.

I have another question. Can someone help me out? My company is applying for a pass for me and the official website says it is going to take 5 weeks.  However, is 5 weeks really what it takes or will it be maybe 3-4 weeks? This is just so i can plan for anything-Singapore.
my application approved in less than a week...
then just need to go do medical checkup and wait for medical report in around 3 days...
then submit to MOM then around 4-5 working days you'll get your pass smile.gif
cherryl9
post May 15 2014, 06:46 PM

75 posts

thanks thanks !!! wow you are right. My company submitted my application on Monday and today they informed me that my pass is approved and so the next thing is to do is just medical check up. Yayyyyyy!!

i am really really really really excited about this Singapore opportunity. YAAAAAAYYYY smile.gif

Now, i will go to Singapore without any pass, do my check up, then get my pass? Do i need to go to the customs to show them my pass after and ask them to clear my 30-day visiting day limit?

so now, it's also time to plan for phone plan and all. Can someone shed some light on which plan is great? I have done some research and it looks like Singtel is the go-to company. I am looking to get a prepaid plan with about 2gb of internet and just so that i can get a discounted phone, prolly an Iphone. Any suggestion? Maybe if i sign up for a family plan, it will be cheaper? I don't want to spend too much on this though, hopefully below $40/month.

Last time while i was shopping some Singtel staff also was handing out flyers with promotion like $49/month for high speed at home internet.. Is it a normal price range for home internet in Singapore?

Sorry if i asked repeated questions. Just am recently active in this thread so am not fully familiarized with the "etiquette" here. Thank you in advance!!
aLertz
post May 15 2014, 06:53 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 15 2014, 06:46 PM)
thanks thanks !!! wow you are right. My company submitted my application on Monday and today they informed me that my pass is approved and so the next thing is to do is just medical check up. Yayyyyyy!!

i am really really really really excited about this Singapore opportunity.  YAAAAAAYYYY  smile.gif

Now, i will go to Singapore without any pass, do my check up, then get my pass? Do i need to go to the customs to show them my pass after and ask them to clear my 30-day visiting day limit?

so now, it's also time to plan for phone plan and all. Can someone shed some light on which plan is great? I have done some research and it looks like Singtel is the go-to company.  I am looking to get a prepaid plan with about 2gb of internet and just so that i can get a discounted phone, prolly an Iphone. Any suggestion? Maybe if i sign up for a family plan, it will be cheaper? I don't want to spend too much on this though, hopefully below $40/month.

Last time while i was shopping some Singtel staff also was handing out flyers with promotion like $49/month for high speed at home internet.. Is it a normal price range for home internet in Singapore?

Sorry if i asked repeated questions. Just am recently active in this thread so am not fully familiarized with the "etiquette" here.  Thank you in advance!!
yeah...go in with the white card first...then go do medical checkup...
after getting your medical report...
pass it to your HR to make appointment to go MOM for thumbprint...
during this time u will also pass the white card to them and wait they sent the pass to your company a few days later smile.gif

don't have idea on the plan as i register as subline under my uncle who's living here laugh.gif
my current plan is $39 per month under M1 telco...slowly survey which plan and telco suit u best smile.gif

rawrkun
post May 15 2014, 11:30 PM

316 posts

Seems like consultant is really a dead end career without a PE based on the salaries other industries are commanding nowadays:(
Maybe I'll need to rethink my career path...
TSdeodorant
post May 16 2014, 12:00 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

so now, it's also time to plan for phone plan and all. Can someone shed some light on which plan is great?

whichever plan/telco your company has a tie up with.
Fiona Chin
post May 16 2014, 12:11 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 15 2014, 11:30 PM)
Seems like consultant is really a dead end career without a PE based on the salaries other industries are commanding nowadays:(
You should know that from the beginning haha. After getting your license you should have a good life though.
rawrkun
post May 16 2014, 01:12 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 16 2014, 12:11 AM)
You should know that from the beginning haha. After getting your license you should have a good life though.
and endless sleepless nights that come together with the responsibilities and liabilities tongue.gif
Wonder what else i can do with a civil engineering degree. Probably gonna top it up next year.
SUSkl87
post May 16 2014, 08:10 AM

390 posts

i am really really really really excited about this Singapore opportunity.  YAAAAAAYYYY  smile.gif

so now, it's also time to plan for phone plan and all. Can someone shed some light on which plan is great? I have done some research and it looks like Singtel is the go-to company.  I am looking to get a prepaid plan with about 2gb of internet and just so that i can get a discounted phone, prolly an Iphone. Any suggestion? Maybe if i sign up for a family plan, it will be cheaper? I don't want to spend too much on this though, hopefully below $40/month.

Sorry if i asked repeated questions. Just am recently active in this thread so am not fully familiarized with the "etiquette" here.  Thank you in advance!!
I think u mean postpaid?

At least 40 per month if u want to come with a phone
ling3370
post May 16 2014, 08:13 AM

184 posts

Thanks for ur information. smile.gif
mules
post May 16 2014, 08:31 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ May 15 2014, 07:46 PM)

Welcome.
For telco i recommend Singtel. For best offer wait until 5th June - 8th June, there will be IT fair at Singapore expo but the offer will be the same if you buy online.

If you have the dough and can afford the extra deposit, Singtel is the way, else M1 and Starhub offers a cheaper deposit and cheaper phone package.

Be ready to be spoil by the internet speed here, it is really good and there is connectivity even inside the lift biggrin.gif
Fiona Chin
post May 16 2014, 09:32 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 16 2014, 01:12 AM)
and endless sleepless nights that come together with the responsibilities and liabilities  tongue.gif
Wonder what else i can do with a civil engineering degree. Probably gonna top it up next year.
Go get the licence. But can never come close to those people in banks and finance. But 120k per year and 250k per year make little difference in life style. Still stay in condo and drive some car.
crazy25kid
post May 16 2014, 09:35 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ May 15 2014, 06:53 PM)
yeah...go in with the white card first...then go do medical checkup...
after getting your medical report...
pass it to your HR to make appointment to go MOM for thumbprint...
during this time u will also pass the white card to them and wait they sent the pass to your company a few days later smile.gif

don't have idea on the plan as i register as subline under my uncle who's living here laugh.gif
my current plan is $39 per month under M1 telco...slowly survey which plan and telco suit u best smile.gif

eh...they changed the procedure?
last time, my ep process was as follow.
1. bla bla bla...
2. get IPA
3. do medical if applicable (report may be sent to company if medical center appointed else collect yourself and pass to company)
4. make appointment with MOM for work pass registration and finger printing using white card thru company (white card still held by you), they just need the serial number i think
5. appear in MOM with all the docs
6. 4 working days later go back to MOM collect the pass

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: May 16 2014, 09:36 AM
reign226
post May 16 2014, 09:45 AM

804 posts

what field are you working in?
vincentwmh
post May 16 2014, 10:57 AM

476 posts

Don't forget to bring all the original docs for MOM verification.

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: May 16 2014, 10:58 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 16 2014, 11:11 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

go in as tourist/white card but only after ur coy issue u ur IPA... show to d immigration officer when u r entering sg..

plan is postpaid not prepared, prepaid plan u get $20 phone... wait till u join ur company, then ask HR/IT on whether they hv corp tie up wif any telco for better disc

dun get house/3g internet just yet, ur landlord might provide it for free.. yes, normal rate

only ethics here is; 1. respect the royals 2. respect the oldfags 3. have fun n dun lansi

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 15 2014, 11:30 PM)
who say... it depends on the assignments u receive... if u r doing something niche, then u will compensated well... if u r getting work on the basis of cost, then of course ler...

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 16 2014, 12:00 AM)
whichever plan/telco your company has a tie up with.
thumbup.gif up to 50% sometimes..
razo2
post May 16 2014, 11:32 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 14 2014, 01:08 AM)
jail and whip?  doh.gif my friend lost his IC 3 times... i hope they dont whip him..
well... technically u can still do it, but you would piss d hr off a lot.. n u did sign d contract already.. very unethical
yes u can, if u r still within the probationary period, read the terms in ur ctr... u can apply too, but there's a risk u wont get it.. so make sure u get it first before leaving.. n let me warn u.. ur new pass might get rejected for jumping
can nego? location?
SG government is very kind. They will just fine him first, then whip him, then fine him again.

This post has been edited by razo2: May 16 2014, 11:33 AM
reign226
post May 16 2014, 05:14 PM

804 posts

anybody joining sundown marathon this year?
Fiona Chin
post May 16 2014, 05:28 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 16 2014, 05:14 PM)
anybody joining sundown marathon this year?
icon_rolleyes.gif But this year run 21 km enough. Last year first and last 42 km. Drive car 80kmph also need 1 hour you know.
cherryl9
post May 16 2014, 06:38 PM

75 posts

Thanks everyone for your help again. I am so happy to be joining the family smile.gif
Reign226, i will be working in the banking industry
Mules, if Singtel has more expensive packages and not better phone plans, why would anyone want to use it? Sounds like M1 is a better deal.

122 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:00 AM